Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous story
I have always been a Ben Rehder fan. He is a fellow Texan and has written several great books referred to as the Blanco County Mysteries. Upon reading these, I believed I had found an author whose book releases made me salivate. I enjoyed his books THE CHICKEN HANGER and The DRIVING LESSON and so when I heard about GONE THE NEXT, I naturally expected a great book because...
Published 21 months ago by Keith Milstead

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Ben Rehder has written a good book, albeit a somewhat predictable. It is not an action packed, spine tingling thriller but it is a solid mystery with enough to keep you interested.
Published 5 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous story, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Paperback)
I have always been a Ben Rehder fan. He is a fellow Texan and has written several great books referred to as the Blanco County Mysteries. Upon reading these, I believed I had found an author whose book releases made me salivate. I enjoyed his books THE CHICKEN HANGER and The DRIVING LESSON and so when I heard about GONE THE NEXT, I naturally expected a great book because Ben Rehder rules the mystery genre. However, upon reading this book, I fell in love with this man's talent to rule his genre. I couldn't put the book down because it was that good. Ben takes you into a place where monsters are real and live next door. Ben's talent to create characters that you really care about makes GONE THE NEXT such a great novel. You follow them as if you were sitting next to them in their van, her mustang and his couch. Ben's has created a tale of darkness that haunts us everyday and makes the headlines in our daily papers and news stations. In this case he makes it more personal and so you root for the good guy, even with all his scars, and hiss at the bad guys. Hopefully, if you come to this review undecided on whether to buy it or not, please believe me, you will not regret the decision to own this book. Hopefully it will encourage you to buy all his books, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Ben Rehder novel, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Rehder's books since BUCK FEVER, his first Blanco County novel and have read most of his work. He is has demonstrated a quirky sense of character and humor in his mysteries, but in GONE THE NEXT he has mellowed. His story here has fewer oddball players or humorous circumstances. He takes on a serious crime, in this case child abduction, and appropriately creates a new, more serious, yet still wisecracking, hero in the form of Ray Ballard -- not a detective or police officer, but a videographer who makes his living investigating insurance fraud. Very clever.

When Ballard comes across what he thinks is a young girl who's been reported missing in the hands of an insurance claimant he's been assigned to investigate, it brings back haunting memories from his past which propel him to pursue the case and save the girl.

Even in this serious story, Ben Rehder's sense of humor and fine dialog show through. His plotting is tight and effective. Though I started reading it late the other night, I felt compelled to finish the book the following evening. The pages seemed to turn themselves as I followed Ray Ballard and the story to its conclusion. GONE THE NEXT is a fine piece of work by an excellent mystery writer. I hope this is just the beginning of a Ray Ballard series. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tenacious main character, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a great story with great plot, great characters and good suspense. It all seemed very real--no fakes here. I liked Mr. Rehder's writing style--very smooth with lots of descriptions. I liked the tenacity of Roy Ballard. He didn't waiver when everyone told him to give up his search. I'd like to see him in another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very intriguing read, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was witty, interesting, full of twists and turns. Editing was superb, something you don't see often in free at the time books. I will look and pay for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, January 24, 2013
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was hooked after the 1st chapter. So many surprises and twists without losing you. Great personalities between the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tense story, well written., June 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I don't like stories that hold you by the throat and make you sweat through the plot, but any mystery should have an intensity that keeps pulling you toward the finish. This book is like that. The characters are well-developed and real, the ending pulls all the strands together, the dialogue is realistic, and it is an all-around good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I had trouble putting it down, May 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a well-written mystery with bits of quick-witted humor from the videographer thrown in. A quick read. The story twisted and turned and the ending was top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HISTORY REPEATS, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Perseverance pays off in this story and the good guys win. The present repeats the past and a good man gets a chance to grow. Exciting, challenging and well-wrritten, it is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, January 20, 2014
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Ben Rehder has written a good book, albeit a somewhat predictable. It is not an action packed, spine tingling thriller but it is a solid mystery with enough to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, April 24, 2013
This review is from: Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Clever twists of plot all tied up in the end with some additional satisfying conjecture. Fast moving. Roy Ballard is a hero in the cowboy tradition, though very up to date using his toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.