Customer Reviews


1,698 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,015)
4 star:
 (264)
3 star:
 (90)
2 star:
 (87)
1 star:
 (242)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


990 of 1,030 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nexus 7 Updated
Updated News as of November 2013:

Google has released specifications for the Second Generation Nexus 7 with the release date on July 30th 2013. Resolution has been bumped up to 1920x1200 (323 PPI!), a faster Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 (sorry, no S8) quad core processor clocking in at 1.5 GHz (vs the 1.3 Tegra 3 on the First Gen Nexus), 2 gigs of RAM, 4 times as...
Published on November 19, 2012 by D.L.C

versus
131 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awesome -- while it worked
In the past month, I have owned two beautiful, zippy, but ultimately defective Nexus 7's.

The first worked very well for about three weeks. I enjoyed it. It handled everything I threw at it, the screen was vibrant, the battery life surprisingly good, etc. Then one day it had a meltdown. Understand, I was very gentle with this thing. I never put it loose in a...
Published 22 months ago by C. J. Puckett


‹ Previous | 1 2170 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

990 of 1,030 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nexus 7 Updated, November 19, 2012
By 
D.L.C (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
Updated News as of November 2013:

Google has released specifications for the Second Generation Nexus 7 with the release date on July 30th 2013. Resolution has been bumped up to 1920x1200 (323 PPI!), a faster Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 (sorry, no S8) quad core processor clocking in at 1.5 GHz (vs the 1.3 Tegra 3 on the First Gen Nexus), 2 gigs of RAM, 4 times as powerful graphics chip, and a 5 megapixel back camera. Cnet is reporting that the Second Gen will have HDMI out capabilities from its micro usb port, thus implying the MHL protocols which were missing on the first generation are enabled on the Second Gen thus letting you plug your tablet into your TV to watch movies. The tablet is a bit lighter and a bit thinner than the first generation as well. Also ships with Android 4.3, the newest version. The dimpled back that so many people loved is gone replaced with a smooth surface. Still no Gorilla Glass, but now includes Dual Band Wifi and stereo speakers. Battery capacity appears to have been decreased about 400 mAh most likely to fit inside the thinner case.

Unfortunately, the price has increased. 16gb for $229, 32gb for $269 and the new LTE enabled model for $349. Unlike the First Gen series (which you are looking at), the cellular options now include Verizon in addition to the original GSM based AT&T and T-Mobile. Sprint still out of luck. As always, sold unlocked. Due to the new release, the First Gen is likely to see significant price decreases.

USB Hosting and USB OTG still works on the Nexus 7 2nd Generation.

If you're on a budget, the Nexus 7 (2012) is an excellent choice, but for $229 the Nexus 7 2nd generation also known as the Nexus 7 (2013) is a superior product. Much better processor, better graphics, better screen and lighter.

End of Update.

I've had the Nexus 7 8gb since Late August. I'll share some of my experience as well as pitfalls. The 8/16/32 Gb are functionally identical abet with a few minor difference between them, largely being the size capacities. There is also a 3G cellular version for $300 on Google Play. Remember that currently Amazon is NOT selling the Nexus 7 itself, but merely providing 3rd Party sellers a place to sell it. Occasionally Amazon takes care of the shipping, but this is not an Amazon company product. It will be cheaper elsewhere.

The 32 GB version was released on October 29th, 2012. The 8 GB version was discontinued and the 16 GB version dropped $50 in price. The 3G cellular version went on sale on November 13, 2012 only on T-Mobile and AT&T networks for $300 big ones.

A few things key to know about the 32 GB version:
Flash memory works faster the more there is up to a plateau of around 480 GBs. Benchmarks on the 32 GB Nexus 7 show a slight improvement in speed in most activities. Meaning, despite having the same parts of its smaller sized brethren, the 32 GB will see a few seconds shaved off in terms of performance. The Nexus 7 8/16 versions were plenty fast already.

Asus should have fixed many of the defects that plagued the early releases from screen separation, light bleed, bad audio plugs, etc. Sometimes it pays to wait for technology.

Not all 32 GB are free for the user. Based on the previous models, you should have around 28 to 29 GB of empty space available.

Let's address some of the perceived flaws and some of the real flaws of the Nexus 7.

1) Storage. 8/16/32gb (the three flavors the Nexus 7 comes in) can go real fast real quick in today's age of HD movies. I took my 16gb iPad on a trip and I maxed out with movies incredibly fast, even after I shrunk them down to least tolerable quality. The Nexus 7 does deserve some criticism for no Micro-SD slot and I was not going to buy it for that sole reason. However, like all good Android Tablets, there's a solution.

It's called USB On The Go. You take a USB OTG cable (like $1 here or on eBay), plug it into your Nexus 7, download the Nexus Media Importer app (Currently $3 on Google Play) and then connect whatever side hard drive or flash drive you want. The largest size external media I could connect to (and have access too) is a 3TB Western Digital. So much for 8/16/32 gig limits! The only problem I encountered with large drives is that the Media Importer app (which streams media as well as allowing one way coping to the Nexus 7) is that it crashes when you try to stream media out of folders that contain huge amounts of files, like 3,000 mp3s. Oh yeah. And this requires absolutely ZERO rooting. Take your Nexus out of the box. Download the Nexus Media Importer App. Buy the cable. Plug in your thumb drive. You're good to go.

Kickstarter recently funded a MicroUSB MicroSD reader which will allow owners of certain devices (including the Nexus 7) to access MicroSD Cards. Google "Meenova.com" for more information about when they are going to be released for the general public. This will function the same as an OTG Cable, but instead let you access MicroSD rather than USB Flash drives.

If you're cheap, you can do much of the same via Stickmount and a file manager (Stickmount requires rooting). But the Nexus Media Importer just makes it ridiculously easy. Also be aware that apps that move other apps to SD cards in other tablets will not work with this. Apps such as App 2 SD don't do anything. I tried.

As of today (11/19/12), I was able to connect a canon point and shoot, iPad 3, iPod Touch, 4 small flash drives (less than 2 GB), a 32 gb flash drive, a 1 TB and 3 TB external hard drives (Western Digital), a SD card reader (with regular and microSD via adapter) and was able to pull/stream files off all of them (FAT and NFTS formatting, no EXFAT at the moment sorry!). For some reason my old Motorola ZN5 (ancient eh?) no longer registers anymore, but as long as you plug in relatively new devices you'll be okay. An exception is I plugged in my 9 year old iRiver player and it streamed music perfectly.

Don't forget that OTG also lets you plug in and use keyboards (wired and wireless via dongle) and mice without rooting. Mice generate a cursor when plugged in. Also be aware that OTG may charge devices from your Nexus 7. For you true gamers, PS/3 controllers work as well. Not on all games, but games like Dead Trigger they'll work just like they do on a PS/3. Like to see that on a Kindle Fire or an iPad.

Speaking of that issue: Game controllers and utilities such as Sixaxis and Stickmount (among other apps) require rooting. To those who are unsure of what rooting is, rooting grants the user access to the most bottom command line access of a device. Be aware this voids your warranty, risks turning your device into a very expensive paperweight and prevents auto updating of updates over the air. I learned this the hard way. Search on the XDA developer's website how to root, but research how to do it before attempting. There are benefits and disadvantages of rooting. Make sure that you know exactly why you are rooting.

One CAVEAT to this, you have to use digital rights management free media. Mp3s are generally fine as iTunes is now selling DRM free as is Amazon. Direct downloaded movies are another story. You can also rip legitimately owned DVDs and downsize them for the Nexus. Those will play fine. Also, using other media players like DICE or BSPlayer will let you play formats that the Google Video Player doesn't like, like MKV or MTS.

2) Display. Yes, it's not an iPad 3 or 4 or a Nook HD (which by the way is gloriously beautiful). It's also less than half the price of the new iPad. Text is still crisp and clean and colors are largely well done. Not take that-iPad well done, but save yourself lots of cash well done. It's fairly responsive, not quite iPad responsive, but better than many other tablets out there. I have no complaints about it. I honestly don't think people will notice the difference between the two in sharpness and text, but it is not as good in showing colors. That said, the Nexus 7 has a better screen then the iPad Mini. Go to your local Apple store, look at the iPad 4s and then the Mini. Prepare to be shocked. It's that noticeable.

3) Camera is pretty terrible. The front facing 1.2 megapixels is nothing to get excited about. And there is no back camera. I honestly don't get why that's just a big deal. You look like a tool using the back camera. Anyone does. Even Olivia Wilde (13 on a total possible score of 10 house fans!) would look like a douche using a tablet's back camera to take video/pictures. Odds are you have your smartphone with a decent camera. Use that. There oddly though, is no app for the camera that ships with the Nexus 7. But there is a free Nexus 7 camera launcher app. One cool thing about the camera is that it does allow Face Unlock which takes a picture of your face and uses it as the unlocking mechanism for your tablet.

4) Apps. The Apple ecosystem has far more apps designed for tablets than Android does. But most of your apps, like Skype, Facebook, office utilities are all there. Furthermore, rather than being stuck on iTunes you can install Amazon's app store in addition to the preloaded Google Play store via going to the Amazon App Store, registering your email and then opening the email they send you on your tablet. It's annoying but it works. One word of caution on the Apple selling point: according to a few studies, something like 60% of all apps on iTunes (roughly 400,000) have never been downloaded which gels with the economic data showing only a relatively few app developers actually make any money.

5) No cellular connection. Fair enough, but it does have the capacity to get on to a hotspot. Meaning, just tether your smart phone. Granted, that costs money, but the fact that something like 80% of all tablets sold, Android and Apple are wi-fi only suggests that cellular connections on tablets is highly overrated. If you're one of those 8 out of 10 people who don't care about cell connections on your tablet, this shouldn't obviously matter.

The 3G cellular model available now on Google Play sells for $300. Also, does not support CDMA networks so no Verizon or Sprint. Ships with an AT&T sim card.

6) No Flash - This is technically half wrong. While Jelly Bean does not support Flash off the bat, there are FREE fixes to get flash on to your Nexus.

Google "Install Flash On Nexus 7"

The downside is you need a browser that is flash coded which includes Firefox Beta (free on Google play). It's a bit convoluted but follow the instructions and you'll have your flash games. I've posted pictures on the Nexus 7 8GB image gallery of both flash games AND streaming flash video off my Nexus 7. Flash is being phased out entirely by Adobe. It's not pretty on the nexus 7 but you can get it to work, especially if you need to stream Amazon movies.

7) No home screen rotating - Not true! Update 4.1.1 fixed this. Home screen rotates now!

Now on to other things:

Performance:

Little black rectangle is lightning fast. The five core processor (yes, there are five I'll get to that later) loads things speedy without crashes and without bugs. My iPad crashes apps pretty regularly. Only once has my settings crashed but that was largely due to me screwing up my setup of my Wi-Fi extender. I can't fault the Nexus 7 for that. Speaking of which, the Nexus was super useful walking all over my house and yard to diagnosis network dead zones and other problems. 3/4 of a pound and strong Wi-Fi pick up made that job real easy, especially with free Wi-Fi apps. I could have done that with my iPad, but that would have been far less fun. Also, the Nexus 7 picks up Wi-Fi networks my iPad doesn't

Oh yes, five cores. The process actually has a fifth core that keeps basic services running when the device is in sleep mode. That saves massive amounts of energy. The battery life on the Nexus is better than my iPad without comparison even when doing the same things. The fifth core doesn't operate during normal operations. Battery life on this device is phenomenal.

On light usage, I am able to get ~195 hours before hitting 5% battery. On medium, movie watching no heavy gaming, I can regularly do ~110 hours before hitting 5%. GPS however, will eat power like nobody's business.
Speaker is pretty terrible compared to iPad. But the audio on headphones is on par. I don't expect anyone to really use the speaker so I'm not counting that as a real disadvantage.

Operating System:

Jelly Bean on the Nexus 7 isn't as smooth as iOS 5/6 but it is better than every other Android device that my friends and family have used (and I played around with). Jelly Bean is more smooth than iOS 5/6 on my Nexus 4 though. Hardware seems to be the difference.

The most recent update 4.2 allows multiple users accounts on the tablet (same as Nook HD) and 4.3 has added types of accounts, both full and limited. Limited allows a limited account to share the apps of a full user, thus eliminating the problem of having to buy apps multiple times. A limited account can also be limited in what apps are shared thus giving users some form of parental controls.

Because this is a Nexus device, Google is pushing out updates regularly and you don't have the problem that many Android phones have in their carrier refuses to release updates. You'll have the most recent update of Google for the foreseeable future.

What I like about the Nexus 7 is that I can largely customize anything I want. The Nexus ships with a format that is more phone than tablet, but with a Root and a few apps, I was able to switch it to the Tablet UI that you see in 10" Android tablets. I personally prefer that format but it makes icons smaller to fit it all in. Not the best for older people. But that's the great thing about Android in general. Whatever you want to change, you probably can. And the Nexus 7 is no different.

Google Voice Search is pretty awesome. It's not as good as Siri in actually reading back answers to you, most of my searches lead to a web search with links. Weather does get repeated in a Siri like female voice. Speak slowly and clearly. Or you'll get weird results. Also, phrase questions more as searches than something you'd ask a real human. Google Voice does not do well with questions like "do I need an umbrella today?" Ask "Weather forecast (your location)."Also Google Voice does not have the witty banter of Siri. For instance, asking Siri "what are you wearing" gets her to say "Why do people keep asking me that?" Google Voice doesn't do that kind of funny stuff.

GPS & Directions:

Now, in my opinion, one of the coolest things about the Nexus 7 is in the built in GPS coupled with the free cached maps. Say you're going to visit your friend who's getting married in small town in Iowa. You can either buy a GPS or bring your Nexus 7 with the map of the small town saved to memory. Turn on the GPS and it will track where you on in the town on the map real time no wifi/cell connection required. I downloaded a map of my town and tracked myself going to work. Planning your route out can easily turn the Nexus 7 into a GPS system without any additional costs.

Note, this doesn't give you turn by turn directions by itself. To get turn by turn directions you need the "NAvFree USA" (there is a Navfree for other countries) app off the Google Play store. It's free. Download your state and set your destination. It gives out voice commands on when to turn similar to a dedicated GPS device. It doesn't name street names which is expected considering it's free, but it is largely accurate saying "in 100 meters, turn right." My recent test of the app did ask me to drive over a divided highway though. As long as you pay attention though, this app coupled with the Nexus 7 will function as decent GPS offline, no wifi, no cell connection. And it even recalculates the route if you miss a turn.

Other:

Widgets are small applications that sit on your home screens showing whatever you want. Right now I have weather, Settings controls, Youtube, Facebook and Salon online magazine. It's real nice to be able to look at your screen and get all the info you need rather than having to crack open an app or a browser. This is partially why Android web usages is much lower because there's no need to go to the Web to get information when it's right on your home screen.

I previously argued that this device was awful for note taking. I take part of that back. While the screen is tiny, using a real keyboard either via OTG or Bluetooth isn't that bad after I spent a month doing it. I still suggest getting a real laptop, iPad or Galaxy Note 10.1, but this will do in a bind. There's no latency in typing like other Android products have seen. The Asus Transformer with keyboard has a real noticeable latency issue when typing so much so it's unpleasant to type. The Nexus 7 with keyboard can write as fast as you can.

A couple things I noticed:

1) Some apps will cause a restart after updating. Turning off auto-update in Google Play will speed up your device as programs are no longer sucking resources to update on their own.
2) Android itself doesn't do a very good job of reallocating resources over time. I need to restart my Nexus 7 about every two to three weeks where I can let my iPad 3 go for two to three months without restarting. It's a minor irritant.

If you're looking to jump into Android, this is the tablet to do so.

Especially if you're an Ender's Game fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,375 of 1,438 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tablet for a reasonable price, November 5, 2012
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
Update:
---------
Google just announced a newer version of Nexus 7, making this product obsolete. Some of the highlights are -
- A nice bump in the screen resolution - 1920 X 1200 (323 ppi)
- A 5 MP rear facing camera
- Ships with Android 4.3, which has a restricted profile feature that can be used to block in-app purchases and limit access to content.
- The usual improvements in processor, memory, weight, speakers, wireless, etc. You can find the details on the official website for Nexus 7.
- The 32 GB model is $269 now. $20 extra for the new model is well worth it, in my opinion.

Full Disclosure:
-----------------
Let me state upfront that in the last 3 years, my wife and I have purchased 4 iPhones, 4 iPads, 1 Mac Mini, 1 Apple TV and 2 Macbook Airs for ourselves and extended members of the family. I cannot review this product without comparing it to the iPad 2, which I've been using for the last year and a half.

Motivation:
------------
We have an 18 month old son who needs to be entertained with videos and apps while he's being fed and we have an upcoming trip to India during which we'll need to keep him busy during the flight and transits. Here are our requirements -
1) We needed a tablet that is more portable than the 16 GB iPad 2 that we currently have so that it's easy to stuff into my cargo pants or jacket and pull it out quickly when required.
2) We needed more than the 16GB storage to store his favorite videos because we may have intermittent access to WiFi, at least 32 GB.
3) When he's not using it, I would like a tablet that's easy to grip for long hours of reading.

Choice:
--------
Based on these 3 requirements, I restricted my choice to the iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD and Nexus 7 32GB.

Here are the reasons I decided to go with the Nexus 7.
The 32 GB iPad Mini was almost $195 ((429 - 249) * 1.0825) more than the other 2 when you include CA sales taxes. It is at least half an inch wider than the Nexus 7 which makes it slightly harder to grip if you have small hands like me. The areas where it's better - slightly bigger screen, iOS app store, rear camera were not that important to me since we already have an iPad 2 and I don't shoot photos or videos with tablets.
I chose Nexus 7 over Kindle Fire because I use a lot of Google services and wanted a tablet with a more open ecosystem. I can read Kindle e-books and listen to music using the Amazon Cloud Player on the Nexus 7. We have a Netflix subscription so the loss of Amazon Instant Video was not that important.

Review:
---------
Here are the things that I liked about the Nexus 7 -
1) Jelly Bean (4.1) is really good. I had played with Android phones and tablets before and they used to lack the smoothness of iOS. I think it's pretty close now.
2) The higher resolution HD screen is great for reading and watching videos.
3) If you are heavily into the Google ecosystem, it's a breeze to set it up.
4) Android in general is more customizable with widgets etc.
5) I was able to download most of the iOS apps that I use frequently with some exceptions. More on that later.
6) I liked the auto-update feature on Android. It's an option that you can tick while downloading an app. It automatically downloads updates to that app.
7) I liked the notification system and realized why iOS decided to replicate it.
8) I also liked the shortcut for looking at running apps and a simple flick deletes them.
9) It is easier for my son to hold compared to the iPad 2. He also has a habit of pressing the home button and exiting the app on the iPad 2 and then complaining about it (he's only 18 months old) but fortunately he can't do that on the Nexus 7.

Here are the things that I thought were missing -
1) There are fewer tablet optimized apps on Android. The quality of apps on iOS for iPad is definitely better. Flipboard was good on Nexus 7 but Zite lacked the polish of the iPad app. NYTimes was good. The usual games like Angry Birds, Fruit Ninja and Cut the Rope were more unstable and crashed a few times. I installed Talkatone to make calls through Google Voice and it worked fine. The usual ones - Netflix, Skype, etc. worked fine. I noticed some lag while using Zinio to read the National Geographic.
2) I'm still not used to the Chrome browser on a tablet. It seemed to me that accessing bookmarks on the iOS browser is easier. I found all my bookmarks already synced on my Chrome browser but accessing them requires multiple steps.
3) It is slightly heavier than the iPad Mini but not by a lot. The iPad Mini is still ahead in terms of external design and looks but the cost mattered more to me this time. I may have paid $100 more for the iPad Mini because of the iOS app ecosystem advantage but $195 was a very high premium for an optional device.

Conclusion:
-------------
The Nexus 7 is an excellent device irrespective of the price but the price makes it easier to appreciate it even more. If your requirements and expectations are similar to mine, I would strongly recommend it. I bought this product from Office Depot but I felt that the review might help others make a decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


431 of 473 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cream of the crop., November 9, 2012
By 
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
Fist off this is not an Amazon purchase. Sorry Amazon, but it was cheaper at my local department store. Second, I will not compare this android tab to a ipad!!! Thats just stupid, IMO. Oranges and apples. One thing is all apple stuff cost more for comparable products. I dont buy over priced apple products.

Ok as for the Android tabs, this one is a winner. The new processor is lightening fast!!! I multitasked, played Netflix, and loaded the thing and its speed held great. Its touch is very responsive. Its res is great too. For the buck, 249, at most department stores and electronic stores, it beats the competitors. The only way to get better is to pay more.

There is no expansion slot but with 32 gigs its not really needed. You can Mini-USB it to pc for file transfer with no prob.

It rotates to landscape with no need for an app.

Jelly bean is a winner and all new Androids have it so that doesn't need a review. The tablet is made well. It feels sturdy in the hand. The off button and volume are located nicely on the side but toward the edge so they dont get in the way.

Its a small tablet with a small voice so sound isnt great. The speakers are tiny and dont carry much.
But...plug in quality earbuds and the sound is great!!! MP3's sound the same as on my Sony MP3 player. Streaming movies are clear and sound fine.

The tablet streams youtube and netflix with no problem at all.
There is no rear camera. I dont know how the front facing camera is because I never use it. I didnt buy it to take pics nor to use it as a webcam.

Being a google approved product apps are not an issue. Once you change your permissions in settings for other apps, it excepts Amazons apps too.

The battery is good. About 3-4 hours video streaming, heavy web surfing and downloading, a good 6 with web off, playing games and reading. (Turning off the auto brightness helps save battery. Indoors I keep it adjusted to extremely low and only manually crank it for outside.)In sleep mode, I don't know how long the battery last as it barely moves after hours of sitting. I haven't had it sleeping long enough to compute it. It moves a little sitting over night but not enough to matter.

Wifi is great!! Gets a full signal from my router better than my xoom. My xoom will have a partial full signal icon while my nexus has a fully filled signal icon, at the same distance from the router. It finds the signal quick too when I turn it on after having it off. No lag.

I like that its uses mini to reg USB for charging as any phone AC charger works too. No need for special cords. It also charges connected to a netbook, laptop, or pc.

The feeling in your hand is nice. The back isnt slippery, it has just a little bit of grip(texture), enough to help hold yet be smooth, but not slick. I never feel like it will slide out of my hands. Its weight is fine to me. Not so light it feels like hollow cheap plastic junk and not to heavy it feels like a brick. To me its just right.

So for 249 and the processor it has and the gigs....its a big bang for the buck.

I cant find anything neg with this tablet.

If you want tv hook up and a ton of extra frill then plan to spend a lot more money for a tablet pc like the larger xoom, thrive, or galaxy. For the basic 7in tablet, this one beats the rest in the line. And no, Android doesn't support flash. Thats an Adobe issue not a product issue. As for apps, between Amazon and Google Play you can find anything. You just have to know how to look for them in the store app.

And unlike kindles, and cheap end tablets, and all pc's, no bloat ware and no in your face ads on the out of box system.

So I recommend the google nexus7, 32 gig. Its just a really nice, well layed out, well made, fast running tab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the Next-generation of Computing?, March 14, 2013
I ordered this product with Saturday delivery, because I was spending my Spring break in New York, and wanted this prior to my leave. I lost my iPod touch 5th generation in a cab a few days before;I became very sad and wanted to find a replacement, one which I know wouldn't be lost or as light. In this article, my goal here is to not provide a "full" nexus 7 review, but to allow you, the reader, to see several angles to it's use and why it could be a good product choice.

The day of purchasing this, I also looked at the iPad mini and a few other tablets. I have used the Mini before, however the price of this, which is about $20-30 cheaper than Apple's choice, provides me with twice the storage and a 3G sim card slot. (more on that later) So, the iPad mini was out of line, though I can understand why some might find Apple's interface a bit simpler.
I did not want to buy another iPod Touch, because I realized how light they were. While this could be an advantage for some, I realized how much easier it is to lose one. Personally, the Nexus 7 is a great product for the purpose of having something you are aware of all the time. It is light, however not light to the point where you cannot feel its existence in your pocket. While it will not fit in standard jean's, it will fit in a jacket or a larger article of clothing. For me, I keep the Nexus in my winter coat pocket for now, and as spring approaches, I will most likely find another place for it. The advantage to this is that you don't always need a backpack for carrying it, and you have the luxury of a larger screen.

I chose the 3G version for many reasons. When looking at pricepoints, this is only a little bit more expensive than the 32 gig iPod touch 5th gen, and that could be thought of as a more direct comparison. Having 3G means that I don't always have to find a Wi-Fi access point, and can easily access information anywhere I am. For example, I used the voice search feature of Google Now to find a taxi in down-town New York easily, all without having to fish out a Wi-Fi spot.

I went with T-Mobile for 3G service. For $25, I have 1.5 gigs of data, which could be thought of as unlimited, since T-Mobile will throddle you down to EDGE speeds (about 384 Kbits/sec) after you go over your limit. While At&t has better coverage, the data plans are more expensive and can end up being quite costly, especially since it is charged per gigabyte you go over.

There is no sim that ships with this tablet, but it is unlocked. It does have "4g", though this is *NOT* LTE - 4G here indicates HSDPA+ speeds, which is more like 3.5G (at least that is how the status bar reports it). Still, these speeds are great for even watching Netflix or streaming higher quality Spotify. EDGE is not as good, but can suffice if you're out of your data cap.
As I stated, the 7 inch form factor is portable enough to fit in a pocket, yet the larger screen does allow for better web viewing and more space than a 3 or 4 inch device. The battery life is also excellent. I was on a 12 hour trip back home, and listened to Spotify the entire way through 3g;When I arrived, my battery life was at 21%. Admitedly, using Chrome feels more like browsing on a desktop thanks to the design and layout, though the smaller screen can be a bit limiting for full-screen website content. I also have an iPad 2, and compared to that the iPad feels super large now. Still, if all you want to do is casual web surfing, this is a great device, with enough screen real estate to facilitate most pages. The hardware does not feel cheap at all for what you buy. While it is plastic instead of aluminum (which are what Apple products are made of), it Is very nice and firm plastic. I also like how the device does not get cold when you hold it in your hands after not using it in a while. Aluminum, while could be seen as sturdy, does get cold quickly and tends to stay below room temperature.

I find using Android to be more comparable to a computer experience than iOS is. You can customize it more with what you want on your home screens, and apps themselves support more functionalities. Take Spotify, which supports queuing on Android but not on iOS, a feature which is also present in the PC version.

I do see potentials for this great tablet to one day replace most aspects of computing. Because it is a Nexus device, it has the advantage of getting the latest Android updates right away. You can certainly tell that the quad-core processor is very fast, and performs really well with opening apps quickly.
Overall, this is a great Android tablet, and the best for what you spend. It Is cheaper than the iPad mini, and has 3G, double the ram (1 GB instead of 512), and double the storage. It is also bigger than the iPod touch, and includes 3G, making it a bit more enjoyable for movie watching and using it as a computer-type design for work. Consider getting a Bluetooth keyboard, should you wish to get actual typing or work done, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awesome -- while it worked, January 18, 2013
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
In the past month, I have owned two beautiful, zippy, but ultimately defective Nexus 7's.

The first worked very well for about three weeks. I enjoyed it. It handled everything I threw at it, the screen was vibrant, the battery life surprisingly good, etc. Then one day it had a meltdown. Understand, I was very gentle with this thing. I never put it loose in a bag or dropped it or even set it down hard, so I was quite surprised to turn it on and see the screen go haywire (I'd describe it as multicolored snow.) It never recovered and I was forced to return it. I then bought a replacement from my local OfficeMax, and it did the SAME THING right out of the box. If you google "Nexus 7 Won't Turn On," you'll see that unfortunately this is a common problem. The factory reset does nothing, and if you open the back to poke around, you'll void your warranty. I can only assume that it has some serious hardware issues, and until these are addressed, I'll be trying my luck with another tablet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great 7in tablet! (if you have the time to root!!), November 10, 2012
By 
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
Overview:
=============================================
For a bit of background, I've owned several android phones, iPhones, iPads, etc... I've owned the original nexus phone, HTC EVO, iPhone (1, 3gs, 4s, and now 5), iPad 2 and 3 and a Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 WiFi+3G P6800 16GB Silver Unlocked GSM Tablet - International Version. Right now, for mobile devices, I own an iPhone 5, iPad 3, and Nexus 7.

I was interested in the Nexus 7 because having owned the Galaxy tab 7.7 (and consequently selling it) I wanted a tablet to use as a carry around tablet that's light and easy to handle. The Nexus 7 perfectly fits my needs... it's reasonably fast, easy to hold in one hand, and the text is crisp and clear. I believe this is the best 7 inch tablet on the market as of right now. The iPad mini will probably sell more due to it being Apple but this Nexus 7 definitely holds its own. Also, as an FYI, I bought my Nexus 7 at Sam's Club... much cheaper than Amazon at least for now!

The Nexus 7 compared to Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 WiFi+3G P6800 16GB Silver Unlocked GSM Tablet - International Version
=============================================
Overall the Nexus 7, in my opinion, is superior to the Galaxy 7.7. The only areas where the Galaxy 7.7 may out do the Nexus 7 would be in the screen and the fact that you can get a 7.7 with an option to use it as a phone. That being said, the positives of the Nexus 7, for me, far outweigh the better screen on the 7.7 and the ability to use the 7.7 as a phone (which would seem pretty silly to me anyway)...

The Nexus 7 positives:
=========================
- much easier to hold in one hand
- easier to read because text is sized more appropriately (on stock software)
- battery appears to last much longer than my 7.7 while idling
- receives updates to android instantly while with Samsung you'll be waiting

The Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 WiFi+3G P6800 16GB Silver Unlocked GSM Tablet - International Version positives:
=========================
- better screen on the 7.7... blacks are much blacker to those who care
- ability to use the 7.7 as a phone

Nexus 7 compared to iPad Mini
=============================================
As others have mentioned before, comparing the Nexus 7 to an iPad mini is like comparing apples and oranges since they are separate ecosystems/etc... I'm not going to get in to the pro's and con's of Android vs iOS, but if you had to compare the two tablets just from a pure usability perpective, I'd say that the Nexus 7 edges out the iPad mini slightly (for me) because the Nexus 7 is slightly easier to hold with one hand compared to the iPad mini. When I hold an iPad mini in one hand, my fingers struggle to get all the way around the device to where I feel like I have a comfortable grip. With the Nexus 7, however, my hand fits around it perfectly and I feel like I have a good grip on the tablet even with a Blurex Ultra-Slim Case for Google Nexus 7 inch Tablet -- With built in Multi-Angle Stand (Tangelo) + Premium Screen Protector Film attached to it.

Nexus 7 Pros
=============================================
- Great one hand holding (with my hands), even with a case attached
- Awesome for gaming (I play Shadowgun all the time)
- Easy to root... you may not do this but I highly recommend it as it opens up a ton of possibilities like using the tablet with a playstation 3 controller for gaming (via SixAxis Controller app) or using the tablet with an OTG cable to attach flash drives/etc for more storage
- Instant updates to latest android software... it took forever for Samsung to put out even ICS for the 7.7 when I had it
- Great battery life! I've used my tablet with light to medium use for the better part of a week without having to re-charge it

Nexus 7 Cons
=============================================
- Not too many compatible chargers... iPad chargers won't work with it and many chargers are hit and miss... if you get one, make sure to keep the stock charger close by.
- You won't get ALL the advanced features with this tablet without tinkering with it, which can be a pain for some people... rooting takes time and so does getting the other 3rd party apps working for using the OTG cable. This is somewhat expected with android devices for me though...
- Have to side load many apps since they are listed as not compatible in app store (nba game time, hbo, etc...)

CONCLUSION
=============================================
I've been very happy with my Nexus 7! I patiently waited as rumors swirled around a 32gb release for the Nexus 7 and I'm glad I did. Many of the games/etc can take up a lot of space so having the extra internal strorage space definitely helps out.

In any case, if you have time to root your Nexus 7 and tinker around with it a bit, it'll be like having a PS3 AND Media Player on the go!!! With the use of the SixAxis Controller app, I can use a PS3 controller to play many games from google play, and with the use an OTG cable and apps like stickmount I can attach flash drives or hard drives and load my music and movies on them. While the iPad will always have it's place for me due to my heavy investment in to the iOS ecosystem with itunes match/etc, I'd never be able to do half the things on it that I do with my Nexus 7 and for that I highly recommend it!!!

UPDATE (11-12-2012... many comments about expandable storage so updating with instructions)
=============================================
I noticed another reviewer say that there is no expandable storage. Out of the box, yes, there is no expandable storage as there is no micro sd card slot but there is a way to get expandable storage!!! Please see below for instructions...

Instructions:
1. Root your device if you want to use Paragon or Stickmount... (use google for this as there are many instructions out there on how to do it in less than 15-20 mins)
2. Install Paragon exFAT, NTFS & HFS+ (requires root), Stickmount (requires root), or Nexus Media Importer (no root required as another poster commented)... I use Paragon personally as I need access to HFS+ drives (mac).
3. Get a less than $2 OTG cable, you can attach ANY USB flash drive or hard drive. I got this one. eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter Compatible with Google Nexus 7
4. Use any flash or hard drive and plug in to your device
5. Paragon and Stickmount should automatically recognize the drive and mount it
6. Use any file explorer or media player to find your files... each app will mount in a different place but generally somewhere under your sdcard mount

I have my Nexus 7 working with a SanDisk Cruzer Glide 128 GB USB Flash Drive SDCZ60-128G-B35 and Uspeed USB 3.0 Card Reader 8-in-1 for SDXC, SDHC, SD, MMC, RS-MMC, Micro SDXC, Micro SD, Micro SDHC Card - support UHS-I combined with Transcend 128 GB SDXC Flash Memory Card (TS128GSDXC10E). That's over 256GB combined of extra storage!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, but an important warning!, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Nexus 7 is incredible! It is super fast, maybe faster than my laptop, and incredibly user friendly. Also the battery life is almost too good to be true. It reports about 8 hours of solid use and I must say that so far I haven't seen less than 12 hours. I don't play games or stream videos constantly, but I use a ton of apps and web browsing, so I was incredibly surprised by how well it stands up. I also recommend purchasing a SquareTrade warranty for accidental damage. I got a 3 year plan for like $80...well worth it when you consider how easy it would be to drop this think down some stairs or in a puddle.

One important warning: The seller I purchased mine from did not include the AT&T SIM card. If you buy directly from google, it comes with a free SIM card with an app to activate a wireless plan. The seller never said they were or were not including it, I just assumed it would be included. Just a fair warning to others!

Pro Tip: Try downloading Pocket. It is an offline web browser that lets you save web pages for viewing offline. I particularly like Cracked.com, and this is the only offline web app I could find that properly saves their pages. Also, the news apps "Current" and "Pulse" will save articles for offline browsing automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's near perfect., March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This will be a bias review about my experience with this tablet.

This tablet is now my favorite Android device (until a better 7" Nexus come along). It used to be my Nexus phone, but with this tablet having the same stock Android experience on a larger screen, while still being relatively portable gives it a much better usage experience. It's slim and not too heavy so I can hold it using one hand for a lengthy amount of time, which is more flexible compared to a 10" tablet or other 7-8" tablets that are too wide to hold with one hand. Now the only thing I use my Nexus phone for is making calls so I don't have to spend more money upgrading my phone.

STOCK ANDROID EXPERIENCE ON A 7" HD SCREEN:
The 7" formfactor of this tablet is perfect when being paired with Android 4.2. I feel Android 4.2 interface is not designed best for 10" tablet yet, however it work just right for a 7" screen. The screen is 720p and the pixels are just small enough so fonts are sharp, it is possible to do extensive web browsing and reading on this tablet.

With a clean stock Android OS, it's better optimized for performance so the interface feel much smoother and faster than competing tablets with the similar spec, which tend to come with skinned overlay and bloatwares. This tablet is more for people who like to fiddle with their device and customize it the way they like. If you know exactly what apps you want to install and how to customize your Android, it is much more flexible than all the competition.

Some people will complain about lack of microSD slot. There are couple of ways to deal with the limited storage issue. Google Music have a cloud feature to let you store and stream up to 20,000 songs. For videos, you can easily create a UPnP server in your home to stream videos from. For example, install XBMC to your PC, add videos to your library, then enable the UPnP server feature. You can also buy an Asus router that have UPnP feature, enable it, then connect your harddrive with videos to it. Lastly, on the Nexus 7, install "XBMC for Android" or "VPlayer and its UPnP plugin" to stream the videos. Make sure you Google for the official "XBMC hardware accelerated test-build".

LONG TERM VALUE:
When you buy a Nexus branded device, it means you will receive the latest Android updates directly from Google and sooner than all other non-Nexus devices. Google will support the software for a long time. Technically Google only promised to update a Nexus device up to 18months from its release date, but more likely if the hardware of that device is still capable, they'll continue to update it.

NETWORK INFO (read before purchasing):
-Unlike the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7" (P3100), this device is not capable of making direct phone calls (you will have to use VoIP apps). It's still possible to get network data and do text messaging.
-If you intend to use this tablet with T-Mobile, you'll have to use their 'Mobile Broadband sim card' with the plans available for it. However, using a T-Mobile prepaid (phone) sim card will not work as there will be no data, only texting will work.
-Right now, if you're in the US and want to get a data plan for this, T-Mobile Mobile Broadband plan probably the best choice if you get good signal in your area. T-Mobile have gotten rid of contract plans completely, ie. the official T-Mobile store and website do not provide any plans that require contracts. The Mobile Broadband $40 option will get you 4.5GB of 3G and throttle down to 2G after that, with texting and tethering. In the future the Mobile Broadband plan should also cover LTE (however the Nexus 7 is not compatible with LTE).
-T-Mobile also offer a prepaid option called Monthy Pass, but I highly do not recommend this since it do not offer good value compared to the Mobile Broadband plans. For example, the $35 Monthly Pass option only give you 3.5GB of data, with no texting nor tethering. Also since it is in the "prepaid tier", you will get lower priority in cell towers connection, in other word your download speed will not be as fast.

CONS:
-NO TV-OUPUT: There isn't a dedicated microHDMI port nor MHL support so no chance of physically connecting it to a TV.
-SCREEN QUALITY LUCK: My previous Nexus 7 WiFi unit have a great screen, but this 3G unit I received have very obvious graininess and color banding.
-NO REAR CAMERA
-Not full USB OTG out of the box: You can connect mice and keyboards, but to mount USB flashdrives you'll need root. Various other Asus tablets do have full USB OTG support out of the box.

Note: A minor issue when I received it, it had no charge and the only way to turn it on was to charge it for a while, then hold the Power button for over 10seconds. Some people also suggested plugging it to a charger while holding Power + Volume Down buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best..fast, beautiful and easy to operate, November 28, 2012
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
I was the first person in line at my local office supply store (Amazon didn't even stock this yet) on that Monday morning when the Nexus 7 was released in 32GB format. And boy was I NOT disappointed!

This is a beautiful tablet and has everything one would want or need in a tablet: speedy processor(s); beautiful screen; easy to maneuver once one gets the hang of it (I am a former Ipad 3 user, and have more familiarity with the Apple OS). Android is a bit different, yet similar enough to pick up the basics quickly. I now am totally familiar with it and proficient in its operation.

Yes, it's smaller than the Ipad, and that is a beauty and a curse. It is very lightweight and easy to hold for long periods of time. I have a bit of trouble seeing the screen at times, due to aging eyes and the sometimes-tiny print that can appear on some websites. Still, this thing is a beautiful creation, and I bet Google sells a ton of them.

One advantage is that the Android OS updates almost instantly once Google releases it. Carrier devices (those sold by Verizon, etc.) can take weeks, months...or never...because the carrier has no interest in helping you prolong the use of your current phone...they have an interest in getting you into a NEW unit. I have already had two updates; first to 4.1 and now to 4.2.

In fact, I have become so comfortable with the Android system I have moved to a Android-based phone (a Samsung Galaxy Note). For a former Apple guy, this is huge.

All in all, this is the best small tablet in my opinion. I haven't seen the Ipad Mini...and for nearly 80 bucks additional for it...and way less storage to boot...it isn't compelling to me.

You won't be disappointed in the Nexus 7. I am very happy with mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nexus 7 vs. Kindle Fire HD 7 (updated), November 15, 2012
This review is from: ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model (Personal Computers)
We've been using a Kindle Fire since September 2011 (pre-ordered) and I am happy we ordered ours. Soon after purchase it was adopted by our daughter. She is using it to draw and paint, she watches Netflix for Kids on it, she learned how to search Youtube for arts and crafts 'how to' videos and she plays (mostly free) games from Amazon's Appstore. The Fire wasn't a full-feature tablet when it launched but we overlooked its hardware shortcomings, its off-mainstream Android and its locking us out Google's much larger app store because the price was right and because the 7" screen size made it lighter and more portable than the 'full size' 10.1" alternatives. We are still happy with our old Fire and our newer Fire HD but we are happier with Nexus 7, our third 7" tablet.

Because Nexus 7 and Amazon's Kindle are both Android tablets very similar in screen size that sell for about the same price, I am going to compare the two while I write about my experience with Nexus 7. Whenever appropriate, I will note the differences between Nexus and the Fire when such differences exist. If a feature is present on both tablets I will simply note its existence. I will prefix specific features with an equal sign if both tablets support it equally, a plus sign if the Nexus implementation is superior or Fire lacks it and a minus sign when a feature is better implemented by Fire or is a Fire exclusive. I am sorry but I can't yet compare the Nexus 7 with the mini iPad because, while I did play with one for a few minutes, I didn't have a chance to test-drive one for any significant period of time.

HARDWARE (Nexus 7 but it's a close call)

The Nexus comes pretty close to what we normally call the latest and greatest.

+ GPS (Fire lacks it)
+ Quad-core CPU vs. Fire's dual-core
= 16/32GB models for Kindle vs. 16/32GB for Nexus
= Accelerometer
= Backlit screen at 1280x800 are identical in specs and looks
= Front-facing camera on both
= Gyroscope
= Micro USB port
= Microphone on both
- Dual-antenna for Wi-Fi on Kindle vs. one antenna on Nexus

Neither the Fire or the Nexus come with memory expansion ports or a rear-facing camera. The Micro USB interface will allow you to attach flash drives and even powered USB HDDs but the fact remains that if you buy an Nexus 7 or a Kindle Fire HD you are stuck with built in amount of internal storage. At the same time, I will testify that I haven't used 8GB yet on my much older 16GB XOOM so 16/32GB should be sufficient for most of us. A rear-facing camera would have been a plus.

CONNECTIVITY (Nexus 7)

The better connected a tablet is, the more useful it becomes. Both the Nexus 7 and the Fire HD lack 3G/4G capabilities (Amazon will have a very expensive 4G model later this year), relying mostly on Wi-Fi to stay in touch with the world but there are some differences between the two worth noting.

= WiFi 802.11 b/g/n
= Amazon's Appstore (they both have it but, of course, the Fire's implementation is much better because that's basically where you are most of the time you are using the Fire
= Bluetooth
+ Near Field Communication (Fire lacks it) It allows two devices that support it to exchange information by touching each other. Not widely used at this time.
+ Google Play (Fire restricts access to Amazon's Appstore only)

I listed the app stores under connectivity mostly because Amazon made it impossible (unless you hack your Fire) to shop from anywhere other than Amazon's own store and I believe you are confined to Amazon's cloud services. There are no such restrictions on the Nexus. You can use Amazon's cloud, Google's or anyone else's if you so desire.

SOFTWARE (Nexus 7)

+ Android. Nexus 7 comes with Android 4.2 pre-installed, the latest version at the time I write this. There is no doubt that it will be upgradeable to future versions, at least for the next couple of years. At the same time, it is not likely that the Fire's custom Android will ever get a major Android upgrade even though Amazon may tweak it a little from time to time.
+ Chrome, most other Google apps. Chrome happens to be my favorite browser. Amazon does not allow Chrome on its Fire. Fire's own browser is not too bad but I personally prefer Chrome.
= Flash. Nexus 7 or Android 4.2 rather does not support Flash which is too bad but it's because Adobe decided not to support it on Android. Kindle Fire HD does not appear to support Flash either.

BUILD (a tie)

I like both tablets look and feel. Both the Nexus 7 and the Fire HD are strikingly beautiful tablets. One little issue for the Fire is its too well hidden power and volume controls but it's something that's likely to be annoying for the first few days only, until reaching for them becomes second nature. Our daughter has been using the new Fire HD ever since launch and she's used to it by now.

PRICE (advantage Nexus)

The Nexus 7 is the less expensive one on the 16GB configuration especially when you consider that fact that the Fire comes without a charger so you will have to buy one separately and you will have to pay Amazon some more if you don't want to see ads.

MY CONCLUSIONS

I've been using both a Nexus 7 ever since launch and the same is true for the Fire HD. I am fully aware that when it comes to 'tablets' the technology changes fast and I have little doubt that it will be surpassed by many newer models but, at the time I'm writing this, I have a clear personal preference for the Nexus 7 even though I enjoy using the Fire HD and they are nearly on par when it comes to 'media consumption' activities with the Fire HD clearly in the lead when the content's is Amazon.

Neither the Nexus or the Fire are perfect. Both tablets, for example, lack memory expansion capabilities and a back camera. However, the Nexus, while selling for the about the same price, beats the Fire in every single category but it's a close call. If you are an Amazon person (like I am) the Nexus gives you the best of both worlds. You can still get your Amazon Appstore and the Kindle reader app but nothing restricts you from using someone else's store. The Fire HD erased the Nexus advantage on Bluetooth, camera and microphone. Amazon's new tables now match the Nexus 7 for many features and they even beat the Nexus on some (Wi-Fi, internal storage). In my case, I will continue to use the Nexus 7 but the rest of the family prefers the Kindle Fire HD.

>> Brush your teeth, it's the law! <<
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2170 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ASUS Google Nexus 7 Tablet (7-Inch, 32GB) 2012 Model
$249.00 $146.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.