Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesomely bad
This movie is so bad it is awesome. Obviously a lot of people on here do not have a sense of humor. I laughed all throughout the move. How could someone not think that this is funny? If you have a boring sense of humor do not watch this but if you actually have half of a sense of humor it is funny to watch just how bad this movie is. Awesome.
Published on March 11, 2008 by Florida Girl

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zero stars for this farce
Adam Sandler has made some relatively funny movies in his time. This one is most assuredly not one of them. I realize that this film was one of his earliest projects - long before he hit his stride & could dictate what films he wished to contribute to. In the case of this movie, that point is exceedingly obvious.
It seems like this DVD tries to be funny by...
Published on May 19, 2004 by D. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zero stars for this farce, May 19, 2004
By 
D. Roberts "Hadrian12" (Battle Creek, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
Adam Sandler has made some relatively funny movies in his time. This one is most assuredly not one of them. I realize that this film was one of his earliest projects - long before he hit his stride & could dictate what films he wished to contribute to. In the case of this movie, that point is exceedingly obvious.
It seems like this DVD tries to be funny by being unfunny. That's kind of like trying to satisfy your appetite by starving yourself. Nothing in this film is funny - period. It almost appears that it is deliberately that way (kind of ironic for a comedy, wouldn't you say?).
The only redeeming quality of this movie is that it does have some fairly attractive women wearing bikinis. If it were not for that, I would give this one negative one stars instead of zero stars.
There are some other Sandler movies that are of fairly high quality. Do not make the mistake of believing this is one of them. In fact, if you happen to see this DVD in your shopping cart, be sure & throw it overboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what is this???, July 8, 2005
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
what a waste of time and money. why did i buy this? i don't know, maybe because adam was in it. what i found out was that they must have grabbed him before he even decided to become a star. this looks just like something you would see as a college project with a subject as what not to do to make a successful movie.

adam sandler fans stay away. this will ruin your taste of one of the greatest comics out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crummy crummy crummy, June 26, 2005
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
this is the worst movie i have ever seen! i turned it off it was so bad! i got it at wal-mart in like their $3 bin or something... they should have paid ME to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Going Overboard, January 7, 2004
By 
J. Nickerson (Pallet Town, Kanto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
Ah, Going Overboard. The movie that would have never been released had Sandler not found success on SNL and Billy Madison. Yes, this movie is THAT bad, it makes Happy Gilmore look like Shakespear in comparison. Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of Sandler's movies... just not THIS one.
A few minutes into the movie, Sandler pretty much admits to the audience that this was a "no-budget" flick and they were filming it because they happened to have access to a boat that day. And the movie goes downhill from there, if that's possible. Adam's character Shecky's quest to become the ship comedian is somehow tied with a revenge plot hatched by some third world dictator, and everything is slapped together by many scenes of women in bikinis and the same damn exterior shot of the ship used over and over and over. Despite how bad this movie is, you can definately see the seeds of what would become staples in Adam Sandler movies, such as the completely bizzare side characters and pathetically unhip bad guys. There are a few actual laughs in this movie, which is due from the movie not taking itself seriously, and be sure to look out for cast memeber that would later become regulars in future Sandler movies.
Only hardcore Sandler fans would want this movie, if only just to see how their favorite star started out. Everyone else, stay far far away and get "The Waterboy" or "Mr. Deeds" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A definate low point in Adam Sandler's career, April 4, 2005
By 
Richard K. Wavrik "wavrikr" (Columbus, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
Back in the late 80's Adam Sandler was on a MTV game show called "Remote Control". He played various quirky roles. You would have thought that some of that talent would have made it to this film.

This film is definately the worse movie that Adam has ever been in. Adam's acting leaves a lot to be desired. This film is a comedy with no laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ha Ha huh?, May 21, 2003
By 
Bob the Mighty (Keystone Heights, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
My roomate got this and said it stunk and gave it to me. I thought hey it's got Adam Sandler in it, i like so bad its good movies... I have nothing to do today, I'll give it a chance.
It tries, it doesnt take it self seriously, it isnt supposed to be good, and it just doesnt work. On any level it just was not working. I can not see why this movie has fans besides featuring some actors early work, it does not stand as an independent work.
It does not have any humor in it, bad joke after bad joke. As for T&A (I mean it is also known as babes ahoy) there is no action going on.
It was not funny, it was sad.
I got it for free and I feel cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst movies I have ever seen., August 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
I like Sandler.

I couldn't even finish watching it. I purchased it, and actually took it out of the DVD player and broke it in half.

The general public should be able to sue the actors and distributors when stuff like this is foisted upon us.

Truly horrible, not funny, taped together. They must have spent fifteen bucks filming this abortion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Movie I Ever Wasted Time Watching, September 15, 2003
By 
Norm (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
Fellow Adam Sandler Fans,
I bought this DVD at Walmart for $5.88 thinking "Wow, an Adam Sandler Movie I haven't seen." Last night I watched this 90 minute piece of garbage and came away with the following conclusions:
1) Adam Sandler must have had very little talent before he came to Saturday Night Live if this movie is any indication of Sandler's real talent;
2) Adam Sandler really should pull all copies from distribution of this movie since this movie degrades any and all other works by Adam Sandler;
3) The producers of this movie must have been truly desparate for money to have released this piece of trash.
Now about the movie. It claims to be a movie about a cruise ship waiter (Adam Sandler) wanting to be a stand-up comedian. He is jealous of the mediocre comedian whose audience is a bunch of so-so beauty peagent contestants.
Needless to say that Adam Sandler displays zero talent in this movie. There are none of his Chanukah songs. There are none of singing Italian skits. He doesn't make a single funny joke and when he hits on the not-so-hot chicks in the movie his lines are blah. There are a few fantasy scenes where the women are decent looking (but get yourself a copy Maxim and you will be far better off).
There is only one redeeming scene in this whole worthless movie. The house comedian locks himself in a bathroom (to barf) and pleads with God to open the locked door after having spent what appears many hours locked up in that tiny closet-size room. Upon the door magically openning, the comedian proclaims, "F&*^, I don't believe in God, I'm an athiest."
There was an uneventful cameo appearance of Milton Berle and there are some quality actors and actresses in this movie with all their performances wasted.
I was hoping that this movie would show the actual goings on of a cruise ship, but that also wasn't the case. None of the scenes give a hint of a operational ship on a cruise in the Caribbean. The ship actually looks like it was decommisioned in the 1960's with rust on the hull and it didn't even have a functional dining hall. To Adam's credit, he admits that the producer had this empty cruise ship available to make this movie - big deal!
In conclusion, this is the worst waste of time I ever spent watching a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good God this was like a horrible roadside accident ..., October 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
... it is so horrible you can't take your eyes away. Adam Sandler displays not an iota of the charm and skill that has defined his later career. I could only wonder what he thought about this abomination as he was making it. The only saving grace is that it is so bad that it almost is entertaining for that fact alone. If you can sit through Plan 9 from Outer Space you may wish to move up to the big leagues of bad movies and try this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Join the Club, August 22, 2005
This review is from: Going Overboard (DVD)
This is not just the worst Adam Sandler movie. It is the worst movie of all time. In highschool me and some friends saw this at the store. We rented and watched it. We were mortified that they had actually made this movie. We then decided we were going to make a club. The only way you could get in was watch this movie. That is if you did not kill your self while watching and/or thinking about this film . Awful, awful, awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Going Overboard
Going Overboard by Valerie Breiman (DVD - 1999)
$9.98 $5.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.