Customer Reviews


1,195 Reviews
5 star:
 (970)
4 star:
 (160)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


395 of 411 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!
All 3 seasons in one package! it doesn't get any better than this. These are complete and unedited unlike some sets that are being released with different music, or edited episodes. season 1 is in black and white as originally aired, seasons 2 and 3 are in color as aired. I have watched reruns for years and when i saw that the complete series was available as one set, i...
Published on January 6, 2008 by J. Bartek

versus
93 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh no....flipper discs!
Normally I wouldn't pay this much money for an old TV series, especially one this silly. From a nostalgic point of view however this series is quite entertaining. It helps growing up with a crush on Ginger and Mary Ann. :-O

The audio may be mono but it sounds much better than the old transfers you heard on broadcast tv years ago.

The only negative so...
Published on April 3, 2008 by C. Stockton


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

395 of 411 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!, January 6, 2008
By 
All 3 seasons in one package! it doesn't get any better than this. These are complete and unedited unlike some sets that are being released with different music, or edited episodes. season 1 is in black and white as originally aired, seasons 2 and 3 are in color as aired. I have watched reruns for years and when i saw that the complete series was available as one set, i couldn't pass it. Bonus footage includes interviews with Russell Johnson and Sherwood Schwartz, also included is the pilot episode with a different 'professor' 'Ginger' and 'Mary Ann' and different opening and closing music. A great treat for fans and someone that wants it all! Quality is excellent! I don't purchase many tv shows on dvd, but this was a must for me! 5 stars without a doubt!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's funny precisely because it's so incredibly ridiculous, May 11, 2006
By 
Kai Lu (Beverly Hills, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 1 (DVD)
Gilligan's Island has often been an object of ridicule for both professional critics and self-annointed intellectuals alike, most of whom point out the various implausibilities in the show (i.e., the Professor is an "idiot" because he can cause nuclear fission using coconuts but can't build a raft, the unliklihood of the Howells taking a "three hour tour" on an obviously inexpensive charter boat, let alone taking along three season's worth of wardrobe and costumes with them, ad nauseum), but chances are these same critics have also seen many -- if not all -- the show's episodes, and have enjoyed at least a few guilty laughs for their trouble.

One of the reasons why Gilligan's Island is such a great show (it is the most re-run show in the history of television, and that INCLUDES I Love Lucy) is precisely because it is so wacky, nonsensical, and flat-out ridiculous.

In Gilligan's Island -- The Complete First Season, viewers are treated to 34 original episodes, uncut, including the rare pilot episode that contains three castmembers not included in the actual show as seen on television. The episodes are in black and white, but this doesn't detract from the fun.

The complete list and brief synopsis of each episode have already been written by other reviewers so I won't waste your bandwith in repeating them, however I will say one thing: seeing these episodes brings back many fond memories for me, and I didn't even realize how much of a fan of the show I was until I watched this 3-DVD set.

I remember coming home from school in eigth grade each day and seeing Gilligan's Island on TV, and that was over ten years ago. I hadn't seen an episode of Gilligan's Island in the intervening years until I bought the DVD set. It's amazing, but I -- and probably countless other people -- could actually remember everything about the episodes, and my memory comes flooding back with the viewing of each one, right down to the manner in which a character pronounces certain words, and the way the Skipper cries out "Aeuph!" whenever Gilligan accidently hits his captain in the breadbasket, or inadvertantly drops something on his vulnerable feet, or the way Tina Louise's mouth twitches in an oddly fascinating way when her picture is shown on the program's opening credits.

Gilligan's Island is one of those shows that you can watch today and enjoy, even if you've never seen it, as long as you don't expect it to make sense or follow any logic. It's one of those show's you can LOVE if your viewing of that show is connected to fond memories of your own past -- as for me, it includes summer vacation, playing Sega Genesis, playing nerf football with my best friends Howie and Art, and watching Gilligan's Island.

My friend Art has since become a lawyer, and Garth became an architect. I teach in a middle school. We all grow up, but Gilligan stays with us all along the way. It's wise to pick this set up, especially if you're a fan of the show, because it's one way you can relive and continue to live a pleasant part of your own history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!!!, March 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's so great to have all of the Gilligan's Island episodes, and the commentary by Sherwood Schwartz on each season. They have taken GI off all my satellite stations, so I had to get the DVD's to see the episodes.
But it was worth it, clear pictures, and no commercial interruptions!!!
I like to laugh, so this series is the perfect medicine for me. Well worth the price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh no....flipper discs!, April 3, 2008
By 
C. Stockton (Las Vegas, Nevada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Normally I wouldn't pay this much money for an old TV series, especially one this silly. From a nostalgic point of view however this series is quite entertaining. It helps growing up with a crush on Ginger and Mary Ann. :-O

The audio may be mono but it sounds much better than the old transfers you heard on broadcast tv years ago.

The only negative so far is the flipper discs. You should be very carefull when handling. The only discs I've ever had go bad after a couple of years were flippers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Gilligan fans, February 13, 2004
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 1 (DVD)
Gilligan's Island The Complete First Season is a must have for fans of the 1960's comedy. Everything you could want is here. The 3-disc set includes all 36 episodes from the first season presented in standard black and white. The episodes look great in black and white rather than that awful color that was inserted into them while on TBS. The DVD also includes the lost pilot episode with three different cast members alongside Gilligan, the Skipper, and the Howells. Also on the DVD are tropical tidbits about certain episodes, profiles on how the cast was selected, and a tropical island survival guide.
The excellent cast really made this show what it was. Bob Denver as Gilligan, Alan Hale JR as the Skipper, Jim Backus as Thurston Howell III, Natalie Schaefer as Lovie Howell, Tina Louise as Ginger, Russell Johnson as the Professor, and Dawn Wells as Mary Ann made up one of the best ensemble casts in television history. Fans of this much loved show should run out and buy Gilligan's Island The Complete First Season. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The History of Gilligan's Island 1964 to 1967 on CBS., January 10, 2004
By 
Alan Vallazza (Kansas City, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 1 (DVD)
The Cast
--------
Backus, Jim Thurston Howell III
Denver, Bob Gilligan (some say Willy Gilligan)
Hale Jr., Alan Skipper Jonas Grumby
Johnson, Russell Professor Roy Hinkley
Louise, Tina Ginger Grant
Schafer, Natalie Lovey Wentworth Howell
Wells, Dawn Mary Ann Summers
Maxwell, Charles radio announcer
A ship's captain, his first mate, an actress, a professor, a farm girl, a millionaire and his wife, all stranded on an uncharted desert island in the South Pacific. Seven random people thrown together by fate, united in search of an exit. A Twilight Zone episode, you say? An existential play by Jean Paul Sartre, perhaps? No, nothing quite so cerebral. It's the central plot line of Gilligan's Island, one of the most popular and most referenced sitcoms in television history.
In September of 1964 the S.S. Minnow set sail on a three-hour tour that would last three years in prime time. Although Gilligan's Island, the brainchild of Brady Bunch creator Sherwood Schwartz, was one of the worst reviewed shows ever broadcast, it was always a favorite with the viewing public. Millions of people tuned in to see the comic antics of the inept Gilligan and watch each week as the castaways inevitably failed to get off the island.
Gilligan was the boat's sole crew member, aside from the skipper. He was well-meaning but inept in his attempts to find a means of returning to civilization. As a result, and perhaps even more because this simple-minded farce became a top hit, the little band was stranded on that island for three full seasons. One question that never got answered, however, concerned the luggage. In the first episode, and in the theme song, it was pointed out that the cruise was only supposed to be for three hours. How, then, did the passengers have enough clothing to last three years?
Gilligan's biggest fans were kids, and when the series finally went into repeats on local stations and on cable TV such as Nick at Nite they made it one of the biggest rerun hits of all time. Even though the reruns were colorized, for a while, whereas they were all black and white when originally aired in the 60s. By the way, The Hallmark Channel now shows them in black and white as opposed to when they were on TNT. Anyways, an animated cartoon version called The New Adventures of Gilligan was produced for ABC, and ran on that network's weekend daytime schedule from 1974 to 1977.
Then in 1978 NBC had the bright idea of bringing the original cast back together for a reunion special, in which they were finally rescued. All agreed to appear except Tina Louise (who wanted too much money, and so was replaced by Judith Baldwin). "Rescue From Gilligan's Island" aired in October 1978 as a two-part special, and was a phenomenal hit. They did finally get off the island, and returned to a triumphant homecoming. But then they made the mistake of going on a reunion cruise on the Minnow II, only to wind up stranded back on the same island--the result of another freak storm! "Castaways on Gilligan's Island," a folow-up special aired in 1979, had them converting the island into a tourist resort. And in still another sequel in 1981, The Harlem Globetrotters dropped in! There was a talk of reviving the series, but audiences for the 1979 and 1981 sequels were not very large, and the plans never materialized.
One of TV's great bits of trivia is Gilligan's first name. None was ever revealed on the show, but years later on a talk show Bob Denver claimed that he had talked the matter over with the show's creator/producer Sherwood Schwartz, and they had decided that if Gilligan ever did need a first name it would be "Willie."
Also did you know that Jayne Mansfield turned down the role of "Ginger"; Carroll O'Connor tested for the role of The Skipper; Raquel Welch auditioned for the role of Mary Anne; Dabney Coleman tested for the role of The Professor and Jerry Van Dyke, Dick's Brother, turned down the role of Gilligan.
Bob Denver had a character on The Many Lives of Dobie Gillis playing Maynard G. Krebs.
Jim Backus,aka Thurston Howell III, appeared the year before Gilligan's debut in the 1963 movie It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World as the pilot of a plane which had Mickey Rooney and Buddy Hackett on board.
Natalie Schafer also was on the short lived drama series The Survivors with Lana Turner, Ralph Bellamy, Jan Micheal-Vincent, and George Hamilton in 1969-70.
The original pilot was filmed in November of 1963 but never aired until October of 1992 on TBS. In the original pilot, the characters of the Professor and Ginger were played by a different actor and actress. There was no character of Mary Ann. In the pilot, there was a character called Bunny. Bunny was the buxom blonde and Ginger was a practical brunette. In the pilot, Ginger and Bunny were both secretaries. The music for the original pilot's theme song was written by (a young) John Williams. This music had a Latin sound and the lyrics were sung with a Spanish accent. In the pilot, it was a six-hour trip, not a three-hour tour.
The three man folk singing group, The Wellingtons, sang the theme song for the first season, but were replaced by a similar sounding group, The Eligibles, for the following seasons. However, The Wellingtons (plus one) also portrayed 'The Mosquitoes' in a classic episode of the series.
Originally slated to return for the 1967-68 television season it was instead canceled at the last minute by CBS head William Paley, to make room for Gunsmoke.
The Music
---------
Just sit right back and you'll hear a tale,
a tale of a fateful trip.
That started from this tropic port,
aboard this tiny ship.
The mate was a mighty sailin' man,
the skipper brave and sure.
Five passengers set sail that day,
for a three hour tour, a three hour tour.
The weather started getting rough,
the tiny ship was tossed.
If not for the courage of the fearless crew,
the Minnow would be lost; the Minnow would be lost.
The ship set ground on the shore of this uncharted desert isle,
with Gilligan, the Skipper too,
the Millionaire, and his Wife,
the Movie Star, and the rest,
(the Movie Star, the Professor and Mary Ann,)
here on Gilligan's Isle.
So this is the tale of our castaways,
they're here for a long long time.
They'll have to make the best of things,
it's an uphill climb.
The first mate and his skipper too,
will do their very best,
to make the others comfortable,
in their tropic island nest.
No phones, no lights, no motor car,
not a single luxury.
Like Robinson Crusoe,
it's primitive as can be.
So join us here each week my friend,
you're sure to get a smile.
From seven stranded castaways,
Here on Gilligan's Isle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, excellent value, December 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My children love this series just as much as I did when I was young, yet it has humor for adults, too. The show offers a delightful variety of character types, played by superb comic actors, thrown into fast-paced slapstick situations. There are jokes about academic eggheads (the always-inventive but rather obtuse Professor), movie stars (Ginger, channeling Marilyn Monroe), simple farm folk (Mary Ann, the sweet girl next door), and rich people (the hilarious Mr. and Mrs. Howell). At the center of the action, mixing things up, are a modern Laurel-and-Hardy duo, the bumbling sadsack Gilligan and his longsuffering Skipper.

Every episode has different complications: wild animals, hostile natives, personal conflicts, supply shortages, bad weather, visiting eccentrics, each element conspiring to prevent the castaways' escape. Guest stars include well-known character actors like Hans Conreid, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Strother Martin, Don Rickles, Phil Silvers, Larry Storch, and even a young Kurt Russell. There are also witty comments on modern life in microcosm: elections, economics, superstitions, feminism, medicine, materialism, and many others.

Three seasons of this classic series as well as several bonus featurettes are packed onto nine double-sided discs for a bargain price. Ths seasons are also available separately (and depending on current Amazon prices and those of Marketplace resellers, buying them individually may be an even better value). There are 99 episodes, the first 37 in black and white, including the rarely-seen pilot; the remainder of the shows are in color. Both sound and picture are perfect, and there are subtitles in English, French, and Spanish. Commentaries for several episodes are provided by creator/producer Sherwood Schwartz.

Snap up this great set for hours of family entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are two versions, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To anyone thinking of buying the complete series, there are two versions: the 9-disc double sided version and the 17-disc version which was made last year. In my case I made sure I was buying the 17 disc version and what was more interesting -at the time of this review- is that is HALF the price of the inferior 9 disc version(who would want the double sided discs when you can get the single sided cheaper? duh). The color episodes look great considering it's an almost 50 year old show and the packaging is the spindle kind where the disc are all in the middle of the case with a disc on each side of the tray. Great show for people into nostalgia or just miss the days when they grew up watching this show on reruns in the 70s and 80s like me. Worth buying... the 17 disc version that is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like watching Gilligan's Island for the very first time, March 30, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 1 (DVD)
I have now been watching Gilligan's Island for the last forty years and I got the strangest feeling watching the episode "Voodoo Something To Me" from this DVD set the other day. Maybe after so many years of watching the show in syndication and even colorized, thanks to Ted Turner, I had just simply forgotten what it was like to actually see it as it was originally aired and intended. After all, everyone knows just how brutally all shows are edited, mutilated and cut by the syndication companies. Quite often, entire prologues and/or epilogues are axed to make more room for commercials. Also, as I recently discovered while watching a videotaped episode of Gilligan's Island from good old Nick-At-Nite's TV Land, that sometimes even entire scenes in the middle of a show are also missing. Not so with this wonderful 3-DVD set!! I am finding that even after forty years of reruns of the show that I don't remember many of the scenes that I am now enjoying of Gilligan's Island, all presented in their glorious and sparkling, original black-and-white formats (the last two seasons were filmed in color). I got a pleasantly eerie feeling, almost like I was in The Twilight Zone and had found a never before seen episode of Gilligan's Island!! All I can say is please now bring on "The Rest"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for kids, September 23, 2004
By 
RichA (SLC, UT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 1 (DVD)
Finally, something that I can put my kids in front of without worrying about sex, drugs, killing or anything else that seems to dominate TV these days. I loved Gilligan's Island as a kid and this not only brings back fond memories for me, but helps us create new ones as a family.

Now if they would only come out with Seasons 2 and 3....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Goodnight Sweet Skipper
Goodnight Sweet Skipper by Not Specified
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.