Customer Reviews


1,828 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,461)
4 star:
 (163)
3 star:
 (77)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


583 of 596 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Restoration Collection does not disappoint!
The new transfers for The Godfather Parts I and II are stunning. It really is like seeing them for the first time. All of the murky, faded colors have been restored to their original glory while still retaining the warmth of the film stock. Gordon Willis' then-controversial cinematography can finally be seen they way it was intended on these new discs. If you have the...
Published on September 22, 2008 by Cubist

versus
126 of 148 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GODFATHER, The Coppola Video Game Giftset
This Review is based on The Standard DVD format Restoration, not The Blu-ray Version.

I'm on the fence about this New Restoration Box Set(The Restored GODFATHER III is a cleaner version), but I'm leaning towards an all-out PAN of this New Restoration. Unfortunately, I listened to some of the reviewers here and purchased this Set. (A couple of you owe me a few...
Published on September 26, 2008 by Unlucky Frank


‹ Previous | 1100 101 102183 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Leave the gun..., February 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a terrific gift from Mr. Coppola. Crisp, clear, rich, and dramatic...see it for the first time all-over-again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather DVD collection, January 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this trilogy. Pacino is great. In fact, the cast in all three films were perfectly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love this set!!!, January 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Godfather Collection (The Coppola Restoration) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First off I have to say the restoration is superb for such an old film. I have a 60" Sony 1080p, PS3, and a High end 7.1 Pioneer Home theater. So I can tell you that this both looks and sounds better then I ever remember it. If your a fan of the Godfather and you don't have the collection on DVD. Then this is a must buy! If you do have the collection on DVD you still might consider upgrading, I would. The only thing I want to comment on is the case itself. It's very hard to get the disks to pop out, I feel like I am going to break them every time and it concerns me. Still a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic, December 12, 2008
Got It as a gift for a friend. It came in fast and she had a Merry Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite movies never looked better, November 25, 2008
This review is from: The Godfather Collection (The Coppola Restoration) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love these movies first off or atleast one and two. I have the DVD box and now the Blu-ray. I can definetly tell a difference. Is it worth buying again? That is debatable but since I love these movies and bought them with a gift certificate and there is a rebate, I am completely satisfied.

If you don't own these movies yet, get the Blu-ray ASAP. If you do own these on DVD then you may want to wait and see if the price comes down or ask for it as a holiday gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie. Best restoration yet., November 24, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Godfather Collection (The Coppola Restoration) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For those looking for an improvement over the DVD and VHS releases, Blu-Ray is here! With the awesome quality of most blu-ray movies being released today, it is easy to get spoiled. Older films rarely look truly hi-definition when compared to current releases. However, when it is a truly great film like this, I do not mind spending money on yet another version of the same movie, provided it is significantly better than the previous versions. All too often this is not the case. Here the studio has done an exemplary job of restoring the original film. I never saw it in the theater, but I cannot imagine it looked any better at my neighborhood theaters back then. This film will always deserve 5 stars as a movie. However, this 5-star review is for the restoration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for GODFATHER lovers.., November 12, 2008
By 
Sheri Radio (Sioux Falls, SD, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A wonderful collection that I gave my husband for his birthday. That along with a book of godfather quotes and it made his day. He is a huge Godfather fan and this was just the perfect gift for him (or any GF lover!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy it so what are you going to do, right?, October 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Godfather Collection (The Coppola Restoration) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Definitely an improvement over the previous DVD version, for the aficionado it's a must have. Fascinating documentaries have been added in addition to all the previous bonus material as well as new commentary tracks. Too bad we have to choke down Godfather 3 to get the first two but what are you going to do, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 30 years later, September 30, 2008
By 
Long before anyone heard of "The Sopranos",there was the ultimate epic flick that changed everything in the history of crime dramas and also remains one of the top ten films of all time,and still holds the title today which spawn two sequels and was the film of the decade. This was the apex of what American cimema was and still is today. "The Godfather" was perhaps the best three hours you can spend sitting very still and for a good reason. This was one of the top ten films of 1972 and it was a huge success at the boxoffice. This was "the ultimate gangster film",and a "cultural phenomenon" that still holds true. This was an "absolutely flawless",an "American epic" based on the best selling novel by Mario Puzo and directed by Francis Ford Coppula. It recounts the "operatic" lives of the Corleone family via through its "intricate" plot,bravura "photography" from cimematopgrapher Gordon Willis and "iconic performances" from actors Marlon Brando,Al Pacino Diane Keaton,Robert Duvall,James Caan,John Cazale,and Sterling Hayden. This was the film that depicted the cold side of the mafia life and it was never shown before and it also gave Brando an Oscar in 1972 for Best Actor and it also won Best Picture honors for that same year. In fact,the end result is so "killer" that "nothing comes even close-except the sequel that followed it which basically picks up where the first part of "The Godfather" left off. "The Godfather:Part Two"-picks up where the first installment of Mario Puzo's epic novel left off. It was a "real rarity-a sequel as good as the original"-this "true masterpiece" stands on its own laurels as it delves deeper into the Corleone family saga from the early life of a younger Vito Corleone played by Robert De Niro in a breathtaking performance that is not to be missed,to the family's transactions within the organization. It is a moody meditation on the emptiness of power,it's complex plot through its masterfully intercuts that gives us two stories separated by a half-century into a taut heartbreaking tale of innocence lost and though never overshadowing its bigger brother which in turn doesn't go overboard within the boundaries of the book. But it is even more subtle and sublime with some chilling moments between the relationship between Michael and his cousin Fredo. A supporting brilliant cast with includes Al Pacino,Robert Duvall,Diane Keaton,John Cazale it won six Oscars including Best Picture of 1974 and also directing honors for Francis Ford Coppula. At over three and a half hours it is grand Hollywood entertainment that is worthy of the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, July 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Parts 1 & 2 rate a full 5 stars. Part 3 not as good in comparison, give it 3 stars. Still recommend the bundle. Goodfella's is still my fave ganster flick, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1100 101 102183 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Godfather Collection (The Coppola Restoration) [Blu-ray]
The Godfather Collection (The Coppola Restoration) [Blu-ray] by Francis Ford Coppola (Blu-ray - 2008)
$62.99 $27.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.