Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars humorous redemption
GOIN'SOUTH is a funny movie about a humorous redemption. Jack Nicholson is the redeemee and lovely Mary Steenburgen is the redeemor. Jack, the low-life criminal, finds that marriage with obedience to Mary is the price he has to pay for going straight. Mary finds that the price of getting cheap gold miner labor through marriage to Jack includes all of the vows, conjugal...
Published on July 12, 2001 by John R. Bridell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good service from seller...Terrible Movie!!!
This review is for the movie. Is one of the worst films i have ever seen. Hard to believe that Jack was mixed up in such a terrible film! Just boring and pointless!
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars humorous redemption, July 12, 2001
By 
John R. Bridell (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goin South [VHS] (VHS Tape)
GOIN'SOUTH is a funny movie about a humorous redemption. Jack Nicholson is the redeemee and lovely Mary Steenburgen is the redeemor. Jack, the low-life criminal, finds that marriage with obedience to Mary is the price he has to pay for going straight. Mary finds that the price of getting cheap gold miner labor through marriage to Jack includes all of the vows, conjugal and otherwise. They actually strike gold and GREED enters into the plot. Greed is a dandy comedy catalyst. The writers gave this movie excellent dialogue. Casting was terrific. What can telegraph a better joke than Nicholson's devilish leer? Mary Steenburgen fit the role of a prim, greedy reformer to a Tee. Even the cover on the box sets the comedy mood of this film with Jack's leering face framed by a noose, saying if I may, "Hey! This is going to be a funny, funny, movie."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hilarity!, December 3, 2006
This review is from: Goin' South (DVD)
Jack Nicholson is hilarious as an outlaw who is rescued from the 'hemp necktie' just in time! Due to an ordinance passed after the Civil War in this western town, property owning women are allowed to claim a prisoner for a husband, but he is then bound to stay and obey for the rest of his days. Though being saved by the rope, Henry Moon isn't fond of being made into a slave and working a woman's dusty gold mine, and his old bank robbing gang has other plans for him too. We also get a nostalgic look at John Belushi. This movie is one for the home archives.

Chrissy K. McVay - Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Western-Comedy, November 15, 2006
This review is from: Goin' South (DVD)
"Goin' South" is a Western-Comedy directed and starring Jack Nicholson, in his directorial debut. Nicholson has only directed two films (the other one being the Chinatown sequel, The Two Jakes) and both of them are really good projects. Especially this one. I don't much like Western-Comedies; They all have that same mood and they, usually, play it way too goofy. This movie has its moments of goofiness, but it's actually pretty funny and charming. If Nicholson hadn't played so many memorable characters already (R.P. McMurphy, Jack Torrance, Warren Schmidt, Jake Gittes, etc.) than you could call his Henry Moon one of his most memorable creations. Anyway, Henry Moon is an outlaw. A robber of banks and stealer of horses. When the law finally catches him, he's sentenced to hang. As he's being led to the gallows, he discovers a loophole. If a woman who owns property agrees to marry him, he doesn't have to swing. After an old lady volunteers, but quickly dies, Julia Tate (Mary Steenburgen, in her debut film role) takes Henry under her wing and marries him. She doesn't marry Henry because she couldn't stand the thought of him dying or because she particularly likes him, but because she needs finding gold in the mines on her property. Henry doesn't mind much, but he's disappointed at the lack of affection the wife is showing her husband. Matters are made worse when the railroad evicts her and two boneheaded lawmen (Christopher Lloyd and John Belushi) are always trying to arrest Henry. Also, Henry's former gang (two of the members include Danny DeVito and Veronica Cartwright) wants in on some of the gold he's been discovering. The movie's humor is hit-and-miss, and I'd be lying to you if I said it didn't miss a lot...It does. But the stuff that hits is pretty funny and the movie is well written, entertaining, and charming enough to get a high grade from me. Jack Nicholson and Mary Steenburgen have good chemistry onscreen and Lloyd & Belushi are so goofy, that they're hilarious. The movie isn't perfect, but it's highly enjoyable. Besides, the DVD is cheap and it's worth the money.

GRADE: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goin' South, July 7, 2002
By 
Tracy (Parma, Idaho) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goin South [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have watched this movie many times and never get tired of it. I have shown it to many of my friends and they all enjoy it. Jack Nicholson cracks me up every time. No-one could carry this part off as well. Watch this movie and be entertained as you want to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but a goodie!, August 4, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goin' South (DVD)
This is absolutely one of our favorite movies. It's a great friends night out movie (there's some language that makes it inappropriate as a family movie). You won't believe all the stars in this movie - besides Jack and Mary are John Belushi, Christopher Lloyd and a lot of others you'll recognize.

When we're in the mood for a good laugh, this is the movie we bring out. My husband has some good lines he's memorized from the movie and uses (I mean ALL day long...)which leads to us loaning out our copy to the poor unfortunate that has no clue what he's talking about. We keep extras because I don't always get our copy back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Comic Western, November 25, 2004
By 
David Baldwin (Philadelphia,PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goin' South (DVD)
"Goin' South",directed by star Jack Nicholson, is an engaging lightweight comic western. The story concerns a two-bit outlaw(Nicholson) saved from the gallows by a virginal ordinance bride(Mary Steenburgen). The chemistry between Nicholson and Steenburgen, in her film debut, is excellent. The story, though it sags in part, keeps you interested throughout. Christopher Lloyd has an amusing bit as a sheriff's deputy. To the film's detriment it wastes the talents of John Belushi and Danny DeVito in miniscule parts. A minor film in the impressive canon of Jack Nicholson's career but a film well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give me more, August 30, 2002
By 
This review is from: Goin' South (DVD)
Jack rocked this. He played his part perfectly. I laughed myself silly watching this movie. It was predictable but hell we all like a movie that touches home base every once in a while don't we. If you rent this movie you will probably want to buy it so just buy it first and watch it with style. A clear picture is worth an extra few bucks. VHS is fading away in front of your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See, October 24, 1999
This review is from: Goin South [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A fine film if you love jack you will love this movie this has to be jack"s finest overlooked screen gems of all time a must see but when will it come out on dvd????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Film That Will Hook You., July 8, 2001
By 
Rob (Orange Park, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goin South [VHS] (VHS Tape)
My friends and I know this movie word for word. Why this film is not recognized as a classic, is hard to understand. Look at the cast. Listen to the lines. While this is not Gone With The Wind, it is in it's own right, a perfect little film.
In the title, I stated this film will hook you. That has been the case with everyone that I have shown it to. At first, they say, "Well, it was pretty good". Then, weeks later, thinking back about the characters, what they said and how they said it, another viewing is requested. And, another. Until, they chuckle in anticipation of the next line.
I recently found another film that hit me the same way,O Brother Where Art Thou? Everything about both films just seems perfect.
I prefer not to expand further on the details. Watch them just once. Then try not to watch them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic - Laugh til you cry, March 16, 2000
By 
Daniel McMenamin (Fairfield California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goin South [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a must see movie. Cast is outstanding, crazy plot with hilarous scenes. You'll laugh from beginning til end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Goin South [VHS]
Goin South [VHS] by Jack Nicholson (VHS Tape - 1990)
$14.95 $12.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.