Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY ROMANTIC COMEDY
Roberta Jones Spivey is having a makeover. With a new hair colour, new wardrobe, swapping business suits for mini skirts and snug fitting tops. Plus a whole new attitude. A little over three weeks ago Roberta's husband had phoned to say he wanted a divorce. Warren had now got back with Cookie his old sweetheart. Roberta had foolishly helped him look for his high school...
Published on April 5, 2012 by L. Sims

versus
86 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL!!!
This book beats all! It is so ridiculous: everything happens within a week.
1. Her husband leaves her for his high-school sweetheart
2. She gets a total make-over and starts dressing like a hooker to show that she has a don't-care-ish bold attitude
3. She moves to the town where her husband is
4. Gets a job as a waitress
5. The whole town loves...
Published 23 months ago by M. Srinivasan


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY ROMANTIC COMEDY, April 5, 2012
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Roberta Jones Spivey is having a makeover. With a new hair colour, new wardrobe, swapping business suits for mini skirts and snug fitting tops. Plus a whole new attitude. A little over three weeks ago Roberta's husband had phoned to say he wanted a divorce. Warren had now got back with Cookie his old sweetheart. Roberta had foolishly helped him look for his high school sweetheart who had dumped him twenty years before. Roberta, who is now calling herself Bobbie Jones decides to sell up quitting her job, selling her BMW, and buying a VW beetle in bright green, and heads to the small town of Cottonmouth, to let Warren see what he's missing.
Roberta/Bobbie rents a small cottage, the real estate person tries to put her off, as the local serial killer Nick lives oposite. Bobbie moves in anyway, she gets a job in the town as a waitress, and settles down to life in a small town.
Loved this story it is well written with much humour and there's also a wonderful romance. The characters are very well drawn, and not just the two leads. You really get a feel for life in a small town, filled with interesting characters. I just loved the way Bobbie refused to stay away from Nick, her pursuit of him made me laugh,suspected serial killer or not the man is too sexy for his own good. Plenty happens to keep you turning the pages, and let's not forget the fabulous love scenes which are perfect. A highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL!!!, October 12, 2012
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book beats all! It is so ridiculous: everything happens within a week.
1. Her husband leaves her for his high-school sweetheart
2. She gets a total make-over and starts dressing like a hooker to show that she has a don't-care-ish bold attitude
3. She moves to the town where her husband is
4. Gets a job as a waitress
5. The whole town loves her
6. All the men in town are ogling her and want to jump into bed with her
7. She tries very hard to make a move on the local serial killer who resists for a couple of days
8. She is way too hot for him to resist so he stops resisting and they jump into bed
9. He is the best thing that ever happened to her, and vice versa
10. She tries to tell the town he is not a serial killer, and now the town doesn't like her
11. Ex-husband's girlfriend's husband dies
12. Everyone suspects serial killer
13. She get's kidnapped by villains (i.e. ex-husband's girlfriend and another boyfriend of hers)
14. New boyfriend saves her with help of local sheriff (who also has the hots for her)
15. Ex-husband realizes his mistake but is too late
16. New boyfriend proposes marriage and she accepts
17. The whole town now loves them both
All this in ONE WEEK! Wow! it is so very cliched and stupid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth It and I got it for free, June 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
I read a few positive reviews before downloading this free book and I cannot understand those who raved about what a great read this book is. Normally I hate not finishing a book but I am okay with never knowing how this ends. I was annoyed by this book and the main character "Bobbie" was no one to root for. I really got tired of reading every other page on how great her boobs were or how hot she was for 40. There are so many reasons I didn't like this book I can't list them all. Not worth free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long on sexy -- short on anything else, August 13, 2012
By 
Syl Han (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
A meek, brown-haired, discarded wife dyes her hair and becomes a ditzy red-head determined to make up for all she has missed in her marriage. Her amazing 40-year-old butt and breasts are the story's main characters. These attributes make the incredibly handsome, square-jawed hero (and every other male in Cottonmouth) weak in the head and the knees. Other parts of his anatomy are not similarly affected and are constantly described as "hardening". The reader is subjected to pages of anatomical descriptions of what occurs when amazing butt and breasts meet hardening male parts.
If you are a 17 year old male, you probably won't be bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not A Difficult Read But Enjoyable, June 7, 2012
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
This was a great little summer read. Not hard to get through but sometimes you just want to escape without having to concentrate too hard. I did love the main character, Roberta, likeable and believable. This would make a great vacation read. I will read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Annoying! Not at all sexy, funny, mysterious, or romantic., June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
OK, I couldn't even finish this book, and there's not many books I can say that about. I didn't like ANY of the characters enough to bother. It sounded like a fun story, which is why I downloaded it (thankfully for free), but I couldn't get past the first 1/2 because, frankly, I could NOT stand Bobbie (Roberta) the main character. I didn't like anything about her and I didn't find anything in this book funny, sexy, mysterious, or romantic. Perhaps it got better in the second half, but I couldn't torture myself any longer...there are much better stories to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid book, July 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a stupid book. I can't even finish it. I've read over 1/3 of it and it's just the same thing over and over with the sexual fantasies of the characters. Seems the story is very slow to move forward. Maybe this is what some people like, but I like something with slightly more depth to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a GREAT book!, January 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great writing, wonderful characters and a great plot. Jennifer Skully kept me interested the whole book. A good, fun, sexy and mysterious book! Will definitely read more of her books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was free, but boring, July 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
What woman would make any effort to help their husband find his high school sweetheart he believes he still loves? For this reason alone, the main character Roberta was impossible to believe. It was free and to me that was it's only redeeming quality. I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 star, only because I somehow got through to the end, but I wouldn't waste my time to try Book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, April 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book was not funny, sexy, romantic and held only a small amount of mystery, which might have been due to me deciding I would not waste anymore time on reading how a 40 year old woman without much personality got the male population of an entire town excited by reason of her butt (sagging by her own admission) and B cup size breasts. I worked my way through quite a lot of it until I finally gave up in disgust when she managed to have nine orgasms in one night and still got up early in the morning. Apart from being so unbelievable (not necessarily a bad thing) the read was incredibly boring. It was badly written but I guess the author was not really after being admired for her literary skills. My fear is that after Fifty Shades we will be bombarded with more trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.