Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 12, 2014
At long last, the new TPR album drops, on the night of a full moon. One can only hope they do not make us wait another three years for the next one. How can I best sum up this band? (For people who don't like long reviews; I understand, you have stuff to do.) Blues-metal magnificence. It's as if Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and Janis Joplin all made sweet love and had a scarily awesome baby named The Pretty Reckless. If that is all you need to hear, go buy the album now and enjoy. Everyone else is invited to read on...

The album charges strong out of the gate with "Follow Me Down", a terrifically sleazy blues romp that opens up with porn star Jenna Haze making... a little music of her very own. You crank up the volume to hear her moans and sighs, and then BLAM, the guitar riff slams you in the face (a nice trick, I must say). It's the standout track for me on this record; it is the best rock song I have heard in maybe... 20 years? No joke, folks. Razor and Tie Records: you are FOOLS if you don't release this as a radio single. It will CRUSH the industry.

Second favorite song: "Why'd You Bring a Shotgun to the Party?" Pure swagger, wisdom, and rage. "Sweet Things" is a close shave for third; she lets loose with some brutal howling near the end. A sign of heavier metal things to come? Perhaps. But slower, prettier songs like "House on a Hill" could easily be crossover hits on Top 40 stations, too. "Waiting for a Friend", a welcome dose of light 'n sweet, will make you wish you were that friend for whom she's waiting.

One might be tempted, given the tender age of the frontwoman (she was only 15 or 16 when the band formed in '09), to dismissively label this band as pop-rock. They are not. This insanely gorgeous girl can SING, and write songs, too. And I am here to testify to you, my people, as a lifelong devotee of all things aggro and metal: these songs legitimately rock, and rock hard. (As do all the songs from their previous releases, Light Me Up and Hit Me Like A Man, which you should buy immediately if you don't own them.) This band is not a vanity project for a pretty starlet; this is not She & Him, nor Juliette & the Licks. This is not 30 Seconds to Mars. This is a cadre of a$$kickers fronted by a natural-born siren who is only starting to come into her own. They are as serious as a heart attack and as potentially lethal to the unprepared.

As for our lady Taylor's sultry, smoky alto voice: it is a revelation. Her hypnotically husky purr (Anne Rice would call it a butterscotch growl) sounds like it must surely be coming out of someone else's body. You almost have to see her sing live to believe it is really HER belting this stuff out. It is the voice of an old soul crooning through a nubile host. The result is both intoxicating and disquieting. The acoustic tracks on Going to Hell literally gave me chills; again, it is like Janis has been reborn, darkly drawn.

Rock has been waiting for a standard bearer, a blazing symbol around whom we can rally, to rise up and take it all back. Could you be our Joan of Arc, Taylor? No pressure, kid; just shrug the weight of the world off of those slender shoulders and go kick it like it's your job. 'Cuz it is... and it's a job that you are very, very good at.

Rock on, Reckless!! I hope you go pentuple platinum. ;-}>
1111 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
The Pretty Reckless is one of the very best hard rock groups I've heard. Tough, edgy, *musical* instrumental work, good to excellent writing, and superlative vocals. Indeed, it's hard to say enough good about Taylor Momsen's vocal abilities, so I won't try except to say that we may be seeing in her the emergence of an overall ability that will match even Ronstadt's.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
Coming across in many ways as a slightly dumbed down and more serious version of all those Scandinavian hair-metal bands we've (almost) all been studiously ignoring for the last decade The Pretty Reckless - in Taylor Momsen - even have a lass whose banshee wailing could be mistaken for a hairless chested youth in a Stockholm bar in some songs.

The plan of attack here in this meaty hard rock offering is at the same time simple and well constructed. The album lays out its intent with a fairly simple rawk rock number called Follow Me Down. And down is where she is effectively offering to go if you get my meaning. The 'look how debauched we are' schtick continues with far right baiting tune Going to Hell. One look at the online forums will attest that (in one particular country at least) there are still wing-nuts lining up to be outraged even at the time of this albums release. Scary stuff.

The real craft of the album does make itself felt as the album progresses. While much of the guitar work is downright simple in sound and while the production keeps things robust there is variety on offer. The third track has some almost twee sounding chants which almost succeed in distracting you away from how contrived the lyrics are. House on the Hill provides the obligatory mellow number that usually appears as track three or four on albums such as this but in this case it works. Taylor has a voice with a little more body than many other ladies and while the music is simple it is justified by the needs of the song.

As the album moves on you get a few more dollops of good time blasting heavy rock including the nicely layered Absolution. Track ten - Why'd You Bring A Shotgun to the Party - proves yet again that lyrics that sound like they were written by a simpleton can work if put together with a toe tapping melody and good riff. The conviction shown on this album is a strong point in being taken seriously rather than as just a marketing technique. Yes Ms Momsen is a sometime actress and so you could argue from a point of cynicism but why bother? All is delivered with such aplomb it seems churlish.

There is a version of this with a couple of extra songs on it but I only scored the plain Jane version so can't comment on whether it is worth paying extra for.

All up a very solid hard rock album perfect for either plodding along the highway to or taking part in a binge drinking session. And a couple of these tracks will surely end up being played in strip clubs too. Which, you know, each to their own....
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
I had tried to listen to earlier Pretty Reckless songs before, but they never grabbed my attention. After hearing Heaven Knows on the radio, I was very intrigued. It was simple, bluesy, Joan Jett like, but different. Previewed the other songs, made the choice to get the whole album, and I'm really glad I did. I really like these songs, they way they are constructed and the way they flow and sound. Most of the songs have very odd chord progressions, and the way she found a way to sing with them is really impressive. Some of the songs have almost a rock opera kind of feel, like Sweet Things for example. It's almost like a classical composition with different parts slung together, hard rocking at first, but then switches gear to this creepy light sound. The album is a great mix of hard rock and ballads for sure, with great lyrics and flow. The only negative I would say is that some of the song topics are a little too "metal cliche" to the point where it's on the verge of corny and feeling a little fake (going to hell, drugs, and so on). But the energy and the way these songs were written overpower any negatives. An excellent album that I'll be playing for awhile.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
This girl has an amazing voice, and she can really rock. After finding out she was an actress from Gossip Girl, you're thinking it's just another actor trying to make money on the side, and you aren't really expecting to like it. Not true with this album. This band is truly an awesome, in your face, rock band. Glad to see some of the songs on this one are getting some air time with local channels. It's one of those cds where you don't just like a song or two. The whole cd is great. Not for those easily offended, but definitely worth listening too for everyone else.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
The music is great and overall I really enjoy this CD. I probably will buy their next music but I could have lived without the fake orgasm at the beginning of the first track. So derivative and wastes time when all we want is for the great music to start. For such an organic band the gesture seemed fake. Sorry, love the music and look forward to more. Just lose the gimmicks.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
I only knew Taylor Momsen by name, not really familiar with her roles in the Grinch move and Gossip Girl, and when I heard she had been fronting a rock band, I thought, "Oh, great, another TV star who thinks she's a musician." After being introduced to this album, I realized I totally underestimated her.

Pardon my French, but this album just kicks ass. A lot of aggressive straight-ahead rock n roll is the calling card, but the group does takes some departures with some ballad-type stuff, and a couple of acoustic versions of songs on the album. Through it all, I was really impressed by Momsen's throaty, almost guttural, vocals, which were perfect for these songs (She's does pretty darn well on the slower stuff too).

"F***cked (Messed) Up World" is the one song that I can't get out of my head. Just a great tune. And songs like "Follow Me Down," "Going to Hell" and "Heaven Knows" also pack a wallop. "House on a Hill" and "Waiting for a Friend" are the slower ones which allow Momsen to show off her range. And, while Momsen is the star of the show, the rest of the band packs a powerful soundtrack behind her.

Not that anyone predisposed to this kind of hard rock music would care, but this album is definitely full of adult-themed content. Let's just say it comes by its "Parental Advisory" sticker honestly. The, um, sound effects that open the album set the tone and let you know this is no music for the kiddies.

In summary, if you're looking for great hard-driving rock n roll, this is one to get. I will be getting this band's first album soon, and am looking forward to what Momsen and Co. can produce in the coming years.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
Great second album. Even better than the first. The opening song, 'Follow Me Down' is killer. The song starts off with what sounds like Taylor Momsen, the lead singer, is making noises from either having sex or playing with herself. Hard to believe this is the same girl who played Cindy Lou Who in the Grinch who stole Christmas with Jim Carrey. She has definitely come a long way and grown up to be a fine lead rock singer. The first single. 'Heaven Knows' is a solid heavy rock song. One of my favorite songs is 'Going to Hell'. Kicks ass. Check this album out. You won't be sorry. Enjoy!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
The album Going to Hell by the band The Pretty Reckless is a very intense rock album with a softer song at the end of the album to close it out. The lead singer of the band as such an amazing voice remains me of other female rockers like Pat B, Joan Jett, S Nicks, and more modern singers as Lizzy Halestorm, Sherily Manson of Garbage, and Amy Lee. I personally liked every single track on this album even though track 6 Dear Sister is only a minute long, and track 9 is roughly two minutes long. But if your a fan of music videos and this band, please check out the music videos for House on a Hill and F----- Up World quite intresting videos and well worth your time. But just saying this for fans of this band the song Sweet Things is so very creepy in more ways then one speaking of course of the lyrics. So in closing the album Going to Hell a true rock album with songs you can sing along to over and over again and never grow tired of the lryics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2016
The Pretty Reckless might be just another Goth band were it not for Taylor Momsen's vocals. She may not have the range of a pop diva--though she has more than adequate range--but the inflection and meaning she injects into a song reveals someone who's very gifted. At her relatively young age she already has complete control of her voice.

She looks like an upside down mop. 90% of her body mass must be lungs. Listening to her sing is a trip. If she can avoid the tar pits that consumed Amy Winehouse, the sky's the limit for Taylor Momsen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.