Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid compilation
If you are new to Tears for Fears or have just a passing interest in them then this is the album you should get. If you are a die-hard fan then you already own this album and do not need to read any further.

This is really the only compilation that truly spans all of their work and would give either the emerging fan, or the casually interested fan everything...
Published on December 5, 2006 by TFF fan

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Skimpy for a "Gold" Title!
Yet another Tears For Fears compilation thrown on the market. It's one of many and unfortunately, this one doesn't get it right either. Other "Gold" titles from the Universal catalogue tend to have much more than 24 tracks total. I rarely see fewer than 30 tracks on one of these "Gold" collections. Then comes this 2006 release from the Hip-O/Mercury division of...
Published on September 17, 2007 by Jason W. Bellenger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid compilation, December 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
If you are new to Tears for Fears or have just a passing interest in them then this is the album you should get. If you are a die-hard fan then you already own this album and do not need to read any further.

This is really the only compilation that truly spans all of their work and would give either the emerging fan, or the casually interested fan everything they are looking for. For the emerging fan there is a fair balance of songs comprised almost entirely of singles from all of their albums. This will allow you the opportunity to get a good slice of what some of their albums have to offer. For the casual fan you'll get all the radio favorites that you probably remember such as Shout, Everybody wants to rule the world, Head over heels, Sowing the seeds of love, and Break it down again. In addition there is a reasonable chance that you will find a few other songs that you recognize but never realized were Tears for Fears. The album sleeve provides additional information and the sound quality is good.

Therefore I would recommend this album as there is a higher probability that you will find songs you enjoy for the money you spend. Also Tears for Fears (a duo) was lucky enough to be comprised of two truly good artists, Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith. They were a group that really did focus on trying to craft good songs, and did not get too caught up trying to make the pop scene their priority. This is part of the reason why their popularity has outlasted several of the other "80's" bands of the era.

The Hurting (1983):

Mad world

Pale Shelter

Change

Songs from the big chair (1985):

Shout

Everybody wants to rule the world

Mothers talk (US version)

Head over heels

The seeds of love (1989):

Sowing the seeds of love

Woman in chains

Advice for the young at heart

Elemental (1993):

Elemental

Cold

Break it down again

Raoul and the kings of Spain (1995):

Raoul and the kings of Spain

God's mistake

Everybody loves a happy ending (2004):

Closest thing to heaven

Call me mellow

Secret world

Who killed tangerine?

Additional Tracks:

The way you are (single, 1984)

Laid so low (tears roll down) (single, 1992; Tears roll down; 82-92 hits)

New Star (b-side/soundtrack 1993/1996; Saturnine, Martial, and Lunatic)

Floating down the river (new, 2006)

Mad world (live) (new, 2006)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Skimpy for a "Gold" Title!, September 17, 2007
By 
Jason W. Bellenger (Byron Center, Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Yet another Tears For Fears compilation thrown on the market. It's one of many and unfortunately, this one doesn't get it right either. Other "Gold" titles from the Universal catalogue tend to have much more than 24 tracks total. I rarely see fewer than 30 tracks on one of these "Gold" collections. Then comes this 2006 release from the Hip-O/Mercury division of Universal.

While Tears For Fears have only recorded 4 studio albums together (as of this review), a compilation can be branched out beyond the main single releases. "Gold" was the perfect opportunity to include rare single versions, rare tracks, and a more comprehensive track selection. Unfortunately, this release has me wanting more from these guys in terms of a better 2-CD collection. It seems cut short, especially since so much excellent material remains in the vaults! Instead of re-packaging the same old hits over and over again, how about branching out this one time?

Well, for a 2-disc set, pretty much all the hits are included. Ideally, a collection like this would include tracks such as "Suffer The Little Children [7" Remix]", "I Believe [A Soulful Re-Recording]", "Shout [U.K. 12" Version]" (not the U.S. Remix! Also, how many more times can we get the regular album version?), "Everybody Wants To Run The World" (for 'Sport Aid', and a U.K. Top Five hit!), "Famous Last Words" (a single in France, Germany and U.K.), "Year Of The Knife" [7" Remix]", "Johnny Panic And The Bible Of Dreams", "Goodnight Song" (a U.S. single), "Secrets", "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" (a single in the U.K. b/w "Call Me Mellow"), and so forth. I have to knock this release down a star alone for excluding the "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" title track, even though the 4 tracks included here, in addition to that title single, are probably the best on that album.

Not only does this release include the '80s hits as a duo, it manages to reach out and include Roland's solo hits under the Tears For Fears moniker, such as "God's Mistake" and "Break It Down Again". It's nice having an overview of their material together and apart, ranging from 1982 through 2005, including the '90s material.

Now on to the mastering. Compare it to the 1999 "Millennium Collection" and the 2001 "The Very Best Of", and it's much better, in my opinion. According to the liner notes, this release was 96k/24-bit mastered by Erick Labson @ Universal Mastering Studios West, North Hollywood, CA. Tracks 11 & 12 on Disc Two, on the other hand, were mastered by Stephen Marcussen @ Stephen Marcussen Mastering, Hollywood, CA.

Is the mastering really that good? Compare it to the 2003 "Ultimate Collection" with 32-bit mastering from Universal Netherlands, and it falls a bit short, in my opinion. I like the equalization choices more so on the "Ultimate Collection". Compare it to the 1999 Jon Astley album remasters and again, it sounds different due to the equalization choices by the mastering engineer. Overall, the remastering is very well done throughout. Labson is a very good mastering engineer, and he does a fine job here. Those fans concerned about loudness wars may wish to stay clear from this release, however, as it is rather loud. It is far from the worst offender of brick-walling, but I think that the louder sound is worth noting.

"Head Over Heels" appears in it's 4:15 version, not it's album version, which tags on "Broken [Live]". It's nice having it in it's stand alone single version for once. Otherwise, this release is filled with album versions. "Pale Shelter" appears in a 4:27 version, which is apparently an edit of the album version, since it fades right before it's proper ending. "Closest Thing To Heaven" should have been presented in it's "U.K. Radio Mix" version, in my opinion, since it's not only better but we also have the original version on the album!

The bonus tracks of the recently recorded "Floating Down The River (Once Again)" and "Mad World [Live]" are excellent additions to the otherwise lacking collection. Those new tracks are the main reason that I bothered to add this collection to my own collection. "Floating Down The River" sounds like it comes straight from the "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" sessions, while "Mad World [Live]" is a slower, even more mellow, recording pulled from a recent tour.

The overall packaging of this release is very nice, despite using the generic "Gold" format. In addition to the striking cover photo the inside booklet includes twenty pages altogether, highlighting a number of photos of the British duo over the years. An informative, long essay by Scott Schinder is included throughout, leading to the publishing credits which cover the last few pages.

For a 2-disc collection, this release does fall quite a bit short, especially for a duo who has so much more rare material in the vaults. Needless to say, if you are looking for a brief, concise overview of mostly hits, then I suppose this 2006 collection will suffice for now. For a casual fan, this collection may be all that you will ever need. Nonetheless, I give this set 3 stars not only for a skimpy track listing and a lack of single and remix material but also for still managing to present a fine overview of the Tears For Fears catalogue over just 24 tracks.

(Review last updated 30 August 2014)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AWESOMELY DONE...but could have been better..., October 9, 2006
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
I would give this collection 4 1/2 stars really, because, whilst the right songs were picked here, it covers their whole career, and the NEW song "Floating Down The River (Once Again)" + 2005 live version of "Mad World" are superb, it's a bit skimpy. Universal could have fit another 8 songs on this 2CD set. 12 songs per disc, just under an hour per disc (54+ for disc 1 and 58+ for disc 2), is just not enough.

However, compared to other collections on TFF, this one averages out to be the best of the bunch, whilst not being perfect. There was a triple Dutch Universal collection which was cool, but the trackorder was haphazard. "Shout" was cool but just 1 CD, and those Millenium collections define skimpy. "Gold" is the best of the bunch, really.

The music speaks for itself. Personal yet universal, yet never dated. More than a guilty pleasure. An artrock/new wave/Britpop hybrid that sounds like no one else. Expansive and experimental but never sounding alien or like a "Huh??" to people who listen...TFF just connects, period. From their minimal yet grandeurish rocky synthpop masterpiece 1983 debut record "The Hurting" ("Change" is one of my fave songs of all time), to the more accessable yet experimental 1985 breakthrough "Songs From The Big Chair" to the soulful, jazzy, psychedelic 1989 followup "The Seeds Of Love", the duo of Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith made music like none other, but fame didn't suit them. Curt left the band (he released 3 albums, 1993's "Soul On Board", 1997's debut under the name Mayfield, and 1999's "Aeroplane") whilst Roland continued solo under the TFF banner for 2 more albums, 1993's "Elemental" and, switching to Epic/Sony BMG, 1995's masterpiece "Raoul & The Kings Of Spain". In 2001, Roland released his proper solo debut under his own name, "Tomcats Screaming Outside". Since 2001, there's been considerable interest in TFF's music, Gary Jules covered "Mad World" and had a #1 hit in the UK, and more. Then, Curt and Roland reconvened, put aside past differences and conflicts and reunited, releasing 2004's masterful reunion album "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending", and cue to "Gold".

This 2CD collection covers all the high points, from all TFF albums, both duo and Roland's solo records under the TFF name, with that awesome Beatlesque new song "Floating Down The River (Once Again)" with a surprising arrangement, musical twists featuring horns and funny sound effects and vocal flourishes. TFF fans will be delighted really. And, the 2005 live version of "Mad World" is awesome, with an up-to-date arrangement and a sense of grandeur that both matches and BUILDS on the 1983 original, adding more of a sense of menace not in the early version...maybe it has to do with experience???

Yes, get this collection, but also the catalogue, as you need that stuff too...there is no such thing as a bad TFF, Roland and Curt song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shout, September 8, 2006
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
The 1980's have brought us so many different kinds of performers from the New Wave scene in the U.K. While so many of them seemed like they've all been forgone conclusions, some of them have recently came around again in the music scene. That is the case with Tears For Fears. The duo of Orzobal and Smith have made so many great guilty pleasure songs from boths sides of the Atlantic, they've not only maintained as classic songs and videos, but classic in stride. Now, with the duo approaching their 25th anniversary, many have thought the sounds would never last into a great hits package. Now, a third one stretched the seeds of love.

Tears For Fears 2006 Gold is a double album anthology that delivers from square one on what made this New Wave duo a living success story. The collection includes so many great hits and covers the lesser-known record Raoul & The Kings Of Spain, and their 2004 reunion record Everybody Loves A Happy Ending. The album includes so many hits in-between from #1 standards Shout and Everybody Wants To Rule The World, to some of their broadest moving tracks like the soulful Sewing The Seeds Of Love, Their breakthrough The Hurting, Head Over Heels, and Break It Down Again from their Post Curtis Smith departure days. The songs here have all been remastered and restored very well, and still show the appeal Tears For Fears have brought through so many songs.

Although many people might be more interested in artists today like Beyonce', Usher, and Jessica Simpson, the appeal Tears For Fears created for so many, still remains just as popular today, as they were back in the 80's. This double album is a great buy for die hard fans, and for newcomers who still haven't yet heard them shout!

Album Cover: B

Songs: B+

Price: B+

Remastering: A-

Overall: B 1/2+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love you guys but stop with the Greatest Hits packages!, August 19, 2007
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
I've been a big, big fan of Tears For Fears since The Hurting and everything else they've released, together or apart. I own not only vinyls but cds, 45 and cd singles, extended mixes and even some best of, remasters and greatest hits...but guys, enough already!

First there were cds of their original albums, next came a greatest hits package since they changed record labels, next came the B-sided album "Martial, Saturnine and Lunatic" an album that had songs they didn't put on their other albums. Then later they released all those albums over with the extra songs on them. Since their catalog is spread across a few labels now they have united greatest hits packages.

Don't get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE Tears For Fears, they're one of my all-time favorite groups; Roland Orzabal to me is up there with Lennon and McCartney and I couldn't be happier to have the pair back together as it ripped my heart out when Curt Smith left the band.

But even a huge fan can see that it's pretty obvious what's going on here. I could understand collections with some additional tunes but aren't most albums remastered for digital cds anyway? All Tears For Fears albums are still available in several forms and none offer any real rarities or videos. I say, the best way to add to your greatest hits is record some new ones and stop repackaging what's already been repackaged.

Despite this collection being another greatest hits album their music is still great and has aged extremely well which is why I'm still giving it 5-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing collection of outstanding music., August 14, 2006
By 
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Tears For Fears burst onto the music scene in 1983 with their new wave sound and alternative style of music. This album features 23 years of the amazing songs that caught the attention of millions world wide. The music begins at the conception of Tears For Fears and continues through their triumphant reuninon (Curt Smith left the duo in 1990 as Orzabal continued to release music as TFF) but the real treat is to hear the evolution of this band. With the mega hits like: "Shout, Everybody Wants To Rule The World, Head Over Heels, Sowing The Seeds Of Love & Break It Down Again" this album features some gems as well. "The Way You Are" makes an appearence on this album as well as many of Orzabal's solo works as TFF. Interesting enough "New Star" finds it's way on the album but sadly, Tears greatest effort is noteably absent: "The Working Hour". If you were to get only one Tears For Fears album then this should be it! There is a new track: "Floating Down The River" and a live track of their huge breakthrough hit of 1983: "Madworld" recorded in 2005. A definite MUST have for anyone who likes great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opportunity missed, November 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
I was initially happy to find out that Tears for fears has a two cd collection, but was quick to be disappointed that the record company only put up 12 songs on each cd. Are you kidding me? . While the collection " Shout " excluded some geat songs at least it had 79 minutes of great songs. there was no reason for the record company not to include 36 songs on this release. We all know TFF has plenty of material to choose from.
I would include the entire first album the hurting, minus the prisoner and ideas as opiates, or at least another three or four songs from that brilliant album, and a few more songs from the big chair and sowing the seeds of love. the working hour " and "This is the year of the knife" just to mention afew. Tears for fears is my favorite band of all times and they do not have a collection out there that I feel represents their brilliance and diverse music catalogue properly. This 2 cd collection could have done so by including another 14 songs. The more appealing the package is the more customers will purchase the product. If one does not own the original releases by now, they will most likely not purchase them in the future, but a great collection with many songs and liner notes will appeal to both hard core fans and casual fans alike in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 4, 2007
By 
Honestly Put (Somewhere in a warm and sunny clime) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
As with all TFF products, this is exceptional. If you're a fan, you have most of the songs on other CDs, your MP3 and anywhere else you can get them. However, this is worth the price of admission just for "Floating Down the River," a boppy, Beatles-inspired song that will get you humming along from the first hearing. GREAT song that should have been released as a single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Greatest Hits., January 9, 2007
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
I have all of TFF's other albums, I love them all. I saw this one in a music store. It had two tracks I had not heard. So I found it online and bought it cheaper than in the store. I listened to Floating Down The River(Once Again) and Mad World(live) and They are great TFF songs. I love the "updated" Mad World. This is a great compilation to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold!!, April 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
This was a great purchase.
The sound is great, much better than the "Tears roll down-Greatest Hits 82-92". I thought I will be listening more disc 1 but somehow, I enjoy more disc 2. The live version of "Mad World" really rocks!
The only problem that I have is that "Goodnight song" is not included in this collection. Five Stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gold
Gold by Tears For Fears (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.