Kindle Price: $3.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Godmachine Kindle Edition

4 out of 5 stars 63 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 145 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Written in Fire (The Brilliance Trilogy) by Marcus Sakey
"Written in Fire" by Marcus Sakey
Explore this featured title in Terrorism Thrillers. Learn more | See related books

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Jack Thompson is an international bestselling author finding voices in many genres. In addition to his popular Raja Williams mystery series, Jack writes science fiction, political thrillers, paranormal romance, children's stories and fairy tales.

According to Jack, whether reading or writing, what makes a story great is how well it communicates to the reader. Whether presenting him with a hero he wishes he could be or a villain he chooses to hate, the characters must relate to the reader on a personal level. A reader will leave a good story in an improved condition. He may have learned something new about the world or himself, or simply been well entertained. That's why Jack writes.

Product Details

  • File Size: 3732 KB
  • Print Length: 145 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Crackerjack Publishing (September 11, 2011)
  • Publication Date: September 11, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005MKZMVK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #913,961 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Jack Thompson is an international bestselling author finding voices in many genres. In addition to his popular Raja Williams mystery series, Jack writes science fiction, political thrillers, paranormal romance, children's stories and fairy tales.

According to Jack, whether reading or writing, what makes a story great is how well it communicates to the reader. Whether presenting him with a hero he wishes he could be or a villain he chooses to hate, the characters must relate to the reader on a personal level. A reader will leave a good story in an improved condition. He may have learned something new about the world or himself, or simply been well entertained. That's why Jack writes.

To stay informed of new releases and other interesting tidbits, sign up for Jack's newsletter at jackwrites.com

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
As a fan of classic pulp science fiction, this book is my idea of a perfect way to spend an evening. Thompson's style balances the adventure aspects with the cerebral and gets the mix just right.

When a crew of astronauts discover a metallic box of mystery discs on Mars, it leads them to decode their messages and uncover an epic story of life on the faraway but Earthlike planet Plixon. Plixon is very much a dystopian civilization, where everything - even the food one eats or how long one lives before being "deleted" - is controlled by a supercomputer called the Godmachine. Thompson delineates the characters and the action with cinematic clarity, and keeps the reader turning pages. Unlike many modern authors of dystopian fiction who clearly take glee in the misery they heap upon their characters, Thompson writes about a grim future with a ray of hope and a cautionary message for mankind.

I look forward to checking out other works by the author!
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Colonel Tom Devers leads a mission to Mars with three other astronauts to acquire an object that appears to be anything but natural. Upon loading the object onto their ship and spending some time figuring out what it is, the four men are witness to the holographic record of an alien civilization. One hundred seventy-five years before the record was made, fifteen billion people died in a global war on the planet Plixon. The World Peace Council (WPC) then implemented a single world government and developed the Program to ensure that peace would forever reign and the people of Plixon would never again be subject to the horrors of war. The Program was run by a highly advanced computer called the Godmachine. Its purpose was to inform the citizenry how to live in peace and harmony through total control of every action and behavior.
Ra'dall Simms, one of Plixon's citizens, lives a quiet life (as does everyone on Plixon) cataloging data for the Godmachine to use in its predictions (directives) for optimum outcome. Ra'dall discovers an anomaly within the crime data in the capital city of Galanta, dutifully reports his findings to his boss, and is summarily sent in for re-alignment. After Ra'dall's "treatment", he is allowed to go back to work (minus a few memories) and continue on with his life. But one kiss from his lover brings his memories back and thrusts him into a course of action that will lead to either the greatest adventure of his life or his death at the hands of government officials. Ra'dall must find a way to stop the Godmachine before its seemingly innocuous Program causes irreparable damage to the very existence of the people of Plixon.

Godmachine is a thoroughly entertaining story about a dystopian society similar to 1984, though not as dark. Mr.
Read more ›
Comment 6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
If you've been following the story of the recent landing of NASA's Mars Curiosity Rover, or if you're a fan of NASA's Apollo missions, they you'll almost certainly enjoy reading Godmachine.

As a bonus for all readers, along with the tale of the astronauts' journey to Mars, Thompson cleverly weaves in the tale of the Godmachine. Both stories are heart-pounding and action packed.

These stories are skillfully crafted in such a way that Thompson is able to make us take an introspective look at our own human strengths and weaknesses.

I highly recommend this book for fans of Science Fiction and Space Travel, or for anyone who's just looking for a quality book that's fun to read.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The author does a pretty good job of getting you into the heads of his characters, and an even better job of bridging the gap between science fiction and today with believable scenarios and created future technologies. While part of the present, and wrapped behind the veil of science fiction, I could see the influence of Orwell's 1984 while reading this one.

This is a fairly quick read, and I originally picked this up for free during a Kindle promotion. As I type this review, the pricing has reverted back to its normal $2.99 - you'll certainly get $2.99 and more worth of value out of this book.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I loved this story. It is a very unique premise in that the computer is actually the product of its programming and human beings are well....human beings. It does not pawn off man's inhumanity to man. The formate is also very clever. I would love to see an Orson Scott Card type of treatment to this story, such as retelling the story from another perspective. I think he should write two more books. One telling the story from the perspective of the software engineers and one from the perspective of the Henri and the World Peace Council. I think also telling the story of how the Hexbox may have affected other worlds to which it was sent, perhaps at different stages of what dangers the Hexbox tells of. At any rate, I think that what is new and refreshing is that he treats the computer as a program and the intrigue is not about the "ghost in the machine" but different ways that such a powerful program would really be used. And also, how a program would respond to the different ways it is used based on its basic logic. Sort of Asimov without the epiphenominalism.

I will say this, if one is just looking for mindless entertainment, the ingredients are there, but it seems to me the author had a definite idea he is trying to get across and the drama lies more in the realm of ideas than action. So, if the more heady ideas mentioned above are not really interesting to you, you will find the action, love interests, intrigue, etc. to be somewhat unfulfilling. That is the only critique I have of this story. This is very much a long "short-story." If Philip K. Dick was going to write a short novel, it would read like this, I think.

All in all, if you are a serial reader of real science fiction, this is a great read to add to your repertoire of ideas and stories.
Read more ›
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in