God's Silence and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $18.00
  • Save: $4.96 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
God's Silence has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Paperback in good condition. Text is clean, cover shows minor wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

God's Silence Paperback – March 25, 2008


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.04
$8.47 $7.98

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Check out The Amazon Book Review, our editors' fresh new blog featuring interviews with authors, book reviews, quirky essays on book trends, and regular columns by our editors. Explore now
$13.04 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

God's Silence + Walking to Martha's Vineyard
Price for both: $25.33

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Knopf; Reprint edition (March 25, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0375710817
  • ISBN-13: 978-0375710810
  • Product Dimensions: 5.8 x 0.5 x 8.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #685,232 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Wright's Walking to Martha's Vineyard won the 2003 Pulitzer Prize; this book offers more agonic short poems on struggles with addiction and pain, but from a perspective much closer to faith than despair. Extended pieces like "East Boston, 1996" arrive at brutal truths ("the eyes of the terrified/ terrify") and miniature lyrics such as "The Choice" ("God can do what is impossible, but / God can only do what is impossible") seem to project upward in spiritual longing. In an Icarian approach to the light, Wright weaves a doubt-tinged refrain—"I have heard God's silence like the sun"—through poem after poem; pieces such as "On the Death of a Cat" ("Dear Stealth / of innocence....") compete with more inspired passages. And as with Walking, the poet's father, mid-century poet James Wright, looms large, as absence and as towering presence. Although there are serious dips in the road here, the best poems offer hope and compassion, and embrace the contradictions they present: "Proved faithless, still I wait."
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Booklist

In his first book since winning the Pulitzer Prize, Wright conjures his particular magic through a personalized mix of realism, lyricism, and mysticism in powerful new poems. The collection begins with a long poem that delves into memory, and then rushes forward in a perfectly fluid way. Wright manifests a Rilke-like spirituality where inner and outer worlds unite, dichotomies dissolve, and boundaries of the physical realm shift and blur. Like a gifted tightrope walker, Wright balances on the edge of things with grace, knowledge, and acceptance of the world's accidental happenings. Although trying to diminish his own existence through self-deprecation, Wright glorifies the mystery of every human life. Sadness, regret, and raw realization surface, but they add dramatic tension and are always transcended by faith. Perhaps one of Wright's most attractive poetic gifts is his ability to speak with the world-worn wisdom of an elder while simultaneously evoking childlike awe. Thought-provoking, original, and refreshingly inspired, this collection will certainly garner more praise for this talented poet. Janet St. John
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Grant Barber on March 17, 2006
Format: Hardcover
O man o man o man. I just finished with my first reading of this collection. How many poetry collections do I struggle to finish, have no interest in rereading? Maybe 5-10 a month. I not only relish the prospect of rereading this book, but I want to memorize lines, whole poems. He writes in the tradition of Herbert, Smart, R. S. Thomas, maybe with flashes of those writers, but Wright here is all himself. And he is accomplished here. His voice and lines are genuine, compelling, given with authority. His story is hard one. Lovers of the sly wink and chuckle of the ironic, those appalled that feeling and belief might be present, those who are quick to belittle without being able to offer any real alternative vision, won't enjoy this book. Nor is this book in the tradition of Collins or Dunn or any of the other 'pick up basketball is the metaphor of the suburban middle aged poet' school. This book is the reason to read poetry--claiming something on the page which is consequential, pointing toward something greater.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Emily C. on October 9, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Franz Wright is a stunning poet who communicates how hard it is to live one single life and who is filled to the brim with raw emotion and compassion for the living and the dead. His lucid poems display grief, fury, love and unbearable tenderness, and Beckett-like hilarity, too: "(I was always the death of the party.)" The poems speak directly to us - intimately, honestly, urgently - with a fierce intelligence and deep spiritual grace.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Robin Friedman HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on September 14, 2010
Format: Paperback
"When Moses conversed with God, he asked, 'Lord, where shall I seek You"
God answered, 'Among the brokenhearted'." Abu'l Fayd Al-Misri

Franz Wright prefaces his book of poetry "God's Silence" (2006) with the above quotation which aptly summarizes much of the content of the book. Wright (b. 1953) won the 2004 Pulitzer Prize in poetry for his collection "Walking to Martha's Vineyard". He is the son of the poet James Wright who also received the Pulitzer Prize. I came across "God's Silence" while browsing in the local library, and it is my first experience with Wright's work.

The poems are in a highly confessional, personal style. The poet meditates on his experience with addiction, alcohol, and depression, together with a painful childhood. The tone of the poems are alternately sad, angry, or caustic. The poetry also evidences an intense religious faith which is Catholic specifically but more accurately described as mystical. The poems move from a transcendent vision to a vision in which God is immanent to the everyday world of sorrow and suffering. At their best, the religious poems of this volume are profoundly moving. Wright acknowledges the writings of Abraham Joshua Heschel and Thich Nhat Hanh as "constant sources of illumination and companionship" during the composition of the book.

The book is divided into four sections and consists of over 140 pages which is lengthy for a volume of poetry. Most of the poems are short. It is written in a free verse style with short lines which frequently spill over into long, running sentences. There are two translations included and two brief prose poems. The personal, confessional tone predominates at the beginning of the collection and gradually becomes overtaken by religious meditation.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on April 29, 2008
Format: Paperback
This is truly a great poet. The depth and the leaps of conciousness are far beyond any poet that I know of. This is not easily accessable ideas being communicated. Mr. Wright is expressing a realm of feeling and associations not usually witnessed in print. Truly orginal and at the same time paying homage to the great legacy of poetry. Mr. Wright suffers greatly in his life and in his production of his art form. I hope that he does get some satisfaction and contentment from his final product.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Philip Pogson on September 30, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
These are lovely poems that will enrich the reader who invests even a little time in getting to know them. Wright's insights into life are unique and at times challenging, often encapsulated in just a few short lines. Worth the effort.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Franz Wright's recent works include Earlier Poems, God's Silence, and The Beforelife (a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize). In 2004 his Walking to Martha's Vineyard received the Pulitzer Prize. He has been the recipient of two National Endowment for the Arts grants, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Whiting Fellowship, and the PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry, among other honors. He currently lives in Waltham, Massachusetts, with his wife, the translator and writer Elizabeth Oehlkers Wright.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
God's Silence
This item: God's Silence
Price: $13.04
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com