Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Activision Releases the Best Bond Yet
I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical about this game simply because it seemed to be but a simple port from the Wii to the PS3 and Xbox 360. For some, that may still be the case. However, GoldenEye Reloaded is undeniably the best Bond game that Activision has produced. Activision's previous installments to the Bond franchise (Quantum of Solace and Blood Stone) weren't...
Published on December 7, 2011 by Mason Gordon-Levitt

versus
127 of 177 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing of what was expected: They Stole the Good Name
First of all, I've had this game on pre-order since mid-year. The N64 version constituted my childhood. This was the first person shooter that we came home from school on Friday's just waiting to play. This was the all night pizza party/sleep over game. This was grade school bliss. To this day as a college grad we still sit down once every other month or so to play N64...
Published on November 6, 2011 by Doug Buchan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 177 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing of what was expected: They Stole the Good Name, November 6, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
First of all, I've had this game on pre-order since mid-year. The N64 version constituted my childhood. This was the first person shooter that we came home from school on Friday's just waiting to play. This was the all night pizza party/sleep over game. This was grade school bliss. To this day as a college grad we still sit down once every other month or so to play N64 Goldeneye. I couldn't WAIT for this game to be out on Xbox 360 and re-live the glory in high def.

So last night I unboxed Goldeneye, ordered pizza, had my friends over and we all anticipated reliving our favorite N64 game with new gameplay and hi def graphics.

The game started with no familiar intro or music. The menus we're re-done of course and looked good. Mounting excitement led to our first round of disappointment when multiplayer asked us to 'pick our class.' Huh? Goldeneye is supposed to have multiplayer weapons sets for the whole team, not individual classes! Where are grenade launchers or proximity mines, pistols or power weapons?!

Next we noticed that there were no 'game modes' like 'you only live twice' or 'license to kill.' So we thought 'ok, we'll do it manually.' But you can't even handicap your health down to 0 for a license to kill effect. So there's no old school game modes or even a way to re-create them!

So okay, no weapons we like and no game modes. But at least there's the characters right? It's GOLDENEYE afterall! SO we each have always played the same character. Odjob, Travelyen, Zenia, and Helicopter Pilot. Of the above, Odjob is the only one still existent. No Travelyan in GOLDENEYE?! How? He's in the movie!

And the final multiplayer nail in the coffin was the maps. Only one or two maps were the same. Facility was one of our favorite old ones and was in the new version. So we chose that map and our new character, weapon sets, and game mode (at least the map will be the same, right?). WRONG! The map isn't facility at all. It's a square room with ramps everywhere and two glowing plasma tanks in the center of the room. No thought, no effort, not even close to the Goldeneye story line or the N64 game. Terrible, lame, boring map.

So I'm already saying I'm going to sell this game....but wait. There's single player. Maybe that will be better.

I switch to single player while my friends watch to see if the game has a saving grace. The game starts with a tutorial level that you can't skip. Boring, lame, and unecessary. Then it progresses into the Dam level. Ok, good, so the level order is at least the same. But then the level starts and you're playing with an AI travelyan. He's guiding you and telling you what to do! What the hell? Thats not how it's supposed to be. The game play continued to deviate from the original and get worse as I played.

I'm so disgusted with this game that I feel bad even re-selling it. I've had it open less than 4 hours and I've already got it posted to sell. Shameful to use the Goldeneye franchise name on a featureless first person shooter. Stick to Battlefiled 3 and COD MW3 for your kicks this holiday season. Fail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Activision Releases the Best Bond Yet, December 7, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical about this game simply because it seemed to be but a simple port from the Wii to the PS3 and Xbox 360. For some, that may still be the case. However, GoldenEye Reloaded is undeniably the best Bond game that Activision has produced. Activision's previous installments to the Bond franchise (Quantum of Solace and Blood Stone) weren't deserving of the James Bond title, simply because they were just Call of Duty games with an espionage spy theme. GoldenEye Reloaded shares similarities to the Call of Duty games, (game engine, some aspects of gameplay, and multiplayer) but there's more of a Bond sensation than the previous games.

While most believe that GoldenEye Reloaded is a remake of the classic Nintendo 64 video game, GoldenEye 007, it is not. Instead, GoldenEye Reloaded aims to be a reimagining of the classic gaming success, featuring Daniel Craig, the current portrayal of 007, and modernized locations, weapons, and the overall feel. From the start of the game in the Arkhangelsk dam, to the classic Archives and tank chase, to the Nigerian jungles (previously Cuba), the game is more reminiscent of the original game than it's Nintendo Wii counterpart.

You would be foolish to judge the game without playing it for yourself, especially considering the biased and often times inaccurate reviews from angry gamers and Call of Duty fanboys. The graphics are nothing shy of excellent, especially from Activision. If you're expecting graphics similar to Uncharted or Heavy Rain, I'm afraid you'll be disappointed. However, take it with a grain of salt and it's guaranteed you will appreciate the beauty of the visuals if you avoid comparing it to more advanced gaming experiences.

The gameplay is very reminiscent of the Call of Duty games, mainly because of the modernized methods of first-person shooters; the ability to aim down the sights of your guns, customize your loadout in multiplayer, the points and ranking system, and even the style of the single player campaign very much give weight to the fact that Activision just doesn't wish to stray from the style of Call of Duty when making games of the same genre. It doesn't say much positive things for the company, considering that James Bond has never been a Call of Duty style gaming experience, and thus shouldn't be treated as so, even in this day and age. However, this does not take away from the overall enjoyment that GoldenEye Reloaded will bring.

I very much appreciate the game for what it is, and as a casual gamer, I find it a fantastic experience. As a James Bond fan, I'm mildly disappointed that Activision couldn't appoint it the proper respect it deserves and stray from the Call of Duty style. I say give the game a go for yourself before judging it. Whether you're a casual gamer or a James Bond fan, GoldenEye Reloaded is an experience not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The nostalgia quickly fades, November 20, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
I was super-psyched about this game since it was announced. Goldeneye 007 for Nintendo 64 was my bread and butter when I was a kid. I knew that this "remake" was going to be quite a bit different, but I welcomed that.

When I started playing, I quickly realized how much the game plays like Call of Duty. That's a good thing. Unfortunately, it's not enough like Call of Duty.

First of all, Bond's hand looks very smooth and cartoon-ish - obviously a remnant from the Wii conversion. The graphics are decent in general, but it seems like they could have spent a little more time on making something that's always on the screen better.

The campaign mode was pretty fun, albeit redundant. The stealth portions are a blast, but the rest is pretty formulaic: Enter room, tons of guys come out, kill them, proceed to next room, repeat.

My biggest gripe with the game is that it seems that enemies can shoot you through walls. Time after time, I'd duck behind cover only to continue being shot to death.

The multiplayer - the best part of the original - is a letdown. I had trouble getting a game together, probably due in part to the overabundance of game modes. If you're expecting N64 multiplayer on Xbox Live, think again. When I did get a game, it really wasn't much fun.

My recommendation: Rent the game, play through the campaign, then return it. If you want N64 nostalgia/multiplayer, download Perfect Dark from XBLA. It's what this game should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No English Subtitles = game breaker, December 2, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
To start off, I'm proufoundly hard of hearing. Without English subtitles, I cannot understand the story in this "remake". Remember Splinter Cell? It had no subtitles, but you understood the story at least. In this game, no subtitles equals no understanding of the story. The only thing I do understand is the mission objectives.

Gameplay: Sneak doesn't always seem to work since enemies somehow seem alerted to your presence for some reason or the other (no cameras saw me either). Game is pretty fast paced and very linear. It is a decent reamke with HD.

One good thing which saved it from becoming two stars: Multiplayer is excellent, escpeically with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Call Of Duty: Goldeneye, December 4, 2014
By 
Basalt (Ponte Vedra, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
Developed by Eurocom and published by Activision, "Goldeneye 007: Reloaded" is an Xbox 360 retitled port of the 2010 Wii title "Goldeneye 007," which was a remake of the revolutionary 1997 title "Goldeneye 64," which in turn was based on the 1995 James Bond movie "Goldeneye." What a mouthful. Anyway, Reloaded boasts a significant number of additions and improvements that instantly elevates it above the Wii version. Some of these are expected, like better graphics and much tighter gameplay, but others add extra content to the game that definitely extends its worth and value. That being said, is the game overall an enjoyable time that fulfills its potential? Yes and no.

Like I alluded to in the title, the first thing you'll notice is that this game plays just like the Call Of Duty franchise, which Activision also published. You have a regenerating health system, a temporary sprint button, a two-weapon limit (three if you count your permanent P99 pistol), and stylish cinematic cut-scenes. It's also on the short side for campaign length, with only six main locations to visit, including Russia, Spain, Dubai and Nigeria. The hardest main difficulty setting, 007, is not even that much of a challenge. Sizeable portions of the game are based on stealth, which is extremely easy, and even the mandatory run-n-gun sections are a relative breeze. The enemies aren't the smartest, and will often just stand out in the open completely exposing themselves. You can absorb a decent amount of damage, and the level design is very linear. It seems that Activision became a victim of its own success and didn't want to stray from the COD formula, even though it doesn't really fit the style of James Bond.

That being said, however, there is one aspect to this game that instantly sets it apart from all the other COD clones out there. There's one more difficulty setting called "007 Classic," where the regenerating health system is completely removed and replaced with bulletproof vest pick-ups. This completely changes the entire tone and pace of the game, and puts an extreme emphasis on stealth. In the stealth sections, this new mode shines brilliantly and feels a lot more in line with what James Bond is really all about. Instead of charging enemies head-on with assault rifles, you'll be sneaking through ventilation ducts, seeking out advantageous alternate paths, and silently eliminating enemies and security cameras with suppressed weapons. Eurocom definitely deserves some credit for creating two entirely different gameplay styles, one for the COD crowd, and the other for hardcore tactical gamers.

Where "007 Classic" fails, however, is in the mandatory run-n-gun sections. Despite the fact that you can gain extra protection by picking up bulletproof vests, there is absolutely no way to replenish your overall health. Once your health is decreased, it stays that way for the rest of the level. It's so incredibly frustrating because enemies have amazing accuracy and can hit you from extreme distances. If you're lucky, you'll finish pretty much every level on the verge of death with just a sliver of health left. The very last level is the worst offender. Not only is there no stealth at all, but you're racing against a time limit, and have to engage in a final shootout with a boss that absorbs bullets like a steroidal sponge and takes an eternity to finally deal with. There's only three achievements that are awarded specifically for completing levels on "007 Classic"; the rest can be earned on just "007."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Factory Reloads, February 27, 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
GoldenEye was the Nintendo 64's staple game for the console and sold over 8 million units, long before Halo and Call of Duty, Rare's GoldenEye could show that console based FPS games can be enjoyable. With the movement of retro gamming in the Video Game Community GoldenEye was an obvious game tapped for an HD remake for the current generations of consoles.

However GER is not a remake, it's a reimagining. Unlike the HD remake of the original Perfect Dark that was just a graphical up grade, GER was built from scratch.

Daniel Craig replaces Pierce Brosnan, in fact with the exception of M, the entire cast is replace, there's no Sean Bean, no Famke Janssen, no Izabella Scorupco, even Joe Don Baker is missing. Because of the recasting, the time line of the game is bumped up to the present, the game taking place sometime after `Quantum of Solace'. The order of the levels is also rearranged, the statue level is AFTER the archive level and the location of the secret GoldenEye Station is moved from Cuba to Nigeria and the motivation of Alec Trevelyan is changed from an Lienz Cossack that wanted revenge to an idealistic anarchist.

Outside of the single player campaign, which only takes about takes about twelve hours, I beat it in two days, there is also a selection of challenge maps: elimination, stealth, etc. Along with the usual package of multiplayer maps.

Dose this equal a bad play experiences? No it doesn't, GER is a good game, but it's not a great game

Some of the game play elements include the Halo "Two weapon" rule along with a pistol that Bond can not swap. The game contains a "classic oo7 Experience" difficulty where your health dose not regenerate and you must rely on body armor to get yourself alive. When Bond ducks behind any low objected for cover he will pop up when using iron sites on what ever gun is being used. There's a host of weapons to chose from, oddly very little gadget use (the most used gadget is of all things, a cell phone). Combat is both smooth and challenging. The games quick time events are somewhat confusing, using just the left and right trigger and sometimes the b-button, however they are thankfully few and far between. Stealth, although not emphases, can be an important part of the game, if you are sneaky and just used your silenced pistol, you can clear out a whole area that only has five or six baddies instead of shooting through twenty in a prolong shoot out. The tank mission is easier to navigate and officers more things to blow up and as dressing the graphics, although not as good as they could, are eye pleasing with smooth facial expressions.

Most of the issues that I have with this game are cosmetic and the ideal of "if it an't broke don't fix it." I did find this game easier to play then the original N64, but it negates the efforts of the pervious James Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Bond game, December 27, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
I only recently purchased an Xbox 360, and this game was the first I bought after renting it a few times from RedBox. It's a blast to play.

In order to achieve maximum success, especially on the more difficult missions, you have to be smart about achieving objectives and eliminating enemies. Many scenarios in the game require you to be stealthy; blasting your way through is not always an option. Shooting explosive objects, such as fuel tanks on vehicles (which are usually shown in red) is often the most expeditious way to deal with enemies. As a novice gamer, I am quite satisfied with the length of the game, although I have read other reviews complaining that the game was too short and too easy to "win".

If you like a game that requires you to be smart and stealthy, and not just strictly a "run and gun" format, Goldeneye reloaded is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good game but not Goldeneye, November 11, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
It should have been so simple for this game to get a five star review but instead of giving the target consumer what we wanted the developer decided to tell us what we wanted. As far as singleplayer goes they could have done whatever they wanted with the story line, I don't care what bond is in the game (Craig, Brosnan...they could have Connery for all I care) What is important to me is the guns and multiplayer maps/options. I don't want six different versions of the same submachine gun (standard, laser sight, thermal sight, fancy triangle sight?) I want to dual wield RCP 90s and put so many bullets in the air the game lags. I don't want a crappy 2 or three shot underslung granade laucher. I want the six shot grenade gun from the original. I don't want to pick my characters weapon kit (from very limited options), I want to set the gun loadout on the start screen and have weapons scattered all over the map. I would and still do play the original but it you are going to make an update you could have done so many great things besides making the game visuals on par with the current standard.
You could expand the original maps, like the facility, to include the whole map from the single player game. I used to do this way back in the day with my gameshark until it broke and my friends and I had some epic battles in the normally closed off back half of the map.
You could add in bots for multiplayer like perfect dark did. Sure no computer is going to be as challenging as playing against your buddies but if you throw a few computer drones on everybodies team it makes for some wonderful chaos.
Instead they decided to take out the over the top guns and the original levels...at least they kept the characters...but then they really didn't have a choice with that. In the end this game seems more like a knock off call of duty with bond characters than a remake of the classic Goldeneye...I bought it with high hopes but was dissapointed...maybe they will fix it with downloadable content *hint *hint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great game, January 24, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
i had a lot of fun with the game wish they wouldn't have added all the extra to it would have like to play the original game just redone, with no add ons to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much Call of Duty, not enough Bond., December 12, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GoldenEye 007: Reloaded (Video Game)
Titles says it all. Nowhere near as fun as the original. I also couldn't help but feel how much it was like call of duty every time I decided to give the game another chance at not royally sucking. They took a completely different game and branded Goldeneye on it, but in reality they totally pissed on the classic's name. Nice job selling out Activision, nice job. You took what could have been been great on Wii, but failed horribly, and then tried again on PS3 and Xbox 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GoldenEye 007: Reloaded
GoldenEye 007: Reloaded by Activision Inc. (Xbox 360)
$59.99 $30.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.