Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Match!
Ever since I first saw "I Dream Too Much" I have wanted a really fine version of "I Got Love." Here it is, along with a wonderful selection of Kern songs both standard and rare. Surely no one could have done this better than Rebecca Luker, whom I now officially name as my favorite singer currently singing!
Published on January 30, 2013 by anonymous

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rebecca Luker and Jerome Kern
I love the songs of Jerome Kern and I love Rebecca Luker (particularly in Mary Poppins), however this album is an unexciting, one style fits all rendition of some great songs. Nice album to mix with other performers tough to listen to in its entirety without a break.
Published 24 months ago by CyberCoach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Match!, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
Ever since I first saw "I Dream Too Much" I have wanted a really fine version of "I Got Love." Here it is, along with a wonderful selection of Kern songs both standard and rare. Surely no one could have done this better than Rebecca Luker, whom I now officially name as my favorite singer currently singing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musicality combined with emotional honesty, February 7, 2013
By 
Jim in SF (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
Rebecca Luker is amazing! She can break your heart with a ballad ("Not You," "And I Am All Alone," "April Fooled Me") and make you jump for joy in up tempo numbers ("Can't Help Singing," "I'm Old Fashioned"). This disc also features several lesser known and infrequently or newly recorded songs. If you love great singing, early Broadway and/or Jerome Kern, buy this CD. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this album! This rare gems of Jerome Kern are beautifully interpreted by Rebecca Luker, whose voice can do no wrong. This is a must have for anyone who loves the American songbook. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
I loved this CD. Rebecca Luker brings you back in time to the 20's and 30's with the music of Jerome Kern. She has a beautiful voice and she catches the feeling of a bygone day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sublime Ms. Luker, May 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
Doing what she does best! Mr. Kern would be so proud to hear that his music lives on through the artistry of this incomparable soprano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
If you love Jerome Kern's music -- or if you want to discover it -- this is the CD to have. She is magnificient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Luker, April 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
This record of Jerome Kern's known and lesser known songs as interpreted by Rebecca Luker is simply lovely. Her voice is warm and effortless, and her communication of the lyric is perfection. This should definitely be in any musical theater lover's library, and certainly would be a wonderful addition to any music lover's library. If this is your first time listening to Rebecca, get ready to be hooked for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Got Love Songs of Jerome Kern, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It had all the songs we like. She is very talented and does the music well. We will listen to it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I expected, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my mother. The performance and sound is exquisite. She has enjoyed it as much as I thought she would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice!, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
She's got a beautiful voice and she's not overshadowed by orchestrations. NIce selection of songs that features a voice that has graced many Broadway stages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern)
I Got Love (Songs of Jerome Kern) by Rebecca Luker (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.