Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice but pricey
I bought this to have a more low key housing. It is as advertised and black, but $50 is a bit much for a replacement housing.
Published 9 months ago by Davy J. Jenkins

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this is a great idea but please note that none of your existing ...
this is a great idea but please note that none of your existing rear doors will work with this housing so you cannot add/use the add-on battery pac or LCD screen with this housing.
Published 9 months ago by C. Walk


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this is a great idea but please note that none of your existing ..., May 2, 2014
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
this is a great idea but please note that none of your existing rear doors will work with this housing so you cannot add/use the add-on battery pac or LCD screen with this housing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WiFi Blocker, May 27, 2014
By 
S. Young (Palm Springs, CA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
After using the standard clear case with the Hero3+ Black Many times on the wing of my airplane- using the WiFi Remote- I've had No WiFi disconnect problems. Then I used this Black case and the WiFi would disconnect after a few minutes. All the camera/remote firmware is up to date and the distance/location are the same. I then replaced the black case with the clear case again and WiFi never disconnects. I repeated this test three times with same disconnect results using this black case? Nice case otherwise, but the black in the plastic seems to block the WiFi signal?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's great in theory, but not in practice :(, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing
It's the first time GoPro has missed the mark, unfortunately. WiFi has issues in this housing & you can't use any add on batterie packs or LCD screens. For any real GoPro user, these add ons are a must. Every other housing package GoPro sells has multiple back doors to work with any situation. Why they didn't think about with this unit...I'm Baffled?!?!

Needless to say, I will be returning it :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice but pricey, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
I bought this to have a more low key housing. It is as advertised and black, but $50 is a bit much for a replacement housing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solidly built, does its job, July 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
cool little extra thing i bought and didn't really need. 4 stars just bc the price is high. solidly built and will do what it's supposed to do, hide blinking lights from prey fish while diving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, but I wish the lens covers were interchangeable., June 4, 2014
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
I like the case, but I really dislike that the lens cover for the clear cases won't fit on this case. And as far as I know they don't make a case for this one. I've taken to wrapping it in a microfiber cloth, which I then rubber band to keep in place. A pain, but I don't want to scratch up the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great housing, but no Backdoors will fit on it., August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
This housing is great. It's just as waterproof as the standard housing, and looks a little more businesslike for professional shoots. The latch design is simplified a bit, but seems to be holding up just fine to use.

Another plus is that the buttons are significantly easier to press. I can hand this over to my two-year-old, and he'll happily be able to snap away, grabbing stills or toddler-point-of-view video.

As other reviewers have noted, none of your existing GoPro Backdoors will fit on this housing. I can understand, given their low-profile, high-speed-low-drag marketing of the Blackout model, but given the nice features of its redesign, I'd love to be able to use my GoPro touchscreen with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
For the first time used I very impressed with the new Black matte slate, it's matching with my Jaws clamp mount and lastly i in love with these black housing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Includes 2 backdoors, October 28, 2014
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
This housing comes with standard back door and skeleton backdoor. I wish it included one for the Battery BacPac!! Otherwise, great product (like all GoPro name brand items).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only thing left that is "clear..." once you GoPro Black you might not GoPro Back!, April 1, 2014
This review is from: GoPro Blackout Housing for HERO3+ (Camera not included) (Electronics)
I own this product and I am very pleased with the NEW GoPro Blackout Housing. It looks very stealthy and adds a low-profile to your GoPro camera. The NEW GoPro Blackout Housing is waterproof to 131'/40m where the clear version is waterproof to 197'/60m, but the stealthy low-profile is the primary product attribute, rather than its waterproof ability. The GoPro Blackout Housing would be a likely choice for outdoor enthusiasts, military, law enforcement, or anyone who simply prefers a more subdued appearance, while still tough enough to defend from the elements. I rate this product 5-stars for its GoPro quality that has become a reliable standard, its useful functionality, and its awesome matte black appearance. In my opinion, the only thing left that is "clear..." once you GoPro Black you might not GoPro Back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.