Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eating gluten-free improved my symptoms
As I searched Google then Amazon wanting to learn what a gluten free diet entails, I came across the "The Gluten Free Diet" kindle book written by the author of the popular "Paleo Diet Solution."

While reading this book which contains many appetizing gluten free recipes, I learned what caused my nasal congestion and fatigue. A real-world example which made...
Published on June 2, 2012 by TIS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-Free gone “wild”
John Chatham’s recent work Gluten Free Diet Lifestyle: A Health Guide, Shopping & Home Tips, while informative, struggles with information overload and a repeated lack of organization. As in some of his other books, Chatham overwhelms the reader with a wealth of data about gluten and the risks associated with its consumptions for individuals who are unable to...
Published 9 months ago by Kevin Kirley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eating gluten-free improved my symptoms, June 2, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As I searched Google then Amazon wanting to learn what a gluten free diet entails, I came across the "The Gluten Free Diet" kindle book written by the author of the popular "Paleo Diet Solution."

While reading this book which contains many appetizing gluten free recipes, I learned what caused my nasal congestion and fatigue. A real-world example which made me understand this gluten-free idea is that when I would occasionally drink a beer, which is full of gluten, my sinuses would get congested almost immediately and I could never figure out why before.

Wheat, Rye and Barley are just a few gluten ingredients that are hidden in most of the food we consume according to Chatam's book.

I was not aware of the many symptoms caused by eating gluten-containing foods: ADD, Depression, Anemia and more. The book explains the cause of celiac disease; the most extreme condition linked to consuming gluten. For celiacs, this book is a must-have. I found many examples of celiac friendly foods along with celiac recipes that taste very good.

The most interesting fact about going grain free, is that after 3-4 weeks of eliminating gluten from my diet, I actually felt detoxified, full of energy and am now sleeping better. Some people spend hundreds of dollars visiting a physician, trying to cure problems that could be solved by just purchasing this book. I highly recommend that you eliminate gluten from your diet also, this book will show you how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life After Gluten, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have to go gluten-free, this is the book to show you the ropes. The author has provided a comprehensive education on gluten intolerance and what can be done about it―the medical facts; its proliferation in manufactured foods; the downside of gluten consumption and the world of prepared foods; practical steps to removing it from your diet.

Chatham addresses the chief obstacles to diet change: stress, monetary expense, inconvenience, time-consuming preparation and―perhaps the worst offender―unappetizing food. The book contains recipes for soups, salads, breads, snacks and entrees, as well as links to thousands more online. In addition, the reader will find an alphabetized list of foods and substances that contain gluten and a separate list of foods that are allowed.

What the author clearly wanted to do with this well-researched book was to take all the labor and guesswork out of going "gluten free in the real world." Everything is dealt with: eating out, shopping challenges, grain substitutes, weight loss and the prospect of improved health.

I found the book to be informative and readable. I recommend it not only for those with gluten intolerance but for everyone who wants to improve their dietary health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lifestyle Worth Checking Out, November 6, 2012
With time being my most precious commodity, when I delve into a book I'm hoping to finish it and leave feeling seriously informed. This text definitely walked that walk. To begin with, it showed me how little I actually knew about gluten and its overall effect on everyday health, and more importantly, why that's not a good thing. The problems mentioned that can arise for those needing to pay attention to their gluten intake were depression, frequent respiratory infections, delayed puberty, and trouble with memory and concentration - once again, I had no idea! Another rarity this text has to offer in my opinion was the honesty in its presentation. To wit: "The Gluten-Free diet is not necessarily a weight-loss diet." Now, who dares to say that these days? This is much more a health book than a diet book, which is a refreshing change. Add to that an in-depth look into Celiac disease (gluten based problem), an extensive list of "allowed" and "not allowed" foods, a resource section, an extensive recipe section, a craving replacement section (pretty hip), and a how to recognize where gluten is anywhere (even outside foods) in your environment section, and you've got a text definitely worth checking out. Gluten-free is definitely a learning curve, but looks to be well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten Free Life Change, October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is great for anyone looking to learn more about a gluten free lifestyle. It has an abundance of helpful tips about the symptoms and signs to look for if you have an allergy to wheat. It also differentiates between gluten sensitivity, wheat allergies, and celiac disease. For those who exhibit any of these symptoms, the author highly recommends that you get tested for celiac disease, especially before going on the gluten free diet.
This book is less about losing weight and more about living a healthier, and well informed life. I appreciated this as someone who is familiar with various of the fad diets out there now. I was surprised to learn that things like anemia, and even depression could exist because of a strong intolerance to wheat.

Beyond the various helpful tips, this book also has 66 "Easy Recipes", which include some things you might have thought you would have to take out of your diet altogether. There are savory recipes for pizza and cheese risotto, along with sweets like brownies and carrot cake. This isn't about giving up certain foods and natural cravings, it's about changing your all around eating habits and taking notice of the effect certain foods may have on your body.
I highly recommend this for all those interested in learning more about a "gluten free life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten Free Made Easy, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the biggest challenges of living a gluten free lifestyle is finding and sticking to a diet that is convenient and cost effective while still allowing for good food. The Gluten Free Lifestyle accomplishes this and more while still satisfying your inner gourmet.

The Gluten Free Lifestyle does more than lay out an easy to follow gluten-free diet. It helps the reader understand the way gluten works and those of us with gluten allergies handle it. It alerts readers to the "hidden gluten" used in the processing of food and present in household items like soap and glue. Finally, it helps the reader "gluten proof" their diet and plan gluten free meals at home and eating out while still accommodating non-gluten free friends and family members.

The recipes are what make this book stand out from similar dieting books. Gluten Free Lifestyle not only tells you what foods you can't have, it gives you healthy and delicious alternatives. As someone who enjoys cooking, I appreciated the gluten to non-gluten flour substitution guide and the recipes within satisfied me and my non-gluten free family. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert are all accounted for; everything from fruit filled breakfast crepes to chicken stir fry to gluten free carrot cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes going gluten-free so much easier!, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After my aunt was diagnosed with gluten intolerance, I began looking in to the gluten-free lifestyle. It seemed so overwhelming at first (lists of foods and ingredients and hidden sources of gluten), but this book lays it out so well, whether you love to cook, have no time for meal prep, are on a tight budget, or have kids with Celiac.

There are alphabetized lists of ingredients that are/aren't okay, a shopping guide, a meal planning outline and cookbook, and resources to help make the transition. The book is filled with tons of helpful tips on substitutions, unexpected sources of gluten, and talking to kids about Celiac.

But you don't have to have Celiac or gluten intolerance to benefit from the information in this book. With the holidays coming up, I learned so much about what is and what isn't healthy for my aunt to eat (I had no idea some of the food and non-food items that contain gluten!). I can't wait to cook some of these recipes--Snickerdoodles, Tuscan bean soup, fruit-filled crepes--for her and see what she thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten Free Made Easy, October 24, 2012
I have a gluten allergy. My father has celiac disease. My wife is a naturopathic doctor. Therefore I'm familiar with gluten. But the truth is that as popular as the word "gluten" has become--you can now see gluten free sections in markets or gluten free options on restaurant menus--most people don't understand it's broad impact on not only one's body but on one's lifestyle. Other than my two loved-ones, I have never really felt anyone has understood how hard it is to "go gluten free." Sometimes it feels like gluten is in everything. Thankfully Chatham's book has been an immense help and affirmer. The main problem with gluten, as Chatham explains, is that it's hard to avoid. He lays out a plan on how to best change your eating habits, shopping habits, lifestyle habits--in an understandable and reasonable fashion. At times the book serves as educator explaining the differences between celiac disease, wheat allergies, and gluten sensitivity, at other times it serves as an aid in planning your week, explaining what to avoid eating and how; and finally it's just a great cookbook. Before digital technology it would have been one of those books that you had in your kitchen and could only be referenced while cooking; but now it's even more useful because it can be referenced while at the farmer's market, the restaurant, or your friend's house when they are serving you dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gluten Free Diet and lifestyle for good health, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Gluten Free Diet Book is an extremely interesting read. The author emphasizes the importance of Medical diagnosis for Celiac Disease, Wheat Allergy and Gluten Sensitivity before any action is taken towards overhauling one's daily eating plan and lifestyle. John Chatham details the numerous foods, household goods, personal hygiene products including home remodeling products laden with gluten or hidden gluten. The extensive Allowed and Not Allowed Food Lists, a 60+ recipe section and the importance of discipline and consistency makes the move forward to a Gluten Free Diet and lifestyle not as daunting as once envisioned. The author covers the effects of Gluten and the numerous benefits of a Gluten Free Diet for any individual not only the individual afflicted with Celiac Disease, Wheat Allergy or Gluten Sensitivity. And don't worry; replacing a bowl of mac and cheese with a bowl of cheese risotto is not too hard to swallow! Incredibly informative read.

MariJoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-Free gone “wild”, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
John Chatham’s recent work Gluten Free Diet Lifestyle: A Health Guide, Shopping & Home Tips, while informative, struggles with information overload and a repeated lack of organization. As in some of his other books, Chatham overwhelms the reader with a wealth of data about gluten and the risks associated with its consumptions for individuals who are unable to process gluten in their diet. He eventually gets to the point of the book which I assume to be recipe sharing and healthy meal preparation. I know individuals who live gluten free and who would be bored to tears by the first half of this book. The author would have done better by the reader if he had put most of this early information into links/references the reader could investigate on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten Free Diet, February 11, 2013
By 
Lorraine A. Lindsey "Postie" (Tekonsha, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is very helpful for a beginner like myself and includes food lists to help with grocery shopping. It also has recipes that are easy and fun to make -- I've already tried several with very good success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gluten Free Lifestyle: A Health Guide, Shopping & Home Tips, 66 Easy Recipes
Used & New from: $89.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.