Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just fun
Less rap, so that makes me happy. Of all the discs, this is in my top three. Pleasant and enjoyable
Published 14 months ago by N. A. Norman

versus
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the Tar-gette exclusive deluxe edition instead....!!!
yep, in the midst of a horrible economy, the struggling music industry is STILL confusing buyers with multiple editions of CDs and disheartening dedicated buyers further. Unless you check EVERY retailer for every new release CD you want to see if any place got an exclusive edition, you could end up buying the standard edition, and then, if you're a major fan, finding you...
Published on December 6, 2011 by Daniel W. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the Tar-gette exclusive deluxe edition instead....!!!, December 6, 2011
By 
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
yep, in the midst of a horrible economy, the struggling music industry is STILL confusing buyers with multiple editions of CDs and disheartening dedicated buyers further. Unless you check EVERY retailer for every new release CD you want to see if any place got an exclusive edition, you could end up buying the standard edition, and then, if you're a major fan, finding you have to go re-purchase the CD if you later learn there was an exclusive edition with additional tracks available at another retailer. I learned my lesson years ago, and therefore, I DO try to check all retailers instead of just going to my local store and picking up new releases.

However, I had become aware that "Glee" seems to have a deal with Tar-gette--which is why there are entire mini-albums that are available only there every year. Well, volume 7, which includes music from season 3 part 1, has FIVE bonus tracks if you get it at Tar-gette. Exclusive tracks are: Take Care of Yourself (Rory), Perfect (Blaine and Kurt), I'm the Only One (Puck), I Kissed a Girl (Santana and Rachel), and Red Solo Cup (Sam and Finn). Hard to believe some of the MAJOR songs from the fall season were left off the standard edition--3 of them being from the episode about Santana's coming out!!! In particular, HOW could they leave off I Kissed a Girl??? But hey, it's not a big deal if you scored the deluxe edition. But get it while it's around, because soon, you'll be paying a bundle for it on the amazon marketplace. The deluxe edition has the 5 bonus tracks integrated chronologically where they appeared in the episodes instead of being just tacked on at the end of the disc, and they are all given full liner notes in the booklet.

The BIG disappointment for me is that NEITHER release of the disc includes the mashup of GaGa's You & I with the Eddie Rabbitt/Crystal Gayle duet of the same name!!! AND the mashup of I Will Survive and Survivor. Argh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great songs, album problem, February 15, 2012
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
songs GREAT love all of them
but after only listening for like 10 mins it started skipping.
REALLY, NEW CONDITION
AND SKIPPING but only like for a mili-second
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A variable collection, missing some major numbers., December 7, 2011
By 
Sean Curley (Charlottetown, PE, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
"Glee" provides its first regular collection for its third season, covering fifteen songs from the first eight episodes (there is a Target-exclusive bonus version that includes five more, including a couple of numbers that really should have been on this collection in lieu of the songs that are).

1. You Can't Stop The Beat (originally from the musical "Hairspray") - a decent opening to the collection, featuring a number of the cast's major voices, including Lea Michele (Rachel), Amber Riley (Mercedes) and Chris Colfer (Kurt). Colfer is the sour note, though; his higher register is jarringly out of place (a recurring theme in a number of the season's other songs that aren't included on this track).

2. It's Not Unusual (originally by Tom Jones) - the second number from the season premiere, performed by Darren Criss (Blaine). It's a competent cover, but not really exceptional in any respect.

3. Somewhere (originally from the musical "West Side Story") - the first of several "West Side Story" songs performed on the show as part of the musical storyline, two of which are included on this collection. This is performed by Michele and onscreen mother Idina Menzel, and they are, as always, a dynamite vocal combination. This isn't their best duet, but it's still very good.

4. Run The World (Girls) (originally by Beyonce) - performed by Heather Morris (Brittany), with a brief contribution by Naya Rivera (Santana). Morris is a superb dancer, but her vocals are never really more than adequate for the purposes of accompanying her dancing, and as a standalone song it doesn't have all that much to recommend about it. Rivera is really more the sort who should be singing this song (which isn't really that good, to begin with; the two-minute version that appears on the show is significantly more tolerable than the full-length one, as it greatly cuts out the redundancy).

5. Fix You (originally by Coldplay) - performed by Matthew Morrison (Will), with New Directions backing. Coldplay's relationship with "Glee" was rather tortuous, before Gwyneth Paltrow made peace between them, opening the door for covers. And as covers go, this is a pretty good one, though Morrison's falsetto does little to differentiate the song from Chris Martin's.

6. Last Friday Night (originally by Katy Perry) - "Glee" covers Perry once again, with Darren Criss again singing lead, which is another level of metatext since Criss and co-star Kevin McHale (Artie) appear in the music video. This is, frankly, not Criss' best work either, and lacks the quality of "Teenage Dream" (perhaps the absence of the Beelzebubs is a big part of that; see below for more on that).

7. Uptown Girl (originally by Billy Joel) - only the show's second proper Joel cover, performed by background player Curt Mega and new Warbler Grant Gustin (Sebastian). Neither of the main voices are notable at all, and the show is no longer making use of the Tufts Beelzebubs for the Warblers' acapella background vocals. The result is exceptionally uninteresting, and it seems like a waste to have included this on the CD.

8. Tonight (originally from "West Side Story") - performed by Michele and Criss, the second musical cover on the album. The arrangement has been adjusted somewhat to accommodate the vocalists (neither of whom are strictly the right range for Bernstein and Sondheim's original operatic style), but the result is exceptionally lovely. This is by far the best song on which the two have been paired (sadly, the next occasion for this will be the miserable Christmas duet).

9. Hot For Teacher (originally by Van Halen) - Mark Salling takes the lead in this rock cover, which is another of the more unremarkable inclusions on the album. Salling received a number of solos in the first eight episodes of the season, and none of them really impressed; it's weird to see this while other major singers have gone without.

10. Rumour Has It / Someone Like You (originally two songs by Adele) - this stellar mashup performed by Naya Rivera and Amber Riley was the magic that the series needed to recapture its music sales relevance after an early season dominated by largely uncommercial song choices. In addition to being a monster seller, it is simply a brilliant piece of composition, and the marrying of "Someone Like You"'s lyrics to the beat of "Rumour Has It" works far better than I could ever have anticipated. Rivera and Riley are arguably the show's best recurring duet partners, and one hopes they will continue to be given opportunities to show this.

11. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (most famously performed by Cyndi Lauper; based on a ballad arrangement by Greg Laswell) - Cory Monteith (Finn) makes his first appearance on the collection. Monteith's vocals are decent, but this song really wasn't meant to sound like this; the lyrics just don't work in this context.

12. Constant Craving (originally by k. d. lang) - performed by Naya Rivera, Idina Menzel, briefly Chris Colfer, and almost imperceptibly Lea Michele. This is a truly wonderful duet, the Santana/Shelby duet I never knew I wanted. Colfer and Michele largely provide harmonies toward the end, and everything goes together sublimely.

13. ABC (originally by the Jackson Five) - the first of three Jackson family songs from New Directions' Sectionals performance, in this case performed by Jenna Ushkowitz (Tina), Harry Shum Jr. (Mike), Colfer, and briefly Dianna Agron (Quinn). Ushkowitz handles the lead vocals superbly (I'd say this was my favourite of the Sectionals songs performed by all the groups), and for once is allowed to finish a song on the show. Compared to the other Jackson songs, this is by far the best.

14. Control (originally by Janet Jackson) - performed on the show by Agron (on the speaking part), McHale, and Criss. Much less impressive.

15. Man In The Mirror (originally by Michael Jackson) - performed by Monteith, Salling, Criss, and Chord Overstreet (Sam). None of these guys are really suited to Michael Jackson, an artist that McHale is by far the best for (as shown by his previous two Michael Jackson covers).

A decent compilation, but a far better one could easily have been assembled from the first eight episodes, with the most notable omissions including "We Got The Beat" (which is particularly surprising when you consider how much it was used in the preseason advertising), some of the other "West Side Story" songs, "Survivor/I Will Survive", and Morrison and Menzel's superb "You and I"/"You and I" mashup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just fun, February 17, 2013
By 
N. A. Norman (Plymouth, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
Less rap, so that makes me happy. Of all the discs, this is in my top three. Pleasant and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so lucky 7, February 13, 2012
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
The Glee Third Season has seemed to be a bit forced, and so has the music. With the exception of the Michael Jackson episode, the songs seem random. I would have been more appreciative had the producers done a "West Side Story" and Michael Jackson whole disc, then cherry picked from the rest of the best for this disc.

That doesn't leave the disc without its highlights. Matthew Morrison does a nice job on Coldplay's "Fix You" and the Adele mash up of "Rumor Has It/Someone Like You" is a knockout. The cast version of Jackson's "Man In The Mirror" is a standout as well, but again, a full Jackson CD would have been even better (ala the Madonna disc a year ago). Instead, we get cheese like Tom Jones' "It's Not Unusual" and a poor imitation of the original Warblers (The Tufts University Beelzebubs Glee Club, now replaced by studio singers) doing Billy Joel's "Uptown Girl." "Hot For Teacher" made a great video moment, but stalls out without the visual.

As Glee CD's go, this on is fairly average. M'fears they may have run out of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WSS songs should be on own CD, February 15, 2012
$30?! Really?
This 5-bonus-songs version is a Target exclusive, and is currently $15.99 at Target.com, shipping cost varies by destination. Product is also available in Target stores, again prices vary. ....Don't let the blue (negative) cover fool you, the cover is still green, CD just has additional 5 songs.

I like this CD, but I give it 4 stars because I think the West Side Story songs should have been on their own CD (like they did with the Rocky Horror Picture Show songs), I don't care for some of the songs that made it onto the CD, and there are some songs that should be on it that are not. ...In my opinion anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, February 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
Some of Glee CDs doesn't arrive in Brazil for sale and I really don't know why. Considering I'm a fan of Glee show, I collect all the CDs using Amazon site and its sellers. I didn't have any trouble with this transaction and the product arrived in time. Nothing special about the musics, specially for the people that watch the show. But I confess that the CD Vol.7 related to the third season is better than I thought, because this season is lesser than the other two seasons. Emphasis on "Fix You" of Coldplay and "Man in the Mirror" of Michael Jackson, when the performance was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
I love the Glee soundtracks and this latest one is great. The show is very good, funny, and entertaining and the music is just as good. Some tracks are not as good as their original counterparts by the original artists but that is to be expected and some of the songs have been remixed or slightly altered.
This is the seventh album in the series not including the 2 Christmas albums, Warbler album, Rocky Horror Picture Show album, and Madonna album, all of which are equally good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLEE, THE MUSIC: Volume 7, January 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
I am a senior citizen and just love GLEE. I have all the Glee CDs and Volume 7 does NOT disappoint. The enthusiasm and professionalism of the artists continues to encourage one to sing along as the music plays. The familiar tunes of yesterday now have a rebirth thanks to the GLEE cast. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Glee CD, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 (Audio CD)
If you like Glee then you'll love this. It is the music from the tv show plus more. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9076f24)

This product

Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7
Glee: The Music, Season 3, Vol. 7 by Glee Cast (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.