Customer Reviews


462 Reviews
5 star:
 (295)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie will blow your mind
This movie rocks, starting with the jump off the bridge. Then there is the motorcycle-to-plane, while keeping the same bond wit, that hasn't been seen since connory. I really like how it ends and how the girl isn't a bimbo(seeing bond as a man who can't do everything and has emotions really turned this movie in to a keeper). I also believe the plot setting is up there...
Published on November 18, 1999

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Differences between the three DVD editions (and the Blu-Ray) - UPDATE
The first DVD issue released in 1997 (MGMs very first release on that format) is a 6.48 Gig flipper disc, with a full-screen version on side A, and a non-anamorphic widescreen one on side B (2.35:1 Scope). Measly extras are Spanish and French DD 2.0, audio commentary, production notes, and theatrical trailer (warning!! IN EXTREMELY PI$$ POOR VHS QUALITY). Audio quality is...
Published 13 months ago by RMX74


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie will blow your mind, November 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: GoldenEye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie rocks, starting with the jump off the bridge. Then there is the motorcycle-to-plane, while keeping the same bond wit, that hasn't been seen since connory. I really like how it ends and how the girl isn't a bimbo(seeing bond as a man who can't do everything and has emotions really turned this movie in to a keeper). I also believe the plot setting is up there with "goldfinger". I think that the chase near the beginning could have been better but what are you going to do. The evil girl getting pleasure from killing was a nice touch and having a pretty realistic plot, made the story line flow that much more easily. The female and incredible gadgets add for a few surpries that you don't see in other bond flicks. Go rent/buy this movie as soon as you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Differences between the three DVD editions (and the Blu-Ray) - UPDATE, August 1, 2013
This review is from: GoldenEye (DVD)
The first DVD issue released in 1997 (MGMs very first release on that format) is a 6.48 Gig flipper disc, with a full-screen version on side A, and a non-anamorphic widescreen one on side B (2.35:1 Scope). Measly extras are Spanish and French DD 2.0, audio commentary, production notes, and theatrical trailer (warning!! IN EXTREMELY PI$$ POOR VHS QUALITY). Audio quality is OK, but boy the picture quality! The WS version uses the analog master made for the laserdisc and has REALLY BAD picture quality!! From flickering, combing, shimmering (and lots of it baby!!), to blocking and etc., you name it! The FS version on the other hand, looks like a center crop/pan & scan of the film negative, and sadly is of better visual quality than the widescreen version. But like the latter, it suffers from mosquito noise and blocking. This release has cover art similar to the movie poster (and the 1999 issue, minus "Speical Edtion" with a gold band), and if you have to have every single video edition of every bond film made, this is for you. But there are later releases superior to this one so skip the 1997 issue if possible.

- UPDATE ON THIS RELEASE -

There's what appears to be later printings of this disc that is said to have the WS side 16:9 enhanced (covers and such the same, but with "16:9 widescreen" in the back specs instead of plain ol' "widescreen") . It is unknown if it uses the LD master blown to 16:9 or uses the film master used on the 1999 SE release.

Next is the 1999/2000 Special Edition, released when they were putting other bond titles on DVD for the first time in this SE series. Unlike the previous release, this one uses a digital remaster created from the film negative, is anamorphic 2.35:1 widescreen, and has far better picture quality; so the trite LD quality of the first release is not present here (YAY!). Audio is practically the same as the last release, sans the Spanish audio. However, the DD 5.1 mix is a slightly different mix than 5.1 track on the previous DVD (which was sourced from the LD), meaning it doesn't sound as "crisp" and outputs at a softer volume, but still of stellar quality. Unlike the last release MGM decided to apply decent special features here! With an additional audio commentary, there are making of featurettes, TV spots, backstage stuff with the actors/producers, 2 theatrical trailers (the 1st one being much better quality here than on the last release), and a chalkboard grinding music video with a fluffy making of feature on how that piece of ship went together.

- UPDATE ON THIS RELEASE -

There's a small error on the back of the cover where the film says its rated "PG", but the official MPAA rating is "PG-13". Kinda funny since most PG rated films contain more intense stylized violence and gross innuendos.

The Ultimate Edition release from 2006 by MGM/Sony (later repackaged/reissued by MGM/fox) ports the ENG DD 5.1 and French 2.0 tracks and most of the features from the 2nd release (minus the horrid music video), while it adds a few new ones and a 768kbps DTS 5.1 ENG track (which brings back the crispness and beefy surrounds of the 1st DVD/LD audio). There is yet again another new digital transfer of the film. However, while sharper and clearer than the last release, it suffers from DVNR issues and is slightly zoomed in (roughly 4%) on all four sides, making the PQ on this release inferior to the previous.

The Blu-Ray version, issued last year in the Bond 50 series, ports material from the 2nd and UE releases, adds a few such as a Bond 50 montage, and drops a few dated ones. Audio options are ENG 7.1 DTS-MA, DD 5.1 EX in English, French, Spanish, and DD 2.0 in Japanese and Portuguese plus commentaries. There is another new 4K transfer similar to the UE one. The differences here are sharper picture quality, corrected framing (no more zoomed in shots), and a pedestrian MGM Lion/Tom Cruse era United Artists logo combo replacing the unique UA "Stone Marble" logo that started the film on prior releases.

- UPDATE: NEW DVD RELEASE ADDITION -

I got this at Wal*Mart for $11.97 in their DVD bin. It is NOT A REPACKAGE of the Ultimate Edition, but rather a bare bones port of the Bond 50 Blu-Ray, with cover art identical to the that release. Specs are: Anamorphic Widescreen 2.40:1, ENG DD 5.1, ENG 5.1 DVS, French 2.0 Stereo, and an new audio commentary. When I said bare bones, DAMN RIGHT I MEAN BARE BONES!! Scanning through the VOB files shows the film, menus, Bond 50 BD Trailer, Skyfall trailer, and MGM DVD/FOX HE logos all on this measly 4.48 gig disc. No UE or SE extras, not even the Goldeneye trailer, NOTHING!!! However, this release is not all bad. Its transfer is a port of the BDs, and has best Picture and Sound out of all the Goldeneye DVD issues. (It even reinserts the UA Marble logo, with MGMs newest logo preceding it) Purists may avoid it cause of its lack of any bonus material, but should look into it for the most improved DVD release of Goldeneye in terms of PQ and Sound. If they still don't like it, let 'em keep their old releases plagued with poor LD quality, foolscreen versions, trite music videos, DVNR smearing, and zoomed in shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brosnan's debut is his best Bond film, January 24, 2007
By 
Josh Irby (Syracuse, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GoldenEye (DVD)
In "Goldeneye", James Bond, played for the first time by Pierce Brosnan, must prevent an ex-MI6 agent, Alec Trevelyan, from detonating a powerful electromatic pulse, via satellite, over London. The pulse would render all electronics in London totally useless, and Trevelyan would seize that opportunity to electronically rob the Bank Of London. Along the way, Bond is assisted by computer programmer Natalya Simonova, who has extensive knowledge of the goldeneye satellite. Bond's other enemies throughout the movie include Trevelyan's sidekick, Russian General Ouromov (who has betrayed his government); Boris, a computer programmer who was once a comrade of Natalya, but betrayed her; and Zenia Onatopp, a dark, sexually charged woman who takes pleasure in making love, and killing. She especially enjoys killing WHILE making love ;)

The feel of "Goldeneye" is rather dark and serious, although there are comical moments strewn throughout the movie (so it's not quite as stiff as either of Dalton's Bond movies). There are a wide array of characters featured in the movie, all of whom are thoroughly enjoyable, and well written. The actors playing them are especially entertaining to watch. Kudos to Izabella Scorupco, who is not only gorgeous, but plays the part of Natalya very memorably. Famke Janssen is also magnificent as Onatopp, and there has not been any Bond villian quite as quirky or devilish as Onatopp since (what Bond villainess has ever licked Bond's face, and then beaten him up? Just Onatopp!). Pierce Brosnan, of course, fits right in as James Bond, and manages to combine elements of a dark edge with a touch of a light side.

"Goldeneye" works very well as a Bond movie. The plot is intruiging, and moves along at a perfect pace, keeping the viewer interested. The action sequences in the movie are very well done, immensely enjoyable to watch. Eric Serra's music fits the movie PERFECTLY, and in my opinion, the producers should have invited him back for more films. His score adds a dark undertone to the movie, something which all of Brosnan's Bond movies afterwards would painfully lack.

Characterization is also important in the movie. One of the most memorable scenes has Bond sitting on a Caribbean beach at sunset, staring out at the ocean, and thinking about his inevitable confrontation with Trevelyan, who used to be an old friend. Natalya walks over to Bond, and questions how he can be so cold, so dark. "It's what keeps me alive," Bond replies, before the two of them go off to make love. It's a shame Brosnan was not given more scenes such as this one in future Bond films... it certainly makes "Goldeneye" unique, and deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie GREAT femme fatale, June 23, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GoldenEye (Special Edition) (DVD)
I loved Goldeneye because of:
a) Tank chase through St. Petersburg
b) The bungee jump off the dam
c) The humour
d) Isabella Scorupco's performance
and e) Famke Janssen's absolutely perfect, deadly femme fatale Xenia Onnatopp. She's the best, absolutely, the best Bond villain/girl EVER! Ilove Famke Janssen, but I've only seen her in this and X-Men. I can't find others anywhere.
But I'm sure you ain't reading this to hear about me going on about Famke Janssen.
The plot- Bond (superb Pierce Brosnan) is investigating a French anti-electric tampering helicopter, the 'Tiger', when it's stolen by Xenia Onnatopp, a fellow car enthusiast who is linked to a Russian terrorist group Janus.
At MI6, it is discovered a Russian satellite base was struck by an EMP weapon from space known as 'Goldeneye'.
Bond then begins his search for 'Janus', the head of the terrorist group, and soon meets up with one of 2 survivors from te EMP strike, Natalya, Isabella Scorupco, and soon discovers a global threat to technology, banking resources, and people's lives.
Excellent new Bond here. Brosnan's first Bond's is one of his best.
Cheesy explosion sounds annyoed me, and the missing action sequence with Bond's car, the BMW Z3 Roadster is completely missing.
But good casting and sets etc. prove that Bond could go on forever, or at least until the films become unprofitable. (Hee hee)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond gets back Onatopp of things!, March 20, 2000
By 
M. D. Lewis (Ravenstown, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GoldenEye (Special Edition) (DVD)
It is difficult to recreate in words the sheer visceral thrill of seeing this film for the first time in a proper movie theater...but I will indeed try. Each time I see this film, I'm reminded of just how great a turnaround this movie made for the Bond series. Some of you may not remember that there was a six-year period where the future of James Bond was indeed in question, thanks to the commercial failure of "Licence to Kill". This movie singlehandedly put Bond back on the cinematic map with a vengeance. And justifiably so, for it is perhaps the best-constructed post-On Her Majesty's Secret Service Bond film. All of the classic Bond elements are well-utilized, be they the gadgets, the lethal enemy, the beautiful ally, the bombastic theme song, or the one-liners which Timothy Dalton never really looked comfortable saying. Pierce Brosnan, despite some stiffness, is indeed suited for the part and we instantly can accept him as Bond. A more psychologically complex and to some extent more vulnerable Bond he is, which makes his portrayal all the more interesting.
And, perhaps most importantly, the film itself LOOKS good. Martin Campbell deserves much credit for his directorial effort; the film is visually a world apart from predecessor John Glen's rather tepid later efforts.
It's difficult to call this film a classic, at least at the present time (it's still a relatively new film, after all) -- but my guess is that this Bond entry will stand up well to the test of time...The Man With The Golden Gun, it ain't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pierce Brosnan Debuts as Bond, October 30, 1999
By 
J. Ewaniuk (los angeles, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GoldenEye (Special Edition) (DVD)
It is diffcult to argue with success and Pierce Brosnan'sdebut as James Bond, after the character's 6 year absence from the screen, made more money than any of the previous Bonds (although perhaps not in 60s dollars).
Every Bond actor seems to bring something to the role. Connery, of course, was the epitome of 60s cool. Dalton had Connery's determination, Moore his sense of comic delivery - even Lazenby brought a physicality to the role. Brosnan moves extremely well, too, and I suppose is the cloest thing to the well-rounded Connery interpretation, although I am not a great Brosnan fan.
My big problem with this film (besides the music) is the screenplay. So many of what are supposed to be witty remarks make no sense as replies to Bond (Example - Bond: What would I do without you, Moneypenny? Moneypenny: As far as I can remember, you've never had me. - This seems a ridiculous thing to say when someone is complimenting you.) And I don't like how the "9 years later" legend on the screen seems to invalidate the Dalton films. And that opening stunts. Other Bond stunts may be implausible, but skydiving after a plane that's jist gone off a cliff??
While I am happy the filmmakers try to tell us something new about Bond (that reference to Bond's parents is a first for the series and right out of Fleming), this idea of 006 being Bond's best friend, No, no - the 00s never work together. Never. MI6 could not afford to lose 2 high caliber agents at the same time. It is good to see the character of Chief of Staff Bill Tanner (previously in THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN GUN and FOR YOUR EYES ONLY) included.
This special DVD is really the same as the previous laserdisc release, but since it is supposed to be "special" it would have been nice if photos of Brosnan being on the set of FOR YOUR EYES ONLY (his wife was in that film) had been included. It also would have been nice if Brosnan's Diet Coke commercials, obviously Bond themed and airing when he lost the role in 1986 to Timothy Dalton, could have been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Bond, James Bond., July 31, 2001
This review is from: GoldenEye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of my very favorite Bond films, up there with "From Russia With Love". It's visually stunning, and the cast is great. There's no stunt, car chase or special effect I like more than the tank ride through the streets of St. Petersburg. I'ts planned out to perfection, and our man James even gets to straighten his tie at the end of it.
This is Pierce Brosnan's first Bond film, and I think he's fabulous in the part. He brings a sleek finesse to the role and maybe even a touch of depth and sensitivity for these "post women's lib neo politically correct" times we live in...looks mighty fine in a tux too.
It has a feisty collection of characters, from Alan Cumming as Boris the hacker to the wonderful Judi Dench as "M". The "Bond girls" are good too. Izabela Scorupco is lovely, and Framke Janssen, as a vicious vixen who gets her kicks from killing, makes quite a match for the invincible 007. You also get a little of Minnie Driver, in a funny bit as she "sings".
Having the usual vastly entertaining plot of bad guys, foreign intrigue, double agents, and bombs and bullets, it's worth owning for repeated viewing, and once is not enough to see the details in that incredible tank chase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Bond with a New Style, July 12, 2005
This review is from: GoldenEye (Special Edition) (DVD)
James Bond changed for a fifth time with this, the 17th official Bond film, emulating the venerable Dr. Who once again. Fans welcomed the change from Timothy Dalton to Pierce Brosnan, and they vaulted this movie to the highest grossing Bond movie at that time. Brosnan made Bond more suave and sophisticated than Dalton's Bond, with a dash more humor, though less humor than Roger Moore's Bond. It helped that this movie featured non-stop action and a foe with malice toward England in his heart, and the ability to execute a nefarious plot.

In the opening scenes of this movie we see a breath-taking stunt, as Bond, well his double actually, leaps off the side of a dam on a bungee cord. Bond is penetrating a secret Soviet chemical weapons facility. We learn that Bond is on this mission with Alec Trevelyan, Agent 006 (Sean Bean). Unfortunately it appears that Alec does not survive an encounter with General Arkady Ourumov (Gottfried John). After a daring escape involving multiple close calls, the movie forwards into the present to the Mediterranean.

Bond encounters Xenia Onatopp (Famke Janssen), and she is behaving in a most unusual fashion. Of course, Bond may have been attracted to her because of her incredible beauty, but regardless of the reason, she has gained Bond's interest. We soon observe that Xenia is a most cruel person, and she is ruthless in stealing a super secret helicopter that is resistance to electromagnetic pulses, such as a nuclear weapon might cause.

We now move to Severnaya, Russia, where the helicopter has been spotted by satellite. We have the benefit of going into Severnaya as General Ourumov and sadistic sidekick Onatopp enter the facility and demand an inspection of the Goldeneye system. It seems that during the cold war the Soviet Union had developed an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) weapon, Goldeneye, which was capable of wreaking all sorts of havoc on any electronic equipment in the weapon's aim. Unfortunately for the personnel of Severnaya, once General Ourumov obtains the control module he has Xenia eliminate the staff of Severnaya. However, one member of the staff, Natalya Simonova (Izabella Scorupco), has survived Xenia and the activation of the first of two Goldeneye satellites.

M (Judi Dench) sends Bond to Russia to find out what is going on. Bond soon meets with former foe Valentin Zukovsky (Robbie Coltrane), who gives him some clues that might lead Bond to the information he seeks. As a side note, Minnie Driver has a brief role as Irina, Zukovsky's tone deaf mistress.

While Bond has been tracking down Ourumov, Natalya has been tracking former Severnaya associate Boris Grishenko (Alan Cumming). After a surprised Bond encounters Alec, he awakes to the yells of Natalya, and quickly learns that they are in the cockpit of super secret helicopter, and missiles have been programmed to fire and destroy the helicopter. After a typically close call, Bond and Natalya soon end up in the hands of Ourumov and Alec once again. The ever-resourceful Bond escapes, of course, in one of the best chase scenes of all time.

The action speeds onward to a hidden satellite dish, which looks remarkably like the observatory at Arecibo, Puerto Rico. Okay, I am kidding, it really is Arecibo, except when it is a model. The action intensifies toward the exciting conclusion that takes place under, around and on the huge radio telescope facility.

This Bond movie is as good as you might think it is. We hungered for a new Bond film in the six years between the release of "License to Kill" in 1989, and the release of this film in 1995. The world had changed a lot in that time. The Soviet Union was gone, and the nature of Bond villains changed as well. As a point of trivia, this Bond marked the first time a Bond movie actually filmed in the former Soviet Union.

You can tell the style of this movie a little by the nomination for Saturn Awards this movie received for Best Action/Adventure Film and Best Actor by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films (USA). The movie was nominated for a couple of other awards, and won a BMI award for music and a Golden Screen award (Germany).

Pierce Brosnan occasionally looks slightly uncomfortable as Bond, but he quickly makes Bond his own. By the end of the movie I was comfortable that Brosnan made a suitable James Bond, and was already looking forward to the next Bond film. I recommend this movie highly to fans of the James Bond series and for fans of action-adventure movies. This movie is a winner and a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know James Bond, November 28, 1999
By 
Alexander Paulsen (Jacksonville Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GoldenEye (Special Edition) (DVD)
I have seen each and every James Bond movie since Dr No was a theatrical release. I am student of the Bond mystique. This is very close to being the best Bond movie in a long long time. It is tempting to compare the potrayals done by Connery, Moore, Lazenby, Dalton and Brosnan,but that would be a mistake. Ditto trying to compare styles of movie making form present to past. The attratcion of James Bond, is that Bond is on the edge, the original action hero. Characters, stories and expectation evolve constantly. Comparing Goldeneye to Live and Let Die, OR Thunderball is not a good basis for judging this movie. Movies reflect our societal tastes, expectations and dreams. Bond represents what we all wish we could be, and that is a reflection of today. In this light I have to say the Brosnan excels as Bond and Goldeneye introduces the Bond msytique to a while new generation. Bond endures because Bond always addresses that. We change the world changes and 007 changes. This is an excellent Bond film, true to the concept of Bond as is Brosnan. Buy the DVD, excellent sound, first rate transfer quality, and 5.1 sound. Cannot beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond, Pierce Brosnan as Bond..., April 2, 2008
This review is from: GoldenEye (DVD)
1995's "Goldeneye" was the first of four forays by Pierce Brosnan as James Bond; it can fairly be said to have revived the 007 franchise. From its heartstopping opening sequence in a Russian Weapons Lab to its thrilling action finale at a satellite groundstation complex in Cuba, the action never stops coming.

The movie opens with the standard pre-credits action sequence. Bond and fellow agent 006 (played with blunt style by Sean Bean) break into a secret Russian Bio-Lab in the Urals. Their mission is to destroy the plant. They are discovered and 006 is captured. Bond escapes, in an astonishing sequence featuring a motorcycle, a freefall from a cliff, and a small airplane, that would have been worth the movie all by itself.

Bond's mission is to find and stop a renegade Russian General from using the Goldeneye, a satellite-based laser. His search takes him from Monte Carlo to London to Russia and eventually to a satellite earth station in Cuba. Along the way, he will tangle repeatedly with Xenia Onatopp, a Russian hit-woman (played with sexy verve by Framke Janssen); race a tank through the streets of St. Petersburg; and rescue a former Russian satellite technician (played with a nice mixture of vulnerability and toughness by Izabella Scorupco). The final confrontation in Cuba brings him face-to-face with his long-missing fellow agent, 006.

"Goldeneye" reshuffles the deck on the franchise's main characters, to good effect. Pierce Brosnan is a highly effective Bond, believable as a steely-eyed assassin, but with that special panache so lacking since Sean Connery retired from the role. At the same time, he clearly carries a burden from so many deaths, friend and foe. Judi Dench takes up duties as the new "M", a tough-minded Secret Service bureaucrat who criticizes Bond as a social dinosaur but still wants him to make it home alive. Samantha Bond is a sexy but updated and confident Moneypenny. Joe Don Baker makes the first of several appearences as Bond's rather homespun CIA point of contact Felix Leiter. Robbie Coltrane cameos as a spot-on Russian Mafia hood who has an unusual reciprocal relationship with Bond.

"Goldeneye" is superb entertainment in the best tradition of the 007 franchise, a nice mixture of action, romance-on-the-run, and understated British humor. One wonders only why it took so long to get Pierce Brosnan into the tuxedo. This movie is very highly recommended to fans of the James Bond movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GoldenEye [Blu-ray]
GoldenEye [Blu-ray] by Martin Campbell (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $13.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.