Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 27, 2010
Gifted guitarman Steve Oliver is back and in great fashion. His latest work "Global Kiss" proves one more time his versatility and creative touch throughout the whole album. Produced by him and Spyro Gyro's keyboardist Tom Schuman this new work released on March of this year displays a high level of musicianship given the variety of styles that Steve likes to explore. From the "sure-fire" smooth jazz hit in the opening track "Fun in the Sun" featuring new sax sensation Darren Rahn and my favorite "True Vision" with stellar guests like Marion Meadows on soprano, Bob Baldwin on piano and Bonny B. on drums to latin flavored "Ba Aye" which includes another outstanding line-up (Tom Schuman on keyboards and piano, Will Donato on sax, Alan Hewitt on vibes and marimba and Spyro Gyra's Bonny B on drums besides Rochon Westmoreland on bass and Humberto Vela, percussion) Steve feels "at home". In between world music numbers like the title track and "Sunlight Within" alternate with beautiful ballads like "Fearless" and "Take me away, Distant Shore" sung by Steve to perfection. By the way, it's time for an all-vocal album (I still remember his amazing cover of Buffalo Springfield's "For What it's worth"), the talent is there and it should be an interesting experience given the right tunes. This album provides a well crafted set of songs and different styles where the listener will enjoy the exquisite talent of this brilliant musician.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
After listening to Steve's music for about 10 years now,I can honestly say I think this CD displays some of Steve's best guitar playing. I think Steve has found a new niche with his Carvin guitars,that by the way he helped to create. The rhytmic groove of this CD is very special with the likes of Bonnie B. of Spyro Gyra fame on drums and long time mate Humberto Vela with his special talents on percussion.Add in some soulful sax from friend Will Donato and fine keyboard playing from Alan Hewitt,Nate Harasim and friend and co-producer Tom Schuman(Spyro Gyra original)and you come up with a very well thought out and written collection of tunes. Steve is very well headed towards the forefront of todays Jazz scene.This man has a talent like no other and pours his talent and love of music into his projects. I highly recommend picking up this CD for a very enjoyable musical experience.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2011
A very light and playful album by Mr.Oliver but as always very entertaining.
Not as memorable as his last 2 releases (3d being my fave release to date) but sits well amongst them.
Long road is my fave track on this and unfortunately nothing else reflected along these lines but I am sure Steve Oliver fans will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
He's a great musician, love his style and skill on the guitar. A bit of World Music flair on this CD with definite roots in Smooth Jazz. A delight for anyone who is a fan of Smooth Jazz guitar and Steve Oliver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2010
This is my first Steve Oliver CD and I really
enjoyed it. He is a very talented Jazz guitarist
and I will probably purchase more of his CD's
based on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2010
If you want to listen to the "complete" smooth jazz artist that stands among few with his talents as a guitarist, vocalist, song writer, and performer, then Steve's latest CD is a must for everyone's smooth jazz collection. Steve's unique talents give him a sound like no one else on the scene today.

His venture into the world-music provides a bonus to his already feel good sounds that he has been well known for. This is one CD I can listen to over and over and never get tried of. Put your feet up, grab you favorite beverage hit the play button and you're in for a smooth ride.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
I have several of Steve Oliver cds and love all of them.... His music is wonderful to listen to anytime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2011
This cd; Is one of the best cds out there and its getting no play on the stations thats sad :(
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2010
Global Kiss by Steve Oliver is a smooth, positive uplifting CD that will give you absolute joy. The first track Fun In The Sun just makes you want to dance. The title track Global Kiss will keep you moving with the toe tapping and finger snapping beat that will take you on a rhythmic musical journey around the world. The title for the cut Long Road is so appropriate. It felt like I was taking a very pleasant ride. Barcelo features more of the guitar strumming Steve Oliver is known for. The wonderful thing about Life Goes On is that we get to hear Steve Oliver sing which adds another dimension to the CD. Ba Aye just continues to go with the flow of the entire CD with the beautiful vibes played by Alan Hewitt, and the outstanding piano work of Tom Schuman topping it off with the sassy saxophone of Will Donato. Sunlight Within is just another great cut on the CD. Fearless opens up with Steve Madaio on trumpet and then of course we get to hear Steve sing again. In True Vision Steve starts the serenade with beautiful Spanish Guitar and then takes it to another up tempo level. Take Me Away Distant Shore features Steve on vocals again and there is never enough of that and with the added talents of Humberto Vela on percussion this tune is very memorable. The title of this track is perfect because it will take you away to a very good place. Angel Amore is warm and soft and a perfect closing for this incredible Global Journey. Steve Oliver is an excellent guitarist and his talent is clearly evident in his new CD release Global Kiss. If you need to get away listen to Global Kiss. Take the ride, embrace and enjoy it because I did. For more information please visit his site Steve Oliver Music and listen to the onlinewithandrea interview with Steve Oliver hosted by Andrea Garrison.

Andrea R. Garrison
Producer/Host onlinewithandrea
Author/Producer The Crossing Over Of Mattie Pearl
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
just ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.84

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.