Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual and entertaining concept of music making of high quality, July 6, 2012
By 
This recording of the `Goat Rodeo' sessions records the first public performance of this group of musicians who are a group of talented and technically skilful musicians from different genres who might never normally meet musically. This opening statement is to paraphrase the comment by Stuart Duncan made as his descriptor of the group. To paraphrase another group member, Yo Yo Ma adds that for some, this music is `outside the box' but for these musicians there is no box. It is normal and just what they do.

In struggling to describe the music contained in this recording I found myself outside the box but struggling to get in! This is not `cross-over' music but it is made up of an amalgamation of several contributing genres. These could loosely be described as containing elements of country & western, blues, a bit jazzy at times, elements of modern classical and all put together in a uniquely individual manner relying on individual talents blended to produce something interestingly new.

The music has been composed or arranged by various members of the group but there is a strong improvisational driving force such as to be found in jazz. The title `Goat Rodeo' has been chosen to suggest the wilder side to this situation. The music is essentially easy to listen to without being `easy listening' as a genre type. I found it to be refreshingly interesting and diverting.

The main feature lists 10 music tracks and lasts for some 55 minutes and there are 5 bonus music tracks running for some 22 minutes. There is no apparent difference in quality or content between these two selections so I have not understood why they did not simply run as a complete 77 minute concert.

The imaging is crystal clear and involving. The sound is excellent in Digital 5.1, PCM 5.1 surround and stereo.

This concert is an unusual concept and I found it musically rewarding. On its own unique terms I would suggest a 5 star rating, there being no means of relevant comparison other than applied musicianship across genres. I would hope that future purchasers would respond with the level of enthusiasm shown by the original concert audience.

............................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I thought that you might like to know that before I buy a recording I now look through all the reviews to see if you have posted one. Your assessments and opinions are invaluable. Thank you. (US review)

I particularly like your format of review. They give the prospective purchaser an idea of the style of the playing and relevant comparisons. They are succinct. Keep up the good work! (UK review)

I'm sure there are many other serious collectors, besides myself, who wait for your synopsis and opinion before spending their hard-earned money on new releases...
Thank you (UK review)

I'd also add to this. When you in particular review a particular CD, I pay pretty close attention. I would say the characteristics of your reviews I value the most are the detail and general sense of balance and fairness that comes across. That's a great help. Thanks for taking the time on your reviews. (US review)

............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goat Rodeo Sessions Live, April 25, 2012
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (DVD)
We saw the cinecast of this concert in a movie theater on January 31, 2012. It was extraordinary, and I couldn't be happier that it's finally being released on DVD. The individual artistry and the tight ensemble playing are second to none. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brain Candy, May 27, 2012
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (DVD)
Saw Goat Rodeo on PBS TV, 4 amazing virtuoso musicians having a great time, my review title is "Brain Candy" because I think just listening to this ensemble will make you smarter (at a minimum it will stimulate your brain in a good way), the sound is like nothing you have heard. If you enjoy super high quality creative music you will love this I think. My wife who is not a music person at all was saying what is this? My 17 year old boy on the other hand was saying, "Mom" this is really good, so musical quality and musicality can be appreciated across generations and by most everyone that appreciates great quality instrumental music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Virtuoso Performance! Sadly deleted the dialogue., August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Concert was originally simulcast to movie theaters nationwide. Recording omits virtually all of the artists' remarks, which makes this a disappointment. Should have added, not subtracted from the concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Remarkable Musicians, December 29, 2012
By 
Alan S. Mathias (Scottsville, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (DVD)
As a musician who also plays at varying levels of proficiency these four instruments, I am in complete awe watching this video. Nothing short of remarkable - very hard to imagine being able to play like they do - very humbling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't question yourself, just get it!, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like what this group put out in their studio effort of the Goat Rodeo Sessions, then don't even think twice about ordering this live performance on Blu-Ray or DVD. Just do it! Fans of classical, new-grass, progressive grass, and just plain music in general should get it, there is something for everyone here. Those who aren't into either classical or bluegrass/Appalachian folk can still find much to enjoy in this original blend of jazzy/bluesy rhythms in a classical and bluegrass/folk setting. Words don't describe it. Look to more work from these artists in other projects such as Yo Yo Ma's two other Appalachian albums with similar musicians, Thile's Solo and Punch Brothers albums, Thile with Edgar Meyer, etc.. Bela Fleck is the only missing piece of this puzzle, they should do some recordings with him with the entire group!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Perfornances!, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (DVD)
Love Yo Yo Ma. They are all great musicians and they work so well together. And they thoroughly love working together. The vocals were good also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great companion to the CD!, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great DVD for anyone who loved the Goad Rodeo Album; you will not get to see these guys together for a live performance any time soon so I recommend buying this. As masters of their instruments they each bring a unique perspective to this album that creates a truly extraordinary listening experience.

If you enjoy the music of Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Yoyo Ma or The Punch Brothers this is right up your alley.

The production quality and audio is top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No doubt the future will recognize this ensemble for what it is., April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (DVD)
This will be an album / video that will be seen by future generations as a very influential re-emergence of the power of acoustic ensemble, and the endurance of folk music. The talent on this project is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear and see, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (DVD)
Yo Yo Ma is always great to hear and in this case, a pleasure to also see playing and enjoying it with others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Goat Rodeo Sessions
Goat Rodeo Sessions by Jim Gable (DVD - 2012)
$11.98 $10.00
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.