Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Conclusion
One Good Soldier ties up the loose ends with practically all of our favorite characters surviving about ten years of war. Most questions are answered, with the possible exception of the political dynamics behind the civil war. Either because of limitations of space or disruption to the narrative flow, why so many people would go to such lengths to destroy the United...
Published on December 7, 2009 by P. Gibbs

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A slog
Minority view here. The problem I have is that there is action galore, which I like, but that much of it is the description of simulator battles. These may be informative, but I keep saying to myself: "dream sequence, who cares?"

Also, The "pretend" battles, and the real ones, are described minutely: But in the Doc's case, it is exactly as if he played 5...
Published on November 6, 2010 by Js Banks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A slog, November 6, 2010
By 
Js Banks (Mountain View, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Minority view here. The problem I have is that there is action galore, which I like, but that much of it is the description of simulator battles. These may be informative, but I keep saying to myself: "dream sequence, who cares?"

Also, The "pretend" battles, and the real ones, are described minutely: But in the Doc's case, it is exactly as if he played 5 intense minutes of an online first-person-shooter session, and then went back over the recording and transcribed every bit of it in excruciating (or delicious, if you like it) detail with plenty of "oowaagh!" grunts to let you know high-g forces are in play. You get Every thumb-toggle of an alternate weapon system, spiral evasion move, excited slogan-laden radio communication and techy-sounding acronym. Even the deaths feel like gamer "deaths, kind of inconsequential.

I would have said it is better to spend two pages describing action, rather than one throw-away sentence such as "and then they advanced a click under heavy fire", But this is way, way too much.

I know,I know, if you like it, you like it, but to me it really needs to be edited down.

I loved how evil the villain was. Making her human instead of a cartoon made her actions even worse. I liked the characters. It's a good story. I did my own editing by skimming: "Hmm, battle action starting, skip ahead 1, 2, 3, 5 (!) pages". This David Weber level verbosity is hard to plow through.

Sorry to be negative when there is a gem of a tale pillowed in all the that cellulose verbiage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Conclusion, December 7, 2009
By 
P. Gibbs (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One Good Soldier ties up the loose ends with practically all of our favorite characters surviving about ten years of war. Most questions are answered, with the possible exception of the political dynamics behind the civil war. Either because of limitations of space or disruption to the narrative flow, why so many people would go to such lengths to destroy the United States is not all that clear. Part of it may lie in the fact that the protagonist U.S. President is a Republican. Maybe the (far future) collectivist wing of the American Left decided to take what it could of the frontier states in space to create a utopia.

The book is an action story where, in the end, the principles of a 600-year old constitution ultimately prevail. However, I did appreciate the rough justice in the concluding chapter where certain people get what's coming to them in a fashion appropriate to the latest Vince Flynn novel. (He writes about the world of special ops and covert actions in our current war.)

I give it 5-stars because it accomplishes its intended purpose quite well. This is an action story with characters we care about and a moral center. Good vs. evil and "Duty, Honor, Country" may sound old-fashioned some time but those values are at the core of this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top pick for libraries where patrons like military science fiction action, February 13, 2010
An excellent military science fiction pick is Travis S. Taylor's ONE GOOD SOLDIER, which takes place six years after the events of THE TAU CETI AGENDA and offers a narrowed focus on a single critical day in the history of the U.S. of the Sol System, when Ross 128 secedes from the union and action must be taken to prevent an interstellar civil war. A top pick for libraries where patrons like military science fiction action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great action SF, great series, AND the series ends so very well., December 5, 2010
By 
LT "Sci Fi fan" (Fayetteville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love the way this author tied up this series. So often SF series just die (usually a book or 2 before the last one of the series) and fizzle out in mediocracy. This one does not and I appreciate that.
For those who have read the previous 2 books this is a continuation of President Moore against his oh so deliciously evil mother-in-law on a galactic scale.
For those who have not read the first 2 books and like action Sci Fi, get them. They are worth the reading. This is the third in a series where terrorist separatists are dead set to destroy the established order headed by our hero - Moore.
The genius of the book and series are the action scenes (though I agree with a separate comment that the depiction of grunts, stomach tightening, etc to combat the G forces does get a bit wearying), character growth, and finally the emerging details of the society that the separatists live in. This is not a stereotypical depiction and I enjoyed this.
I very much like how Moore's wife emerged from the shadows to be a real person in this book.
Instead or depicting the details of the plot, I will say that it is action filled, the actions is well done, the character development is most enjoyable, and this is a great read. To repeat myself, if you like action Sci Fi get this book and prepare to be entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A confused, hyperactive mess, January 9, 2011
This review is from: One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
The first two books in the series were pretty good, a little jumbled and with a lot of characters, but pretty good.

This book finished up the story line. Way too many viewpoint characters for what was going on, but the first half was okay. Lots of over described simulated battles, but nothing too bad and a decent read. Then the wheels came off.

The second half of the book read like a college freshman picked up the assignment and took an overdose of ritalin. Just hyper jumping around and over doing every single thing. The technology turned into magic without any meaningful story limits.

It turns out the main driver for the series is revealed in the last few pages, the big secret for the entire world of the books. The one big bad girl's deepest reason for her actions.

And it was so stupid that I am not sure I will read Taylor again. Summary and stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., March 7, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I like books that leave me feeling good. The good guy wins, the bad guy loses. This one does that. It finishes the trilogy quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as part of series, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Well written and interesting, but some descriptions were just excess verbiage. Same complaint about minimum requirement on total words in a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good end to the triology, November 26, 2011
By 
Michael Lynn Mcguire "mmcguire" (Sugar Land, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Good end to the trilogy. Good characters, nice action sequences and all loose ends were tied up. And, I like the transforming marine mechas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of the Matter, November 24, 2009
By 
One Good Soldier (2009) is the third SF novel in the Tau Ceti Agenda series, following The Tau Ceti Agenda. In the previous volume, Nancy escaped the torture chamber in the separatist battle cruiser. She then managed to get out a transmission to DeathRay before the cruiser was destroyed.

Moore got critical data on a security leak and blew a political move to impeach him. Releasing a properly doctored story, he won the election for a third term. Then his daughter told him that she wanted to be a Marine.

In this novel, Nancy Marie Bloomfield is a CIA agent. Under the name of Nancy Penzington, she infiltrated the Separatist Movement and went with the separatists to Tau Ceti. Now she is stranded within the Tau Ceti system.

Jack "DeathRay" Boland is a Commander in the US Navy and the commander of the air group on the USS Sienna Madira, a spacegoing supercarrier. He is a very hot pilot.

Alexander Moore is the President of the United States. He is married to Sehera, daughter of Sienna Madira, the one hundred eleventh President of the United States. They have one daughter -- Deanna -- who is a student in a military academy and is becoming a hotshot simulator pilot.

Clay Jackson is a former Armored Environment-suit Marine. Now he is the Secret Service bodyguard of Deanna Moore.

Elle Ahmi is a terrorist and the leader of the Separatist Movement. She only appears in public wearing a red, white and blue ski mask.

In this story, Nancy snapbacked through the QMT teleport to Tau Ceti with the other personnel on the battle cruiser just before it was destroyed. In the resulting confusion, she managed to escape to Ares and disappeared. During the past six years, she has built herself another cover identity.

As Ensign Bella Penrose, Nancy is a pilot on the separatist flagship. She is serving on the ship as it teleports to the Ross 128 system. There it stays away from other spaceships using the system.

Deanna is on the Moon again and gets to use the mecha simulator in the training center. She shoots down all her opponents, but is killed herself. Since she was supposed to cover an AEM unit, retired Marine Colonel Fink -- her instructor -- chews her out for failing to complete the mission. Alexander watches the haranguing and thoroughly approves.

Moore had come to the Moon to see Deanna before she transits to Ross 128 for a simulator competition. She and Sehera haven't interacted very much with their daughter, but they will talk with her later. Now she has to catch the USS Sienna Madira for a ride to the Quantum Membrane Teleportation facility and then through the QMT to Ross 128.

Meanwhile, the crew of the Sienna Madira is war gaming with other USN ships over Mars. The AEMs are trying to take a hill away from the opposing troops, but are suckered into an ambush by teleported troops from the Tyler. Then Staff Sargeant Tommy Suez performs a simulated self-destruct and wipes out all troops within 200 meters, including his own.

On the Sienna Madira, the opposing AEMs teleport into the ship and try to take the engineering section and the bridge. Lieutenant Commander Joe Buckley simulates his famous junction and wipes out the invaders within engineering. Engineering Mate Petty Officer First Class Andy Sanchez initiates an inspection of the Mail Elevator System and locks out the invaders from the bridge.

Buckley gets away with the junction maneuver. After all, he had done it for real in the Battle of the Oort Cloud and got badly irradiated as a result. But Suez and Sanchez are thoroughly razzed for their exploits. Still, these battles are only simulations.

This tale gives the US Navy an opportunity to fight in a real war. When Deanna teleports to Ross 128 with Clay and Colonel Fink and is captured by the separatists, Moore sends DeathRay to the system to find his daughter. He also sends the Sienna Madira to retake the system from the separatists. Ahmi sends other separatist ships to attack the USN supercarrier.

This volume and series is even better than Warp Speed and The Quantum Connection. Unfortunately, this is the last novel in the series. Read and enjoy!

Highly recommended for Taylor fans and anyone else who enjoys tales of advanced technology, armed combat, and personal courage.

-Arthur W. Jordin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3)
One Good Soldier (Tau Ceti Agenda, Book 3) by Travis S. Taylor (Mass Market Paperback - October 26, 2010)
$7.99 $6.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.