Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's greatest Dobro
While Alison Krause is exploring other music direction her fellow Union Station members are out working. A great solid set from one of the greatest dobro players. Except for two songs this is instrumental so if you like those songs with a great dobro presence this is it. A great backing band to help make this a wonderful set. If you are a Jerry Douglas fan make sure...
Published on August 27, 2008 by William a Bourne

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great player...Average Result...
I really like JD's playing but this CD misses the mark for me. I believe most artists benefit from having a producer other than themselves and this seems to be the case here. The songs are not memorable for the most part. The sound quality, instrument choices, and overall mix are inconsistent and feel random. Almost more like a fairly planned jam rather than a well...
Published on December 10, 2008 by James Wiehoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's greatest Dobro, August 27, 2008
By 
William a Bourne (Fort Wayne, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
While Alison Krause is exploring other music direction her fellow Union Station members are out working. A great solid set from one of the greatest dobro players. Except for two songs this is instrumental so if you like those songs with a great dobro presence this is it. A great backing band to help make this a wonderful set. If you are a Jerry Douglas fan make sure that this one is in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Hop, Skip and Wobble, January 9, 2009
By 
S. Branscom (Gig Harbor, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
Glide is Jerry Douglas best effort since Hop, Skip and Wobble back in '93. It's an all around excellent CD and would recommend it to just about anybody. Jerry Douglas is at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stepping Out Of The Box, February 26, 2009
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
I must have listened to Glide at least five times today and I'm sure I will tomorrow. As a musician I have to say it is refreshing to hear a little music that comes from outside of the box. If I wanted to hear an all bluegrass CD I would have been disappointed. But I wanted to hear the music that comes from inside the head of the artist and Glide is just that perfect capture of spirit and air. The stretch is long and wide and it never falters. If you are a hard core blugrass fan you wanted to hear band sounds. If you enjoy artistic adventure you will be taken on a ride in an old car to new places. You will visit old places in a new way. And you will feel emotions that Glide you along a aural vision. Gee, and he brings along great voices to speak to us.
Thank you Jerry.
Keep driving.
Dangerous Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great player...Average Result..., December 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
I really like JD's playing but this CD misses the mark for me. I believe most artists benefit from having a producer other than themselves and this seems to be the case here. The songs are not memorable for the most part. The sound quality, instrument choices, and overall mix are inconsistent and feel random. Almost more like a fairly planned jam rather than a well executed CD. I even put it away and came back to it a few weeks later for a second sitting. Its not bad...its just not wonderful either...and doesn't live up to the greatness of the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, November 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
The title of this review is an understatement. I can appreciate Jerry Douglas more with his own work than I can when he performs with Alison Krause, and I am enamored with the latter. Words aren't sufficient to describe how Mr. Douglas moves me, and this latest work transcends all my expectations from his musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, December 21, 2008
By 
W. Day "Mo" (Grand Rapids,MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
Heard him on Prairie Home Companion month or so ago. The dobro is a fine instrument often played to music that doesn't stand up to it. Jerry matches both great writing (pieces of music) with great musicianship to the rarely heard dobro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Increíble!, April 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
Después de su anterior trabajo "The best keep secret" más eléctrico y poderoso, el Sr. Jerry Douglas
nos ofrece un disco más calmado, tranquilo y sosegado, pero no por ello menos interesante.
Este "Glide" tiene un nivel increíble siendo muy distinto al anterior. Y ese es otro de los aciertos
de este excepcional instrumentista de dobro, el transitar diversos registros con un nivel altísimo.
Portentoso.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jerry Douglas-Glide, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
Excellent. Jerry is the best dobro player alive. The other musicians on the CD fit in very well with Jerry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glide review, January 7, 2009
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
We heard about this album on NPR it is everybit as good as was discussed on that show. If you like this genre, I recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glide (Audio CD)
About the best he has done yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Glide
Glide by Jerry Douglas (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.