Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's great while it works
Purchased in February 2013 to use with Harry's Lap Timer, and it worked great for 2 track weekends-- connected much more reliably than the sifi OBDLink I was previously using and had a much better update rate.

However, it stoppted working last weekend (June 2013). Bluetooth still connects but the data updates very irregularly, sometimes as little as once every...
Published 19 months ago by Michael J. Myers

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says - but it also causes a problem...
I would have rated this more around the 4 star area with the exception of a severe problem the device creates. On an iPhone, the device will pair and function without issue. However, if a call comes in or you make an outbound call - that's where the issue presents itself. In my case, my vehicles both use the HondaLink bluetooth handsfree system - what this means is...
Published 21 months ago by JP


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's great while it works, June 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
Purchased in February 2013 to use with Harry's Lap Timer, and it worked great for 2 track weekends-- connected much more reliably than the sifi OBDLink I was previously using and had a much better update rate.

However, it stoppted working last weekend (June 2013). Bluetooth still connects but the data updates very irregularly, sometimes as little as once every 30 seconds or so.

Have just started through the customer support process with GoPoint. We'll see how that works out.

Update 7/8/2013: GoPoint is sending me an exhange unit for replacement after correspondence through their customer support system from their website. Increasing rating to 4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great device, poor software., October 11, 2012
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
Would be a 5 star product if not for the limited scope of the 'included' free software.

To be fair, this device does exactly what it claims to do, however, with the addition of
a package like the $50 DashCommand it does a lot more in real time, a bundled lite
version of DashCommand or a discount or a comparable app would really make this
a much better experience for most, I now have all the gauges missing from my Mazdaspeed3
(i.e. water temp, IAT, G, FPR, EGT, O2, etc...)

much better than adding thirty gauges to the A pillars and looking like some F&F reject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says - but it also causes a problem..., May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
I would have rated this more around the 4 star area with the exception of a severe problem the device creates. On an iPhone, the device will pair and function without issue. However, if a call comes in or you make an outbound call - that's where the issue presents itself. In my case, my vehicles both use the HondaLink bluetooth handsfree system - what this means is that the iPhone will connect to the handsfree system via bluetooth and it will also connect to the GoPoint BT1 via Bluetooth. The iPhone 5 supports concurrent connections with bluetooth so this should be without issue - however, the BT1 causes interference with bluetooth resulting in garbled and choppy audio while on a call. I can also connect my iPhone to the handsfree link and any other blue tooth device (again, using 2 devices at the same time) and the call quality issue doesn't occur.

This has been tested in 2 Honda Vehicles as well as a Ford system with hands free - it's also been tested on 2 iPhone 5s and the problem is easily repeatable. Unplugging the BT1 while on a call will stop the interference from occurring. GoPoint Support was clueless.

More testing is needed as well as a fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're 1 for 2, January 15, 2014
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
Connected just fine to iPhone 5s via bluetooth. Worked once with both included software and DashCommand. Since then still connects to phone fine (in settings), but neither included software nor DashCommand recognizes connection. GoPoint has ignored multiple requests for support.

Update 1/30: Company finally got back to me and sent a replacement which works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of hardware, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
Works, gives information not available in your car dashboard, it turns off after seconds from removing the ignition key on the car, turns on right away when you turn the car back on, the iPhone apps connect to it after some seconds.
The GoPoint apps are adequate, but not as good as DashCmd or Harry's Lap Timer.
Only issue is with Bluetooth calling with the same device: while the GoPoint BT1 is connected to the iPhone calls will get noise and interference. Ironically Bluetooth audio is NOT affected, repeat Bluetooth audio works perfectly worth the same device while connected to the GoPoint BT1. I own two iPhones and the one not connected to the BT1 doesn't get any interference.
I would suggest the cable version if calls are a must and when owning a single smart phone, if not this device is perfect

Edit:
Using it on a car with out Bluetooth radio and a FM Stereo Bluetooth device to answer calls and listen to iPhone music and the BT1 does not cause any interference with either calls or playing music. It only interferes with the car with Bluetooth radio (oem) while answering calls, and not while playing music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GoPoint BT1 OBDII reader, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
I got this electronic device because Apple is very strict about what devices will interface with their iPhones. I didn't want to jailbreak my iPhone either.

Being that I participate in a several automotive track events throughout the year, I wanted a means to acquire more data from when I am driving. The GPS module I intend to purchase requires the 30-pin slot of my iPhone 4, so essentially, I was left with this device as my option. It works very well, however, being that it is not directly plugged into the iPhone, there is a very slight delay in data acquisition. For a hobbyist like myself, it's not a big deal, but it is not a replacement for true track data acquisition equipment for those that are more die-hard about improving their driving skills.

I received in a timely manner. The device works without trouble. Contrary to other people's experience, I leave my unit plugged into the OBD port of my car and have not had any electrical or battery problems. I drive my car daily though.

I certainly do recommend this piece for those that want the ability to trouble "check engine light" issues in their OBDII cars as well as to those that enjoy tracking their cars and wish to use more the Harry's Laptimer app features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worked as expected yet not very durable., January 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
After purchasing this overly expensive BT1 scanner it arrived and performed as expected with only minor hiccups. It tried to display and error code in my 2013 Chevy Traverse for stabili-trac after it was unplugged but was reset. Be sure to handle this product carefully because if dropped, even from a slight distance abound the ground (2 FT) it won't work. Good scanner for all the apps out there but a little pricey and not very durable. There are plenty of other devices that use wifi that are better and work really good with some of the better OBD II scanner apps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome for Harry's Lap Timer, November 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
Works like a charm with Harry's Laptimer to record and overlay real time throttle position, RPM's, and other data during laps at the track. The diagnostic apps is reasonably helpful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique though Expensive Bluetooth OBD Hardware, May 21, 2013
By 
Peter A. Haan (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
This device appears to be without any problems. I run it with DashCommand and am completely happy with my results, even though I have an OBDI Superduty F250.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, April 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPoint Technology 9105 BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters (Electronics)
Worked for about 30 seconds, then went dead. Was transmitting Bluetooth signal but no data. Tried with 3 different programs on 3 different iOS devices after resetting the iOS devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GoPoint Technology 9105  BT1 Auxiliary Input Adapters
$119.99 $119.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.