Qty:1
  • List Price: $4.99
  • Save: $0.50 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 13 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Tuesday, April 22? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear to covers. May contain underlines or highlights. Ships directly to you with tracking from Amazon's warehouse - fast, secure and FREE WITH AMAZON PRIME.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Gloria Rising (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) Paperback


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.49
$0.34 $0.01 $0.99
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Frequently Bought Together

Gloria Rising (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) + Gloria's Way (Puffin Chapters) + Stories Huey Tells (Stepping Stone,  paper)
Price for all three: $13.47

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Age Range: 6 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: 1 - 4
  • Lexile Measure: 640L (What's this?)
  • Series: A Stepping Stone Book(TM)
  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (June 8, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0440419980
  • ISBN-13: 978-0440419983
  • Product Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.1 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #323,844 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

The sequel to Gloria's Way, Gloria Rising by Ann Cameron, illus. by Lis Toft, starts out at the supermarket, where the fourth grader's chance encounter with Dr. Grace Street, a famous astronaut, leaves her pondering some sage advice.
Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

Grades 2-4--Gloria, Julian's best friend from The Stories Julian Tells (Pantheon, 1981) and the main character of her own Gloria's Way (Farrar, 2000), takes center stage in this easy chapter book. In the summer before fourth grade, the girl has a serendipitous encounter with an astronaut, Dr. Grace Street, who gives her this important advice: "-be careful what you tell yourself-because whatever you tell yourself you're very likely to believe." Soon after this meeting, Gloria returns to school and her new teacher, "the Dragon of Doom," announces, "We are not going to have hamsters, turtles, or algae in jars. We are going to have flash cards." Mrs. Yardley's impression of Gloria and her classmates is immediately influenced by the antics of Billy Watkins, who appears blameless while the other students stand accused of his misdeeds. As much as she tries, Gloria cannot win her teacher's trust. When she reports on her chance meeting with the famous astronaut, Mrs. Yardley refuses to believe her and humiliates her in front of the class. Finally, Dr. Street pays a surprise visit and helps the teacher see the error of her ways. While this solution to a difficult situation is a bit too facile, readers will still identify with all involved and cheer when these appealing characters are satisfyingly vindicated. Toft's simply drawn but expressive pencil illustrations add just the right amount of visual support for those readers graduating to easy chapter books. Fans of Julian and Gloria won't be disappointed.
Alicia Eames, New York City Public Schools
Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Ann Cameron has worked in publishing, as a university teacher and as a camp cook on a Mayan dig in Belize where boa constrictors climbed into the thatch of the roof to hunt mice at night. Ann has written a number of books for children and those for Transworld's Corgi Yearling imprint feature a small boy called Julian: JULIAN, SECRET AGENT, JULIAN, DREAM DOCTOR AND THE JULIAN STORIES.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By W.E.B. on October 31, 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
It's has been very difficult trying to find books for my twin 8yr old daughters.

I wanted a series of books with the star character being an African American girl just having fun and doing kid stuff. A book that will make them know that reading is fun. This book does just that and more.

If you're looking for a great chapter book for an African American girl, then author Ann Cameron's "Gloria Rising" and "Gloria's Way" is it.

Also, try Valerie Wilson Wesley's series of "Willimena Rules".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By TJ on August 2, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am a Caucasian mother who seeks the TRUTH for her family. EVERY book by Ann Cameron is wonderful!!! Keep up the excellent work!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By KellyC on February 11, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Have all of the gloria titled books, Truly excellent series. Need more!!Hopefully will turn into cartoon, add to the disney line up. They really need diversity.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
why arent these books published in the UK, they are perfect for 5 year old first readers and up. Childrens classics
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
I am biased because my cousin wrote the book, but I just loved reading it. I will read it to my granddaughters when they are a little older in the hope that they will learn to never limit their ambitions in life. This book will inspire many who read it to pursue their dreams.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa362a3e4)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?