Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Solemn, and Wonderful
Avril Lavigne built a strong fanbase and then caught herself in something of a conundrum: her first album was a pop/rock fusion with catchy radio tunes such as "Sk8er Boi" and "Complicated" mixed in with darker fare like "Unwanted" and "I'm with You"; her second album was a raw, darker rock sound with excellent hooks and still one or two pop sounds ("He Wasn't", anyone?)...
Published on March 10, 2011 by Phoenix Child

versus
115 of 132 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catchy, Light Pop Prevails On 'Lullaby'
For an older guy like me, Avril Lavigne's first two albums were the ultimate guilty pleasure; I couldn't resist her infectious brand of rock despite her youth and the average age of her fans.

While I didn't much care for the direction of 2007's The Best Damn Thing, I still recognized her undeniable talent and remained hopeful her music would mature as she grew...
Published on March 8, 2011 by HuskerDog


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Solemn, and Wonderful, March 10, 2011
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
Avril Lavigne built a strong fanbase and then caught herself in something of a conundrum: her first album was a pop/rock fusion with catchy radio tunes such as "Sk8er Boi" and "Complicated" mixed in with darker fare like "Unwanted" and "I'm with You"; her second album was a raw, darker rock sound with excellent hooks and still one or two pop sounds ("He Wasn't", anyone?). Then, something changed -- literally, everything. "The Best Damn Thing" was Lavigne's third album and saw her with blonde hair streaked with pink, and every song on the album drenched in goopy bubblegum pop. With this move, Lavigne's fanbase seemed to split itself in two: those who were perfectly fine with the 'new Avril' and those who desperately wanted to see her 'return to herself.'

"Goodbye Lullaby", the oft-delayed, much-anticipated fourth album from the challenging singer-songwriter, is both a rich return to roots, a powerful maturation of what we've already seen, and also a simple look at life.

There's been some genuine criticism of "Lullaby" from critics who decry the simplicity of the songs, but one of the complete charms of the album is that it genuinely feels like Lavigne invited listeners into her living room while she sat at her piano or strummed her guitar. There's no grand procession of chords because Lavigne cannily realised, she didn't need them. "Lullaby" is not just a song detailing her failed marriage, it's a firm introspection on how far she's come from the teenage mall-punk she started out as. The singer stated herself that most of the songs were written in her bed or whatever hotel room she was staying in, and it truly, truly shows.

But there's still so much of the Avril that we all have come to know and love over the years as well. "What the Hell", written with Max Martin, could have jumped right off of "The Best Damn Thing", while the Alanis-like kiss-off "Smile" reaches back to the feel of "Under My Skin", and for those thirsting for the innocence of "Let Go" tracks such as "Things I'll Never Say" is echoed in "Darlin'", a song written by Lavigne when she was still fifteen years old. Opening up with the oddly eerie piano tinkle "Black Star" written for Lavigne's new fragrance line before moving into the rest of the album, "Goodbye Lullaby" has proven itself to be perhaps Lavigne's best album yet.

Intimate, beautiful, and above all simple, "Lullaby" lets go of all of the old tricks while still echoing everything that made Lavigne likable in the first place. Sad and introspective yet never whiny, gorgeous tracks like "Wish You Were Here" and "4 Real" are longing ballads, while "Not Enough" is perhaps one of the best musings of the album as Lavigne comes to grips with the fact that some relationships fail, despite love still being there, through no real fault of the participants. Her ex-husband Derrick Whibly is a member of Sum 41 and his presence was overpowering in the music of "The Best Damn Thing"; on "Lullaby" he is a gentle guider and also a phantom hovering over the most longing ballads while still allowing Lavigne to poke a bit of fun with "Smile" and "What the Hell".

"Goodbye" is the true lullaby of the album and the sweeping piano ballad that provided the album's name, bringing everything to a close as Lavigne stretches her vocals beyond what we've really heard before. An extremely good decision was to provide a bonus track of sorts and close the album with the power ballad "Alice" that Lavigne wrote for the 2010 film "Alice in Wonderland". The song puts Lavigne in the point-of-view of Alice, tumbling down the rabbit hole to Wonderland and making the decision to control her own fate and take charge of her life. It's a powerful song and the extended version with a whole new verse provides an uplifting, beautiful end to the album as she assures the world that she is, indeed, alright.

"Goodbye Lullaby" is far from a perfect album - the chords aren't too terribly original and the lyrics aren't going to be winning any awards for poetry anytime soon. But the simplicity of the album is its true strength, as Lavigne wrote every song herself (or at least had a heavy hand in them). She invited her listeners in on the most intimate record she's yet produced, and while critics may not have been impressed it was everything that her fans have been waiting for, perhaps joining the fans of the split-personality-Avrils together again and proving that this is one artist with true staying power. If anything, "Goodbye Lullaby" is a powerful break-up album with quite a few standouts, and a marvellous entry into Lavigne's discography.

I eagerly await her fifth album and I, for one, feel justly rewarded in waiting for the release of "Goodbye Lullaby" after skipping out on "The Best Damn Thing".

Five out of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 132 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catchy, Light Pop Prevails On 'Lullaby', March 8, 2011
By 
HuskerDog (The Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
For an older guy like me, Avril Lavigne's first two albums were the ultimate guilty pleasure; I couldn't resist her infectious brand of rock despite her youth and the average age of her fans.

While I didn't much care for the direction of 2007's The Best Damn Thing, I still recognized her undeniable talent and remained hopeful her music would mature as she grew older.

Goodbye Lullaby is quite different from her previous releases, mainly from the standpoint that most of the musical rock edginess and looseness is no longer present. This is a collection of simple & repetitive, mid tempo, light pop songs. You'll hear a lot of strings and electronic percussion, familiar pop rock chord progressions and melodies, and thankfully a minimum amount of crazy special effects. If you were hoping for more upbeat, catchy pop hits like "What The Hell", you're basically out of luck. Don't get me wrong, there are hooks all over this album. But the songs seem to lack power, and it certainly doesn't help that there are no distorted guitars to be heard.

While the majority of tracks are very similar, a few do stand out. It's hard to not get excited listening to "Push", a song that really pushes Avril's vocal range, and good luck getting the chorus of "Wish You Were Here" out of your head after you've heard it a couple of times. Its triple-trifecta of hook phrases ("Damn, damn, damn", "here, here, here" and "near, near, near") is the finest example of crafty pop songwriting on the album. "Not Enough" includes real drums, good dynamics and edge, easily making it my personal favorite. "Remember When" and "Goodbye" are respectable ballads, containing perhaps the two finest vocal performances from Avril on the record. "Remember When" builds in intensity and is wonderfully melodic, and the excellent falsetto on "Goodbye" is something I haven't heard from her before.

A different approach to production would have helped this record, and Avril Lavigne is capable of much better. But overall, this is still an album I believe most fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of Ballads, March 8, 2011
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
This new CD from Avril Lavigne is completely different than her three previous albums. This is is full of ballads and for the most part are well written. Standouts include Push, Goodbye, Wish You Were Here, Stop Standing There, and Smile. This album, while unique, sounds more like her first album, if any. It took a couple of listens to get hooked but on the third time I found myself digging the new sound. I enjoyed this album two-fold more than The Best Damn Thing because this album is personal and has a deeper feel to it. I'd really like to see these as acoustic numbers during her next tour. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking album! Love Every Track!, March 11, 2011
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
Avril Lavigne releases her best album yet! The world of female dance artists in popular culture is a touched market that's for sure. With Lady Gaga, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera, it's very easy to not be able to tell them all apart, especially if you're not a follower of the genre.

Then you get Avril Lavigne, an artist among the bunch who does stand out. And with her new album release "Goodbye Lullabye" she does just that tenfold. She stands out and not with marketing, dancers, lights and sex. No she does something else, she focuses on the music. This didn't come without a fight from her record company of course. They pushed her to make a dance record since that's where the money is. Avril decided to instead let it sit on a shelf for a year not releasing it at all until they gave in.

Having just recently ended a relationship Avril cracks herself open and raw to reveal a greater more mature album to date. Every track is better than the last. This is saying a lot since her weakest track is the bubbly poppy single release, "What the Hell". I hoped the rest of the album wouldn't be that way and luckily it's not! It's more rock and more Avril back to her roots. It's emotional. It's melodic. It's forceful and strong.

She took a nosedive with her last release four years ago with "The Best Damn Thing". An album which I put up there as not one of her best. I felt she sold out to the teen queen pop machines the music industry has been force feeding us for ten years. Now she comes back with what I consider to be her best work to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenging And Uplifting Masterwork!, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When Avril Lavigne entered the 2010's in full force, she would present a mature, but
high-rocking blockbuster CD that again shot to the top of the album charts in both the
rock and pop catigories and become another important achievement for the celebrated
rock icon. Showcased with stunning solos, highly supercharged performances and true
utmost virtuosity, Goodbye Lullaby again proves that Lavigne is in top form where she
takes another fresh turn in her music that is backed by sparkling energy and evocative
mood. Backed with an enthralling track set featuring the electrifying Top Ten smash hit
What The Hell? as well as other unique tracks which includes Stop Standing There, Not
Enough, 4 Real, Everybody Hurts (not to be confused with R.E.M.'s 1992 hit single) and
Wish You Were Here, the superb album gives listeners another great musical experience
filled with Girl Power and original rock & roll that makes it a time-honoured classic.
What you get on the deluxe edition of are a set of acoustic versions of What The Hell?,
Push and Wish You Were Here, and her direct take on Joan Jett's Bad Reputation, which
makes it sound much better hit from start to finish. Described by Lavigne as an album
being just about life, Goodbye Lullaby takes on a completely different approach that is
marked both her coming of age experience and a return to her old musical style she had
perfected well from day one in the electric or acoustic mode, which truly makes this
masterpiece a top drawer must to own in your own MP3 set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great cd to listen to get yourself pumped up for a great week or weekend., May 15, 2013
By 
Rossman272 (Boca Raton Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
There are many cd's out there of course there are.
However that does not mean there all great.
I normally don't take the time to write reviews for cd's that I purchase because I am so busy with my time.
However when I listened to this cd I realized that anyone that's having a bad day or just wants to be in a better mood than they were in before they listened to this great cd than they should buy this cd listen to it and will understand what I mean.
I think its her best cd so far even better than her first.

However if you have young children please note there are a few hidden bad words throughout the cd.

I know kids would tend to pick them up more than adults so be warned about them.

I am not sure if its edited on other versions of the cd but I have found at least 7 bad words throughout my cd.

Either way its a really excellent cd from its beginning to its end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Avril Lavigne, August 12, 2013
By 
Joshua Pack (North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (MP3 Music)
I got this album on sale, which makes it even better!

I am not a good writer when it comes to reviews, especially on music. However, if you are a fan of her music, then this of course is a no brainer, just get it. You'll love it.

If you are new to Avril, I can't say anything, because I do not remember a time without listening to Avril. Listen to the demo songs, put her on Pandora or iHeartRadio, see if you like her songs before purchasing.

I know this is probably not what everyone was expecting for a review, but, this is the truth from my eyes.

Happy downloading :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new Avril!, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
Technically I bought this CD after it wasn't "new" anymore, as it's been out for a couple years. I love it! I loved the old Avril with her spunky rock songs, but I love love love this CD! Her songs are definitely a lullaby-type music and I love it. They're great sing-along songs and the music behind is beautiful. The lyrics make you stop and think for a minute. I just loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, May 2, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goodbye Lullaby (Audio CD)
I am so happy this artist is still creating. As it's harder and harder for music artists to continue to create their magic. It's an absolute joy to see Artist like Avril (if there is anyone else like her), continue entertaining. The quality and heart behind this and all her masterpieces are treasures to keep and share for a life time, and generations beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAW OLD-SCHOOL-POP, March 12, 2011
Avril delivers a raw pop album with honest lyrics and pure music. She's all about her vocal abillities and forgets about the popular outo-tune. She stays true tu her roots ignoring the popularity of electronic music. Its great listening to good classic pop-rock music. Amazing album. Favorites:3,5,9,12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Goodbye Lullaby
Goodbye Lullaby by Avril Lavigne (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.