Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOTTOMS UP!
GLORYHALLASTOOPID doesn't funk with the best of the parliament albums but as one reviewer on a p-funk web site put it, its still funky compared to unfunk! The tracks just arent as good as those on previous albums, but they're still a lot of funky fun anyway. I think the album gets panned because of how it was produced. It seems as if George took great 4 to 5 minute funk...
Published on August 2, 2004 by Mr. EL

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood Album (3.5 Stars)
Gloryhallastoopid is by far the most misunderstood P. Funk album. You have to understand that these guys were trying to keep on evolving musically and stick with the same theme that made them so successful. What you have is a decent album, but there is not enough musical meshing with a bunch of new members coming on around this time. Numerous side projects were also...
Published on May 11, 2005 by Uncle Jam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dank Album For Cheap, July 18, 2005
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
I Scored This Album for 6 bucks and it is one of the funkiest albums of all time. Not as beautiful as the motor-booty affair but it's still awesome. Bernie plays most the bass lines but he is not credited for writing any of the songs, Bernie also rocks the keyboards nicely on party people. Buy this album it's still better than rap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let me put my sunglasses on, May 3, 2000
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
It's funkier than most. Maybe too funky for some. "The Freeze" is more than enough reason to buy this CD. It's a big funny jam. It grinds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars take the blindfold off, April 4, 2001
By 
Sherance M. Brothers (Jasper, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
the last days of funk is prophecised here not a bad cd could have been stronger like trombipulation if george released some of the outtakes which popped up on the family series years later. not a bad cd though. gloryhallastoopid jams. but why the funk they put party people out. the big bang theory kicks [butt]. this track was made to be sampled truly underrated classic. the freeze is tight in the middle the mob goes off is that maceo. color me funky to me is a omen of the mothership going to crash. hearing that now makes me wish the funk was still here. theme of the black hole jams .the last song may we bang you sucks a lot. not a bad cd for tru funkateers only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weakest album, but still funky as hell, May 13, 2000
By 
Michiel v. Overmeire (Leiderdorp, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
One of the greatest things about Parliament is that all their albums have a theme. George Clinton is a fantastic conceptual artist. But the problem with this album is that some of the songs don't even go near the theme (this album is 'set in outer space'). That is still just a insignificant detail, because musically everything is on the one. 'Pin The Tail On The Funky', 'Colour Me Funky' and 'Theme from the Black Hole' are the stand-out tunes for me. No really weak cuts on this album, but a bit disappointing compared to other Parliament records. But still worth buying if you believe in the Mothership. Cuz now is the time to testify!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest funk albums ever, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the greatest Funk albums ever made the the royalty of Funk! The Good Dr, and the Funk Masters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, December 29, 2012
By 
melody (norfolk, va) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
Came early and the cd was fine no skips the cd played well and the sound was great. Very pleased with the order and how fast it came to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Try to forgive them for "Party People," and it's an okay album, June 1, 2008
By 
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
This album is commonly reviled, and as mentioned in my title, this is primarily due to the 10-minute "Party People," Parliament-Funkadelic's one song to unironically embrace disco. After a promising start with "Prologue"/"Gloryhallastoopid," a standard-but-solid song featuring Starchild, this third track's cheesy commercialism kind of sours you to the rest of the album. On the album after that come two songs universally recognized as among Parliament's best: "Theme From the Black Hole" and "Big Bang Theory." "The Freeze," though sometimes criticized as overlong and uninteresting, also grows on you and has more going on instrumentally than you may appreciate at first. There's also little wrong with "Colour Me Funky" or "May We Bang You," though the two songs are certainly nothing to seek out.

I'd give this album 3.5 stars, on the strength of the two essential songs plus enjoyable lesser tracks "Gloryhallastoopid" and "The Freeze." Serious fans won't regret having it (especially for a mere $6.95), but it's not a key recording since the best two songs are available on most compliations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holyhellafunky!!!, August 31, 2000
By 
Jesse Grant Ball (Chocolate City, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
This album is, booty down, the best P-funk album ever made. I've been listening to them since the big bang and these tracks define what the funk is all about. They keep it fun, funky and real. They keep the booty loose and the head bobbin using everything they got, from catchy phrases ("may we bang you?--hot plasma ain't a thang...")to Bernie's blasting horn riffs. Best track: "May we Bang you?" Definitely a must have for any true clone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GEORGE DID'NT LIKE THIS ALBUM, September 18, 2013
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
the p funk empire was crumbling george was facing numerous lawsuits from former band members some were leaving and then most members were strung oyut on drugs this and cliuntron not being focused still put out a decent album it took me 20 years to finally like party people and it's still not one of my favorite songs but still bernie worrell's presence is missed he plays on party people only and that's it he would leave the funk mob in 1980 jerome brailey, glen goins, and the other og parliaments are gone but still the best songs are gloryhallastoopid, theme of the black hole, big bang theory, and color me funky. the freeze is okay but becomes dull aFTER 5 MINUTES IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN SHORTER BLACKBYRD MCKNIGHT HANDLES ALL INSTRUMENTS ON THAT TRACK. AND GARRY SHIDER SHINE ON THEME OF THE BLACK HOLE RIP TO HIM, RAY DAVIS, AND MALLIA FCRANKLIN STILL THE ALBUM'S WORTH HEARING BUT SAVE THIS FOR THE LAST AND BIG BANG THEORY HAS JESSICA CLEAVES DOING HER OPEARTIC VOCALS THE RAPPERS HAD A FIELD DAY SAMPLINGF THAT SONG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starchild becomes ole mule-mug, August 19, 2001
This review is from: Gloryhallastoopid (Audio CD)
Overall, a good album. Parliament returns to outer space and we see (once again) the return of StarChild and Sir Nose. More consistent than "Motor Booty Affair", but, then again, it doesn't contain anything as strong as "PsychoAlphaDiscoBetaBioAquaDoLoop" from "Motor Booty" either. "Theme from the Black Hole" was a minor hit and is the best song on the album. Only for the completist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gloryhallastoopid
Gloryhallastoopid by Parliament (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.