Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Gossip Girl. Taylor was born to rock
At long last, the new TPR album drops, on the night of a full moon. One can only hope they do not make us wait another three years for the next one. How can I best sum up this band? (For people who don't like long reviews; I understand, you have stuff to do.) Blues-metal magnificence. It's as if Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and Janis Joplin all made sweet love and had...
Published 7 months ago by Jason Clerico

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music
The music is great and overall I really enjoy this CD. I probably will buy their next music but I could have lived without the fake orgasm at the beginning of the first track. So derivative and wastes time when all we want is for the great music to start. For such an organic band the gesture seemed fake. Sorry, love the music and look forward to more. Just lose the...
Published 2 months ago by K. McCoy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Gossip Girl. Taylor was born to rock, March 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
At long last, the new TPR album drops, on the night of a full moon. One can only hope they do not make us wait another three years for the next one. How can I best sum up this band? (For people who don't like long reviews; I understand, you have stuff to do.) Blues-metal magnificence. It's as if Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and Janis Joplin all made sweet love and had a scarily awesome baby named The Pretty Reckless. If that is all you need to hear, go buy the album now and enjoy. Everyone else is invited to read on...

The album charges strong out of the gate with "Follow Me Down", a terrifically sleazy blues romp that opens up with porn star Jenna Haze making... a little music of her very own. You crank up the volume to hear her moans and sighs, and then BLAM, the guitar riff slams you in the face (a nice trick, I must say). It's the standout track for me on this record; it is the best rock song I have heard in maybe... 20 years? No joke, folks. Razor and Tie Records: you are FOOLS if you don't release this as a radio single. It will CRUSH the industry.

Second favorite song: "Why'd You Bring a Shotgun to the Party?" Pure swagger, wisdom, and rage. "Sweet Things" is a close shave for third; she lets loose with some brutal howling near the end. A sign of heavier metal things to come? Perhaps. But slower, prettier songs like "House on a Hill" could easily be crossover hits on Top 40 stations, too. "Waiting for a Friend", a welcome dose of light 'n sweet, will make you wish you were that friend for whom she's waiting.

One might be tempted, given the tender age of the frontwoman (she was only 15 or 16 when the band formed in '09), to dismissively label this band as pop-rock. They are not. This insanely gorgeous girl can SING, and write songs, too. And I am here to testify to you, my people, as a lifelong devotee of all things aggro and metal: these songs legitimately rock, and rock hard. (As do all the songs from their previous releases, Light Me Up and Hit Me Like A Man, which you should buy immediately if you don't own them.) This band is not a vanity project for a pretty starlet; this is not She & Him, nor Juliette & the Licks. This is not 30 Seconds to Mars. This is a cadre of a$$kickers fronted by a natural-born siren who is only starting to come into her own. They are as serious as a heart attack and as potentially lethal to the unprepared.

As for our lady Taylor's sultry, smoky alto voice: it is a revelation. Her hypnotically husky purr (Anne Rice would call it a butterscotch growl) sounds like it must surely be coming out of someone else's body. You almost have to see her sing live to believe it is really HER belting this stuff out. It is the voice of an old soul crooning through a nubile host. The result is both intoxicating and disquieting. The acoustic tracks on Going to Hell literally gave me chills; again, it is like Janis has been reborn, darkly drawn.

Rock has been waiting for a standard bearer, a blazing symbol around whom we can rally, to rise up and take it all back. Could you be our Joan of Arc, Taylor? No pressure, kid; just shrug the weight of the world off of those slender shoulders and go kick it like it's your job. 'Cuz it is... and it's a job that you are very, very good at.

Rock on, Reckless!! I hope you go pentuple platinum. ;-}>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In some 60 years of listening to rock,, March 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
The Pretty Reckless is one of the very best hard rock groups I've heard. Tough, edgy, *musical* instrumental work, good to excellent writing, and superlative vocals. Indeed, it's hard to say enough good about Taylor Momsen's vocal abilities, so I won't try except to say that we may be seeing in her the emergence of an overall ability that will match even Ronstadt's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I had tried to listen to earlier Pretty Reckless songs before, but they never grabbed my attention. After hearing Heaven Knows on the radio, I was very intrigued. It was simple, bluesy, Joan Jett like, but different. Previewed the other songs, made the choice to get the whole album, and I'm really glad I did. I really like these songs, they way they are constructed and the way they flow and sound. Most of the songs have very odd chord progressions, and the way she found a way to sing with them is really impressive. Some of the songs have almost a rock opera kind of feel, like Sweet Things for example. It's almost like a classical composition with different parts slung together, hard rocking at first, but then switches gear to this creepy light sound. The album is a great mix of hard rock and ballads for sure, with great lyrics and flow. The only negative I would say is that some of the song topics are a little too "metal cliche" to the point where it's on the verge of corny and feeling a little fake (going to hell, drugs, and so on). But the energy and the way these songs were written overpower any negatives. An excellent album that I'll be playing for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be surprised that you love it, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This girl has an amazing voice, and she can really rock. After finding out she was an actress from Gossip Girl, you're thinking it's just another actor trying to make money on the side, and you aren't really expecting to like it. Not true with this album. This band is truly an awesome, in your face, rock band. Glad to see some of the songs on this one are getting some air time with local channels. It's one of those cds where you don't just like a song or two. The whole cd is great. Not for those easily offended, but definitely worth listening too for everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing Throw-back Hedonistic Altrock Masterpiece, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell (Audio CD)
I've been thoroughly enjoying "Going To Hell" by the Taylor Momsen led The Pretty Reckless. This album is a refreshing throw-back hedonistic altrock masterpiece. Momsen has pipes that rival Lizzy Hale of Halestorm while featuring similar hard rock stylings. Ms. Momsen posed for the cover photo too--she's quite photogenic. One of the challenges this offering presents is picking a top track, but I'll go with "Absolution" with the title track close behind (the acoustic bonus version of the title track is another gem). This album is built to party and a no-brainer recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out, uncomplicated hard rock blast, July 19, 2014
This review is from: Going to Hell (Audio CD)
Coming across in many ways as a slightly dumbed down and more serious version of all those Scandinavian hair-metal bands we've (almost) all been studiously ignoring for the last decade The Pretty Reckless - in Taylor Momsen - even have a lass whose banshee wailing could be mistaken for a hairless chested youth in a Stockholm bar in some songs.

The plan of attack here in this meaty hard rock offering is at the same time simple and well constructed. The album lays out its intent with a fairly simple rawk rock number called Follow Me Down. And down is where she is effectively offering to go if you get my meaning. The 'look how debauched we are' schtick continues with far right baiting tune Going to Hell. One look at the online forums will attest that (in one particular country at least) there are still wing-nuts lining up to be outraged even at the time of this albums release. Scary stuff.

The real craft of the album does make itself felt as the album progresses. While much of the guitar work is downright simple in sound and while the production keeps things robust there is variety on offer. The third track has some almost twee sounding chants which almost succeed in distracting you away from how contrived the lyrics are. House on the Hill provides the obligatory mellow number that usually appears as track three or four on albums such as this but in this case it works. Taylor has a voice with a little more body than many other ladies and while the music is simple it is justified by the needs of the song.

As the album moves on you get a few more dollops of good time blasting heavy rock including the nicely layered Absolution. Track ten - Why'd You Bring A Shotgun to the Party - proves yet again that lyrics that sound like they were written by a simpleton can work if put together with a toe tapping melody and good riff. The conviction shown on this album is a strong point in being taken seriously rather than as just a marketing technique. Yes Ms Momsen is a sometime actress and so you could argue from a point of cynicism but why bother? All is delivered with such aplomb it seems churlish.

There is a version of this with a couple of extra songs on it but I only scored the plain Jane version so can't comment on whether it is worth paying extra for.

All up a very solid hard rock album perfect for either plodding along the highway to or taking part in a binge drinking session. And a couple of these tracks will surely end up being played in strip clubs too. Which, you know, each to their own....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Joan Jett & Courtney Love had a baby..., June 24, 2014
This review is from: Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
then it would sound a lot like The Pretty Reckless' frontwoman, Taylor Momsen.

Sure, Momsen may have played sweet little Cindy Lou Who in Jim Carey's 'The Grinch' as well as being Jenny Humphrey on 'Gossip Girl', Cindy Lou Who is all grown up and is paving a path all her own. Momsen did a 180 and, with The Pretty Reckless, completely reinvented herself as a bad @$$ take no BS rock goddess. :)

I was completely blown away with this album! Momsen's husky, raw vocals demand attention. This girl was born to rock and Oh My God can she sing! I appreciate how this girl is not pretending to be a faux punk rocker (a la Avril Lavigne), but a real rockstar. Very few bands today sound as good (and create a convincingly hard rock sound) as The Pretty Reckless do here.

The Deluxe Edition is even better, as it contains 2 Bonus Tracks: 13. "Going To Hell" (Acoustic) and 14. "Sweet Things" (Acoustic). The bonus acoustic tracks showcase Momsen's voice and show how powerful she really is vocally.

My favorite 'GTH' track is "Heaven Knows". Ok, sure, it could've borrowed a little too much from Queen's "We Will Rock You", but this song immediately seized my attention upon sampling it on iTunes.

All in all, a great 2nd effort from this group! Rock on, The Pretty Reckless and keep rockin' out, "Cindy Lou Who" (And, yes, I will always remember/associate Taylor Momsen as the sweet & innocent little Cindy Lou Who - no matter what; and no, I can't get that image out of my head) (:

Standout Tracks:

3. "Heaven Knows" (favorite song on album!)
10. "Why'd You Bring A Shotgun To The Party?"

-Chloe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Momsen shows she can really rock, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell (Audio CD)
I only knew Taylor Momsen by name, not really familiar with her roles in the Grinch move and Gossip Girl, and when I heard she had been fronting a rock band, I thought, "Oh, great, another TV star who thinks she's a musician." After being introduced to this album, I realized I totally underestimated her.

Pardon my French, but this album just kicks ass. A lot of aggressive straight-ahead rock n roll is the calling card, but the group does takes some departures with some ballad-type stuff, and a couple of acoustic versions of songs on the album. Through it all, I was really impressed by Momsen's throaty, almost guttural, vocals, which were perfect for these songs (She's does pretty darn well on the slower stuff too).

"F***cked (Messed) Up World" is the one song that I can't get out of my head. Just a great tune. And songs like "Follow Me Down," "Going to Hell" and "Heaven Knows" also pack a wallop. "House on a Hill" and "Waiting for a Friend" are the slower ones which allow Momsen to show off her range. And, while Momsen is the star of the show, the rest of the band packs a powerful soundtrack behind her.

Not that anyone predisposed to this kind of hard rock music would care, but this album is definitely full of adult-themed content. Let's just say it comes by its "Parental Advisory" sticker honestly. The, um, sound effects that open the album set the tone and let you know this is no music for the kiddies.

In summary, if you're looking for great hard-driving rock n roll, this is one to get. I will be getting this band's first album soon, and am looking forward to what Momsen and Co. can produce in the coming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a great album!, March 30, 2014
By 
This review is from: Going to Hell (Audio CD)
Until I listened to "Going to Hell" the only thing I knew about The Pretty Reckless were that they were a band fronted by one of the "Gossip Girl" chicks. I had seen pictures of Taylor Momsen performing onstage over the years and my initial reaction was that she was a Courtney Love wannabe. It was only after seeing a "Rolling Stone" article about the cover of the album (which features her adorable bare rump) that I was prompted to check it out on Spotify and I was totally blown away! Taylor is everything Avril Lavigne pretended to be but, whereas the make-believe punk Avril gets up to the microphone and sings s***ty pop tunes like "Sk8ter Boi" , Taylor rocks her ass off with "Follow Me Down", "Going to Hell", and "Why'd You Bring A Shotgun to the Party". My favorite track on the album is "Absolution" which brings to mind Porcupine Tree (the combo of both acoustic and distorted electric guitars through tout is very PT-esque).

While there are a few ballads that are weaker than the rest of the tracks, this is definitely the best album of the year so far and I can't imagine anything else coming along in the near future to rival it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Concept Album, August 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going to Hell (Vinyl)
This is flat out a great album. It definitely takes the religious theme to the extreme and I can understand why that would put some people off. But the concept never seems forced and rock music should be at least a little disquieting! The album also features its fair share of singles that can hold their own on the radio or a playlist outside of the concept album. If you like the earlier work put forth by this band it would seem like a foregone conclusion that you would greatly enjoy this release. The material is different enough to keep things interesting and displays plenty of growth as artists. I'm hoping for several more great albums from this band! Oh yeah, the cover art is easy on the eyes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition
Going to Hell - Deluxe Edition by The Pretty Reckless (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.