Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone West, by Carola Dunn
The Honourable Daisy Dalrymple Fletcher, wife of Scotland Yard's celebrated Alec Fletcher, agrees to help an old school friend, Sybil Sutherby, find out whether or not her employer, a writer of Western novels, is being slowly poisoned. Unfortunately, Sybil's suspicions are all too justified. Humphrey Birtwhistle, pen-name Eli Hawke, dies shortly after Daisy's...
Published on February 7, 2012 by Mary Jane Essex

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort in an excellent series
I usually love this series. It is usually full of charm and wit, period detail, and interesting characters - both recurring and new for each mystery to be solved.

Prior to Gone West the exception had been The Bloody Tower which has an oppressive atmosphere that made me rush to finish reading just to be done with it.

This one was so mediocre I had to...
Published on April 21, 2012 by J. Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone West, by Carola Dunn, February 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Honourable Daisy Dalrymple Fletcher, wife of Scotland Yard's celebrated Alec Fletcher, agrees to help an old school friend, Sybil Sutherby, find out whether or not her employer, a writer of Western novels, is being slowly poisoned. Unfortunately, Sybil's suspicions are all too justified. Humphrey Birtwhistle, pen-name Eli Hawke, dies shortly after Daisy's arrival--and it is not a natural death.

Carola Dunn's secondary characters carry this book, from the reclusive, disgruntled brother and sister to the obsessed suitor for the thoroughly modern great-niece's hand. The relationships matter, and what looks like a murder for revenge turns out to be motivated by an entirely different character dynamic.

Alec Fletcher gets the credit for solving the mystery, and he arrests, not one murderer, but two. Of course, Daisy still has to contend with Alec's myopic view of her penchant for sleuthing. It's about time he got over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort in an excellent series, April 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I usually love this series. It is usually full of charm and wit, period detail, and interesting characters - both recurring and new for each mystery to be solved.

Prior to Gone West the exception had been The Bloody Tower which has an oppressive atmosphere that made me rush to finish reading just to be done with it.

This one was so mediocre I had to wonder if Dunn is moving on to other things and her secretary wrote it.

The set up is far too lengthy, with dull conversation, and most of the new characters are not well developed, and old favorites such as DS Tring and DC Piper have almost no role at all. While there are good potential characters among the Derbyshire police, only Myra, the perhaps cousin to the family in the case is fully realized. The rest are types.

There is never a rational motive for murder, of course, but this one is so far off the charts it is hard to believe. Plus, it was obvious who had to be the murderer and where, when, and how the poison was obtained.

The saving grace is the visit to the town of Matlock and descriptions of the town and surrounding countryside as well as the Hydropathic. The rest is deadly dull.

I am no longer certain that I am eagerly awaiting the next Daisy mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Daisy story, April 21, 2012
By 
Jo Beverley (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
I enjoy the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries in part because of the world. It's not frivolous, especially with the shadows of WW I always there, but there's a light touch which is a relief from the many melodramatic mysteries, or ones with angst-ridden and/or wounded sleuths. I like Daisy, her family and friends, and enjoy revisiting them. Gone West has the usual country house setting and cast of eccentric characters, all tangled up and all straightened out in the end. Reading fun, as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite, but that doesn't matter., January 28, 2012
By 
Judy E Schultheis (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
I LOVE the Daisy Dalrymple series. I have right from the first.

I just finished this one, and my only complaint is how tired I'm getting of Inspector Fletcher's determination to gripe about Daisy getting stuck in situations deliberately. By now, he should certainly know that's not true - especially considering he's got stuck right along with her more than once. Actually, that's probably pretty accurate for how men viewed things at the time - it's not that far off how a lot of them view things now.

I do find myself wishing that some case would come up that would force him to admit that her Quaker fiance could not possibly have been a coward, conscientious objector or not.

I loved Gone West. It is definitely a keeper. As are all the previous Daisy Dalrymple mysteries. I'm already looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical of the series, March 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I missed this one when it came out between Anthem for Doomed Youth and Heirs of the Body, but saw it listed in the latter and promptly ordered it. It’s another enjoyable book in the Daisy Dalrymple series—in an Author’s Note she says that “gone west” is a British euphemism for “died,” but although that’s true it was also current in the US in the 1920s, and even up into the ’40s; I can remember hearing it, though usually in the context of older people’s reminiscences. And of course this book is set in 1926. Daisy is contacted by a former schoolmate—not a close friend, but a friendly acquaintance—who has heard that she’s done some investigations and could she possibly come spend a few days with her on the farm where she lives in Derbyshire; she thinks something odd is going on and would like a second opinion. She is the secretary of Humphrey Birtwhistle, a moderately success-ful author under a pen name, who is the principal owner of the farm. Daisy somewhat reluctantly agrees, and meets a collection of interesting people who are also staying at the farm—besides her friend, Sybil Sunderby, there are Humphrey’s wife Ruby (an American by birth he met and married while adventuring in the Wild West in his youth), their son Simon, Humphrey’s brother Norman and Sister Lorna (who own minority shares of the farm), a lovely young cousin, Myra Olney, Walter Ilkton (a wealthy aristocrat besotted with Myra), Neil Carey (an Irish playwright, friend of Simon’s and also flirting with Myra), and Roger Kent, the family doctor and in love with Sybil. (Dr. Kent doesn’t stay at the farm all the time, but he’s in and out a great deal, since Humphrey’s health is fragile.) Then Humphrey dies, and Dr. Kent won’t sign the death certificate—and indeed, an autopsy shows he was poisoned, and Scotland Yard in the person of Alec is called in. Fairly typical of the series; if you like it you’ll want to read this book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Series, December 3, 2012
By 
LMK (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone West: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Like the series written by Rhys Bowen of the 'Royal" series this is just great light entertainment-- have read all the books in the series and have enjoyed them all-- varying quality of each book but overall worth a light read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone West: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Initially I thought this book was light and frivolous, but it deepened the further I read. Some nice characters and decent plot. I will read more of the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm A Davis Fan, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read other Daisy Dalrymple books and have loved them all. This one will not disappoint fans or new readers. Author creates great characters and plot lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars this book was OK, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone West: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
i gave this book three (3) stars it was OK. I would recommend this for light reading. Some Interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from Carola Dunn, March 6, 2013
By 
Harold M. Swanson (PLEASANTON, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone West: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
The Daisy Dalrymple mysteries never fail to satisfy. It brings the era alive for many of us who also enjoy history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.