Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two DDEs
`Going Home to Glory' covers Dwight D. Eisenhower's life from the time of Kennedy's inauguration and Eisenhower's return to "private" life and his death in 1969. David, of course was his grandson and his namesake and married Eisenhower's vice-president Nixon's daughter, Julie; but do not think that this is an unobjective writing.
David Eisenhower is a superb writer...
Published on November 1, 2010 by wogan

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING FROM BEGINNING TO END - WONDERFUL STORY
Thanks so much, David, for giving us a glimpse into the personal lives of the Eisenhowers after your grandfather, "General Ike" left the presidency to retire on his Gettysburg, Pa. farm. I read this recently on my Kindle Fire and plan to order a hardcover to share with friends.

This is a well-written and lively book thruout as David recounts his childhood and...
Published on October 7, 2012 by V. L. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two DDEs, November 1, 2010
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
`Going Home to Glory' covers Dwight D. Eisenhower's life from the time of Kennedy's inauguration and Eisenhower's return to "private" life and his death in 1969. David, of course was his grandson and his namesake and married Eisenhower's vice-president Nixon's daughter, Julie; but do not think that this is an unobjective writing.
David Eisenhower is a superb writer. He is thorough in his research; going to as many primary sources as possible, those persons still living, the personal notes, papers and documents rather than just using secondary ones- books and previously published material. Of course for many subjects, especially his grandfather, he is a primary resource himself; but his writing is very impartial and fair, both in dealing with his subject and his mind-set himself.
He includes his own observations and some of the correspondence that he had with his grandfather. His thoughts are warm and create a private picture of a world figure that bring a warmth and closeness to the story; but that is not the main focus. Most of the book deals with Eisenhower's political feelings and observation on what was happening in the world /US scene. There are the moments of the wise grandfather and he is treated gently, especially in the subject of the Bay of Pigs debacle; but there are many little, if known at all facts: Mamie's thoughts that she was not sure that anyone, including herself really knew Ike. He was kept informed and briefed by all the presidents after him, so there are many views and judgments on world events, including the Cuban missile crises, civil rights and the various elections.

We see Eisenhower as a general, who wanted that title back rather than Mr. President, a man who led the allied forces in WWII, a president and as a grandfather, who once he discovered the remote control drove Mamie and everyone else to distraction by changing channels every 90 seconds. A grandfather who did not understand or approve of the morals of the 1960's and as a General who felt Johnson mishandled the war in Vietnam.
A list of abbreviations used in an appendix would have been somewhat helpful for those that forget what NSC and JES, for example mean, you are told once, if at all, but again that is not really a problem in the reading.

David's views and opinions to a minor extent are included in the writing, but they are not obtrusive . It is a personal and at the same time a broader look into one of America' s senior statesmen and leaders. What a perfect book DDE has completed for anyone who loves US history and wishes to learn more in an enjoyable, informative way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful book, October 30, 2010
By 
R. M. Bostock (Lawrenceville, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
I was born during the final years of the Eisenhower administration, so I don't have any of my own memories of Ike. I do, however, remember how much my parents and grandparents admired him (my mother still has in her jewelry box a gold-toned pin that spells out "Ike"). So what a treat it is to read this very warm and deeply informative account of Ike's final years, as seen through the eyes of his grandson, David. This marvelous book draws back the curtain on the great General, without interposing on our view the rose-colored glasses that so often mar memoirs today. Written with affection but also with an historian's objective distance, Going Home to Glory reveals an Eisenhower only known heretofore to his closest intimates. As I read this book, I almost felt like I was eavesdropping on David and Julie as they reminisced with close friends or family about this great man whom they knew so well, both as a public figure beloved by the world and as private man loved by his family. This is a marvelous book and would make an especially great holiday present for anyone who once proclaimed that "I Like Ike." If you liked Ike, you'll love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great look at history from a personal perspective, November 1, 2010
By 
Jennie (PHILADELPHIA, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
Going Home To Glory is a very interesting story about the relationship between Ike and his grandson, David. It is a story told with the political upheaval of the 60's as its backdrop (and thus made it an interesting read for history enthusiasts), but what made it so wonderful to me was how personal it was.
I would recommend this as a gift to any father, grandfather or son. A very powerful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandfather/Grandson, November 6, 2010
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
In Going Home to Glory David Eisenhower with Julie Nixon Eisenhower blended the historical with the personal and wrote a very informative book. You can see the blending with David's use of Eisenhower and Granddad interchangeably through out the book. Historically the book reveals Eisenhower's reactions to the Bay of Pigs, Cuban Missile Crisis, the 1964 election, the unrest in the 1960's, and the elections of 1966 and 1968. The reader finds out the relationships that Eisenhower had with Presidents Kennedy and Johnson and how Eisenhower became a supportive and enduring friend to Johnson in the last years of his Presidency.
For me the essence of the book revolves around the personal relationship between grandfather and grandson. The rites of passage;going from calling his grandfather IKE to Granddad before the presidency, at 10 receiving a Bible, and at 16 being given history on World War II big events in all male Eisenhower lives. Working summers for his grandfather, driving with him, and just listening and being with his grandfather. Learning that even in his romance with Julie politics could play a role in determining their marriage date.
I recommend this book for historians and the general reading public. It is a beautifully written volume about family love, devotion to country, and the personal things that makes life so important and fulfilling. From the front cover showing General Eisenhower and David looking out on the White House lawn to the photo on the back cover with a smiling Ike and a grinning and very girlish and vivacious looking Mamie this book can be enjoyed by every kind of reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Memoir, November 9, 2010
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
I love this very informative and insightful book! David Eisenhower shares his formative years spent with his Grandfather in a very humble way. It is sometimes funny and always so engaging. I loved the variety of topics and events included. It is a book revealing the solid old fashioned values of a great leader combined with very interesting historical perspectives. It is very touching to read of Eisenhower's decline in health while surrounded by so many faithful friends and family members.
A very enjoyable part of this book was reading about the unfolding relationship between David and Julie from childhood through marriage. Some stories of the connections between the Nixon family and the Eisenhowers were cleverly revealed.
Reading GOING HOME TO GLORY presents an opportunity to learn a bit of history and to learn about a great man's character. This is a well written first hand account by David Eisenhower who must have acquired his Grandfather's compassion for honesty and hard work. I highly recommend this book!

JLR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Point of View, November 15, 2010
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
I found it hard to put this book down once I picked it up. One part of the story is rare insight on the 60's from the most powerful man of the 50's. The other part, surprisingly, had me laughing out loud at stories that any Grandfather or Grandson could relate to. I recommend this book to any history buff. Certainly one of the most interesting biographies I have read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ike's Post-Presidential Years, November 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
This book was absolutely fantastic! I have rated the book at 5 Stars only because there isn't a higher rating! In retrospect, 5 Stars is very fitting for the book, as General Eisenhower was a 5 Star General! David and Julie Eisenhower should be very proud of their wonderful effort of sharing President Eisenhower's post-Presidential years. The book is a warm and caring explanation of Ike and Mamie's departure from the White House and bustling Washington, D.C., and their subsequent transition to Gettysburg, where they actually moved into the very first home they owned! David's close relationship with his grandparents gives the reader a view of one of America's most popular and beloved families from the 50's and 60's, which he so kindly shares with the reader. David and Julie share Ike's transition and transformation from President of the United States, to de facto leader of the Republican Party through the turbulent Vietnam War Years. Through this book, I now have a whole new appreciation for Lyndon Johnson, and how kind and caring he was towards Ike and Mamie. The details of Ike's final years, must have been very painful for the authors, and I for one feel very blessed and privileged they have chosen to share with us. Having read David's first book, Eisenhower at War: 1943-1945, I was ecstatic when I saw this book coming out and purchased it at the very first opportunity; AND I'M VERY GLAD I DID. Hopefully, there are other books in the works....I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING FROM BEGINNING TO END - WONDERFUL STORY, October 7, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thanks so much, David, for giving us a glimpse into the personal lives of the Eisenhowers after your grandfather, "General Ike" left the presidency to retire on his Gettysburg, Pa. farm. I read this recently on my Kindle Fire and plan to order a hardcover to share with friends.

This is a well-written and lively book thruout as David recounts his childhood and teenage memories as the only grandson of a great and complex man. The title is perfect - Young David's love story with Julie Nixon, a person I have admired since she lived in the White House, was interesting. David did not mince words as he portrayed his famous grandfather in retirement - many stories will make you shake your head in wonder!

This is a book for history lovers and it is unique - I remember all the presidents since Truman - biographies by their children fascinate me but this one tops them all in my opinion - from a grandson's point of view as a child and teen and a young newly-wed. David was with Ike at the very end too - a loving account of Ike's final days in the last chapter.

Great job - David and Julie - you both lived thru tumultuous times in our nation's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Human Ike", February 10, 2011
By 
drkhimxz (Freehold, NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Impossible for me to judge how young people, so very many born after the period in which General Eisenhower was a towering figure on the world stage, will judge this book....there being little reason to believe that they will read never mind judge. For those who followed his story in the daily press from North Africa through VE day, then into leadership of the forces seeking to maintain the world alliance which had won victory in the War, and, finally, to a presidency popular with all but some on the extreme Left and Right, Ideologues, and college professors, this will be a fascinating picture of the old warrior, plagued by multiple ailments, still playing the game, until the third strike was called. While there is more than a smattering of politics, there is much more of the human traits and interactions with family and friends which meant so much to him and to them. David Eisenhower, his grandson, knew him reasonably well until he (David) was 21, his wife, Julie, daughter of Richard Nixon, who assisted with the book, knew him for some years but also could contribute to our knowledge of the perspective of that successor President.
The book is quite well written, maintaining audience interest throughout. While important insights are to be gained from discussion of the relationship between the General and his successors, Kennedy and Johnson, the major interest is on the human side of the man.
Certainly I can recommend the book to anyone whose political prejudices, those on the Right and on the Left, will lead to their being too angry to be able to see the General as a man with personal strengths and weaknesses apart from long gone political debates. What was reinforced for me, was how vitally needed are his middle of the road perspectives, not in the form of the questions raised more than a half-century ago, but as a living orientation applicable in formulating answers to the perplexities of our times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Home to Glory, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 (Hardcover)
Not being a history buff, I was not sure if I would enjoy this book. I was so pleasantly surprised and could not put it down. I was reminded of alot of our nations history and learned a whole lot more. I felt that I had a real personal glimpse of President Eisenhower and his family. David and Julie show you the General's intelligence, integrity, and humor. I liked the plaque given to him in Gettysburg. It was engraved with President Eisenhower's response to the question of what he wanted Soviet premier Khrushchev to see in America during his historic 1959 visit:"I want him to see a happy people...doing exactly as they choose, within the limits that they must not transgress the rights of others." David and Julie provide a personal glimpse of Eisenhower's humor e.g. when Eisenhower spoke at his granddaughter, Ann, commencement at Shipley School in Bryn Mawr, Pa. he delighted the girls with the comment "Remember," he said referring to the miniskirts coming into fashion around the country, "ankles are always neat, but knees are always knobby." I laughed aloud in so many parts of this book. It was also inspiring to learn how faith-filled this great man was. At age 12, mainly inspired by his Mom, Ida, he had completed a full reading of the Bible. He was known to have said "To read the Bible is to take a trip to a fair land where the spirit is strengthened and faith renewed." Whether you were of age in President Eisenhower's time, or his grandchildrens' time, or great grandchildrens' time; you will love this book. It is a book for any age. As a nation, I feel we were very fortunate to have such a leader and it is important to be informed and remember our history and those great men and women who have contributed to it. I, personally, am giving this book to our family and friends as a Christmas present; and am sure they will enjoy as much as I have. I would urge you to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969
Going Home To Glory: A Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969 by David Eisenhower (Hardcover - October 26, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.