Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARGUMENTS AGAINST STRENGHTENING GOVERNMENTS
In this very short piece, Friedman tries to make a brief argument on why government is in fact the main obstacle to development. Given the very limited space (18 pages), it is impossible to make a very strong argument on such a broad topic. Friedman makes some good points, but most of them do not provide supporting evidence, so it leaves a hesitant reader unconvinced...
Published on August 13, 2004 by Denis Benchimol Minev

versus
23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks detail
I enjoyed reading the piece. However, I already largely agree with Friedman. If I didn't, nothing in it would have changed my mind. This essay would make a great foreward for a real book on the topic. However, unless you're looking for a soundbite quality summary, I wouldn't spend money on this. I got mine in one of the 4 for 3 book deals, but still wasted my free book on...
Published on May 21, 2011 by Neal


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARGUMENTS AGAINST STRENGHTENING GOVERNMENTS, August 13, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
In this very short piece, Friedman tries to make a brief argument on why government is in fact the main obstacle to development. Given the very limited space (18 pages), it is impossible to make a very strong argument on such a broad topic. Friedman makes some good points, but most of them do not provide supporting evidence, so it leaves a hesitant reader unconvinced. It seems to me that this book is sufficient for good argument over cocktail conversation.

For a more thorough analysis of the same arguments presented in this short book, I would recommend either Capital and Freedom or Free to Choose by Friedman as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
Milton Friedman is the Einstein of Economics. Recommend this for everyone...especially people who believe that big government is the solution. For those of us who know...well this is eloquent reinforcement!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes the answer is just that simple, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
In an era where our government believes we are too dumb or lazy to solve our problems, Friedman clearly spells out the truth about government...it is the problem. Without getting into the weeds Friedman explains and documents the argument that diverting capital to a bigger government reduces the availability and ability of private sector and individuals to use that capital goods, services, and prosperity. It's a great read and as an essay it's short and to the point. The document also include bibliography and source information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is right-on!, August 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
If I believed in mandates, this would be required reading in all high schools and colleges, as well as a prerequisite to voter registrations. Americans have lost their way and the content of this book would help them find their way back. Milton Friedman is right-on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and thought provoking, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fast read with lots of information. Great points and discussion with good examples. I recommend it. Easy to understand even for a non economist. I love Mr. Friedman's books, lectures and video interview. Great wisdom in all his words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks detail, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading the piece. However, I already largely agree with Friedman. If I didn't, nothing in it would have changed my mind. This essay would make a great foreward for a real book on the topic. However, unless you're looking for a soundbite quality summary, I wouldn't spend money on this. I got mine in one of the 4 for 3 book deals, but still wasted my free book on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
I listened to M. Friedman on You tube and wnat to read his books. Thsi si a small booklet probably representing a lecture. It was very interesting to read and I will reread and mark up with notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
Milton Friedman's writings are so clear and enjoyable. Sums up the problem nicely. Hope many people read this and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the point, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
I wanted to read what Mr. Friedman had to say about government.
To the point.
A must read for anyone wanting to understand our country's current condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and understand, July 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) (Paperback)
It's a very small easy to read and understand book worth every penny...Milton has a way of saying things that make it very easy to understand complicated issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy)
Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy) by Milton Friedman (Paperback - February 1, 1993)
$5.00 $4.50
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.