Good Luck (Bantam Discovery) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Good Luck (Bantam Discove... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Good Luck (Bantam Discovery) Mass Market Paperback – October 28, 2008


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$5.99
$2.58 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014
$5.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Good Luck (Bantam Discovery) + Testing Kate + True Love (and Other Lies)
Price for all three: $32.52

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Bantam Discovery
  • Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam Discovery (October 28, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553591517
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553591514
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1 x 6.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,813,421 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

*Starred Review* One of her wealthiest students at Andrews Prep has accused teacher Lucy Parker of sexual misconduct, an act of revenge because she gave him a failing grade. The administration believes the teen (or rather, his father, a generous donor), and Lucy loses her job. That same day, her car breaks down and she catches her boyfriend in a very compromising position with a buxom blond. Then Lucy buys a lottery ticket and wins the grand prize, more than $34 million. The unluckiest time of her life turns into the luckiest, until the press finds out about the sexual misconduct charges, and suddenly, the world brands Lucy as a pedophile, something all the money in the world won’t fix. What else can she do except go into hiding and change her identity? Gaskell (Mommy Tracked, 2007) has crafted an emotional roller coaster of a novel. The highs are funny and furious, and the lows will tug at readers’ heartstrings as they relish this superb tale of the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune. --Shelley Mosley --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Whitney Gaskell grew up in Syracuse, New York. A graduate of Tulane Law School, she worked for several years as a reluctant lawyer before writing her first novel, Pushing 30, followed by True Love (and Other Lies); She, Myself & I; Testing Kate, and Mommy Tracked. She lives in Stuart, Florida, with her husband and son.

More About the Author

Hi! My name is Whitney Gaskell, and I'm the author of PUSHING 30, TRUE LOVE (AND OTHER LIES), SHE MYSELF & I, and the forthcoming TESTING KATE.

For more information about my books, check out my website at www.whitneygaskell.com, and also my blog at www.literarychicks.com.

Customer Reviews

Lucy is a great character, interesting and complex and real.
dcbooklover
As a mom to four young children, I love to read but have a hard time squeezing it in to my busy schedule.
A. Looney
I absolutely loved this book, I read it in one day, could NOT put it down!
SassyGal

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Tracy Vest VINE VOICE on December 2, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Lucy Parker thought this day couldn't get any worse. After losing her job as a high school teacher due to allegations of an affair with student, her put upon car breaks downs, and she arrives home early to find her fiance in bed with another woman. When she wakes up the next morning, she discovers that she holds the winning lottery ticket worth $87 million. She'd prefer to keep the whole thing quiet, but a reporter out for a torrid story breaks the silence and her life his torn upside down, particularly when the ugly allegations about her job come to light and she is dubbed the "lottery seductress" by the press. People start coming out of the woodwork and she doesn't know who to trust. At the insistence of college pal Hayden, she heads to Palm Beach and changes her appearance to live down the infamy of her newfound fame. Back on the dating scene, she soon discovers that you have to be careful who you trust and that appearances and pre-conceptions can be deceiving.

Gaskell's lottery drama was such a fun story. The writing is so engaging that I read it in a single day. Interweaving secondary characters like proud best friend Maisie, two potential suitors, and a horrid bridezilla sister into the story, Gaskell makes it more than a one note plot.

© Tracy Vest, December 2008
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By T. Prince on November 25, 2008
Format: Paperback
I loved this book! I started it on Sunday and couldn't put it down until I finished it.

I thought it was a fun, entertaining story and I wanted to keep reading about Lucy Parker. What starts out as her worst day (being fired) turns out to be her best day (winning the lottery). She heads to Palm Beach with an old friend to escape it all. The many unforseen events are both heartful and funny which makes this a fun read.

I've read Whitney Gaskell's other books (also good), but this one is my favorite. I look forward to reading her future books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Julia on November 24, 2008
Format: Paperback
I think I have seriously had it with chick lit. I am so sick of the stories with the four women: one's having an affair, one is juggling a new baby, one doesn't want kids, husband does, etc, etc. Every single book I pick up is like that now!!!!!

But this one is a winner. It's chick lit with a good plot and some twists that keep you entertained. I've liked Gaskell's previous novels. I like her writing style and her books are always humorous and full of realistic characters. I know this is short but I'm kind of a bad reviewer, I just wanted to say that this one is a keeper!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A. Looney on November 14, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
This is the second novel I've read by Whitney Gaskell, the first being "Mommy Tracked", and I loved it just as much as the first. She is a fun, easy-to-read author. As a mom to four young children, I love to read but have a hard time squeezing it in to my busy schedule. Gaskell's novels are the perfect because they are page turners. I couldn't put this book down. Her characters are fun and real. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a quick fun escape from reality. Gaskell's "Good Luck" simply put is a great read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Mommy on January 13, 2009
Format: Paperback
Once again, a great book from Whitney Gaskell. It made me want to jump inside the book and be a part of the story. She has a knack for making her characters so real. The saddest part is when one of her books ends and I have to wait another year for a new one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By ChickFlick Book Reader on May 29, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Great book with great characters. I couldn't see the twists and bends coming, but still loved the story.
The only thing is, I wish it had've ended with more explanation as to what happened with her and Mal.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
A really good book with a great story about a school teacher who hits the lottery. I have to agree with another reviewer that Lucy,the main character, spends alot of time being upset about winning the lottery and that is why I did not give the book a 5. I did not think the main character was appropriately ecstatic about winning. Lucy has problems when she wins the lottery because she is a school teacher and is fired from her job because a rich student in the prep school where she teaches accuses her of sexual misconduct. I felt that Lucy spent an inordinate amount of time running from her perceived troubles and those were winning an insane amount of money and the accusations of sexual impropriety. However, there are many thoughts in the story that I liked including do not judge people by their outward appearances and who can you really trust if you are blessed with tons of money. The ending was unrealistic for me because Lucy gave away much of the money. I really do not think everyone would be as altruistic. This is a really great story and I recommend it highly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Sarah J. Carlin VINE VOICE on December 10, 2008
Format: Paperback
Good Luck by Whitney Gaskell

Lucy Parker is having the worst day ever. First, she is fired from her teaching job because of false accusations from a male student. Then she comes home to find her boyfriend Elliot in bed with another woman. She spends the rest of her day sulking in her PJs.
The next day, Lucy checks her lottery ticket to find that she won a 64 million dollar jackpot. However, she also finds dozens of reporters and TV crews on her front lawn, wanting to interview the disgraced former teacher. Lucy makes her escape and claims her money, but now, with no job and no boyfriend, she doesn't know what to do.

Good Luck is a fun chick-lit novel with lots of laughs and some serious soul searching parts as well. It is somewhat predictable, but the story is fun and the ending wraps it up well. For fans of Sophie Kinsella and Janet Evanovich.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?