Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Why Government Is the Problem (Essays in Public Policy)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 13, 2004
In this very short piece, Friedman tries to make a brief argument on why government is in fact the main obstacle to development. Given the very limited space (18 pages), it is impossible to make a very strong argument on such a broad topic. Friedman makes some good points, but most of them do not provide supporting evidence, so it leaves a hesitant reader unconvinced. It seems to me that this book is sufficient for good argument over cocktail conversation.

For a more thorough analysis of the same arguments presented in this short book, I would recommend either Capital and Freedom or Free to Choose by Friedman as well.
11 comment| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
In an era where our government believes we are too dumb or lazy to solve our problems, Friedman clearly spells out the truth about government...it is the problem. Without getting into the weeds Friedman explains and documents the argument that diverting capital to a bigger government reduces the availability and ability of private sector and individuals to use that capital goods, services, and prosperity. It's a great read and as an essay it's short and to the point. The document also include bibliography and source information.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
If only the Obama Administration, and all the hopeful ignorami who elected him, had read this. You don't need much more than a brain and the ability to read to understand essential economics when you read Friedman.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Milton Friedman was a brilliant and rational thinker and this brief essay puts forth some of his finest thoughts. He explains how and why governments become giant self-serving monoliths that stunt growth, progress, and innovation by overregulation of things they ill-understand while being summarily unaccountable for failures. It all comes down to having skin in the game: private enterprise does, government doesn't, as administrations simply redefine the game based on their whims (look no further than the current overreaches of the EPA for example). Friedman argues forcefully for term limits (Amen!) and makes the point that that is a very popular concept with voters, but obviously not for politicians.

Certainly there are details that I disagree with Friedman on, but if you want to get a quick handle on fiscal conservatism, "Why Government is the Problem" is highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
If you wan't a libertarian or ultra conservative perspective of capitalism/free market economics, Friedman is as good as any contemporary economist at explaining the perspective. He takes a very frank, matter of fact approach and relies heavily on human nature and cause and effect. This is a great discussion on why government has interfered with natural free markets to the extent that the policies and laws the government have used to over-regulate business has actually thrown our economic system out of balance and into chaos.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
If I believed in mandates, this would be required reading in all high schools and colleges, as well as a prerequisite to voter registrations. Americans have lost their way and the content of this book would help them find their way back. Milton Friedman is right-on!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
Professor Friedman had the ability both in speech and in writing to say the obvious even idiot liberals would understand and even pause 2 seconds the think about it.

I wish I would of read the description more closely, $4.50 for 18 small pages is not worth it no matter how much wisdom is in them.

Disappointed in my own ineptness, not Mr. Friedman's.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2013
Fast read with lots of information. Great points and discussion with good examples. I recommend it. Easy to understand even for a non economist. I love Mr. Friedman's books, lectures and video interview. Great wisdom in all his words.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
In a world full of sound bites and talking points, Milton Friedman reminds us of what made this country great. A short book that everyone should read, regardless of race, religion or even political party.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Short but sweet. For anyone who is a progressive or leftist who wants to hear the arguements for small government, this is a cheap and brief window into how we libertarian and free market conservatives think about how we should solve problems. Down with the Neo-Cons!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse