Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Remember...
that "Good Times" was released as an album in 1974. To fully contextualize Elvis' song selections in the '70's (not Ernst Jorgensen's, with all due respect), one should own "Good Times". It is, along with "Promised Land" (the original and not the reissue) and "From Elvis Presley Boulevard", one of my favorite Elvis studio releases. It is a revealing look at the pain that...
Published on June 3, 2005 by Chi-Town Elvis Fan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even Vic Anesini and DSD can`t perform miracles!
I always loved this album, since it belongs to the Stax Trilogy. Here we get the original Album mixes again and that's the problem. The Mastering by Vic Anesini is almost perfect, no compression and clipping. But some tracks like "I've Got A Feeling In My Body" and "If That Isn`t Love" sound tiny, Elvis vocals are burried in the mix, they sound like played through a...
Published on January 24, 2010 by Mathias Netzker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Remember..., June 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
that "Good Times" was released as an album in 1974. To fully contextualize Elvis' song selections in the '70's (not Ernst Jorgensen's, with all due respect), one should own "Good Times". It is, along with "Promised Land" (the original and not the reissue) and "From Elvis Presley Boulevard", one of my favorite Elvis studio releases. It is a revealing look at the pain that Elvis was feeling at that point in his life ("Good Time Charlie's Got The Blues", "Take Good Care Of Her") while still rocking with "Talk About the Good Times" and "I've Got A Feeling In My Body". Buy "Good Times" - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Times with Elvis!, January 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
Originally released on LP in 1974, the entire contents of this album were recorded at the Famous Memphis Stax Studios. Many people are not aware that Elvis in fact held two recording sessions at this studio, which were used on 3 different albums. After the great success of the Aloha from Hawaii show in Jan 1973, Elvis was keen to record again in Memphis. American Sound was no longer available, so for 5 days from 21st to 25th July of that year he laid down 10 tracks at Stax, which went onto his "Raised On Rock album". Between the 10th & 16th of December he returned again to the studio on McLemore Avenue, which was a convenient 12 minute drive from Graceland. In that time he taped 18 really excellent songs, 10 of which are on this album. The remaining songs went onto his "Promised Land" album. Song choice is a very personal thing, but of the 3 albums of material Elvis recorded at Stax this is my personal favourite. There is really not one bad track on here, but if you've not heard "Talk About The Good Times" with it's amazing piano solo 'crossing the room' in stereo, then you ought to buy it just for that! This CD is a straight re-issue of the original LP, but painstakingly remastered and sounding better than ever before. It's a snip at $6.98! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS AT STAX, December 22, 2009
By 
David L. Banes "D.L.BANES" (McEwen, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
Elvis recorded at the Stax studios in Memphis for this one and did some really good material which got very little promotion.I'VE GOT A THING ABOUT YOU BABY,I GOT A FEELIN IN MY BODY,GOODTIME CHARLIE,LOVING ARMS.FINE ALBUM WITH ELVIS IN GREAT SOULFUL VOICE.ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some gotta win, some gotta lose., August 25, 2006
By 
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
Despite the disappointing results when Elvis recorded at the Stax Studios in July, 1973 (which were released as the mediocre Raised on Rock album), the King returned to Stax in December of that same year. The results were a lot better this time. Elvis and his band were really inspired, recording enough songs for two albums (the second album was released under the title Promised Land). Eight of the songs from these sessions ended up on the Good Times album, augmented by the two best songs from the July sessions, "I've Got a Thing About You Baby" and "Take Good Care of Her". These great songs were released as a single, which for some reason barely cracked the Top 40. Most of the other songs on the album, which are mostly ballads, are very good. "Lovin' Arms" and "Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues" are excellent country songs. "I Got a Feelin' in My Body" and "If That Isn't Love" are terrific gospel songs. But probably the most popular song on the album is Elvis' cover version of actor Richard Harris' song "My Boy". This is one of those divorce songs that Elvis was fond of recording at the time, due to what was happening in his personal life, and he really puts his heart into it. This song was so well received that it later was released as a single by popular demand, and reached #20 on the charts. This is a very good album, which I like a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another solid Elvis album, July 1, 2007
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
This CD hi-lights one of his best recording efforts.Elvis recorded songs at the famous Stax Studios in Memphis.The products of this historical studio session were Raised on Rock,Good Times and Promised Land.Good Times showcases Elvis' ability to sing not just one type of song but a variety...making them his own in the process.I've got a thing bout you baby is the stand alone song on this recording and one of the best from the Stax sessions.If you're an Elvis fan you will love this disc.I play mine often.This is a solid work from THE greatest performer of anyones lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid album, June 23, 2007
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
This is actually a pretty good album despite the fact that it was a commercial flop. It only managed to climb to 90 on the US album chart but did manage to make the top 5 on the country album chart in 1974. "I've Got A Thing About You Baby" was a top 40 hit while its flip side "Take Good Care Of Her " was a top 5 country hit. "My Boy" would be released as a single in 1975 and reached the top 20 and went all the way to number 1 on the Adult Contemporary chart. My favorite song is the country-rocker, "Talk About The Good Times" which I think should have been released as a single. The rockin-Gospel song "I Got A Feelin' In My Body" is also very good. All-in-all, a solid effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, February 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
I am writhing this review mainly because of the unfair review below. It is unfair to rate an album based on the fact most of the other tracks can be found elsewhere.

Yes, 8 of the 10 tracks might be available on the reissue of "Promised Land" as bonus tracks and yes, it's better to buy that. By all means mention that in your review, but the rating should still be for the musical content of the record. This album is a great set. 5 Stars from me for great music.

"Talk about the good times" is a belter. A mix of gospel, country and boogie woogie. Elvis is really into his performance here and his voice is in fine form.

This album has a huge religious feel and while i like some religious singers, I love religious music twice as much when Elvis is singing it.

I agree anyone who had sence would by the edition of "Promised Land" with the 8 bonus tracks from this CD, but the songs are great and I have rated based on that.

Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Underrated and Obsolete Elvis Work, But A Rewarding One, March 8, 2011
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
First of all, Elvis made so many albums, with an outrageous overstuffed catalog, that even to this day it's still completely impossible for even the world's biggest Elvis freak to have gotten everything he's ever done, unless by some slight chance that particular Elvis follower is lucky. With only a few exceptions,the majority of his 70's recordings have been mostly forgotten, and opinions of this period in his career have been mixed, by both fans and music critics alike. At least, by now, very few of his recordings are out of print. Anyway, this 1974 LP, "Good Times", is no exception to the previous description I just mentioned. Second of all, I am a pretty big Elvis fan, although not anywhere near a completist, but I'm definately beyond a casual fan, not even caring too much for many of his compilation albums. I'm also definately one of his youngest fans (I'm 34 years old and I was only near a year old when he died). Also, I enjoy this particular Elvis album very much. "Good Times" is one of his more rock/country/pop offerings and has definately gotten lost in the shuffle of his deep catalog. This album, along with the majority of his 70's output, have only appealed to his most devoted following. However, this album has also aged fairly well and has become a favorite among Elvis fans. Elvis is also in fine, amazing voice throughout. There also may have been many other great, stunning vocalists, such as Roy Orbison or Conway Twitty, but the voice of Elvis is still as fresh, stunning and mind-blowing today as ever, and it shows on this album. It's obvious though that his record company combined previous recordings and made albums out of them throughout this period, this album being no exception. That meant he had little to do with these albums, mostly due to his declining health and drug problems and his lack of ability to appear in the recording studio. Nevertheless, "Good Times" remains a very strong album. Although he could conquer just about any music genre, it's a good thing Elvis didn't do disco, which of course was just beginning and becoming contemporary when this album was released. It's impossible trying to imagine Elvis doing disco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even Vic Anesini and DSD can`t perform miracles!, January 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
I always loved this album, since it belongs to the Stax Trilogy. Here we get the original Album mixes again and that's the problem. The Mastering by Vic Anesini is almost perfect, no compression and clipping. But some tracks like "I've Got A Feeling In My Body" and "If That Isn`t Love" sound tiny, Elvis vocals are burried in the mix, they sound like played through a tunnel. Certainley, this release is a improvement over the 90`s release, but the Japanese 24 Bit/ K2 Papersleeve CD has the better soundquality. If you want a CD very close to the original Vinyl Album sounding, than this is the right one for you. Because of the big differences in sound- and performance quality, only 3 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, March 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Times (Audio CD)
I sure miss him and his talent. I wish he was still with us. I often think of what more he would have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Good Times
Good Times by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.