Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLACK AND WHITE SAGA
Down through the years, the last 5 or so anyway, I have recorded several VHS tapes of this movie, cannot figure out 'why' no DVD has yet been issued. Same goes for another Clint Walker western FORT DOBBS (1958), almost makes you wonder what Warner Bros. have against ole Clint. Maybe walking off the set of Cheyenne fifty some years back still rankles Warner Bros. Gordon...
Published on September 10, 2009 by Kay's Husband

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything that glitters is not gold.
I did enjoy this but think it was over rated. Good to see Roger Moore in his early days. I understand why he did not make many westerns.
Published 6 months ago by Steve Cichocki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLACK AND WHITE SAGA, September 10, 2009
By 
Down through the years, the last 5 or so anyway, I have recorded several VHS tapes of this movie, cannot figure out 'why' no DVD has yet been issued. Same goes for another Clint Walker western FORT DOBBS (1958), almost makes you wonder what Warner Bros. have against ole Clint. Maybe walking off the set of Cheyenne fifty some years back still rankles Warner Bros. Gordon Douglas directed all three movies, FORT DOBBS, YELLOWSTONE KELLY (1959), and GOLD OF THE SEVEN SAINTS and as noted not one of these fine westerns has ever been released on DVD.

This movie comes from the 1957 western novel DESERT GUNS written by Steve Frazee, with the movie (1961) and book being fairly different. I think so much of the movie that I tracked down the book (which can be kinda hard to find) wishing to see how much variance there is between the two. Well for instance, Rainbolt is 26 years old in the book yet Shawn is in his 50s. Anyone seeing the movie will know right off that neither Clint nor Roger are portrayed like that. Also at book's ending Rainbolt rides off with a female. Just a couple of differences, there are several more. One other for instance: Roger Moore is tied with wet rawhide in the movie, but in the book it is Rainbolt completely wrapped in wet hide so all the victim can view is the sky.

Another aspect to this western film is the performance that rings down the years from veteran actor Chill Wills, his portrayal of Doctor Wilson Gates is one that will remain with most viewers. You really come to appreciate him as the film rolls on.

However, to me the movie is superior to the book. Probably because I saw it first and read the book later. Last words would be: watch the movie because it is an interesting story filled with adventure very well portrayed by Clint and Roger. The black and white photography (Joseph F. Biroc) adds a stark reality that color might not have captured as well. The location (Arches National Park, Utah) of the movie also adds to the panorama of the scenes and the story itself. I have several favorite western movies and this is one of them, if you watch the movie it may become one of yours as well.

Clint Walker-Jim Rainbolt
Roger Moore-Shawn Garrett
Leticia Roman-Tita, Gondora's 'ward'
Robert Middleton-Amos Gondora
Chill Wills-Doctor Wilson Gates
Gene Evans-McCracken
and others

Semper Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold of the Seven Saints, December 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
This is a must have for all western classic lovers. Congratulations to Warner Archives for doing a great job & bringing back all the great movies from the 50's & 60's. In fact, I've enjoyed Clint Walker from the famous 'Cheyenne' tv series. It's great to see him in action again but this time, he's playing a different role thus he has a partner, none other than Roger Moore from the great James Bond movies in the eighties. It's an absolute fun to watch two great actors together in a western adventure filled with danger, excitement & a little bit of humor to stir things up. Apparently, it is in black & white but it's still a great watch, it would be fantastic to watch them in color. I strongly recommend this DVD to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Walker & Roger Moore, Good Chemistry, June 27, 2009
By 
I saw this on Encore Westerns, had never seen it before, Clint and Roger are fur trappers, but they somehow strike gold.. ofcourse the word gets out when Roger has to go in to a town to get a pack horse to help carry the gold. From that moment on there is a trail of scoundrels with gold fever trying to steal their gold...It's a fun movie, adventure, a little romance, and ofcourse Clint Walker is his gorgeous self..Roger Moore is very cute and entertaining.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Western Role, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
Like all Clint Walker movies I really enjoyed it & plan on watching it again soon. It was an interesting plot & actors were good in their roles and finally it was not like all the many Cheyenne parts. He plays a different character & I admire him for the changes although it is hard for me to ever forget CHEYENNE because they just do not portray his particular anyone like him. Too bad more had been raised by the cheyenne....of course we all know it was just a part he played but some of the characteristics had to be within Mr. Walker. Buy it and you will enjoy it if you are a western lover as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clint Walker,kinda like Fort Dobbs., August 28, 2010
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
Never seen this before and i am a devoted Clint Walker fan.
I was probably under one of those desert rocks seen in the movie,all these years,Good Movie.
Good Cast,found Roger Moore Annoying His Accent and Singing.
When you look at these actors you think to yourself,hey,i know him,Vitto Scotti and Robert Middleton.
Excellent Video Clarity and Sound,again got it through WB.
If you like this movie then you will also like Fort Dobbs,a classic.
Look at the Dust Fly In Those Mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Everything that glitters is not gold., May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
I did enjoy this but think it was over rated. Good to see Roger Moore in his early days. I understand why he did not make many westerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clint walker, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
this was made in 1961 color would make it better but I still is a great movie and story line and kinda funny but its worth a watch clint made some real good movies too with a fe w hotties .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gold of the Seven Saints, September 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
This was for my husbvand who loves westerns . He watches this every week at least. Grand kids not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Cheyenne, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold of the Seven Saints (DVD)
I am a fan of Clint Walker in almost anything. This movie is very typical of his work in the Cheyenne TV series. A good Western type movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gold of the Seven Saints
Gold of the Seven Saints by Gordon Douglas (DVD - 2010)
$19.99 $11.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.