Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 15, 2013
GOP II is no easy poker game, it starts out simple, but becomes increasingly hard to play. Prepare yourself to loose many more hands then you'll win, and bankrupt yourself all the time. While a fun, and interesting title it is no game for the faint of heart. If you want to be challenged, this is probably the game for you, it will just take a long while to overcome this game. 3.5/5
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
Excellent game! Great way to learn Texas holdem. The program itself has a few issues, and when you play a guy for their wagon you have to pay $400 - you may have well just have bought a wagon for that much. When you win you get the wagon, but no money - just like you bought the wagon. When you lose, you lose your money. Would not happen this way in real life. Also, it seems to me like the people who get "on fire" have the advantage of the computer cheating for them and giving them great hands all the time as they are very hard to beat - even with good hands. Too many split pots, two many of the same hands, yet I really do like this game and have given it 5 stars. Just remember to be patient when playing in large groups, and be very aggressive when playing against singles. Especially at the coal mine and copper mine. Be aggressive and you can often win quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
I love Governor of Poker. It can be frustrating at times just like the real game and the music can be annoying so I turn the music off and play until I want to throw the computer against the wall. Then I come back and pick up where I left off. You will enjoy the game once you learn the strategy of the other players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
I enjoyed playing the game at first but the more i played the more i found there was no randomness. The hands would become so outrageous sometimes it couldn't have been random. I'm not sure if that is important with a game like this but "my" prescription that outcomes are predetermined sort of takes the fun out of the game for me . But is just a game and it helps you understand poker better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
The strategy of the this game is play when the pots are small build up your pot early in the game then only when it's your ante. If your cards are small in your ante your chances are slim you'll win. Just let the ante go. Don't play until your in the top 5 then play only when it's your ante and you have good cards. The game cheats. If you just anted and then there is a player moves to the table it antes you again and you lose again, usually on a big ante. Also the computer doesn't always have the winning hand. When you push the review button it always appears the computer won and you think "oh I was wrong" but I've played the game a enough to catch it cheating. You can cheat too. If you keep pushing the overnight button you can build up your rent, to play or buy other houses. You lose reputation but you can beat the reputation thing but just play smart. Losing reputation doesn't hamper as much as the computer gains when a player is hot. When you're hot it isn't the same thing. Your hot to make you think you have the advantage so you will bet big or more often so you lose more. Once you figure out cheating is part of the game of poke it's not hard to win the game. I only give it four stars because when you are the winner of the tournament you don't get to keep your $40,000 the house keeps half or more. So you don't actually win the tournament. The computer just loses.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
This is somewhat entertaining. There are several glitches. ex: the days pass when your icon is traveling, but no rent is paid? Makes a lot of difference at the beginning of the game. There are references to the river boat for (3) cities. It never arrives? Lots of grammatical errors in the trophies. It would be better if the check option and the call option were in different places. I often call by mistake. The graphics are a bit crude. It's fun for a change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2014
Not for the hardcore poker player, but this is still a challenging and fun game. Lighthearted setting, but the games can be difficult to win. Had to go online for a couple tips as I found myself not able to get to some of the towns. I don't use cheats, but the tips pointed me in the right direction. For the price, I am more than happy with this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
Program waste too much time with faux thinking and you can not reduce it to the systray. It would be very nice if it had an odds calculator built in to the program. Also several flaw in the program.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
If you are into Texas hold'em then you will have fun with this game. it has a story line but there is a lot of competition and it makes you think about how to play your hand.. great fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
I love this game. It's better than just playing poker because you have to go from town to town and buy houses, play against different people, and win different things. It's really fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.