Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got Golf Exercises?
If you play golf and are looking to get in better shape to either improve your game or prevent imjuries, look no further, Golf Rx: A 15-Minute-a-Day Core Program for More Yards and Less Pain is just what the doctor ordered. In fact, it's written by a doctor.

The book is divided up into distinct sections. There's a chapter on exercises to increase the air time...
Published on December 24, 2009 by golf-nut

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
For a golfer this will help in trying to get into shape and focusing on core muscles as well as the body.
Published 9 months ago by joevas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got Golf Exercises?, December 24, 2009
This review is from: Golf Rx: A 15-Minute-a-Day Core Program for More Yards and Less Pain (Paperback)
If you play golf and are looking to get in better shape to either improve your game or prevent imjuries, look no further, Golf Rx: A 15-Minute-a-Day Core Program for More Yards and Less Pain is just what the doctor ordered. In fact, it's written by a doctor.

The book is divided up into distinct sections. There's a chapter on exercises to increase the air time and distance of your drives. There also is a chapter with warm-up exercises, another that has stretches you can do at each of the eighteen holes, and a cool-down exercise chapter. No stone is left unturned as the book also gives you three series of exercises, one for core flexibility, one for core strength, and one for core endurance- choose depending on your skill level and what your goals are.

As you can see, this book has definitely got its share of golf execises that should meet most golfer's needs. So if you're trying to get in better shape for you game, or just want to stay away from injuries, this is your book. Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff for golfers with shoulder problems that want a more detailed look at shoulder rehab and prevention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary reading for golfers., October 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish I'd read this book 45 years ago, when I started playing golf. If you're a serious golfer -- one who wants to play your best, and works toward that goal -- you have a choice: get into a good flexibility and strengthening program, or be prepared to spend some really painful time in bed, not playing golf in beautiful weather.
This book provides what you need to lower the likelihood of encountering the pain and misery of golf-related back problems. There are no guarantees in life, but it has transformed golf for this 67-year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have must do if you play golf, January 9, 2010
This review is from: Golf Rx: A 15-Minute-a-Day Core Program for More Yards and Less Pain (Paperback)
If you play golf once a week or every day this book is a must read, especially if you are in the over 50 crowd and your range of motion has suffered from years of neglect, meaning stretching, weight training, fitness walking, biking etc. To jump out of the car and into the cart is an invitation for injury even if you are young and fit. It's just that the young and fit don't break as easily or quickly as the older and stiffer like myself. What I like about this book is that he covers all the aspects of how to play good golf without injury. It is not a cookbook of exercises to make you stronger and more flexible. He really wants you to understand what you are doing to your body when you swing a club and how if not done correctly it can lead to injury. He guides the reader through the process of evaluating how to better care for yourself both off the course, just before you play, and the importance of what comes after a game.
The book is divided into three parts. Be sure to read the first part about performance enhancement as it does more than tell you how to get that extra 20 yards off the Tee but how to do it without throwing your back into a spasm. He goes through the mechanics of how your body works for the more challenging part of the game which is mostly the long game. Most golfers are safe from injury when putting but wouldn't it be nice to be able to squat on the ground and read the green?
This section goes through the pre game warm up of 5 minutes, the 15 minute warm up if you have time, how to stay limber through 18 holes exercises, and then the cool down. I especially like the mental game exercises as too many golfers raise their blood pressure when the wheels come off their game. It not only ruins their game and a good day of golf but often the people that are playing with them get affected by negative attitude. Staying mentally calm is really important in golf and critical to the short game when it comes to controlling adrenaline.
Part 2 goes into a series of exercises that you can build a regime around based on your fitness, flexibility, and time. They range from simple stretching to some more robust near calisthenics. It is his advice to do what you feel comfortable doing and build up to the harder exercises if your doctor says it is ok.
Part 3 goes through the injuries that happen to golfers. It is a good summary of why they happen, what they feel like, and how to avoid them.
The book is well written, not preachy, and easy enough to understand and follow the principles he advises for golfers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golf Strength and Conditioning, June 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a very easy read. Very little golf stuff but lots of easy exercises to do and could be done in under 20 minutes for better fitness. It has three levels of difficulties. Yes, to golf better, improve on strength and flexibility as the explosive force in a golf swing could result in injury if we are not properly conditioned, especially weekend warriors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 15 minute exercise, March 30, 2009
I found this to be a very good program for a daily short exercise program for flexibility and muscle toning. It definately increased my range of motion which was restricted due to back injuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on the market for golf fitness, June 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Golf Rx: A 15-Minute-a-Day Core Program for More Yards and Less Pain (Paperback)
I bought a book hoping to improve my mental game, believing that my current scoring woes are mental, and bought this book, shown in the same Amazon search, as an afterthought.

I was delighted to see that this book has a very helpful chapter about the mental game, but as I read through the other chapters I began to realize that my rising score as I age through my sixties may not be due to my mental game at all. Instead, perhaps I hadn't paid enough attention to my fitness.

The author is a medical doctor and sports medicine therapist who begins by illustrating every muscle group in the body, and the spine, then explains which of these is activated by the golf swing, emphasizing those activated by the swing deceleration, where you are most prone to injury.

The point of the anatomy lesson is to justify a full range of stretching, strengthening and balance exercises that you can incorporate into a regular exercise routine, warm-up exercises prior to a round, and even short exercises during the round.

The fitness routine should improve your game, but equally important and stressed by this author, will substantially reduce the probability of a serious injury, especially to the lower back. Lower back pain is such a serious problem for golfers - especially older golfers - that he has an entire chapter dedicated to the pathology of back injuries and how they might be avoided. He even includes a chapter about how you should respond to a back injury if it happens on the course (which would have been helpful to me when I ended up in the emergency room after an errant drive at The Miami Beach Golf Club two years ago).

The number of exercises shown tends to overwhelm. But the author makes it clear that if you are only doing five or six stretching exercises, as I have daily for years, you are ignoring entire muscle groups that impact your performance and are susceptible to injury.

The recommended fitness exercises are well illustrated and properly explained.

None of the exercises require that you join a fitness center. They can all be done at home with a balance ball, a medicine gall, an exercise stretch cord and an optional weight bar, all of which can be bought on Amazon for under $50.

I don't know yet whether GOLF Rx will actually help my score. Maybe I'm just a hopeless hacker. But at least I will be a healthy hacker, thanks to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to your bookshelf!, August 25, 2007
By 
Taking care of your body will ensure many more years of good golf. This book is a great start, with a simple 15 minute program to keep you (and your game) in good shape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great tips and techniques to avoid injury. Dr. Vad also has another publication that has similar exercises. I have taken a combination of five daily stretches he describes to stay healthy. My activities are running, golf, and work around the house. Before I started the routine, my back was injured 1-3 times a year for two weeks at a time through my early 30's. I recently played 8 rounds in 5 days, bookended by two 3 mile runs and made out just fine. It has been two years since my last injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For a golfer this will help in trying to get into shape and focusing on core muscles as well as the body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's just OK, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good exercises but too generic. Having received a series of warm up from the pro, this didn't add anything worthwhile. None the less, if you've not had warm ups suggested, his are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Golf Rx: A 15-Minute-a-Day Core Program for More Yards and Less Pain
$18.00 $14.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.