Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
I was assigned to read this play for a class in college and fell absolutely in love the character of Margie. She can be looked at differently by every person, which can be true about any character of any play or cinema creation. There was comic relief between Margie's friends Dottie and Jean, while at the same time an abundant amount of serious overture. And if you having...
Published on April 23, 2012 by Susan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars racism and poverty in america
In my opinion it is a very good work about the modern world, and specifically modern america. You may find poor people in the richest world economy, implied racism, and at the same time you realize that these people have their virtues, and their not worse than many of us.
Nobody is as good, as he thinks he is, neither as bad as it seems.
Published on August 24, 2012 by Raul Bacigaluppi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, April 23, 2012
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
I was assigned to read this play for a class in college and fell absolutely in love the character of Margie. She can be looked at differently by every person, which can be true about any character of any play or cinema creation. There was comic relief between Margie's friends Dottie and Jean, while at the same time an abundant amount of serious overture. And if you having trouble placing images with these characters I've heard numerous people mention that watching the movie Fargo really helped them. Just give the play a chance and you will most likely have a favorite character and moment as well as an interpretation that is your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good play, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
Although I disagree with Lindsay-Abaire's message the play is very entertaining. See it if you get the chance. Good for community theatre groups although it requires several set changes, sets can be fairly simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raises one of the most fundamental questions of ethics and philosophy: what is the foundation of the good life?, February 27, 2014
By 
Buie (DENVER, Colombia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Kindle Edition)
Fate? Fortune? Opportunity? Hard work? A good family? The right neighborhood? Or just pure luck? This play upon the most ordinary of lives, raises extraordinary questions of the nature of human success/fulfillment. This should be read/seen by politicians of all stripes. No shallow by ones bootstraps or welfare queens allowed. Good People brings to life the human predicament as far more textured than left and right political slogans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
I suppose ratings are pretty subjective. I enjoyed this play. I wish that the cover didn't have actors on it though. My ONE complaint is that I couldn't separate the characters in my imagination from the actors from the cover. It would have been nice to think them up on my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Play, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Kindle Edition)
I had the privilege of reading Good People and seeing it performed the same week. An entertaining and thought provoking play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars racism and poverty in america, August 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
In my opinion it is a very good work about the modern world, and specifically modern america. You may find poor people in the richest world economy, implied racism, and at the same time you realize that these people have their virtues, and their not worse than many of us.
Nobody is as good, as he thinks he is, neither as bad as it seems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Kindle Edition)
Making ends meet for the mother who doesnt want any help taking care of her child and believes that those more fortunate are lucky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Local Theatre is Producing this, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
I chose this to review and present at our community theatre Play Selection Committee. Unfortunately, it was chosen by a different theatre group. Hoping to audition for some minor part, but love the play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, February 21, 2012
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
After reading Rabbit Hole, I rushed out to buy his latest play.
I think Good People is a good show but it lacks in being profound.
He has a good voice. He is able to write very good scenes, characters and dialogue.
Some of the conflict is contrived, when the main character goes to her old friend's house but the show is tightly
nit and well written. However, the show lacks poignancy and depth and is entirely forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting work, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good People (Paperback)
The playwright should have worked further on the ending, but the play itself has good material. There's a production of this play currently playing in Argentina. After reading the original script, and seeing the argentine production I've written the following review:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Good People
Good People by David Lindsay-Abaire (Paperback - June 21, 2011)
$14.95 $12.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.