Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$24.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 2, 2010
First, all of these low reviews are based on the fact that people bought Season 1, Volume 1 DVD's of the show - and are now mad that they are releasing a full season on DVD. Here are a couple of points that you should acknowledge before putting up a low rating:

1. They started selling Volume 1 before the entire season was complete. If you think about that for a minute - how were they going to sell a "whole" season DVD if the shows had not even aired yet? How can you be surprised that you would then be faced with a choice at the end of the season between buying the full season in one set or having to buy Volume 2? Other shows have done the same thing, like Battlestar Galatica. Sure, they do it to make money - to hit the market while the shows are hot - but the fault is really the consumer. If we all stopped buying these 1/2 season DVD's, they would stop selling them. You KNOW they are gonna release a full season DVD at the end of the season. Heck, even if a show is cancelled, they still release it on DVD to make extra money. Be patient.

2. Volume 2 is listed here on Amazon for pre-order and they are giving a discount to anyone who bought Volume 1, if they buy the whole season 1. Don't make it sound like you are being forced to buy the whole season now. You have the option of getting Volume 2, or getting the full season at a discount.

As for the show, I love it. The writing and dialoge is well crafted and the characters, though somewhat stylized, are believable. I will admit, that the last couple shows seemed to lose a step and allowed the music to become more important that the storyline - so, hopefully now that the urgent competition is over, the story lines would be allowed to grow. I did like that they have broadened the focus, allowing the supporting cast to do more solo work and shine more in the singing department. The character of Sue is one of the best characters written on any show today.

Now that the first season is out on Blu-ray, I would encourage those who have heard about the show - who may have caught an episode or two - to start at the beginning and enjoy the Glee experience. We finally have a show that combines comedy, drama, musical features, and good writing. Take the chance.
2020 comments| 430 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2010
In addition to exploring highly pertinent issues that most teen shows have failed to do so sensitively, Glee has created a completely new genre of television. The musical numbers are inspiring, the dialogue is wittier than in most sitcoms, and the touching moments are captured beautifully. Glee is a truly original creation and deserves all the accolades it has been receiving. Television hasn't seen a group of gifted young actors of this calibre in years, and it is exciting to watch them become rising stars.
This is a perfect collection for ANY lover of musicals!
0Comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2010
Shame on those who reviewed before FOX released the plans for "Glee: Season 1, Volume 2 - The Road to Regionals." Do not be deceived by the numerous 1 star reviews. Most are just ill-founded opinions about feeling forced into buying the first half of Season 1 again when, in actuality, they can order Volume 2 instead of "Glee: The Complete First Season."

So, in short, if you want to buy the complete Season 1, do it! Glee is an amazing show. If you only want the back 9 episodes, order "Glee: Season 1, Volume 2 - The Road to Regionals." And finally, do not make critical reviews until all information is released. It negatively affects te sales of good products.
33 comments| 185 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2010
Mine arrived today, and while the journal is nice, the only pictures of the cast are those on the cover (i.e. the little square box photos). The 7 disk DVD set is the same as the standalone set. If you can get the Gift set at a really good price, I'd say go ahead and buy it. However I don't know that it is worth the extra $13 that I paid for it. Could have been worse - I may have purchased it at full price!

~ Edit 6 Jan 2011 ~ a little more detailed information about the product:

Only difference that I can find between this product and the full Season 1 standalone set, is that the giftset comes with a journal. The 7 disk box set is the same as the non giftset version. When I compare the extras listed on the Disk contents list inside the box, they are the same extras as those on the non giftset version. The back of the Disk box reports that the contents are 974 minutes long - unlike what is reported on the Amazon listing for the giftset.

The journal is approx 8 1/2 inches tall and 6 1/4 inches wide. It has a hard cover. On the front and back of the cover are little square pictures of the cast, each of them making an "L" sign with their fingers, for the "L" in the word GLEE. The inside of the journal consists of (approx 100) indentical blank lined pages, with the word GLEE printed in the bottom corner of each page. The letter "L" of the word GLEE is made up using a generic hand. There is also a black ribbon attached to the journal, to assist with marking your place. The journal could be used as a diary/journal or just as a notebook for writing in. It is nice, but you wouldn't want to spend too much money on it.

Hope this helps
Helen
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2010
Glee may be one of the best shows ever on television. It certainly far surpasses the drivel that networks have been putting out for the last 5 years. Who cares how they're releasing it, since if you do your homework there's a format guaranteed to please everyone.
The show is incredible, the production values are amazing, and there is nothing even remotely as good on TV right now. Relax, enjoy, and gleek out!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
This set is not worth the additional cost of the Season 1 set. All you really get in addition is a journal. No extra features.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2010
A nice change from typical TV and its brought back the musical in a sense. Glee touches on all types of discriminations without focusing too much on the high school model. In fact, the teachers are some of the best supporting characters, especially Sue Sylvester (who sometimes steals the show) a la Jane Lynch who first stood out for me in ROLE MODELS. The creators tapped into Broadway stars to pull this one off and it worked. The nice thing about the songs is that they don't stick to one decade. In fact, they cover songs that all generations can remember them even if they're all updated. This is arguably one of the hottest TV shows in several years and the visiting A list actors and actresses supports my stance. MY GRADE: A minus to A.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2010
I love Glee it was one of my favorite shows of this fall season, it was definitely my favorite new show of the season. And as a big fan I already got the first 13 episodes and I'm excited to see that Volume 2 is a go noted above with a link to it's page. Glee: Season One, Vol. 2 - Road to Regionals
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 22, 2010
That Glee is one of the best TV shows ever and will become a classic goes without saying. Anything that has to do with the show I give five stars and then some. All the more reason for Fox to have exercised significantly greater care in issuing the blu-ray/dvd product. It is very irritating to come across so poorly designed and executed product. Here are some points I find irritating:

1/ There is no printed episode guide. Furthermore, episode names or numbers are not listed on the disc covers. A well designed product would have included a printed episode guide, ideally with the name of the "guest" star, if any, included.
To find out what is included in say, disc 3, one has to play the disc. BAD BAD BAD.

2/ Fox has been stingy and the blu-ray image has suffered. They should have spread the season over FIVE discs to avoid the necessity of super-compression. As a result, colors are not as vibrant nor detail as fine as one would have expected from a prime show such as this.

3/ The sound would have been fine for any other show..... for Glee one expected something spectacular like blu-ray can deliver. I have a splendid home theatre system. The box says sound is "5.1dts HD Master Audio" .... well, my system would really like to know for it all seems to come from the front...not even a bird tweeting from the sides.

So praises to writers, cast, musicians, everyone who has anything to do with the SHOW. Damnation to all those who produced this sub-par blu-ray. What will they do about it..... issue some new edition and expect us to dish out more cash for it?
Shameful.
55 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2010
PLEASE stop posting negative (low star) reviews referencing the purchase method. Instead, rate the SHOW instead.

For those that are upset and posting negatively against GLEE due to this being a Full Season DVD Set.. Guess what.. Some of us researched and knew how the release was going to happen at the END of the season and DO want to purchase the Full Set. There IS another purchase option for those that already purchased the first part of Season 1 earlier!!! Check out "Glee: Season One, Vol. 2 - Road to Regionals". See? We can ALL be happy!

Now on to the show itself.. WOW! What an amazing first season! GLEE is so much more than a "one-trick pony". It's full of comedy, drama, issues, musical entertainment.. We have laughed and cried, usually in the same episodes! It has been amazing to watch from start to finish and see the characters emerge and grow. This is one of those shows that I can watch a single episode over and over in a row, as I love to sing along. At the end of the season, we aren't left considering what can they pull out of their hats for next season.. we are left excited over the amazing number of possibilities left to explore.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.