Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How Ramseelbird fell under the spell of Gooney Bird Greene
Author Lois Lowry is perhaps best known for her controversial, award winning, and often very interesting children's books. These books, on the whole tend to be written with the older child reader in mind. Swiveling her head a full 90 degrees to the left, Lowry has now decided to write a book with the younger child readers in mind. Hence, the creation and subsequent...
Published on May 7, 2004 by E. R. Bird

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, not great.
I purchased this thinking it would be a clever story for bedtime, and there are elements about it that are clever, but the story as a whole just didn't mesh. It encourages people to consider statements from different angles, breaks the elements of storytelling down (albeit in a superficial manner, but this is a book for children, after all), and encourages children to...
Published 21 months ago by Maneki Neko


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How Ramseelbird fell under the spell of Gooney Bird Greene, May 7, 2004
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Paperback)
Author Lois Lowry is perhaps best known for her controversial, award winning, and often very interesting children's books. These books, on the whole tend to be written with the older child reader in mind. Swiveling her head a full 90 degrees to the left, Lowry has now decided to write a book with the younger child readers in mind. Hence, the creation and subsequent publication of the adorable, "Gooney Bird Greene". Tis a tale of one girl, her stories, and her awe-stricken/hand-raising/wide-eyed classmates.
When Gooney Bird Greene arrives in Mrs. Pidgeon's second grade class unannounced, nobody knows quite what to make of her. Decked out in pajamas and cowboy boots, and holding her lunch with a dictionary, she immediately becomes the class's star pupil. For you see, Gooney Bird Greene was blessed with the gift of storytelling. By sheer coincidence, Mrs. Pidgeon is attempting to teach the class all about the different parts of a story. As the book progresses and Gooney Bird tells her "absolutely true" tales, the book carefully examines what it is that makes a story either good or bad. By the end, Gooney Bird has influenced all the students (and even Mrs. Pidgeon) to tell their own stories just as she has.
The book's top notch, really. Both children and their parents reading this book will be entranced by the notion of how Gooney Bird's outrageously titled tales really do turn out to be true in the end. The tale entitled, "How Gooney Bird Came from China on a Flying Carpet" turns out to be about how Gooney Bird and her family moved from their small town of China in their car, and how GB accidentally flew out of the car while in the center of the family's old rolled up carpet. The tale, "Why Gooney Bird Was Late for School Because She Was Directing a Symphony Orchestra" is about how she directed a bus full of musicians to the local town hall where they were to play. You get the idea. The only tale GB tells that strains at its wording is, "Beloved Catman Is Consumed by a Cow", though you'll have to read it yourself to see if you agree with me or not.
When I first read the description of this book, I was greatly afraid that this would be a younger person's version of Jerry Spinelli's "Stargirl". I thought (and was completely wrong) that the book was about a girl who's completely different from her classmates, they they all initially love her but then eventually despise her, and that she would befriend the trouble making kid and the shy and quiet kid in the course of her adventures. Wrong. Wrongdy wrong wrong. This book is, in fact, about a girl and the great awe inspiring talent of spinning a good yarn. Accompanying Ms. Lowry's adept words and motifs are the illustrations of Middy Thomas. These help to drill home the fact to kids of how very cool Gooney Bird really is. I highly recommend, by the way, that all you adults out there read the back inner flap of the book for the author/illustrator description. It's very amusing.
How rare to read a book that is intended for such a young audience but is still so well written. If you've a child that tells stories all the time and is the right age for this book (it's an early chapter book, so you can decide how well it fits them yourself) then I highly recommend that you go out and get this item immediately. Similarly, if you've any interest in all in teaching the kiddies about the parts and features of a good story, go and get yourself some "Gooney Bird Greene". I guarantee you that it exceeds and surpasses all expectations. And then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see a Lowry book for younger readers, December 3, 2002
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
Talk about a versatile author! And laugh-out-loud funny, too. Teachers in grades 1-4 are going to love reading this one in classrooms. Gooney Bird is an endearing second-grader who has a lot of practical wisdom to dispense and is able to do it with verve and self-confidence (and while wearing a tutu!) Imagination really CAN change the tone of a classroom and this charming book will show everyone just how it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read!, October 20, 2004
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my second grader because it looked cute. She read it for a book report she was doing at school. After she was done she came to me and told me that I should read it because it was so good. I read it last night and it nearly brought me to tears! I loved it. It was so loving, and sweet, and educational in a completely fun way. Gooney Bird Greene, and the children in her class are how we all hope our children to be; individual, loving, curious, kind, respectful, etc.. Gooney Birds teacher is what every child's teacher should be; patient, loving, and not afraid to let a 2nd grader be smarter then herself! This is a must read for parents and children alike!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gooney Bird Greene, February 26, 2004
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
Gooney Bird Greene, by Lois Lowery, is an excellent book that will have students laughing out loud! This book is great for bringing out the quiet students in any class. Gooney Bird Greene is a new student in Mrs. Pidgeon's second grade class at Watertown Elementary School. She began very quickly to liven up the room with her fun-loving personality and outrageous choicde of clothing. The class is learning how to write stories and Gooney Bird Greene has a story to tell everyday. With her "true stories" she tells, the kids learn probably more about writing ideas than they would from the teacher alone. Gooney Bird Greene is an inspiration to all the students in the class, even the ones who would never speak up or tended to shy away from the rest of the class. I really enjoyed reading this book and you will to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gooney Bird Green, October 13, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
Gooney Bird Greene
Gooney Bird is a funny story. You should read this book. I liked this book. It's about a girl that tells stories that are
funny. One of the stories was how Gooney Bird lost her cat on a flying carpet. She says all her stories are true. Gooney Bird moved from China to Watertown. Gooney Bird now goes to Watertown Elementery School. She is in second grade.Gooney Bird Greene is by Lois Lowery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gooney Bird is an Original!, May 20, 2007
By 
ginnyh (Arkansas Ozarks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Paperback)
I read this book to my fourth graders, and they loved it! Gooney Bird is an original thinker who always tells the truth! We had fun speculating exactly how her "wild" tales could be true, before we read on.

Gooney Bird also discusses the ways to make writing better, and kids can learn from that as well. The book would be good to use in writing classes. Plus, it's just plain fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could give it 5 1/2 stars!, January 21, 2013
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Paperback)
Gooneybird is a great storyteller and she almost takes over the class. The riddles are fun to figure out like, she said "a palace" but really was an ice cream shop. I loved this book and I can't wait to read the next Gooneybird Greene book. You'll love it too! Sam, age 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book for Beginning Readers, May 29, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
I'd give Gooney Bird Greene 4 stars because it's a sweet and funny book that teachers a lot to a young reader, but I wasn't incredibly impressed. Newton's third law states that for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. Of course, that's a part of science, but action and reaction become a part of second grade when Gooney Bird Greene joins Watertower Elementary School and her new classmates, not to mention her teacher, Mrs. Pigeon, don't know how to react. You see, Gooney Bird quickly proves to be as strange as her name when she shows up on her first day at Watertower fabulously clad in pajamas, topped with a cowboy hat, claiming that she just moved there from China. Those are the actions, so what are her classmates' reactions? That's for you to find out by reading Gooney Bird Greene by Lois Lowry. Her laid back, perky personality and charisma eventually win over her classmates, though, and she soon becomes their favorite story teller. All of her stories are absolutely true, or so she claims, but her audience is more than a little skeptical when their titles include: How Gooney Bird Came From China on a Magic Carpet; The Prince, the Palace, and the Diamond Earrings; Why Gooney Bird Was Late for School Because She Was Directing a Symphony Orchestr;, and Beloved Catman Is Consumed by a Cow.

The moral of this story, though I'm not sure Lowry particularly tried to incorporate one, is that things aren't always what they seem. All of Gooney Bird's stories are very different from what their titles make you think, but the titles still fit the stories. All of the characters in Gooney Bird Greene are your basic stock characters of second grade school children, the second grade teacher, Gooney Bird's parents, and all of the characters in her stories, but hilariously exaggerated. Lois Lowry's style in this book is very well adapted to an audience of beginning readers and the way she writes very much reminds me of poetry. The story flows wonderfully from one thing to the next, she uses repetition skillfully in some places, and I could've sworn I saw a simile, but I cannot locate it now.

Gooney Bird Greene is entirely set in Gooney Bird's second grade classroom. This is a quick-read chapter book with occasional pictures perfect for a beginning reader. So if you know one, be sure to order Gooney Bird Greene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gooney Bird Greene-A lesson in storytelling, September 23, 2003
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
I first chose to read _Gooney Bird Greene_ because it was written by Lois Lowry, the author who wrote _The Giver_, one of my favorite books. Although Lowry has written many books, I hadn't read anything else by her besides _The Giver_. I was surprised by _Gooney Bird Greene_ because it wasn't anything like _The Giver_. I really didn't expect it to be because _Gooney Bird Greene_ is a children's book, and I consider _The Giver_ to be more of a young adult book. However, I was far from disappointed with _Gooney Bird Greene_, and I became even more impressed with Lowry's ability as a writer.
The book begins with a teacher telling her students that they are going to write stories. Of course, Gooney Bird is the new girl in the school, and she is very interesting with her unique clothes. So, everyone wants to hear her stories. The students want to hear a story from Gooney Bird everyday. She tells many different stories from how she got her name to how she directed a symphony orchestra! Most importantly, Gooney Bird serves as an inspiration for the other students; she shows them that they too can tell a good story.
Gooney Bird Greene is a story about a young child who...tells stories. To some people this may sound boring, but it's an interesting little book because the character, Gooney Bird, is so well-developed. The stories she tells are "always true," she insists, but they are not always what the title suggests. For example, one story she titles "Beloved Catman is consumed by a Cow." From the title, you would think, as her classmates did, that her cat was eaten by a cow. But, her cat had "fallen in love" with the cow, so it was "consumed" by its love/fascination for the cow.
If you like a good story, I highly recommend this book, especially for young second grade students. I couldn't help but laugh at the character of Gooney Bird. Lowry gave such a great voice to this unique little girl. She really teaches us a good lesson in storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gooney Bird Greene - The Class Storyteller, October 1, 2003
By 
a smith (lexington, kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gooney Bird Greene (Hardcover)
Mrs. Pidgeon's second grade class will never be the same when Gooney Bird Greene arrives one October morning. She is recognized immediately because of the attire she is wearing and what appears in her lunch, items like suchi and avacodos. Gooney Bird demands she be "right smack in the middle of everything" and indeed she is. She becomes very popular among the other students, as well as, Mrs. Pidgeon for her ability to tell "absolutely true" stories. You won't want to the miss the adventure of her very interesting and detailed stories. For example, "How Gooney Bird Got Her Name" or "The Prince,the Palace, and the Diamond Earrings". She can really bring a crowd to life! I truly enjoyed the uniqueness of Gooney Bird's character and her ability to deomonstrate a proficient story. Lois Lowry has definently turned this second grader into a "hero". This is one you won't want to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gooney Bird Greene
Gooney Bird Greene by Lois Lowry (Paperback - March 9, 2004)
$5.99 $4.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.