Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Size: One SizeColor: BlackChange
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2014
I bought this cable so that I could record audio from a nice wireless microphone or shotgun mic when using the Hero 3 black edition. The good news is that the cable does allow you to record audio directly into the Hero 3, the bad news is that the audio recording capabilities of the hero 3 black edition aren't amazing. You'll get better results than you would with the built in microphone, but the high noise floor and automatic gain control in the hero make it hard to get great audio with this little camera. Watch the full video for audio examples.

The cable works as described and recording with a better mic does improve the audio quality of the hero 3 significantly enough to recommend this cable even with the hero 3's audio record limitations. I would say your audio goes from ok to good and I was looking for a change of ok to great.
44 comments62 of 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
This dongle does exactly what it's supposed to, but it's awfully overpriced.

The build quality is very high, but I had a hard time finding a cheaper one that I was sure would work correctly, so I went with the GoPro brand.
55 comments14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
They need to check their pricing of the accessories. While they all work well, they are VERY over priced in terms of functionality to cost involved.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
This adapter works great for use with external mics. It won't turn a mono mic into stereo input (you'll still need an adapter for that), but it works well for most mics that I've tested. Only downside is that the audio in on the GoPro doesn't seem to have any gain on it, so anything recorded with an external mic is really quiet, and you'll have to add about 5-10db of gain in post to hear it :)
33 comments5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
I plugged it in, plugged in my microphone, and it worked.

Would be nice if it was gold plated considering that you are paying $20! for a little cable.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
So I bought a professional condenser type mic from audio technica for this that is self powered, didn't work with this adapter, had a huge amount of electronic noise in the background that I couldn't get to stop. So I changed to a standard SM52/57 type mic with no power. Same problem...got different gopros from best buy, white/silver/black ALL HAVE THE SAME ISSUE!

the adapter gets you a external mic jack that you can barely use if at all. And gopro tech support told me to send the unit to them for repair. "repaired" unit STILL has the issue. The problem seems to be poor grounding or internal grounding in the adapter.

Please beware. Use your money on the zoom handheld recorders and record audio with that. I feel like a video without audio is worthless unless its a jeb corliss video that you can put music in the background so it essentially limits your options on what you record.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
Functional, but sticks so far out of the side of the camera (due to the design of the plug) that in the process of putting on my helmet (which had the camera mounted to it), something grazed against the adapter & broke the mini-USB jack. There are much, much smaller 90-degree jacks available that do the same job just as well, and take up much less space. And are cheaper.
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
If you are looking at this item you must own a GoPro Hero 3 camera. Unlike the Hero 2 that has a stereo mini input, the Hero 3 cameras use a mini USB connection making this dongle an absolute necessity for those who want to use external mics to record sound to their cameras. The GoPro's built-in mic is useful if you are using the skeleton case, you are close to your sound source and there is no wind. In other words, ideal conditions. Anything else you will want to be able to use a mic that you can position close to your sound source or that you can throw a wind sock onto. I use this in conjunction with a Zoom H1.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
Item arrived as promised in good order. Easy to snap on the GoPro and hook up a small microphone to get better sound when you need it on the GoPro, actually sound is pretty good on GoPro by itself.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
I mounted the gopro as a dash camera in the car, and ran an external mic to it.
I can record all outside sounds and see a very wide field of view to boot.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 40 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.