Customer Reviews


2,087 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,664)
4 star:
 (194)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (56)
1 star:
 (107)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


438 of 519 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods Not Dead, a good film, but couldve spent some more time in the Classroom.
Before i get into my review of the film itself, i first fell the need to address many of the negative comments people have raised about this film being to one sided/biased. To those people all I have to say is this, why the heck are you so shocked that a film entitled, Gods Not Dead, is Biased towards the existence of god, seriously its like if someone went to a Jewish...
Published 3 months ago by aaron

versus
64 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars God's Not Dead is a "Christian" fantasy film for youth group kids...
...but that's mostly because the Christianity in this movie is the "Cultural Christianity" of youth groups and Christian rock bands.

In other words, not really the Christianity as revealed by God in the Christian scriptures.

*Sigh*.

So, the basic story is that a Christian freshman takes an intro philosophy course at university and has a...
Published 22 days ago by Lyndon Unger


‹ Previous | 1 2209 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

438 of 519 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods Not Dead, a good film, but couldve spent some more time in the Classroom., June 7, 2014
This review is from: God's Not Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
Before i get into my review of the film itself, i first fell the need to address many of the negative comments people have raised about this film being to one sided/biased. To those people all I have to say is this, why the heck are you so shocked that a film entitled, Gods Not Dead, is Biased towards the existence of god, seriously its like if someone went to a Jewish cultural center and got angry that most of the people their were in favor of the state of Israel!

With that out of the way I genuinely enjoyed this film and the arguments it made while debating the existence of god, although I think one of the major problems of the film was how it constantly jumped around from various characters points of view as opposed to spending more time inside of the classroom. To put it simply, I wish that they had spent more time on the debate inside of the classroom as opposed to focusing on several of the periphery characters which, while interesting, lacked relevance to the central storyline of the film itself.

In conclusion, while the film is in no way perfect, I came out of the theater's intellectually satisfied and would recommend both this films, as well as the book of the same name which addresses other arguments for the existence of god, to anyone who is interested in this increasingly important discussion.

And in case anyone is interested on my own feelings on the matter, it could be summed up in the following statement.

"The more I study science the more I believe in God" - Dr. Albert Einstein
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


190 of 242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, June 2, 2014
This review is from: God's Not Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
I took someone with me who is "not religious at all" and who did not expect to like the movie... he went for the popcorn and soda. He essentially thought, "It has superman and Kevin Sorbo, how bad could it be?" He not only watched it, he liked it. He said it wasn't preachy and the arguments in the classroom were interesting. So, well done, people.

I am waiting for the dvd to come out, and will purchase it as a gift for several families/individuals who are unlikely to have seen the movie. I also ordered the t-shirt, hat, and "bracelet", and cup. The last two items have been given as gifts already, one to a friend going through a challenge, and the other to someone entering a hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars God's Not Dead is a "Christian" fantasy film for youth group kids..., August 23, 2014
By 
This review is from: God's Not Dead (DVD)
...but that's mostly because the Christianity in this movie is the "Cultural Christianity" of youth groups and Christian rock bands.

In other words, not really the Christianity as revealed by God in the Christian scriptures.

*Sigh*.

So, the basic story is that a Christian freshman takes an intro philosophy course at university and has a professor who is a raging atheist.

No news there; been there and done that (as have thousands of other Christians who've attended university). The professor agrees to allow the Christian to defend the existence of God, gives him 3 classes to present his case (for around 20 minutes a class) and then allows all the students to decide the victor. The student gives arguments that weren't great, and if you know anything about apologetics (or especially presuppositional apologetics), you'll find this part to be quite unconvincing...though it's not surprising that a freshman university student basically quotes popular apologists like Lennox and Strobel (as if any atheist gives them credibility at all), goes off about free will and how God's over-riding moral quality is that he loves you like a teenage girl...

His professor eventually cannot overcome the student's unassailable arguments which leads to a break down where he screams and reveals his angry heart to the student. I guess that's the way many high school students think these debates actually turn out if you just skillfully apply some bumper-sticker truths, but North America is full of "ex-Christians" who bear testimony to how well bumper-sticker theology stands up to rational scrutiny.

Sadly, most atheists with terminal degrees are in a completely different category than Sorbo's character...and not all of them believe in free will (which basically de-fangs 95% of popular-level Christian apologetics). Still, it's a movie and serious atheist arguments make for boring cinema, so I guess that's understood.

*Spoiler alert*

You'll get all warm and fuzzy when the atheist professor is hit by a car on the way to a Newsboys concert at the end and makes a "deathbed conversion", just so everything is nicely wrapped up (which always happens, right?).

Wait.

Going to a Newsboys concert?

Well, that's apparently what a PhD philosophy professor does when they're ready to "get back to God".

No prayer or repentance.

No convictions from the scripture.

Just get your coat and run to a Christian rock concert.

Again, this movie is clearly aimed at ill-informed youth group kids who wouldn't know any better.

The REALLY horrible part was that the atheist professor is dating a "Christian" girl who's one of his ex-students, and her pastor knows about it but apparently doesn't care that they're likely shacked-up (which the movie doesn't explicitly show even though the girl herself comments on how she feels guilty that they're "unequally yoked" and they're unbelievers in the 21st century). The pastor is confused about the gospel, doesn't care about his congregants living in blatant sin, and is alarmingly shallow (i.e. he laments that, unlike a missionary, he's not doing "real" ministry...).

Again, I'll chalk this up to the fact that this is aimed at youth group kids, and we don't expect much from youth group kids, right?

Yikes.

There's a third and fourth story line; a Muslim girl is a secret Christian who gets discovered and is kicked out of her house but somehow recovers alarmingly quickly; enough to get to a Newsboys concert as well (I sense a theme here...). There's also an aggressive atheist blogger who mocks a guy from Duck Dynasty, gets cancer (and dumped by her "rich and greasy" boyfriend), and then gets "led to the Lord" (which means "vague theism") by Newsboys with a gospel that I don't recognize at all and can't seem to find in the scriptures. Apparently, Christianity basically revolves around the Christian rock concerts and knowing that God loves you super much because you're super awesome.

This whole movie is clearly aimed at ill-informed youth group kids: it's kitschy, shallow and doesn't dive into any of the serious questions with any sort of serious approach...which makes sense given the target audience. But the theology is horrible, the pastor is incompetent, and the whole "Christianity" is nothing short of the "cultural Christianity" that is a theological plague in the evangelical world.

Movies like this make Christianity look actually irrational and do more damage than the atheists whom these movies are supposed to combat. It may encourage ill-informed teenage believers who are scared of going to university, but it does so by giving them false and shallow hope, based on frightfully unbiblical and shallow theology, to prepare for the onslaught that most secular universities have in store.

This movie also doesn't prove that God's not dead.

It just proves that cultural Christianity sells to people who've already drank the Kool-Aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 142 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, April 16, 2014
Multiple plot lines winding together towards a satisfying conclusion is, to me, the best straightforward storytelling a movie can offer. This movie does that very well, and each character is interesting, if sometimes a little stereotypical. There is a strong Christian message, everyone should know that from the title, but it is not preachy in a eye-rolling or cheesy way. The diverse experiences of Americans, immigrants, and a diverse cross section of society portrayed in the movie, as they react to a "living" God is inspiring and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something worth watching, August 9, 2014
By 
Dad (Heber City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Restores my hope in humanity. It is encouraging to see that there are still many believers, including the producers of this show. With so much smut and garbage in the media it is refreshing to watch an uplifting and wholesome show. Great watch and great message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Movie, April 14, 2014
This review is from: God's Not Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
This was the most inspiring movie my husband and I have seen in years!!! We are going again and again and taking others! The crowd in the theater ranged from teenagers to elderly and the positive comments that were expressed during the movie were fantastic! I have never heard a movie audience respond (positive response) like they did at this movie. Even the young people younger than teenagers that we know brought up points they picked from the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not in dumps any more, August 8, 2014
This review is from: God's Not Dead (DVD)
Bus driver asked how christmas was. Said stayed home watching dvd andromeda. He never heard of it. Told him about it & said kevin sorbo at that he told me about this film which he just saw. Sounded good & i pre ordered it.
Just saw it. Wow. It hit home. I cried about amy cancer & has no one. Nov age 60 had just been diagnosed with myotonic dystropy. Cause of things & my heart have less than 10 yrs to live. Everybody left me. I have nobody. Went into the dumps.
Most important thing i got out of the film is-the reminder ive still got God & Jesus they are my strengh & will help me get through it. In dumps no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars and we get disgusted at so many people piling on to give this ..., August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
God is not dead...

What an abysmally vapid parody of atheists. Leave aside the pointless bully tactic (to skip a part of the curriculum that most atheists would find the most enjoyable), But he gets it wrong/incomplete from the very first with an incomplete understanding of agnosticism. Not a convincing philosophy professor, especially given the flaws in logic they portrayed. News flash to the Christian world, this is why we my look to philosophers for ways to clarify our thinking, but we simply do not look to them to educe the nature of the universe.

The portrayal is inaccurate, mean spirited, and about as enlightened as Sorbo's interview response he gave questioning `why atheists are so angry about something they do not believe. We get angry that this kind of nonsense is so common, and we get disgusted at so many people piling on to give this movie five stars, simply because it supports a base christian view of atheists termed: Because they enjoyed the arguments. If Sorbo even had the capacity to fathom that we are angry about the damage that silly mean people do every day, perhaps he'd have been a bit more convincing.
Alas, neither he nor the writers have any better understanding of what atheism actually might be. Combined with the dishonesty of telling the student that if he just writes down god is dead, regardless of what he believes... well , that shouldn't pass the muster anywhere.

Congratulations to the producers, for a contemptibly ignorant, patently dishonest, and embarrassingly clumsy, libel. Every premise I saw put forth was so horribly flawed that it should have been an embarrassment to anyone involved; and, in every instance they were arguments that have been asked and answered too many times to count. That left us with the same too tired and too old apologetic - word games worthy of the Discovery Institute, or any other religion huxter/organization you'd care to name .

Even in the genera of the modern Christian epic, this one was pure infantile and bigoted excrement. It goes right on the shelf beside Stein's "Expelled," as examples of how merely being dishonest isn't an acceptable substitute for ignorance and the inability to think.

Coffey3C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally unbelieveable plot and stereotypical characters., August 29, 2014
I really wanted to love this movie and we were so excited to see it. I'm a Christian and this movie was a little embarrassing, to be honest. The characters in this movie are so unrealistic and stereotypical that it angered me. It's almost downright offensive. First of all is the girlfriend, an extremely needy, selfish, and high maintenance girl who makes all women look bad. I was about to turn the movie off when they broke up and I decided I could finally watch the movie in peace. The whole premise of their fighting is ridiculous. She gets upset because her boyfriend, a freshman, is challenging his freshman level philosophy professor about the existence of God. She claims that doing this will compromise his chances of getting into law school 4 years down the road. First of all, the professor said the boy would fail the midterm, not the entire class. Second, failing a freshman level philosophy elective is not going to have an impact on getting into law school. There's also the stereotypical shy, but very intelligent Asian boy with the strict father, the Muslim girl with an also stereotypical strict and abusive father. The list goes on. The philosophy professor was one of the worst. No one who is that obnoxious would have a girlfriend and enough friends to throw a dinner party. I almost forgot about the stereotypical overworking, greedy, womanizing businessman. This man walks out on his girlfriend the minute she tells him she has cancer. He gets mad at her because she couldn't wait until the morning to share the news. Even the most heartless man would at least pretend to care when finding out that someone has cancer. The only good acting came from the main character. He was actually fairly believable. I think people who rated this movie highly are in love with the idea of it and the possibility that maybe it could open someone's eyes to the idea that God does exist. But if you rate it as a movie, it's pretty bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS MOVIE, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God's Not Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
I have seen this movie, probably, 15 times in the last six weeks--imagine that 6 weeks...I don't believe that I have ever seen a movie in theaters for that span of time and it is still showing... sometimes with others sometimes by myself. I have recommended it numerous times to aquaintences and strangers, alike! This movie was not meant to be just an apologetics debate. If I wanted just a debate on Christianity vs. athiesm I could and WILL get the book. Pureflix is a ministry and this movie SHOWS how God will, if allowed, work in the lives of people using varying scenarios and they do it very successfully. I have read Christian blog commentaries on how various things--such as God not allowing the Pastors car to start 3 times... so that he is available to fullfill Gods purposes through him in 3 different situations--was redundant and silly. I could see through this when it happened the second time--the first time that I saw the movie. There were a couple of other things that took a little time for me to notice....such as the Muslim dad saying that God both deserved and DEMANDED their worship (because of free will HE does not DEMAND our worship or relationship) and also that Josh had been ordained to be in that class not only to encourage the other students but mainly to help soften the Professors heart for his impending death--which was to show that God does not take ANYONE out of the Book of LIfe until someone dies without Jesus as his Lord and Savior. It shows being "unevenly-yoked" in two ways--Christian/non-Christian (the professor and Mina) and also with Josh and his girlfriend, one being totally committed to God and Jesus and one being lukewarm--pretty much on name only status. To me this is the BEST movie that I have ever seen. I have seen it so many times because I have NEVER seen a movie that has made me feel more in the presence of God--even overtly Biblical ones. I have the movie soundtrack and the Newsboys "God's Not Dead" album and am now waiting with baited breath to be able to get the movie DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2209 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

God's Not Dead
God's Not Dead by Harold Cronk
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.