Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!
This is an excellent book that chronicles the making of the legendary screen classic "Gone With the Wind". The book moves in chronological order from it's start as a novel all the way through the pre-production, production and post-production stages of what was to be one of the greatest films of all time, if not the greatest. The book is filled with numerous...
Published on May 29, 2001 by Robert Ortiz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite all that can be said about the movie
I was a little disappointed that out of a 245-page book on the making of Gone With The Wind, only 15 pages contained color illustrations. Although the black and white photographs are plentiful and good, I just expected many more color shots.

On the plus side, Mr. Bridges writes smoothly and all the facts and facets of the nearly four-years-in-making of GWTW...
Published on August 27, 2009 by SusieQ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, May 29, 2001
By 
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
This is an excellent book that chronicles the making of the legendary screen classic "Gone With the Wind". The book moves in chronological order from it's start as a novel all the way through the pre-production, production and post-production stages of what was to be one of the greatest films of all time, if not the greatest. The book is filled with numerous photos, some of them in color, many of them rare and all of them crisp and clear. There are close-ups of all of its stars (Vivien Leigh, Clark Gable, Olivia DeHavilland, Leslie Howard), the crew at work, movie posters and it's world premiere. This is a great book that will make an excellent addition to any library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Stars for the best GWTW picture book ever!, October 31, 1998
By 
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
This book contains a picture by picture account of the movie, it contains some of the best copies of the movie posters ever and it has a reasonable amount of background information, but the pictures really make this book something special...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book for Gone With the Wind Fans, June 23, 2002
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
This book is packed with information and great photographs, both in color and black and white. The majority of the book deals with the filming an abundance of behind-the-scenes shots.
Also of particular interest is the post-production section dealing with the public's reaction to the movie and the section on the Premiere. This is a great book to add to your personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite all that can be said about the movie, August 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed that out of a 245-page book on the making of Gone With The Wind, only 15 pages contained color illustrations. Although the black and white photographs are plentiful and good, I just expected many more color shots.

On the plus side, Mr. Bridges writes smoothly and all the facts and facets of the nearly four-years-in-making of GWTW are fully set forth. It was interesting to see the covers of the foreign versions of the novel GWTW, and illustrations from the foreign versions.

Bottom line is the book is good, but I wouldn't call it THE definitive book on the history of the film of Gone With The Wind.

If the reader can find it, DAVID O. SELZNICK'S HOLLYWOOD, a huge book, has an excellent section on the making of GWTW, profusely illustrated in color, with all kinds of background information, for example, on all the actresses considered to play Scarlett (with photographs of their screen tests).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written, a definate must read!, October 18, 1999
By A Customer
This novel, written by a wonderful author, deserves much more than five stars. It is wonderful in all ways. It's descriptions paint many vivid images in your mind, along with making you believe that you were really there, observing the life of Scarlett O'Hera, and all that lived around her, approving and disapproving of her. After reading this, I was instantly hooked on the story. The plot keeps you reading, and never is there a boring part to be read. It is a wonderful book, and even though I am twelve, and got laughed at for reading it, I would never once change my mind about making the decision to read it. It is a book that should be required in schools, for the content is absolutly extravagant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully beautiful book about the best movie ever made!, December 19, 1999
By 
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
GWTW is the best movie in the world! And this book captures some of its majestic splendour, but you can't do that much on paper, but this book is wonderful! It had some pictures (stills) that you couldn't really catch the people's expressions in the movie, but this book really did. Melanie (Olivia DeHavilland) the star, really, looked so beautifully sweet in every picture, her love for Ashley made her glow. This book is the best one I have seen of a GWTW picture book. Obviously, a lot of research went into making this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my favorite GWTW related book (so far anyway!), October 28, 2001
By 
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
Gorgeous pictures. Wonderful history of the novel to movie story. All GWTW fans should have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone With the Wind : The Definitive Illustrated History, December 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
First I was impressed by the quality of photos - excellent. I come from Poland where, for a long time of communism, the good quality was a rare luxury. I could see every single element of fabulous clothes. Good taste, an unattainable world of really rich people - different from those starving and hungry after war in "Gone With the Wind". A lot of pictures, too little stories and anecdotes, but this is an illustrated story, so I shouldn't complain. Vivien Leigh, Olivia de Havilland, Clarke Gable are warm and human as private persons. As actors they are shown as professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gwtw, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
I ordered this book and it was shipped to me very fast. It has many high quality black and white photos, but the color ones were fuzzy, a little blurry. In all my service was great, but i just expected more from the actual book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Photo Gallery of "GWTW" Production, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend (Paperback)
This was a very good examination of the phenomenon of turning Margaret Mitchell's "Gone with the Wind" into an iconic movie. The written section of the book could be more comprehensive, but the cavalcade of photos in the book (many of them not widely shown before) compensate for that. As such, this is an excellent book companion to the film, for those who are "Gone with the Wind" enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gone With the Wind: The Definitive Illustrated History of the Book, the Movie and the Legend
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.