Customer Reviews


1,444 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,050)
4 star:
 (163)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (107)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


335 of 361 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another 5-star movie in a (barely) 4-star release... ****UPDATED 12/31/2010 for new 20th Anniversary BluRay***
There's nothing I can say that hasn't already been said about "Goodfellas"... it's one of the best movies ever. To hell with the AFI, this is arguably one of the top 10 American movies ever made! Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, Joe Pesci, Lorraine Bracco: five top-notch talents operating on all 8 cylinders in this story about three decades of life in the...
Published on August 22, 2004 by R. Long

versus
77 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A suspect DVD release for a classic film.
GoodFellas is on top of my "best films of all time" list. I was one of the people who had bought the previous DVD edition, the infamous "two-sided, no features" release that had been one of the first generation of DVD releases, before the medium evolved into what it is today. I had been counting the days until they would re-release this film, so I was first in line to...
Published on August 20, 2004 by D. Mok


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antidote to the The Godfather, May 21, 2006
By 
FredCritic (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
Not that there's anything wrong with The Godfather. Although its director and cowriter, Francis Ford Coppola, has expressed his dismay with audience reactions to the movie. Particularly, audience admiration for Michael Corleone (Coppola went to a number of screenings where people actually applauded when the door was slammed shut on Michael's wife, Kay, toward the end of the movie).

But I'm not knocking The Godfather. Coppola did not in any way, shape, or form intend to glorify organized crime. It appears that Coppola's primary intention was to criticize corporate America by showing its similarities with organized crime. For example, the movie demonstrated how organized crime's business operations were quite similiar to those of the "legitimate" operations of corporate America.

At any rate, Goodfellas demonstrated how ugly organized crime could get. These "goodfellas" murdered just about everyone outside their organization that they could get their hands on, and when that wasn't enough, they turned on one another. And selling drugs wasn't enough for them; they got themselves addicted to the stuff as well.

By the end of Goodfellas, no one walked away better off then they were at the beginning (and a good many of them didn't walk away at all). Compared to The Godfather, Goodfellas was completely unambiguous in showing that organized crime is highly unrewarding in any number of ways.

Scorsese's last masterpiece to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE BE WARNED NO TRUEHD/DTS HD MASTER 5.1 AUDIO!!!!, March 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
to anyome who is thinking of buying this 2 Disc Blu-Ray edition of Martin Scorsese's Classic Masterpiece Goodfellas, please be warned of the following problem:-
The Audio/Soundtrack has not been upgraded by WB the sound is still the same as the old DVD versions, this is very disapointing by the studio, i think they just forgot to upgrade the Audio.

PLEASE BE WARNED NO HD AUDIO NO TRUEHD/DTS HD MASTER 5.1, THE SOUND IS TERRIBLE PLEASE TRUST ME AND READ THIS BEFORE YOU PURCHASE!!!.

This is the only reason why i am giving this product 2 stars, the film and picture is 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Special Edition Coming in July 2004, January 7, 2004
By 
S. Axe "maulrat" (Arlington Heights, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
As I have the same complaint about the DVD being a single layer (having to flip over in the middle of the movie) the good news is I just read at digitalbits.com is that the Special Edition is going to be released this year in July. Hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT!, February 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
I just knew the gods were messing with me when they took one of the most perfectly stylized and directed films ever and ruined it by making it so that you have to turn it over. Who ever is responcible for this travesty must make ammends. I wanted to cry when realized this was the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE/SORRY DVD, January 22, 2000
By 
Walker (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
When you compare a movie like the Matrix and Goodfellas, Goodfellas wins tenfold. However, when you compare the same movies on a DVD, they are again night and day, only in the favor of The Matrix. It disturbs me that Scorsese, a huge advocate for film preservation dosen't care more about the quality of his own pictures. C'mon Marty! You did it in Taxi Driver! A huge amount of sales would go up if he and Pillegi spoke on the thing. In addition, there is disc flipping involved? . On Casino, you didn't even have to flip. And, that DVD was more than 3 hours long! If this is the fault of Warner Bothers, then those idiots should respect the fact that this is one of the best films in film history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better the second time around..., June 24, 2008
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
I'll admit that when I first saw `GoodFellas' I was less than impressed. I didn't understand why so many hailed it as the best of Scorsese. In fact, the first thirty minutes or so bored me to such an extent that I turned it off and went on the watch something else.

I know now that I was an idiot.

Martin Scorsese is known for his gritty gangster films (although I much prefer his films like `Taxi Driver' and `Raging Bull') and with that in mind one must come to an appreciation for `GoodFellas', which is in all honestly Scorsese's finest gangster film. The opening sequence, with De Niro, Liotta and Pesci driving out into the woods with a body in the trunk of the car, is priceless; utterly priceless. It classically captures the ruthlessness of these men in their aspirations of power, money and most of all, respect.

`GoodFellas' tells the true story of Henry Hill, an Irish/Italian who rose up in the mafia ranks beginning in the 50's and carrying through to 1980 when he entered the witness protection program. Beginning in his early teens, Hill desired so badly to be a gangster that he found himself running small errands for mob boss Paul Cicero, getting in his good graces. By the time he was twenty-one Hill had made a good name for himself in the mob community and continued to make money for himself and for his boss, Paulie. Hill meets and marries the beautiful Karen and begins to build a life for his newfound family that revolves around murder, extortion and drugs.

But what goes up must come down.

`GoodFellas' takes a little time to establish itself in the beginning (thus the reason that I wrote it off all those years ago when I first saw it) but once it finds its footing it takes off brilliantly. I often see `GoodFellas' compared to `Casino', the large majority standing by `GoodFellas' as the superior film and yet a small yet sturdy group contesting that `Casino' is the finer film. I used to belong to the `Casino' club, but after a recent viewing of both films I must conclude that `GoodFellas' is the stronger film in the end. `Casino' is set up similarly yet it doesn't take as long to get into, and I think that's why I was initially on its side. It flows from beginning to end without any low points but it also doesn't have really any major highs. While `GoodFellas' gets off to a slow start, once it gets going it is flawless and its highs are enormously rewarding.

The one facet of `GoodFellas' that is the strongest to me is the incredible performances by the entire cast, especially the four stars. Ray Liotta delivers his finest performance to date as Henry Hill. I am not a huge fan of Liotta, but his portrayal of wiseguy Hill is flawlessly accurate and dedicated. He's matched by Robert De Niro who beautifully settles into supporting territory as Jimmy Conway. It's nice to see a major star like De Niro allow another actor to take the limelight when you know that he could have easily devoured it for himself. The two major standouts here are Joe Pesci and Lorraine Bracco though, two actors who come into their own in this film and deliver heartfelt and moving performances. Pesci plays Tommy, the hotheaded gangster who often lets his anger override better judgment. His performance is so natural and charismatic it feels as though he isn't even acting. Bracco plays Karen, Hill's wife, and she does so with accurate and realistic intensity. As she struggles to wrap her head around her husband's lifestyle, the drugs, money and women, she creates a woman who is understandable and sympathetic.

Scorsese knows how to capture a mood, an era and most importantly, our interest. He has delivered to us monumental classics and `GoodFellas' rests near the top as one of his finest contributions to American cinema. `GoodFellas' is a smart and engaging film about the highs and lows of the gritty way of life, exposing the emotional and physical damage done to those that engage in this lifestyle. If you find the opening scenes hard to get into I urge you to settle down, take a deep breath and wait it out, for once Scorsese hooks you he never lets you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - Annoying DVD, January 11, 2000
By 
"queuejumper" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
Goodfellas is probably my favourite film of all time so I decided that I would buy it on my favourite format, DVD. To my horror, I opened the box to find it was a single layered DVD, meaning I would have to get up from my comfy position on the couch (which is very comfy by the way) flip the DVD half way through the film and then go back to the comfy position again, which is a bit annoying . Other than that it's brilliant. (But wouldn't a commentry from DeNiro and Scorsese have been even brillianter?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rise and Fall of a Wiseguy, October 20, 2003
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
For as long as he could remember, Henry Hill wanted to be a gangster. So, when he was 12 years old, he started running errands for the neighborhood wiseguy and extortionist, "Paulie" Cicero (Paul Sorvino). By the time he was 21, Henry (Ray Liotta) had made a name and a good life for himself stealing and reselling cargo. Along with Jimmy "The Gent" Conway (Robert DeNiro) and Tommy DeVito (Joe Pesci), Henry organized and executed heists big and small for their boss and protector, Paulie. He married a headstrong Jewish woman, Karen (Lorraine Bracco), who at first reluctantly and then enthusiastically embraced the gangster life. Even a prison stint didn't slow Henry down. Wiseguys get their own kitchen and accommodations in the joint. But Henry's defiance of his boss' directive in dealing cocaine and Tommy's violent outbursts threaten to destroy the world the wiseguys have made for themselves. Even $6 million from the great Lufthansa heist, the largest cash heist in American history, may not be enough to protect this group of aging gangsters from their own mistakes.

"Goodfellas" is based on "Wiseguy", Nicholas Pileggi's biographical novel about the life of mobster-turned-state's witness Henry Hill, who lived nearly 30 years as a small-time New York wiseguy before being arrested and entering the witness protection program in 1980. Martin Scorsese directed the film with a mind not to glamorize the gangster life, but to accurately portray the world of minor mafioso, a world driven not by violence -the violence is incidental, but by money. Scorsese succeeds in getting the audience inside of this world. Robert DeNiro gives one of the best performances of his career as Jimmy, who starts out level-headed but is eventually unhinged by greed and paranoia. Joe Pesci is fantastic at conveying Tommy DeVito's unfortunate combination of easily bruised ego and itchy trigger finger. Lorraine Bracco is a convincing mafia wife, but her performance is at its most interesting when she first discovers how truly bizarre the domestic lives of mob wives are. Paul Sorvino gives a nice supporting performance as the patriarch of this extended family. This brings me to the starring performance of Ray Liotta: Sometimes I felt that Liotta was appropriate for the role of Henry Hill, and other times I thought that his line delivery was wrong. So I have mixed feelings about Liotta's suitability for this role. But, overall, his performance is convincing enough.

"Goodfellas" is an entertaining look inside inside an iconic American subculture. The Italian/Sicilian mafia is a fringe culture which, for some reason, never ceases to fascinate the mainstream no matter how ugly or petty it gets. I admit to not understanding or sharing this fascination. Wiseguys are never smart or complicated men. They are simple, laughably predictable people who exist in a very straightforward environment of their own making. The most challenging aspect of making a gangster film based on a true story may be making the characters interesting. Martin Scorsese accomplishes this by using the camera to immerse the audience into the world of these wiseguys. They are interesting within their own circles, so they become interesting to us. "Goodfellas" displays some of Scorsese's most masterful and seductive work. It contains some great performances, and it gives us a window into the culture of organized crime. Gangster movies must have the highest rate of being true stories of any film genre.

The DVD (This refers to the 1997 single disc release only.): This is a 2-sided DVD. The movie is on both sides of the disc, and you have to flip the disc in order to finish watching it. The transfer has problems. In one scene that I recall, there is a thin vertical black line through the picture. The only real bonus features are a few pages of production notes and the ability to subtitle the film in English, French, or Spanish. I wouldn't recommended this DVD to collectors. If you are interested in purchasing "Goodfellas", wait for the Special Edition DVD to become available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Movie, Bad DVD, December 23, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
The movie itself is fine - I'm not reviewing that. This is more of a WARNING that you have to FLIP THE DISC OVER after the first hour! Old-school DVD. Gimme a break. Got this as a gift, glad to finally watch it, suddenly after an hour it stops and I had to actually get up and turn the disc over. Come on. PLEASE re-release this using current technology. Having to flip it is seriously enough of a "defect" to make me not want to watch it ever again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incredible movie, but�, March 16, 2001
This review is from: GoodFellas (DVD)
I have to say that this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Yet the DVD doesn't do this classic justice. First off, the movie is listed as being enhanced for widescreen televisions. Unfortunately, this only applies to the menus, not the film itself. Another major problem is that the soundtrack of this film seems to be mixed in Dolby ProLogic since there's a lack of surround action. And the biggest problem with this disc: it's dual-sided, not dual-layered. In the middle of the film, the disc stops and you have to get up and flip it. Come on: this isn't laser disc.
Memo to Warner Bros.: Remaster this epic anamorphically, in DTS digital surround, and make it a special edition, 2-disc set with the film on a dual-layered disc and extras on the second disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GoodFellas [Blu-ray]
GoodFellas [Blu-ray] by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2007)
$14.97 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.