Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...A Must have..
This is a sophisticated read - but well worth it! I am a child therapist and child development specialist and believe this book to be the bible of healthy child-rearing. Bettelheim is brilliant, caring and compassionate. Take time to read this prize, maybe 6 months or so. Read it slowly so that you can pick up all the messages and insights that he offers. Other great...
Published on January 31, 2005 by Kimberley Clayton Blaine, MA, MFT

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Find something up to date.
I went on Amazon looking for a copy of bettelheim's work for my bizarre-old-books collection, and can't believe people are still talking about him as if he's relevant. Mind blowing, not in a good way.
Published 8 months ago by katie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...A Must have.., January 31, 2005
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
This is a sophisticated read - but well worth it! I am a child therapist and child development specialist and believe this book to be the bible of healthy child-rearing. Bettelheim is brilliant, caring and compassionate. Take time to read this prize, maybe 6 months or so. Read it slowly so that you can pick up all the messages and insights that he offers. Other great reads are Rudolf Driekers, "Children the Challenge." Try reading, Adele Faber's "How to Talk So Kids Will Listen" or Mary Kurcinka's "Kids, Parents and Power Sruggles."

Kimberley Clayton Blaine, MA, MFT
Licensed Child Therapist
founder, [...]
Author: Mommy Confidence: 8 Easy Steps to Reclaiming Balance, Motivation, and Your Inner Diva
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He thinks it is ok for kids to believe in Santa, etc! Yay!, December 6, 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
Marvelous book - have referred back to it many times for encouragement and reinforcement of my own parenting "beliefs". When I have grandkids, this will be my first gift to the prospective parents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reassuring, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
I recently bought this book for a parent who is being challenged at their parenting skills. This book is highly reassuring. I read it many years ago when I was questioning my parenting skills with a difficult child. Although the book is written in stilted, professorial English, it is readable. The author, Bruno Bettelheim, was a world renowned and respected psychiatrist. He had escaped the Nazis and managed to get out of Germany.

No one can be a perfect parent and it isn't necessary to be perfect. Children are resilient and the parent just has to be "good enough."

If you are trying to be a good parent and feel insecure, this book will help you over the challenges and reassure you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real parenting advice, August 3, 2013
By 
Zelda (Western Maryland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
This is a down to earth book filled with supportive, comprehensive, and useful advice parents and chirldren can really use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, March 17, 2013
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
I had read this book 20 years ago. I still remember it as a most understanding and compassionate book. I had highlighted so many of its passages. Some people ruin the reputation of a good book or an author by giving one star. This book certainly deserves 5 stars. I don't think the author is with us but he came across as a good human being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Find something up to date., November 26, 2013
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
I went on Amazon looking for a copy of bettelheim's work for my bizarre-old-books collection, and can't believe people are still talking about him as if he's relevant. Mind blowing, not in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A grain of salt, May 5, 2009
This review is from: A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing (Paperback)
It is amazing to me that the psychological community is still putting Bruno Bettelheim out there as some kind of authority. This is the same man who made up a theory of autism -- that it was caused by "refrigerator moms" -- that caused intense pain for a generation of mothers trying to help their autistic children. (His theory was based on his opinion, not scientific research.) This is also the same supposed doctor who started a sham school for autistic kids that was later shut down by the University of Chicago. Bettelheim went on to write more interesting theories -- including one that blamed the Jews for not standing up for themselves and thereby suffering the Holocaust.

Bettelheim never received a degree in psychology, as he purported when he emigrated from Europe during WW2. He managed to get himself on TV, though (our first Dr. Phil) and he could write convincingly.

Please, before you read this book, consider the source!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing
A Good Enough Parent : A Book on Child-Rearing by Bruno Bettelheim (Paperback - March 12, 1988)
$17.95 $13.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.