Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gossip Girl # 5
Hmmm...what to say, what to say! Well, I LIKE IT LIKE THAT, is just like all the other books in the series- entertaining, and makes a fabulous parody of the shallow indulgence of the human race. I laughed many times at the utter absurdity of quite a few of the scenarios, and the two-dimensionals of some of the characters. [Serena, especially, being so idealistically...
Published on December 6, 2004 by Sarah Kelly

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like it like this ;)
Von Ziegesar's series about overprivileged Mahattanites moves location, all the way to the ski slopes. And Georgina Sparks is coming along for the ride, as well as the rest of the GG girl crew: Blair, Serena, Nate, Chuck Bass, etc.
Georgina does not need to be in the books. She first appeared in BECAUSE I'M WORTH IT, since Nate's whole weed smoking incident. He...
Published on June 11, 2004 by QUEEN_OF_EVERYTHING


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i like it like that, July 9, 2004
By A Customer
I have to say this is the best one yet! Sure it could have had a little more spice and romance but i think were in for a real treat next book. Can't wait to find out who you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad, August 25, 2006
This book is so bad! This is the fifth book out of gossip girl and alot of things in this book are so bad that I have to skip alot of pages. I don't care about Dan and Vanessa anymore. Too boring and even worse when Vanessa's parents show up. Nate's girl friend is too retarded and too unbelievable to believe, and the gay snowboarding team? Are you kidding me? Why does Chuck of all guys become gay all of a sudden? It doesn't make any sense! I hate the character Rusty and I really hate Jenny. Snooping on her boyfriend like that all the time and that's all that happens with her in this book. Jennys friend Elise and Dan kiss. That was really stupid. This whole book is stupid and makes no sense. I loved gossip girls until this fifth one came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gossip Girl You Know You Love Me, June 7, 2004
By 
english2vazquez (Philadelphia,PA USA) - See all my reviews
I like these Novels because they're full of gossip and drama.I also think the characters in the novels are so realistic because they relate ro most of the issues some young teens go though.The pace is a page turner.You never want to put it down.Like Teen People said"It's sex and the city for the younger set".It also leaves you in suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on of the best series of all time, May 23, 2004
By 
Katie (Hollywood, CA) - See all my reviews
in the first few books you meet Serena van der Woodsen, and Blair Waldorf. these girls are what many girls wish they could only be. they are rich georgous and can shop all they want. but they also happen to be the biggest bitches (esp. blair) in the world. this book is durrimg mid winter break. blair trying to escape the family, goes with serena to sun valley. and out of the whole world who is also there.....her ex nate archibald, the once stoner, now off pot, but with a girlfried who does enough....drug...nyquil...anything for the both of them. Not that blair notices or anything. she is to into serenas older brother, erik. she is beign stupid, trying to show off to both natie and erik. the biggest question of this book is WILL blair finally lose it to erik. wow huge problem. while blair is sorting this out, serena is falling in love with natie. ok faliing in LUST. serena never falls in love. But when they get back to NYC, serena figures that nate really love....oh this is to go to tell you....so read the book and find out. the best part is the end, when you realize that blair is not all bitch, she is part bitch and part human. that was actually the biggest suprise of the book. she actually cares about something/one beside her self..... this was a great book.
has anyone beside me heard about the gossip girl movie. with lindsey lohan as blair. just thought that the world should know.
love y'all KATIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spring Break Fever and Fun, May 13, 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
I'm a writer who writes for the same kind of audience, and I can tell you that clearly Cecily von Ziegesar REALLY understands young girls and their relationships with guys and each other, and she knows how to turn this into great stories! Her novels kind of remind me of the movie "Clueless", which I enjoyed. Many books geared towards the Young Adult market don't hold interest for me, but this series is different, it's more bold and more hip, and there's always a LOT going on that keeps you on the edge of your seat and guessing! When it comes to the friendship and love stuff, this is basically what goes on in the lives of teens today, rich OR poor. Although, when I was in high school I didn't go on an expensive vacation, but anyway! haha. If you're a girl, I'm sure Blair is typically the girl you know and are bestfriends and then hate her and stop being friends with and then become friends again haha. This isn't the best book in the series, there are better ones, the plotline is kind of not as interesting as before, but it will still keep you hooked to find out what will happen in Book 6! I think the next book will answer a lot of questions and resolve a lot of storylines that this book didn't. Hope it comes out soon. But get this one too, it's worth it!
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DiSaPoInTmEnT..., May 3, 2004
::sigh:: This book starts out in the normal gossip girl style..and we still dont know who the hell he/she/it is. Serena,Erik(serenas brother) and Blair and Nate and Chuck and Georgie all go to Sun Valley for winter vacation. No one really hooks up..Georgie acts like a pshyco...they all go home...the end. All we find out is that Blair and Nate are supposedly "still in love" as are Dan and Vanesa. There are a bunch of useless uniteresting characters added that dont do much for the story.Aaron is pretty much gone...jennys lesbian friend wuts her name is a throw...jenny's bf is weird with no real personality and Vanesa has a ugly new boyfriend that she doesnt like. As i said its a disapointment ..not nearly as good as the other ones.Nothing is added to the story..its just stalling. We dont even know who got into wut university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rICH sNOBS, March 25, 2006
I Thought That this book was ok but the charators in the book really need to get over themselfs and wake up to the real world whare real problems madder like starvation and war then their problems arent that big of deal they are so conceeded in themselfs that it makes me gag i gave this book a three because although i compleatly hated the book the series is very adtictive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the whole series !!!, September 4, 2004
Dont you just look the gossip girl novels, when eva i finish one of the books, i neva want it to finish. any one any ideas of who gossip girl is, will we eva find out ??? also how many books are there going to be,( loads more i hope) I think all the books are great, and i dont have a favourite. so anyone no how many there are in total?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE IT LIKE THAT!, May 13, 2004
By A Customer
first of all. me and my friend are ABSOLUTLEY ADDICTED to gossip girls. we like . gossip about there lives more than we do our own. we just recently discovered the series . and ever since then we have shared the books and over a week have read all of them. i like it like that was definetly our favorite. we were so excited at the end . and cant wait for the next one to come out . hopefully soon ! because i cant live without it ! hah. but i like it like that has alot of action for blair and serena. aaron basically isnt in the book . and georgie and erik ( serena's brother ) are important in this story . but the ending is just simply amazing . leaving me waiting for MORE! AH! cant wait . also a movie Gossip Girl based on the first novel will be coming out in 2005 starring Linsday Lohan! .. ok i am done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gossip Girl is a bunch of crap, November 28, 2004
By 
Teenage Reader (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
I recently picked up this book at the library, thinking it must be a great book since everyone raves about them. Ugh! The whole series is a waste of time. It's embarrassing to think about how many people actually think these books are good. Check out some other books. You'll be surprised what you can find. And no I'm not talking about some lame Harry Potter book. Try the Mates, Dates Series by Cathy Hopkins or My Cup Runneth Over by Cherry Whytock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.