Glimpses of Another Land: Political Hopes, Spiritual Longing and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $18.00
  • Save: $5.44 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Glimpses of Another Land:... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: 2012 - Paperback - Used - Like New - - Minor shelf-wear on cover. Otherwise, volume un-read with no underlining or highlighting. - -
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Glimpses of Another Land: Political Hopes, Spiritual Longing: Essays Paperback – August 16, 2012


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.56
$12.56 $8.56

Interested in religious studies?
Explore Messages from Heaven: What Jesus, Buddha, Muhammad, and Moses Would Say Today by Ryuho Okawa. Learn more
$12.56 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Eric Miller is one of the most thoughtful and graceful writers today--a combination of intelligence, humility, and faithful insight. I try to read everything he writes. What a gift to have so many of his essays collected in one place!"
--Mark Galli, senior managing editor of Christianity Today

"Whether he writes about the Amish, popular Christian music, or the Pittsburgh Steelers, Eric Miller's prose sings with grace, passion, wit, Pennsylvania patriotism, and, suffusing it all, a sense of hope. His is an America of neighbors, faith, and peace, not vacuous pop culture and political cant. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch and Wendell Berry, Eric Miller illumines for us a way back home."
--Bill Kauffman, author of Ain't My America

"It's fitting that Eric Miller begins this book by talking about hope and longing. Grounded in a specific time and place, clear-eyed about our troubles, these essays offer bright glimpses of another land."
--John Wilson, editor of Books & Culture

"Eric Miller is quickly becoming one of the best evangelical cultural critics at work among us today. Always timely, never trendy, usually salty, never cynical, his essays have a winsome way of delighting us in the good, drawing us out of ourselves in longing for a better, more humane and divine mode of living in the world . . . May his tribe increase and find a way of loving the rest of us in. May they help us keep our hope alive."
--Douglas A. Sweeney, author of The American Evangelical Story

"These essays invite a new generation to appreciate an older legacy of post-partisan political hope. Here is a voice that echoes with Burke, Chesterton, Berry, and above all, Christopher Lasch. Miller's pointed insights and intimate prose are invitations to both reflection and delight."
--James K. A. Smith, author of The Devil Reads Derrida

"Eric Miller is my favorite Christian cultural critic. I have been absorbing his writings for over a decade, and they never fail to inspire me with hope for something better, something real. If you haven't read him, you must. These essays will challenge you to think differently about what it means to be a human being in this world."
--John Fea, author of The Way of Improvement Leads Home --Wipf and Stock Publishers

About the Author

Eric Miller is Professor of American History at Geneva College in Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania. He is the author of Hope in a Scattering Time: A Life of Christopher Lasch (2010) and coeditor of Confessing History: Explorations in Christian Faith and the Historian's Vocation (2010).
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 190 pages
  • Publisher: Wipf & Stock Pub (August 16, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1610978358
  • ISBN-13: 978-1610978354
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.5 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,482,873 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Nick R. Pack on November 3, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Eric Miller, Professor of American History at Geneva College, is, also, author of "Hope in a Scattering Time: A Life of Christopher Lasch" and coeditor of "Confessing History: Explorations in Christian Faith and the Historian's Vocation."

I found out about this book from James K. A. Smith, Professor of Philosophy at Calvin College, via his twitter. He recommended it. This book is a collection of 24 essays categorized in five subjects: Earth, Politics, Education, Sport and Faith. Having never read Miller previously, I was captivated by his lucid prose on engaging topics, interestingly enough, like football, honey bees, virtue, evangelicals and the language of the academy. I was pleased to learn about Christopher Lasch, Wendell Berry and Mark Heard.

Eric Miller paints the historical landscape of his subjects so well while bringing you in to wonder on things he is also wondering. At times, I felt convicted by his words and reflections to be a better man, son, brother and Christian.

I give this book, easily, five stars and recommend it as well, to anyone down for a stimulating, thought-provoking and worthwhile read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Glimpses of Another Land: Political Hopes, Spiritual Longing: Essays
This item: Glimpses of Another Land: Political Hopes, Spiritual Longing: Essays
Price: $18.00 $12.56
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com