Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 153 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vast improvement over the last several Macca live DVDs
I bought this set, primarily for the DVD.

The DVD is a VAST improvement over McCartney's previous live videos.

Let's take a look:

Rockshow (great movie, but not a complete show.)

Get Back (incomplete show. annoyingly cut from many different shows. Too many audience shots, etc.)

Paul Is Live (incomplete show. Too...
Published on November 17, 2009 by Robert Joseffer

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paul is still alive
How many live albums does Sir Paul intend to put out? Considering that he's past retirement age, he can't have that many left in him, and he certainly doesn't need the money, being one of the wealthiest men in the world. But he's an energetic 67 and clearly enjoys performing: his voice is remarkably strong, the band is tight, and the crowd is enthusiastic.

It's...
Published on November 17, 2009 by Thomas E. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 153 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vast improvement over the last several Macca live DVDs, November 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
I bought this set, primarily for the DVD.

The DVD is a VAST improvement over McCartney's previous live videos.

Let's take a look:

Rockshow (great movie, but not a complete show.)

Get Back (incomplete show. annoyingly cut from many different shows. Too many audience shots, etc.)

Paul Is Live (incomplete show. Too many MTV style cuts. Headache inducing.)

Back In The US (every song is interrupted by documentary footage. Way too much focus on audience shots, and not enough of what's going on stage.)

Live In Red Square / St. Petersburg (horrible editing. Like Paul Is Live, its headache inducing.)

The Space Within US (incomplete show. Documentary footage and celebrity testimonials interrupt every song. Extra disappointing, as this was one of my favorite Paul tours, and a horrible document of what was an amazing tour.)

Oh, how I wished Paul would just release a concert DVD, with no documentary footage between songs. Of a complete show. And edit it well.

Good Evening, NYC fits the bill.

Almost.

It is the full show. The editing is not as jumpy as some of the others.

No extraneous footage between songs, ruining the flow of the concert.

But I subtract a star for the inclusion of 'audience cam'. At the shows, they distributed little handheld video cameras, to a number of concertgoers. And some of this amateur footage, is sometimes mixed in with the professional footage. I'd have rather had the pro footage only.

So its not exactly what I wanted. But it's getting closer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Concert, A Great DVD, November 17, 2009
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
A disclaimer: I was at the first night at Citi Field, so I watched with memories of that great performance. I got the deluxe package from Best Buy today and intended on watching the first few songs on DVD. 2 1/2 hours later, I had sat through the whole show and felt like I was back at the concert. Actually, there was one song that was better on the DVD - "I'm Down" interspersed footage from both the Beatles at Shea and McCartney at Citi Field. The DVD must have combined the three nights because Billy Joel is on the DVD (and he only performed the first night) but there are no crowd scenes with umbrellas (it rained during the middle part of the first night). Paul was greatly moved by being back at the site of the historic Shea concert and it shows in his performance. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic And Ageless MACCA Flourishes In The Big Apple !!, November 17, 2009
By 
Brien Comerford (Glenview, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
Somehow at age 67 the iconic and tireless Paul McCartney can still perform long concerts with his incredible voice intact and his energy level remaining frenetic. It's the rockers on this CD that are utterly captivating. The version of "Day Tripper" is scorching. The intense "I've Got A Feeling" sounds timeless. "Helter Skelter" is sheer psychedelia. "I'm Down" is still a seminal Beatles' classic. "Only Mama Knows" is a riveting gem from "Memory Almost Full." The cosmic "Highway" and "Sing The Changes" are two of the greatest songs from MACCA'S last Fireman CD, the brilliant "Electric Arguments". "Mrs. Vanderbilt" is a welcome live song from Paul's vintage Wings era.

There are also many high quality songs that MACCA has been performing live for years. "Jet" and "Live And Let Die" are sterling and explosive. "Get Back", "Lady Madonna" and "Back In The USSR" are great audience pleasers because they fervently rock. A major highlight is Paul performing John and his own vocals on the poignant "A Day In The Life." The fantastic concert aptly closes with "Sgt. Peppers" and "The End."

This CD proves that Paul McCartney is one of the paramount live concert performers in musical history. His vocals and instrumental virtuosity are amazing. MACCA resonates live and on stage.

Note: It's imperative for all McCartney fans to have The Fireman "Electric Arguments" CD. It's arguably his finest CD and it's probably the one that Lennon would appreciate the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul "gets on the right thing"-highly recommended 2 cd/2 dvd set, November 24, 2009
Paul McCartney's released many live CDs and DVDs but this is the best of the bunch he's released. Here's why; 1)We get the whole concert 2)the performances are dazzling (and Paul's in exceptiona voice--no Autotune or any processing device was used to augment Paul's voice)including a brief detour into a cover of a Jimi Hendrix tune (he shares a story about Hendrix having learned "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" even though it had just been released. Hendrix's guitar went out of tune and he asked if Eric Clapton was in the audience so he could tune it for him). 3)We get a healthy dose of Beatles songs (including "A Day in the Life" melded with Lennon's "Give Peace A Chance"), Wings tunes, Fireman and McCartney solo hits. 4)We get to hear the concert and see it on a bonus DVD AND Best Buy has a 2 CD/2DVD set (available only as an import here)in a nice book with McCartney's "David Letterman" live roof top show.

Sound-I'd give it a B for the CDs--they sound good not too loud, compressed or maximized could they sound better? Sure but for a contemporary CD this sounds good. The sound on the DVDs I'd give an A--they sound exceptionally clear, crisp with nice detail. The picture on the DVDs (I watched it upscaled on my Blu-ray player)looks exceptional as well. Would I have liked a Blu-ray option for this? Sure but the DVD looks just fine upscaled with nice detail although you'll notice it isn't quite as sharp as a Blu-ray.

Is Macca using Autotune here? The engineer that worked with Geoff Emerick on this Paul Hicks has indicated that there is no Autotune used on the album. Could there be a variation being used here? Possibly but this is still to me the best of his concerts on video.

The Letterman Show is terrific. McCartney and his band do a root top concert (sort of)at the Ed Sullivan Theater where The Beatles first appeared live for U.S. audiences for the first time changing history for themselves, us and altering music.

If you can find the 2 CD/DVD set pick it up (Best Buy is sold out on line but they fail to mention that MOST stores have them or had them in stock) or pick up the import.

Unlike previous McCartney shows (McCartney directed this himself)this one doesn't intercut performances with interviews and we only briefly get shots done by fans using the digital cameras distributed at the show(only one where the song is interrupted and it's fairly early on outside of "I'm Down". All of which makes this a BIG improvement on previous concert DVD/CD sets. The healthy variety of songs from throughout his long career along with the appearence of Billy Joel for "I Saw Her Standing There" (and the fact that, in my opinion, this is the best backing band he's had and I've seen all of them including Wings)makes this one a keeper. During Macca's story about The Beatles playing Shea the show cleverly intercuts Macca and his band playing "I'm Down" contrasting it with The Beatles performance. Just a note that "I'm Down" does appear on the bonus disc from the "Letterman" show uncut without the footage from The Beatles Shea appearence of "I'm Down" interpolated. There's also a brief "documentary" compiled from the digital cameras given to the people in the audience.

Every little thing Paul and his top notch band including Rusty Anderson (guitar, vocals), Brian Ray (guitar, bass, vocals), Abe Laboriel, Jr. (vocals, drums, percussion), Paul "Wix" Wickens (keyboards)do here is nearly perfect. Sure, you could carp about the fact that Paul's lost much of his upper register but he makes up for it here by dropping some of the material here by a step which allows himself to ably tackle the material. For someone who is 68 years old, Macca has a great voice after 45 plus years of entertaining you and me.

If you can't find this 2 DVD, 2 CD set check Paul McCartney's website (although they have been running behind in their shipping).

Other recommended McCartney Live Recordings: Wings Over America
Back in the U.S. Live 2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McCartney Just Keeps Getting Better with Age!!!, November 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
This 2cd 1dvd set is incredible. Having gone to the CitiField concert it was great reliving that evening. Nothing can match the energy of actually being at the concert but boy does this come close. The audio recording is superb as is the video. It's amazing at 67 years old how vibrant McCartney is and his voice sounds better than ever. There are so many Beatle songs in this set that will please any Beatle's fan and they all sound terrific. His solo material is awesome and the pyrotechnics during Live and Let Die must be seen. This is a must buy for any McCartney fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for the 5 Star version get to Best Buy!!, November 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
Allright Macca lovers...we all must own this and its a great collection...but if you hurry to BEST BUY for $19.99 you get a DVD sized package with a BONUS DVD with about an hour of exclusive footage from his David Letterman appearance (many songs not even shown) and more...plus the package is lavish and has great artwork a bonus BASEBALL style Playing card of Macca and is the 5 star version of this CD sized packaged 2 cd one dvd. I'm not going to argue about sound or editing or his age and hair coloring...these are a cool batch of some of the greatest songs of our time performed by the only guy with the right to do it and he even sprinkles in a very obscure classics like "Mrs Vanderbilt" for goodness sake so redundant to your Macca collection its not.

Oh...and I agree with others...nice to have a full show...can't understand why Paul continues to think we want to see audience members crying and singing more than watching him and his band but after all these years and all his movies...I expect that and am used to it.

for casual fans this is great...for true fans...get to Best Buy and get the whole package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, November 22, 2009
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
I appreciate the fact that this DVD, unlike other Paul McCartney DVDs I own, shows the full concert and doesn't intermingle interview footage. I've been waiting for a package like this for a long time.

The performance here is great, the set list amazing, and it's 2.5 hours long. This is very much worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pssstt... Best Buy Deluxe Version for $19.99!!!, November 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
This is an excellent live collection put out by Paul.
I've seen him live four times.
I remember in '89 thinking, "Boy, his voice is shot!"
But, somehow, 20 years later, he sounds better than ever!

Feel free to order from Amazon. After all, they are obviously a very trusted name,
but if you want a real value, head over to Best Buy and pick up the Deluxe Package for
only $19.99!!! This comes with a well-made booklet, tons of photos, a McCartney baseball card,
2 Cds, and 2 DVDs... one including his rooftop performance during his David Letterman appearance, and
a documentary.

I was hoping he's head all over the US this year, but this will have to do.
And again, he sounds really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Ten Star" Gift From Paul For His Fans, November 22, 2009
By 
Alan Houston (Texas, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney has more money than Bill Gates - he continues to write and record new songs simply to express his love of music and he continues to tour to share his love of music with his millions of fans. "Good Evening New York City" is a superbly recorded two hour concert of songs from the Beatles and from Paul McCartney's four decades of writing and performing. Adding a two hour DVD filmed version of the concert to the package and pricing it at just $15 for two CD's and a DVD makes this Paul's gift to his fans.

Over the decades, Paul has recorded many "live" concerts. Some of the songs on "Good Evening" are available on half a dozen albums. Yet, "Good Evening New York City" is special...it may be the pinnacle of McCartney's career. He and his crack band put on a wonderful show. The rock songs have lots of energy, sometimes they rock harder than the original versions, and the ballads have nuances than come from maturity and experience.

What make "Good Evening" perhaps the "ultimate" McCarney collection is the song selection. He brings together great songs from the Beatles, from Wings, and from his solo career. His "live" versions of some of his more recent songs, such as "Only Mama Knows", "Dance Tonight" and "Highway" are a wonderful "fit" with songs he wrote almost fifty years ago.

The sound engineers did a great job of preserving the feel and energy of a "live" performance, while also preserving the subtle details of each instrument, and balancing the vocals with the band. A stereo system that plays loudly with lots of deep bass will let you enjoy both the power and subtlety of Paul's astounding skill on the bass guitar, something that gets missed with TV speakers or cheapo earbuds.

Yes, if you are a Beatle's fan, or a McCartney fan, you already own two or three versions of most of these songs. But, "Good Evening" is truly special, and at the silly low price of this CD and DVD set, it is a wonderful gift from Paul to his fans...you NEED "Good Evening" in your collection.

Millions of people have enjoyed Paul's music over the past four decades, and people will be listening to Paul's music for many decades to come. If you have someone in your family who is age ten to age twenty, "Good Evening" would be the perfect gift...for most younger folks, Paul's music will be both "brand new" and amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Paul -- The Closest We Are Going To Get To The Beatles, November 19, 2009
By 
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] (Audio CD)
Last July, I obtained, at the last minute, a ticket to see Paul McCartney play at Fenway Park, Boston. Boy, was I pleased I went! The show was incredible! No other musician has the kind of musical catalogue that Sir Paul can draw upon. It was just amazing to hear 35,000+ people sing, a capella, the coda to "Hey Jude". You can hear that, as well as the rest of the show (to the best of my recollection, the playlist for the Fenway show was the same as the one on these CDs, and was likely the same, or virtually the same, for all the shows on Paul's summer 2009 tour) on this 2 CD/DVD set issued on a certain coffee chain's "Hear Music" label.

This CD/DVD combo is a great momento of the show for anyone who went, and for those who didn't, is a nice collection of great Beatles/McCartney/Wings songs played live. The majority of the songs included on this set (and all but one song on the second CD) are in fact Beatles songs, played live by the only remaining Beatle who can play them (sorry, Ringo). While most of the songs are principally Paul's, he does pay tribute to George ("Something"; with Paul on mandolin or ukelele) and John ("A Day In The Life" > "Give Peace A Chance").

I have listened to the CDs, mostly in the car, and partly on my home system. My first impression is that the performances are very, very good, and the sound is decent enough for a live show. Amazingly, after all these years, Paul's voice still sounds the same! In addition to his fine voice, Paul displays his musical talents by playing, in addition to his famous Hofner electric bass, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, keyboards and mandolin (or ukelele). New York resident Billy Joel makes a cameo appearance on "I Saw Her Standing There." While these are not definitive performances (for those, check out the remastered Beatles CDs), they offer a great listening experience. I have not yet watched the DVD.

Contrary to the cover information, the CDs are apparantly a representation of Paul's summer 2009 concert show culled from three different shows performed at New York's Citi Field, which has replaced Shea Stadium (the site of the famous 1964 Beatles concert(s)), and which is now the new home of the New York Mets baseball team. The songs are blended together to give the illusion that they are from a single concert. Having gone to the Fenway show, I can report that Paul's in between song banter has been eliminated from the CDs; I can't yet report on the DVD.

The packaging leaves something to be desired. The CDs and DVD are housed in cardboard sleeves, so care is required when removing and replacing the CDs. There is no identification of the actual dates of the performances. Nevertheless, this set is a great value, 2 CDS and a DVD for the price of a single CD. For those who went to one of the shows, this is really a must buy, as it is a great momento of a memorable concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo]
Good Evening New York City [2 CD + 1 DVD Combo] by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.