Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, informative and respectful
Obviously, Oprah is huge. She is influential. She has a book club. She has done a great deal of good for humanity. I could go on in describing Oprah, but I'm guessing you've heard of her. So, I will turn my attention to the book instead.

First off, this book isn't going to make Oprah's book club. The reason is that it challenges the teachings of Oprah and...
Published on October 7, 2009 by LAM

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A fictional story-and not a very good one
I thought this was going to be a book that really explained all the things that Oprah said on her show and biblical responses to that. And it did, in a way-just not the way I expected. It was written as a ficitonal story and they added in quotes from Oprah and then the characters in the book responded. However, it was not a very good story and these people in this book...
Published on December 1, 2009 by Gina Kentopp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, informative and respectful, October 7, 2009
By 
LAM (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
Obviously, Oprah is huge. She is influential. She has a book club. She has done a great deal of good for humanity. I could go on in describing Oprah, but I'm guessing you've heard of her. So, I will turn my attention to the book instead.

First off, this book isn't going to make Oprah's book club. The reason is that it challenges the teachings of Oprah and her friends. It does so, however, in a respectful way. The book is only 128 pages (including discussion questions at the back) and breaks down complex questions in an enjoyable and easy to understand manner.

Through fictional conversations amongst female graduate students, the book tackles questions such as:

* Why worship a jealous God?
* Is there one or many paths to God?
* How can open-mindedness lead to another type of exclusivism?
* How to recognize and address self-defeating statements (i.e. "People can't know any truth about reality." - How can you know this? "People shouldn't be imposing their beliefs on others." - Isn't that a belief? "Judge not!" - Isn't that a judgment? "I can't stand intolerant people." - You are intolerant of intolerant people?)
* How can the truth be known?
* What might the Apostle Paul say about the book The Secret?
* Is God a part of us or different?
* Is there such a thing as right and wrong?
* Is "Let it Rain" or "I Could Sing of your Love Forever" the most obnoxious Christian worship song of all time? (This is not in the book. This is a joke.)
* Do we have any evidence for an afterlife?
* Will the real historical Jesus please stand up?

Overall, I got into this book more and more as it went along. It is written in a spirit of love and presents some excellent rebuttals to the teachings of popular spiritual leaders of our day. The characters are easy to relate to and the book is current. There are also many excellent quotations from other sources. Rather than straight-up apologetics, the conversational dialogue makes the material much easier to digest and I was drawn in by the characters and the story. I learned new things and other material was presented in a unique and fascinating way.

I really enjoyed this book. Regardless of what you think or how you feel about Oprah, it is definitely worth checking out what McDowell and Sterrett have to say. The book was a great idea and the authors follow through with very good execution.

This book was provided for review by WND Books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for seekers and believers alike - very well done!, October 8, 2009
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
There is no denying the fact that Oprah's popularity is pervasive in our culture today. From her immensely popular daytime TV show to her magazine, website, satellite radio show, book club selections and online spiritual sessions, Oprah is one of the most visible and influential persons today. Her influence spilled over into the political arena this past election as well. But the primary concern isn't political, it's Oprah's position on matters of religion that caused Sterrett and McDowell to coauthor this much-needed examination of what Oprah is actually promoting and endorsing.

"O" God is written as a narrative - a story of the spiritual journey of a young woman named Lindsey, a law student at the University of Texas, and her friends and family. The narrative is both interesting and insightful, but the best part of the book is the apologetics, which are well reasoned and easy to understand. Without attacking Oprah or her beliefs, McDowell and Sterrett are able to raise some very significant issues such as the existence of absolute truth, the reality of the resurrection of Christ, the concept of evil, and dozens of other critical concepts. They do a great job of exploring the concept of religious pluralism and its self-refuting tolerance of all things but Christianity. The book gives just a taste of some of the leading Christian apologetics from William Lane Craig to Dinesh D'Souza weaving them into the story line while maintaining the interest of the narrative.

I think this is an outstanding book to give to any person interested in spiritual matters or religious issues, especially women who are probably more significantly influenced by Oprah on matters of faith than they might first imagine. While the book is relatively concise, just over 100 pages, and very enjoyable to read, the authors do a great job of diving into some of the most important and controversial issues of our day giving clear, relevant, and reasonable arguments and evidence for the truth claims of Scripture and the deity of Jesus Christ. Great book for a book study, great gift for a friend, and an important read for Christians wanting to learn how to defend their faith in a winsome and intelligent manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oprah's Spirituality vs. Truth, October 8, 2009
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
"O" God- A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality is written in a conversational fashion. It covers key apologetic topics such as absolute truth, the problem of evil, and the reliability of the New Testament. The topics are presented in an easy to understand way that makes this book the ideal choice for someone who is seeking to know truth.

Oprah is such a key figure in most households which makes this book very relatable. Those who watch Oprah will recognize the key concepts sprinkled throughout the book that she presents in her spiritual teachings. This book is helpful in understanding both the appeal of her beliefs while starkly contrasting them with the truth.

The narrative form of this book makes it an easy read, ideal for those that are searching out faith. New Christians will greatly benefit from the introductions to tough topics in Christianity. And all followers of Christ can benefit from the conversation ideas that are useful in evangelistic settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ!, October 15, 2009
By 
M. Rose (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
In a culture so widely accepting of various beliefs but at the same time so extremely empty and aimless, Josh McDowell's and Dave Sterrett's book, ""O" God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality" could not be more timely or more applicable. In this fictional dialogue between two graduate young women, the authors uncover the rampant influence of Oprah's philosophy on the minds of millions. Although some would claim her voice as subtle, this book reveals how clear she is in regard to her spirituality. Throughout the book, the authors distinguish between the relativism Oprah speaks of versus the absolute truth in which she is completely opposed. The reader becomes aware of the danger in pluralism as well as the ultimate need to discover the Truth. This book in no way attacks Oprah as a person, but it does reveal how her "spirituality" influences others in a very deceptive way. The main theme of the book is geared toward Christians who need to be encouraged to know what they believe and why they believe it. This is a "must read" especially for women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging resource to help you understand spiritual truth, October 11, 2009
By 
Marla Alupoaicei (Frisco, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
With this book, authors Josh McDowell and Dave Sterrett have proved that they are in touch with the Zeitgeist - the spirit of the time. "'O' God" provides fascinating dialogue between several young students and their families as they sort out the truth about Oprah's spirituality - and their own.

The book centers on the friendship and dialogue between two young women: Lindsey, a young law student at the University of Texas, and her friend Avatari, a Ph.D. student who converted to Christianity from the Hindu faith. The girls participate in a weekly book club with three other friends to discuss books like Eckhart Tolle's "A New Earth."

"'O' God" reveals how Lindsey and Avatari's faith develops through personal crises that both of them face. These crises force them to analyze the claims of Oprah and her friends closely to see if there is any truth to them and if they actually make sense in the light of life's difficulties and trials.

This book addresses primarily the spiritual issues and philosophies raised during Oprah's Soul Series, during which she invited leading thinkers, counselors, philosophers and liberal theologians to be interviewed on her show. The authors do a masterful job of revealing the faulty thinking and poorly constructed arguments that these teachers use to support their beliefs. Yet McDowell and Sterrett do so in a respectful way, as their goal is to teach spiritual truth and to show how the Bible and Christian thology refute these "touchy feely" ideas - for instance, the idea that "We are all God." In no way is the book a personal attack on Oprah or any of the teachers on her show.

This book is timely, well-written and exactly what contemporary readers need to help them sort out the complex issues and theological concepts taught by Oprah and her friends. Most important, it compares worldly ways of thinking to God's truth as revealed in the Bible and helps readers understand how Oprah's spirituality does not match up with what God teaches in His Word.

Of course, we all love Oprah. I'm the first to say that she has inspired and encouraged me and millions of other people through her show, and I've been impressed by the fact that she has donated millions of dollars to help people through her humanitarian and philanthropic projects. The issue is when her "pop philosophy" ideas overflow into her spiritual teachings and cause confusion for millions of listeners. That's when we, as Christians, are compelled to stand up for the truth. Dave Sterrett and Josh McDowell have done that in an excellent way that deserves a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could have read this years ago!, November 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
If Paul were writing a gospel to our culture, then this should be the topic! The issues of Truth and popular Spirituality discussed in the book are very close to my heart. Our culture is in desperate need of Truth, and I thank the authors so much for providing a tool for people like me to help bring light into the darkness. This book has given me a the more in depth information that I needed to have real conversations with many of my friends and family members who have traded in their Christian faith for the new spiritual pluralism with a Christian label on its cover. I believe that I echo your heart when I say that for the genuine believer, it is heart breaking to watch the applause of false teachers who rob people of the beauty of knowing our Savior Jesus Christ!

Thank you again to the authors for writing this book. I wish that EVERY American Christian would read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Refreshing Read, October 31, 2009
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
I am just over halfway finished with "O" God and decided to stop and write a review... I thoroughly enjoy the style and flow of this book. The conversational tone and friendly setting make it a light and enjoyable read even when discussing some very deep and serious issues. This book speaks very candidly and openly about the gospel message of Jesus Christ and yet does so in a very loving and non-confrontational way. I find it refreshing to read a book that speaks the truth about Christ unapologetically and boldly yet respectfully and compassionately. If more Christians would engage culture, like the main character Avatari, I truly believe that more and more people would come to know Jesus. If you want to see an example of sharing the truth of Christ in love, you must read this book and take notes from Avatari.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Have to Be an Oprah Fan to Like This Book, July 5, 2011
By 
Brad Cooper (northern Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
I'm giving this 5 stars--not because it is a classic, but because I know of nothing else like it and because I think that it does what it is intended to do extremely well:

It deals with spiritual concepts that are popular in American culture in an engaging and insightful way that the average person can understand.

This is accomplished through a well written and enjoyable fictional story that leaves you feeling like you know the characters you've been reading about. And the story has a purpose. It brings to light the spiritual truths being explored.

Also, you don't have to be an Oprah fan to appreciate this book. The spiritual concepts explored in this book are not just held by Oprah and her viewers. They are ideas that have permeated American culture. And this book will give you some excellent guidance for understanding and evaluating those ideas.

This is a quick, easy read that I highly recommend for both teens and adults. I believe you will enjoy it and benefit from it greatly.

Brad Cooper, Pastor and apologist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Your Time, June 6, 2011
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
During the final episode of the Oprah Winfrey Show, Oprah credited Jesus for her success. She even said, "Nothing but the hand of God has made this possible for me." But do we really understand Oprah's spiritual teachings?

This is what the authors respectfully examine through a novel centered around the conversations of 2 women: A law student named Lindsey, and a philosophy student named Avatari. Though their discussions, you a look into Oprah's spirituality and the teachings of her friends as popularized on her TV show, O Magazine, Oprah.com and huge bestsellers like Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, The Secret, and The Power of Now.

If you've never read these books, but have heard bits and pieces about them, I highly recommend picking up "O" God. You'll like sitting in on the book club discussions that cut right to the case. Avatari seems to be a well-read Christian who comes from a Hindu background. She brings interesting ideas from the likes of Paul Copan, William Lane Craig and Dinesh D'Souza to bear on some of these popular spiritual teachings.

At one point, Avatari explains how Martha Beck's relativistic statement in O Magazine is ultimately self-refuting (p.51): "If her statement is simply relatively true, then it may not be true for anyone else, so why should any of us consider it a valid opinion? If that statement is absolutely true, she has embraced that ideology herself."

Interesting point. But she's interrupted by another character, saying, "Hold up. You're getting over my head." Indeed. Pieces of dialogue like this may be tough for some in Oprah's main demographic to fully grasp the first time they read it. I'm thinking of specific Oprah fans I know who might find this book interesting, but may struggle a bit with some of the more philosophical ideas.

Still, at just 124 pages, this is a readable book that's well worth your time. It will help you understand where a lot of everyday people are coming from when they talk about spirituality. You'll get ideas for gentle but direct talk the nature of truth, morality, reincarnation, the resurrection of Jesus and more. I very much appreciate not only what this book is trying to accomplish, but the tone Josh McDowell and Dave Sterret take with Oprah and her views.

Note: A review copy of this book was provided to Mikel courtesy of Dave Sterrett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O God, a responsible answer to Oprah-ology, April 11, 2010
By 
John Ferrer "IntelligentFaith" (South Carolina, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality (Paperback)
In the new book "O" God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality. (CA: WND, 2009: 128pg)renowned Christian apologist Josh McDowell and up-and-comer Dave Sterrett offer a brief popular level critique of Oprah Winfrey's growing and influential religion.

To keep the reading light the authors present their apologetic in a story-form dialogue between a young divorced grad-student Lindsey and her PhD friend, a newly converted Christian and former yoga teacher, Avatari. As these two 30 year old's discuss their lives and issues they bat around tenets of Oprah-ology. Naturally, Oprah's spiritual mentors like Eckhart Tolle and Deepak Chopra surface too. Both friends watch the Oprah show and read "O" Magazine, but Lindsey and Avatari disagree over the "truth" therein. The end result is that Avatari uses apologetics to share her faith with Lindsey, who in turn shares her new found faith with her mother. In the course of this drama the authors progressively unravel the paper-thin veneer of Christian lingo on Oprah's spirituality then dissect the remaining new-age mysticism underneath.

This book is clearly apologetic, intending to educate and dissuade the reading from Oprah's spirituality. Key points include arguments for Christian exclusivism (ch1,4), absolute truth (ch5), theism (ch7), the historic Jesus (ch9), the reliability of the New Testament (pg95), and resurrection (ch10), a rebuttal of pantheism (ch7, pg73), notes on the problem of blind faith (pg98), a defense of the moral argument for God (pg86), and a critique of the New Thought, "think-yourself-well" movement (ch6).

This book is a great introduction into cultural apologetics. It is accessible, simple, readable and still surprisingly meaty. O God is utterly relevant in culture because it sets its sights on the queen of American culture Oprah Winfrey together with her heir apparent, New Age spirituality. As it turns out, New Age is hardly an heir, but rather a Hindu-esque fog of pantheism. McDowell and Starrett keep the page count down, the plot-line simple, the topics clear, and the overall readability up. A discussion guide is also included should the reader want to incorporate this material into a church study group, home group, or religion class. As an apologist myself, this book is a helpful addition to my library on Cults, World Religions and Alternative Spirituality. Oprah-ology is nothing new, to those who have studied about pantheism and eastern religions. But this book may surprise people who thought of Oprah as a good Christian girl. Before this book I did not know how non-Christian Oprah's religion was, nor how openly she admits to anti-Christian beliefs. Oprah is a new-thought, religious pluralist who denies absolute truth, Christian theism, sin, hell, and the Trinity.

This book however is not a critique of Oprah--God bless whatever good she offers to the world--but rather a focused response to her skewed beliefs, which take her out of classical Christianity. But neither does O God stop at critiqueing Oprah-ology. O God is evangelistic, tying together rebuttal with affirmation, countering pantheism with Christian theism, finally offering an apologetically polished uniquely beautiful Christian gospel. This book deserves commendation for "calling it like it is." In a hazy world of gray shades and fuzzy borders, when people turn up sick from moral ambiguity and spiritual banality, O God shines a refreshing bright light while sharpening the surgeon's scalpel. Soul surgery can now take place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality
O God: A Dialogue on Truth and Oprah's Spirituality by Dave Sterrett (Paperback - October 6, 2009)
$14.99 $13.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.