Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is a true Missionary?
This book is not just for those who are going to foreign countries to share the gospel but for those who are at home as well. It is not for the ones who want to be "lukewarm" ("in" church but also "in" with the crowd) but those who want to give others a picture of what Christianity really is. How can we reach the world for Christ if we are...
Published on August 29, 2003 by Amanda

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm. Out of date?
This is not a easy read and not up to date with the times. Has good points but not a favorite missionary book of mine at all. This was a bit boring.
Published 5 months ago by TO


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is a true Missionary?, August 29, 2003
By 
Amanda (Fayetteville, WV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
This book is not just for those who are going to foreign countries to share the gospel but for those who are at home as well. It is not for the ones who want to be "lukewarm" ("in" church but also "in" with the crowd) but those who want to give others a picture of what Christianity really is. How can we reach the world for Christ if we are acting just like them? What hope can we offer them then? We are called to be lights and hold the standard high. It is too easy to slip into a "comfortable" way of life doing what we want to do and only come to God when we "need" Him. We should be asking Him what He wants us to do with our day, and reaching out to those around us. If you want to truly be a missionary you will want this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, July 6, 2004
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
This book is wonderful. It was a great encouragement to me. Miss Carmichael confronts the issues of hypocrisy and true motives in this little book. Challenging us to be where the Lord has called us and with the right heart and pure motives, whether those (our peers) around us are or not, and how to best deal with that. She encourages us to represent our Lord as He wishes us to, by loving our brothers, sisters and those we are called to serve in love, and to focus on Christ our true prize. I recommend this little book for any Christian wanting to be a true soldier for Christ, wihtout even a hint of hypocrisy that can turn other away from Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for anyone interested in missions, March 30, 2000
By 
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
A controversy at its original time of publishing, this book continues to stir hearts for living consecrated lives for Christ. I have read it several times, and am convicted of a need for a deeper walk with Christ each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought -but good, May 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
I thought I was getting a biography of Amy carmichael. This book was written BY Amy Carmichael.
This hits the heart of what being a missionarey means. It is still valid for today. She has valuable insight for Christians who want to commit their all to God to be His servant with out reservation. She lived it, so certainly she is an authority on this subject. This book is a treasure not only because it is rare, but because such committment is rarer still. If you need encouragement to live out Romans 12:1 or to totally commit your life to Christ,to take the Gospel to those in darkness, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wake-Up Call Wrapped In---Peace?, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Kindle Edition)
God’s Messenger (Fort Washington, PA: CLC Publications, 2012 {original edition, 1939}) is a stirring little book that carries impressive ideas set in soothing and comforting language. Fortified with an array of literary devices, its message and themes saturate the reader on many levels---rational, psychological, theological, spiritual, and emotional---with memorable and masterful wordsmith artistry. From the title, one might expect an autobiography or biography of some missionary, evangelist, or apostle, spun of a dry recounting of historical events and facts sometimes found in that genre. Instead, one finds an easily readable treasure with chapters of just a few pages each and to-the-point anecdotes, metaphors, quotations, and meditations set one after another---never dry and always captivating. What a wonderfully refreshing and pleasurable reading experience it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Kindle Edition)
This book is so good!!!! Wow, to have more love for Christ!!!! Wonderful find for anyone wanting an encouraging book! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
I enjoy Amy Carmichael's writings. She was a godly person and gave her life in service to the Lord in India. Anyone who reads her books will be blessed.-+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
I truly cannot say enough good about amy carmichael and her books. I recommend this to both men and females.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a small treasure., February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Kindle Edition)
I have the paperback of this book, and it really is a small treasure of wisdom and truth. I hope the kindle version is the same. Not just for missionaries, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm. Out of date?, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Missionary (Paperback)
This is not a easy read and not up to date with the times. Has good points but not a favorite missionary book of mine at all. This was a bit boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

God's Missionary
God's Missionary by Amy Carmichael (Paperback - July 1, 1997)
$5.99 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.