Learn more Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2006
I had Mr. Eder as a Professor for two Philosophy classes, so I knew a bit of the background behind his daughter's murder but I never completely grasped the tragedy of it. I cried like a baby in a few places...Mr. Eders' memoir is the heart-wrenching story of a father living his worst nightmare; the dissappearance and murder of his only daughter. I couldn't put it down until I had finished the book. My favorite quote from the book is so classically Eder: simply put yet powerful..."I teach the great Philosophers, study the great ideas, and search for God." Thank you for introducing me to this book, Professor.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2004
Vicki was a fellow classmate of mine at Northport High School (Class of 1981), we were also in the Environment Team together(those who went to Northport know what that was). I remember vividly the day when they found Vicki's body, I cried like a baby. I suppose that was odd considering we were not good friends, but just aquaintances. Yet I cried like a baby none the less, the hurt and sorrow were real. After reading this book, the sadness all came back.
My heart goes out to Mr. Eder, and I thank him for sharing his terrible ordeal with us.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2004
This book is amazing! I couldn't put it down! Eder is beautifully spoken and writes with pure honesty, emotion, and detail. Of course I'll never know what it's like to be in his shoes but this book comes close. He makes the intense thoughts of a father, husband, teacher, and human being during a time of crisis so real to the reader. There are things in this book that we can all relate to like the loss of a loved one, questioning of your worthiness as a parent, and questioning your relationship with God. Eder raises the questions we have all considered at one point in our lives - How can an all loving God allow such horrible things to happen? and Are our troubles in life punishments from God? I highly reccomend this book to anyone and everyone. The content is universal wether you believe in a God or not, wether you believe the world is an evil place or a good place, we all have something to gain from understanding the experiences of others.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2004
James Eder has written a thoughtful and provocative memoir. His tone is candid and at times brutal in his frank inner pain. To read him is to discover our own worst fears; to walk with him is to realize the immeasurable power of the human spirit. The book aches in the very pages, but there is much beauty and craftsmanship in Eder's stirring journey. Ultimately, Eder's story is necessary reading for all of us.

Recommended to anyone who loves a good book; excellent for libraries.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2005
As a former student of Mr. Eder's (and the former-Mrs. Adrienne Eder), I felt an instant connection to this book & the author. As a student, I knew that something bad had happened to their daughter, but I was not aware of the extent. This book is provacative, poignant and I must commend Mr. Eder for having the courage to write it.

As a teacher, myself, I know that it is hard to put your heartfelt personal life out there for students (let alone others in the general public) to see...this crime was so horrific, that I can't imagine how this man managed to inspire students the way that he did everyday. He has been through Hell and it is inspiring to see how he and his family have carried on with such dignity and courage.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2004
This memoir is a brutually honest yet beautiful story of how a man learns to live again after the murder of his daughter. The story traces all of his stages of grief. I believe that anyone who has lost someone or who has ever gotten to a place without hope for the future will benefit from reading this book. The author is a great man, who has inspired many in and out of the classroom - and this book is an inspiration to live on.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2003
I happened onto this book when my son went into Amazon to review his AP book. Both are written by the same author. A surprise! I should have known by the quality writing in the AP book that this man was a real writer.
GOING THROUGH HELL...is about the worst thing that can happen to a parent and how this man survived it all without God. THOUGHT-PROVOKING and, oh, so READABLE. It's a page-turner that I finished in single sitting. WOW!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2009
James Eder is a friend of mine. I did not know him truely until I read the story of Vicky's death. My heart goes out to him. James is a superb writer. I could not put the book down from start to finish. This is a candid story of a father's love and longing for his lost daughter. A tragic ending for one bad choice made by a young woman. A price too harsh to pay. After reading the book, I felt like I knew Viky in person.
James search for God after losing his beloved daughter is understandable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.