Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars21
5 star
95%
4 star
5%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$4.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 15, 2015
Ignore the cover art (assuming you find it as off-putting as I do), this is a really good book. My 10 year old loved it. She found the fables interesting, and liked that one character told his as a rap. She read me parts of it and it was funny and clever. It opened up some very nice conversations about what a fable and moral is and about the meaning of several of the fables. Even encouraged her to create her own fable.

She's a kid who doesn't really love to read, and she said, with suprise, "Mom, I really LIKE reading this book. It's funny and intersting." Woo hoo! A winner, for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Every Gooney Bird book has a writing going on of some kind...fables, poetry, play, etc. Lois Lowry works in so naturally. My kids love Gooney Bird and the other kids in the class as well, with the array of characters there's one each student can relate to...I was surprised to learn from a YouTube interview that the author was not like Gooney Bird as a child, she was the quiet kid that looked at the floor. Gooney is a keeper!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2007
Lois Lowery's GOONEY THE FABULOUS presents grades 2-5 with a fine easy reader telling of Mrs. Pidgeon, who has been reading fables to her second grade class. But Gooney Greene isn't content with hearing fables: what if each child creates his or her own fable and tells it to the class? Her idea sparks interest and new challenges in this latest Gooney story of a win-win girl's ideas.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2011
I wish my daughter's best friend was Gooney Bird Greene because she would always be having an adventure doing everyday stuff. I read this book and it's sequel to my 4 year-old-daughter, and being a former teacher, found the characters were very realistic. It has good messages, teaching moments and is fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
The Gooneybird Greene series by Lois Lowry are excellent both for teaching aspects of writing and for teaching children about celebrating their own individuality. They also happen to be very entertaining reads and great fun to share. This book teaches children about fables, and Gooneybird's class make up animal fables about animals that begin with the first letter of their own name. These are perfect chapter or transitional books and are really wonderful for newly confident readers or to use in a classroom setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
Your stories are the best of all gooney loves: adventures,telling stories and much more thank you for making these wonderful stories. The people that read your stories and their probably proud of you and and so am I đź’ť
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2012
Gave this as a gift to my granddaughters. They love it. It's a book they request their mom and dad read to them over and over.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
we love Gooney bird. these are the best kids books. the character is so funny and inspiring.

Please Ms, Lowry, write more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
This book provided is a very interesting reading for youngsters; my grandson loved reading it and enjoyed it every bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
The Gooney Bird books are fabulous for teaching students about writing...
Plus, my 2nd graders love the stories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.