Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glimpses? Oh, so much more!
L'Engle does something here that few devotional authors dare. She not only supplies answers and inspirations, she poses questions. Questions without easy answers. Questions that penetrate to the heart of true faith in God.
Does she qualify as a mystic? Yes, in that she moves outside the world of pure rationalism.
Is she a Christian? Yes, in the sense that...
Published on May 10, 2001 by Eric Wilson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Setup
I love Ms. L'Engle's work, but the setup of this book just didn't work for me. I liked the idea, but the execution didn't come through.
Published on February 23, 2011 by Burgundy Damsel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glimpses? Oh, so much more!, May 10, 2001
By 
Eric Wilson "novelist" (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
L'Engle does something here that few devotional authors dare. She not only supplies answers and inspirations, she poses questions. Questions without easy answers. Questions that penetrate to the heart of true faith in God.
Does she qualify as a mystic? Yes, in that she moves outside the world of pure rationalism.
Is she a Christian? Yes, in the sense that she believes upon Jesus Christ as the savior and as the only begotten Son of God.
Is she an agnostic? Yes, by her own definition. She says that by confessing agnosticism, she is only confessing that she doesn't know everything. She refuses to lie or pretend otherwise. Yet, in the midst of not knowing, she still believes in the God that created the universe.
This devotional breathes life into a sometimes stale genre. L'Engle's openness might challenge, even offend, some. But for those on the limits of faith, those hanging in amidst life's tragedies and unexpected miracles, "Glimpses of Grace" gives a little more grace to move on. This is classic and poignant writing. One closes the pages filled with a greater awe and greater mystery regarding the love of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditational-sized, readings of L'Engles poignant best!, May 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
L'Engle expert and biographer, Carole.F. Chase, gracefully presents a powerful reading from this great 20th century thinker, novelist, poet and writer of Christian truth for every single day of the year (even for leap year). As it is with the best of this sort of book, Glimpses of Grace's daily readings produce not only a fulfilling sample of the author's greatest work; but they also produce an appetite for the works themselves. L'Engle fans will recognize the many and various themes which are common to the author's whole corpus, but many are likely to be surprised and overwhelmed seeing the massive quantity this author has produced and how much is yet to be discovered in her many books. Those most intimately familiar with the life and work of Madeleine L'Engle will realize how insightfully and thoughtfully Carole Chase has selected and arranged these "glimpses" which provoke intense contemplation and inspiration at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, October 16, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
This is a beautiful devotional, and a glimpse of the way a brilliant mind works at something we all aspire to: understanding God. It is refreshing to read something that doesn't pretend to have all the answers about Him, but encourages us to "learn to love the mysteries". I don't know about you, but that is what I am trying to do. Instead of simplifying who God is and reducing him to the level of an idol, the author encourages us to see him as Omnipotent God, Creator & Sustainer. It is a breath of fresh air to me, and a wonderful encouragement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Revealing, December 29, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
I read the Crosswick Journal series before being buying this treasure as a Christmas gift to myself a few years ago. I was already a fan of Ms L'Engle. However, this book brought her into a new realm. I followed the readings quite faithfully during two yearly cycles. I must say that they provided my those glimpses of grace that were needed during that very difficult time of my life. These are only glimpses because they are relatively short and easy to digest over breakfast. However, as so often happens, glimpses open doors that reveal so much more. My faith in the God of Creation was reaffirmed through this book. This God accepted me as I was (and am) and affirmed me as good. What more can one ask from a book of daily reflections?
Thank you Ms L'Engle. I'm proud to call you a fellow Episcopalian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Selections from Madeleine's Works, March 19, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
Madeleine L'Engle has written many wonderful books for both adults and children. Her work is very provocative and most thoughtful. You glean something more every time they are read... GLIMPSES OF GRACE takes the best passages from her books and reveals more contemplative insights. This Daily Thoughts and Reflections is cross-referenced by topic and title. GLIMPSES OF GRACE can be appreciated by Madeleine's fans as well as someone who is not familiar with her work. I keep an extra copy on hand as I have often given this book as a gift. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Daily Dose of Inspiration, July 21, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
Chase skillfully combines memorable quotes from L'Engle's amazing works of art. Each day's reading provides an uplifting message that engages readers' in a thought-provoking journey through the year. As a whole, the book's collage effect serves as a wonderful introduction to L'Engle's work and gives faithful readers a poetic reminder of her skill. Makes a wonderful gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery of the Word Made Flesh -- a fitting title, September 1, 2006
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
Since Christmas of 1995 my wife and I have used these fabulously interesting readings from GLIMPSES Of GRACE to buffet us from the storms of everyday life! As one quite perceptive reviewer speaks of her as a Mystic and Yes, she asks good questions. Her readings relate to the living of all life in the face of Belief and Doubt.

One reading from May 20th she is doing an afterschool seminar for high school students and is asked by a brilliant young lady from Harlem, earlier from Panama: "Mrs Franklin, do you really truly believe in God with no doubts at all?"

"Oh, Una, I really and truly believe in God with all kinds of doubts... But I base my life on this belief." Another topic that often arises in her readings is that of Death and Eternity. After one student is saying that it seems lately "there's death everywhere..." Another answers, "Is the price too high? Are you afraid?" These lead to the titles of "We Die Many Deaths and A Metaphor for the Afterlife." Her simple yet clear approach seems to come down from the power found in Creation... that Life is a Gift and where there's Life there's Hope!

This is truly one lovely, consistently inspiring devotional book by an awesome fearless lady! Sincerely retired Chaplain Fred W Hood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favorite of my wife, February 17, 2014
By 
Robert Jager (Castle Rock, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
My wife borrowed this book out of the local library, but love it so much that she decided to buy her own copy. These are moving meditations that will warm your heart and start you day in a peaceful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (Paperback)
sometimes I dont see the connections between the different daily sections.. but in general this is a thought provoking selection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of wisdom, October 2, 2013
By 
K. Hosse (Greensboro, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Madeleine L'Engle is full of wisdom and truth and creativity - I am learning and receiving so much from her books right now including this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9b4fa98)

This product

Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections
Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections by Madeleine L'Engle (Paperback - December 29, 1997)
$14.99 $12.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.